Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Honda Classic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Great way to finish off the round, makes sure he's going into tomorrow's round positive and not thinking bout the end of today!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭Tones69

I suspect he wouldn't have been overly happy with it.
    He's just birdied it so all's well that ends well. :)

Id say hes ecstatic over it to be honest man, birdied 15 and 18, 2 shot lead at 11 under par, im pretty sure being 11 under after day 3 is a record at that course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Tones69 wrote: »
    Id say hes ecstatic over it to be honest man, birdied 15 and 18, 2 shot lead at 11 under par, im pretty sure being 11 under after day 3 is a record at that course

Not overly happy with the bunker shot. :)
    Nothing wrong with the round. He played some great golf today.

Even better for Rory now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,007 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Good platform for Rory going into tomorrow. Not too far ahead to relax but enough to feel confident.

He seems all there, he bogeys a hole he just comes back and birdies the next, great golfing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭SSK

With a rookie and a journeyman in second, he effectively has 4 shots on the really dangerous players Rose and Bradley. I don't see Gillis or English coming out and shooting the lights out so its really Rory's to lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Tied best round of the day today, what a round.
    I reckon English may pose a threat tomorrow, but its a hard not to see Rory just run away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭BackScrub

He may be playing great golf but he'll have to start finishing the job, no good throwing away tournaments after getting into winning positions. Tiger was a master at blowing away the field once hitting the front and Rory isn't doing this yet apart from the US Open.

I agree, I commented on that recently on here. I think he's beginning to get it right now though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭BackScrub

Borisss wrote: »
    #mustnotfeedthetroll

I was expecting a few stupid responses. Gladly, I didn't except for this one. What a silly reply.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

He may be playing great golf but he'll have to start finishing the job, no good throwing away tournaments after getting into winning positions. Tiger was a master at blowing away the field once hitting the front and Rory isn't doing this yet apart from the US Open.

Doesn't matter how many times this ^ or similar is said, god knows I've said plenty of times myself. A lot of Irish people are claiming him as what yer man was saying ie: one of the greatest, better than Tiger was, etc... and the scary thing is many are serious.

I genuinely want the lad to do well and hopes he wins (if Bradley doesn't, money on him :)) But I do find it tedious hearing and reading comments claiming all sorts of ridiculousness. The Major threads here last year really went downhill for me and dare I say quite a few others here because of the crusade many McIlroy's fans were/are on. Slightest of criticisms and there was hell to pay with them around with being called a hater or jealous, etc :pac: I guarantee many of them were all on the Harrington bandwagon too, and now haven't given him a seconds thought!

But yeah re: you're post. 100% agree. Anyone who witnessed Tiger at his peak, no matter what you think of the guy as a person knew it was greatness we were watching unfold and he was so clinical while achieving all he did back then when leading from the front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,211 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Not a chance in hell, but would love to see Gillis win it. Real underdog story. Top ten will be lucky for him the way he is hanging in.

Look Rory will be no 1 within the month. Will be interesting to see can he close these things out on final day, he looks a new man. But there is always a guy with a 64 - 65 lurking. Could be Rory the way he is.

English looks solid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭SSK

Tiger at his peak was the best ever. No question.

However Rory has a lot of the tools to get close to that level. He's a better driver of the ball than Tiger ever was IMO and there's very little between their irons/ball striking. Where Tiger stands above all others is the drive/focus/intimidation factor which no one will never emulate. Plus at his best he was a far better putter than Rory is currently.

I get the impression that McIlroy is happy with where he's at currently and doesn't want to emulate Tiger, who lets be honest about it, created the massive intimidatory aura around himself by being a bit of a dick most of the time.

In terms of role models I think Rory would be much happier with a Mickelson type image/legacy than Tiger's. Obviously he wants to win as much as possible but isn't willing to sacrifice his personality/outgoing image to create a Tiger style aura which may or may not help him win more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Doesn't matter how many times this ^ or similar is said, god knows I've said plenty of times myself. A lot of Irish people are claiming him as what yer man was saying ie: one of the greatest, better than Tiger was, etc... and the scary thing is many are serious.

I genuinely want the lad to do well and hopes he wins (if Bradley doesn't, money on him :)) But I do find it tedious hearing and reading comments claiming all sorts of ridiculousness. The Major threads here last year really went downhill for me and dare I say quite a few others here because of the crusade many McIlroy's fans were/are on. Slightest of criticisms and there was hell to pay with them around with being called a hater or jealous, etc :pac: I guarantee many of them were all on the Harrington bandwagon too, and now haven't given him a seconds thought!

But yeah re: you're post. 100% agree. Anyone who witnessed Tiger at his peak, no matter what you think of the guy as a person knew it was greatness we were watching unfold and he was so clinical while achieving all he did back then when leading from the front.

Why does McIlroy constantly have to be compared to Woods, why can't he be the next Rory McIlroy? Woods is one of the greatest of all time, and no more than 3/4 people ever will reach that level, and the odds of someone coming so soon after Tiger reaching that same level are slim.

Just appreciate him for what he is, and enjoy how he is playing right now.

Tox56 wrote: »
    Why does McIlroy constantly have to be compared to Woods, why can't he be the next Rory McIlroy? Woods is one of the greatest of all time, and no more than 3/4 people ever will reach that level, and the odds of someone coming so soon after Tiger reaching that same level are slim.

He's compared to Woods because he set the benchmark for the generation coming after him, just like Nickalus is the one Tiger is compared to, it's how any sport works! Basketball....Kobe trying to best MJ! ice Hockey....Crosby/Ovechkin to Gretsky! To be the best in golf now you are going to be compared to Tiger!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

kmart6 wrote: »
    He's compared to Woods because he set the benchmark for the generation coming after him, just like Nickalus is the one Tiger is compared to, it's how any sport works! Basketball....Kobe trying to best MJ! ice Hockey....Crosby/Ovechkin to Gretsky! To be the best in golf now you are going to be compared to Tiger!

I get that, but McIlroy will always be considered a failure if that is the case, as I highly doubt he is going to win 14+ majors. Winning more than 5-6 isn't going to be easy, nevermind double figures. His achievements were always going to be overshadowed coming so soon after Woods, but I feel he won't get the recognition he probably should get.

Still early in his career though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,211 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

kmart6 wrote: »

If you look at all the guys at the top of any sport. They go into a "zone". They lack an emotional level. Rory seems to get more emotionally involved, even when he hits a great shot he enjoys it more, when he hits a poor shot he shows it too. He is not machine like.

I like him that way. He could change. He will change. We are seeing a rare part of his early career. I got anoyed with this at the start as he is losing tournaments because of it. In a sport you can be a machine and not loved. Rory is loved and raw. It is great to watch , Will it last ? or will the machine around him take over ?

In fairness , some of the "fans" would do my head in in a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

SSK wrote: »
    Tiger at his peak was the best ever. No question.

However Rory has a lot of the tools to get close to that level. He's a better driver of the ball than Tiger ever was IMO and there's very little between their irons/ball striking. Where Tiger stands above all others is the drive/focus/intimidation factor which no one will never emulate. Plus at his best he was a far better putter than Rory is currently.

I get the impression that McIlroy is happy with where he's at currently and doesn't want to emulate Tiger, who lets be honest about it, created the massive intimidatory aura around himself by being a bit of a dick most of the time.

In terms of role models I think Rory would be much happier with a Mickelson type image/legacy than Tiger's. Obviously he wants to win as much as possible but isn't willing to sacrifice his personality/outgoing image to create a Tiger style aura which may or may not help him win more.

I think the above highlighted is very accurate in describing Mcilroy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Rory won his first major aged 22, Woods was slightly younger when he won the Masters, so the comparisons are always going to be there, like it or not.

Tiger won the US Open scoring 12 under when the next best score was 3 over. Followed that up by winning the Open by 8 shots. Ridiculous stuff tbh. I dont know if any golfer will emulate those achievements, but I hope Rory does. Congressional last year was hopefully a sign of things to come, and I fully expect him to be World number 1 tomorrow night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

I get that, but McIlroy will always be considered a failure if that is the case, as I highly doubt he is going to win 14+ majors. Winning more than 5-6 isn't going to be easy, nevermind double figures. His achievements were always going to be overshadowed coming so soon after Woods, but I feel he won't get the recognition he probably should get.

Still early in his career though.

I think he will break Jack Nicklaus's record. And I'm sh*t serious when I say that too.

I think Rory thinks he can do it as well, which is always important. He stated that if he didn't win a major this year he would be hugely dissapointed. I remember watching him in an interview last year talking about even trying to win a grand slam at some point (which I thought he was joking). But he seems serious about it.

Remember he only needs to win about 1 a year to potentially overtake Nicklaus and has to fail at 3 others. Personally I think he is a shoe in.

I personally never compare Rory to Tiger, just dont see the point. It doesnt bother me in the slightest if rory doesnt beat tigers major records etc. The man is 22 doing amazing things and hes absolutely a breath of fresh air to watch, his attitude is very good too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

Gnobe wrote: »
    I think he will break Jack Nicklaus's record. And I'm sh*t serious when I say that too.

I think Rory thinks he can do it as well, which is always important. He stated that if he didn't win a major this year he would be hugely dissapointed. I remember watching him in an interview last year talking about even trying to win a grand slam at some point (which I thought he was joking). But he seems serious about it.

Remember he only needs to win about 1 a year to potentially overtake Nicklaus and has to fail at 3 others. Personally I think he is a shoe in.

I bet my house to your pitching wedge he doesnt..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭Borisss

dvemail wrote: »
    Including a win!
    Incredible really.

Better than Tiger 2000...

Oh wait..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭Borisss

Laughable to compare a serial tournament winner like Tiger to any McIlroy we've ever seen.

Tiger's one legged USOpen might well be a sporting feat us golf fans will never even come close to seeing surpassed. Thats a level McIlroy does not have, and never will have.Fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

Boring, leave comparisons out, wrong thread

Bad weather incoming today so leaders (Rory) are out at 15:30 our time with first group out at 13:30. Sky haven't updated their site to say what time they're starting at but they did mention last night they'd be showing it live

He looks like he could birdie every hole and will go to the top of the world if he wins so tune in, should be deadly...

Rugby on the tv, golf on the laptop, all you need now is a pot of tay :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭big_drive

Sky have their coverage listed for 6pm. Hopefully now they will move that

In fairness to the lad, there was always gonna be comparisons due to his surge up to the point he is at now. He's a special talent no question about that, and his ball striking is some sight. I only watched a bit of the golf last night, like 30 mins or so but there was a shot of his with the 3 (might have been 5) wood onto a par 5 into the wind I think that he absolutely struck as perfect as one could, pin high for an eagle putt from 20ft or so. Missed the putt by some distance but the shot on the green well, it was flawless.

But the lad has his flaws which some completely blank or unaware of. Reckon it's 50/50. His putting can be very erratic at times, and I do still question his mental state and course management on occasion. I know some will yap on about youth and experience, and of course that plays a part. But I believe these two things are what seperate Tiger of 2000 to Rory of now and past. Can Rory improve on this? No question about it. Mentally anyone can improve, putting maybe not by much than what he is now but he can improve. Nowt wrong with constructive criticism.

I hate rambling on about it as I've been prone to in the past with Rory but a lot of it as to do with % golf. Bit more cop on and possibly better guidance from his caddie and he could easily have at least another Major in the bag (referring namely to the Open Championship last year on Friday which was bluntly a cluster**** in course management. Masters he seemed to be hanging on for a lot of the front 9 on Sunday tbf). Like many, I didn't see anything that could stop Tiger from reaching Jack's record and overhauling him. Injuries played a massive part in Tiger dropping off too people should never forget, and they were fairly extreme injuries too.

As for the last part, of your sentence, as I've kinda eluded to in my first post I very much agree with. I have a feeling also the same people who call him the greatest etc, would be the same type of people to call Robbie Keane, Shay Given and Richard Dunne world class at one point or another in the football. I really do I'll finally add :p

Gonna sit down and watch the golf tonight, very much looking forward to it. Hopefully it's not as crazy as the other week at Riveria and rather straightforward for the lad as he becomes the new World #1 :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

Via Dan Hicks twitter...
    Officials telling us winds up to 50 mph possible when this slim band of weather hits @TheHondaClassic around noon ET

Gonna be tough out there today. Rory hits the ball high too :eek:

SnowDrifts wrote: »
    Via Dan Hicks twitter...

Gonna be tough out there today. Rory hits the ball high too :eek:

The Bear Trap is gonna be carnage. Good stuff :D Hopefully Rory will be alright BUT as you said, his ball flight is naturally very high is a bit worrying even though he has hit some nice punch shots this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭TheRoomWrecker

Sky sports twitter:Good morning all. Remember Honda Classic LIVE today from 3.30pm SS3HD to 8.30pm. Bad weather due later in Florida the reason. Please RT

Rory has his windy game under control have no fear, he will do this :)

Hard to know what McIlroy will turn up today.
    If the wind does blow hard it is going to be tough for him, his short game today will have to be 100%.
    I reckon the man that scrambles the best today will be the winner. Don't know much about English or Gillis to comment but Bradley could be the dark horse today.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Play has been suspended.

@KellyTilghmanGC Reply Retweet Favorite · Open
    Play suspended at Honda Classic at 9:39aET. That didn't take long.

Play has been suspended.

gway :(

Play suspended 10 mins ago alright, 9.39 local time, hopefully itl come back in the next 2 or 3 hours :(

Is it suspended due to high winds or water on course does anybody know?

Dangerous weather, high winds man, not actually raining yet but its on the way apparently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭big_drive

Any ideas on how long the delay could last?

Looking at the PGA site they reckon there are thunderstorms moving towards the area which is why it's suspended.
    Could be a Monday finish yet, depends on how bad this storm is.

Edit: Sky just said it's back at half 4. Lovely stuff.

I always miss these on sundays cos i work sunday nights, the one time i get a sunday off the ****in play is supended! Typical haha, hope to god she comes back on within a few hrs :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Hopefully the storm will last until the rugby is over, and no longer.

Play resuming in one hour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Tones69 wrote: »
    Play resuming in one hour!

Perfect!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Conditions are going to be great for spectators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

No live coverage until 6pm...f*ckin stupid american tv....

Ludo wrote: »

Well that sucks. Is it going to be delayed coverage or are they actually going to be showing live golf from 6?

Ludo wrote: »
    I know! Had me tae and biccys ready

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

Well that sucks. Is it going to be delayed coverage or are they actually going to be showing live golf from 6?

Live from 6 apparently on sky...although the way things are going, it will be suspended again by then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

Thats some start from Westwood in those conditions - Birdie,par,eagle!