Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pet Hates - Irishisms

• 02-03-2012 3:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭

Well, fair is fair. I'll kick off with a few and they are mostly media/politician speak as most normal people don't talk like this.

"Going forward in the future". Noos for news - a Newstalk speciality. Tic tacing (?) for discussing - favourite with some TDs. We are where we are. Gaaltee instead of Galtee (the cheese) - sorry for being such a West Brit! And, just to keep the pot boiling - a local one from Enniscorthy - Arrrh or should that be Ahhhh - shouted loudly and seems to mean pardon or what did you say. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Fair fcuk's to ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,258 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Not being able to pronounce "T".

No bother when it's "Tea", but when the letter is at the end of a word it either disappears or becomes "ssssshhhhhhhhh"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,796 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

This was inevitable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭tmc86

top of the morning :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭FTGFOP

*Bides time for Isle-of-Man-isms thread* Those schnakey bashturds!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Cardinal Richelieu

To be sure To be sure

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

One that I'm quite fond of (it's sunny, I want to be positive!) is "God forgive me!"

It's basically used as a licence to say whatever awful things you want, then get away with it!

It's a classic Catholic deathbed repentence in bite-sized sentence form!

"Jaysus, he's an awful bollocks, God forgive me!"

"Them feckers should all be shot, God forgive me!"

"Lob it in there, God forgive me!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,207 ✭✭✭maximoose

Culchies pronouncing his like "He's"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Between the jigs and the reels

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭mysteries1984

I don't know how Irish it is, but pronunciation...

orkword instead of awkward
    axe instead of ask

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭FTGFOP

axe instead of ask

Your neighbour is Joe Pesci. That's cool.
    Isms, in my opinion, are not good.

Well said that man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

G'wan g'wan g'wan.
    Y'will, y'will, y'will

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Hang sandwich - a mate of mine from Kerry uses this one but I like it! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 317 ✭✭Casillas

Irishisms? Do you mean Hiberno-English? ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

"yee"-its meant to be "yous or yiz" tut

• Registered Users Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

People who exaggerate the Irishness. Either extremely culchie, or possibly worse, exaggerating a city accent. 'Heeeeeerrrrrree Biiiiiiiiiii', Go ****ing die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Anything Damo&Ivor say
    It's part of our heritage/history/culture.
    As the defence of irish or anything people dont what to change

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Hang sandwich - a mate of mine from Kerry uses this one but I like it! :D

I love a bit a' hang.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

RichieC wrote: »
    I love a bit a' hang.

I'll bet you do

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Donegal dictionary:

A..........I
    Aul....... Old
    Aul Boy....Father
    Aul Doll...Mother
    Aye........Yes
    Bother.....Hassle
    Canny......Cannot
    Class.... .Good/Great
    Dinny......Don’t
    Doll......Girl or woman
    Foundered .Extremely cold
    Fray......From
    Gan.......Going
    Gaff......House/flat
    Geesa.....Give me a
    Gissa.....Girl
    Glack........Good luck...........Good bye
    Gon.......Please
    Hanlin....Trouble or Fight or Argument
    Hi........Used at the start and end of every sentence
    Hay.......Have
    Hey?......Phrased as a question meaning what
    Juck......Boy or Man
    Ker............ Car
    Lock......Small amount of something
    Mind......To remember
    Mon.......Come on
    Naw.......No
    Nuance....Unusual
    Pure......very
    Purdies...Potatoes
    Rare......strange or unusual
    Staish....Oh wow or Look
    Thon......That
    Tight.....Cruel
    Wan.......One or 1
    Wan.......Refering to a person. E.g. "Look at that wan there"
    Wee.......Small
    Weins.....Babies or children
    Well......Hello
    Wile......Very or Terrible
    Yes.......Hello
    Yis Sir...Slang, Hello
    Yes Horse........Hello to someone u like
    Yock......... different types of ladies

'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

Not sure if an "Irishism" but anyway....

Chip butties are disgusting. Literally turn my stomach they just look so .....wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

maximoose wrote: »

Is it OK for urban folk to say it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,151 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

A scissors.

It's a pair of feckin scissors.

Gophur wrote: »
    Is it OK for urban folk to say it?

Saying it is bad enough, but I go slightly crazy when people type it instead of "his," which happens surprisingly often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Casillas wrote: »
    Irishisms? Do you mean Hiberno-English? ;)

Probably. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

Gowler.

That has to be the worst one of all.

Edit: Actually my absolute least favourite is 'cocknose'. Not sure if that's an Irish thing though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins

Use of the phrase "be is" or "be's"; every time I hear it I start losing the will to live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Stupid lengthened vowel sounds, the likes of tay for tea. Putting "shhh" where a simple "s" should be. The word mighty, like "you're fierce mighty". Pronouncing bollocks as bolix really sickens me. Basically all that stupid twang people put on. It's not that I don't have a bit of an accent but I at least pronounce the majority of words properly ffs. You'd think some people were having a stroke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭cocokay

"thanks a millun" instead of million
    "i do be" instead of i am
    "chicargo" instead of chicago (might not only be irish ppl doin this tho)
    "fillum" instead of film

i love "jaysis" though, it always seems to be one of the first irishisms foreign people learn :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Amn't, Wtf is that supposed to mean?

And the sharp intake of breath some people do when they're listening to you. It sounds like they've been punched in the stomach, or are having a very small orgasm. Most don't even notice they are doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,118 ✭✭✭DenMan

I can't stand it when someone says "well" when saying hello. It sounds like they are responding to something else said to them. It doesn't make any sense.

And the sharp intake of breath some people do when they're listening to you. It sounds like they've been punched in the stomach, or are having a very small orgasm. Most don't even notice they are doing it.

"Am not." I know it can sound funny, but it's pretty clear what it means, and though it's not strictly correct, there is a certain logic behind it.

You are not = You aren't
    He is not = He isn't
    I am not = I amn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,258 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Not as bad as people saying "atter" (or sometimes "after")

"I'm atter droppin' me toast"

No, you dropped your toast!

The Irishism I find amusing is the use of the word "So" instead of a full stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

"Am not." I know it can sound funny, but it's pretty clear what it means, and though it's not strictly correct, there is a certain logic behind it.

You are not = You aren't
    He is not = He isn't
    I am not = I amn't

I am not = I'm not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

People in the west doing their bad sean connery impressions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

DenMan wrote: »
    I can't stand it when someone says "well" when saying hello. It sounds like they are responding to something else said to them. It doesn't make any sense.

Right there with you on that one, seems to be people from tyrone who are the biggest culprits for it.

My own one is people from derry say "Yes" as a greeting/saying hello. I didn't ask you a feckin question!!!

I remember when Vodafone bought Eircell and eyebrows were raised about the high revenue a relatively small network generated.

But it became obvious when I started hearin a typical Irish phone call.

In London a typical call would finish off like this "OK mate, that's great, I,ll see you later then, bye".

In Dublin it would finish " aah reet then bud, that's grand so, I'll see yous later then, bye bye, bye, bye bye, bye".

The extra four or five "byes" must be worth a fortune to the networks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

Personal peeve of mine is when people want to say something like

I would have gone
    I could have gone
    I should have gone

But instead say it this way;

I would of gone
    I could of gone
    I should of gone

...text messages are the best way to catch out these culprits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

pmcmahon wrote: »
    "yee"-its meant to be "yous or yiz" tut

Ah YOU beat me too it. Everybody from outside the Pale seems to say "Yee" instead of "You", it's like a muck savage impediment or something.

Raekwon wrote: »
    Ah YOU beat me too it. Everybody from outside the Pale seems to say "Yee" instead of "You", it's like a muck savage impediment or something.

Verily square, ye should not mock. They merely rehearse for a performance of Romeo and Juliet

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

John Doe1 wrote: »
    Donegal dictionary:

A..........I
    Aul....... Old
    Aul Boy....Father
    Aul Doll...Mother
    Aye........Yes
    Bother.....Hassle
    Canny......Cannot
    Class.... .Good/Great
    Dinny......Don’t
    Doll......Girl or woman
    Foundered .Extremely cold
    Fray......From
    Gan.......Going
    Gaff......House/flat
    Geesa.....Give me a
    Gissa.....Girl
    Glack........Good luck...........Good bye
    Gon.......Please
    Hanlin....Trouble or Fight or Argument
    Hi........Used at the start and end of every sentence
    Hay.......Have
    Hey?......Phrased as a question meaning what
    Juck......Boy or Man
    Ker............ Car
    Lock......Small amount of something
    Mind......To remember
    Mon.......Come on
    Naw.......No
    Nuance....Unusual
    Pure......very
    Purdies...Potatoes
    Rare......strange or unusual
    Staish....Oh wow or Look
    Thon......That
    Tight.....Cruel
    Wan.......One or 1
    Wan.......Refering to a person. E.g. "Look at that wan there"
    Wee.......Small
    Weins.....Babies or children
    Well......Hello
    Wile......Very or Terrible
    Yes.......Hello
    Yis Sir...Slang, Hello
    Yes Horse........Hello to someone u like
    Yock......... different types of ladies

'
    Most of that is Ulster Scots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

Verily square, ye should not mock. They merely rehearse for a performance of Romeo and Juliet

Well if Romeo and Juliet was performed in GAA jerseys then I would well believe you ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭deise go deo

cocokay wrote: »
    "i do be" instead of i am

They don't mean the same thing. 'I do/does be' is the habitual tense, something that standard English lacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

I would have gone
    I could have gone
    I should have gone

I would of gone
    I could of gone
    I should of gone

blame the Modh coinniollach and the direct translation from Irish for that one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

a few scoops ... in referring to going for a few drinks wrecks my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭cocokay

oh yeah forgot the "i'm after"s - "im after forgettin me phone" - dingbat.
    or "d'yeh know that kinda way" - eh no wtf are you on about.
    and also "n anyways" on the end of every sentence or yizzer "how much are yizzer cans o dutch gold n all n anyways" arrrrgh drives me insane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭luckyfrank

She had a fanny on her like a badly packed kebab

or

Ahh Bee Jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

I would have gone
    I could have gone
    I should have gone

I would of gone
    I could of gone
    I should of gone

Maybe they are pronouncing it like this

I would've gone
    I could've gone
    I should've gone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

Dubs adding O to the end of male names.

DaveO, JackO, DanO,

Dubs adding bleedin before words and inferring danger just to exagerate something.

instead of "it was good" it is "bleedin deadly"