Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Creepy People

• 03-03-2012 2:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭

Some people can be very, very odd.

I had a customer in my shop today who began complimenting me on my face. He said it was a good face- very nice, and that he has already had a wife but he has room for one more and would really like me to join with him. The guy was about 50, with very broken english, and was completely serious.

At Christmas, I was kneeling on the floor decorating a small Christmas tree in the shop. An old man (70ish, complete with walking stick) came into the shop and approached me. He spoke in a low voice and said, word for word, 'That's what I like to see...a young girl, on her knees in front of me, begging for it.' He was not joking, not even a hint of 'only messing'- just flat out sleeze.

There's another lad who comes into the shop and walks around, picking things up and arguing with himself in the third person. Everything about him screams nutjob, and if you engage him in any way he will linger- touching the counter in a manner that reminds me of that salad fingers cartoon with the rusty spoons, throwing out strange compliments. He once told me I shouldn't be working here, that I should be lying on a beach having men in loin cloths feed me grapes :confused:

I've met many, many strange creepy people (especially since I started working in a shop) but they generally tend to be males of 40 upwards. I'll save some of the really weird ones til later, anyone else have any encounters with people that say or do things to give you the creeps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭luckyfrank

I had a customer in my shop today who began complimenting me on my face. He said it was a good face- very nice, and that he has already had a wife but he has room for one more and would really like me to join with him. The guy was about 50, with very broken english, and was completely serious.

At Christmas, I was kneeling on the floor decorating a small Christmas tree in the shop. An old man (70ish, complete with walking stick) came into the shop and approached me. He spoke in a low voice and said, word for word, 'That's what I like to see...a young girl, on her knees in front of me, begging for it.' He was not joking, not even a hint of 'only messing'- just flat out sleeze.

There's another lad who comes into the shop and walks around, picking things up and arguing with himself in the third person. Everything about him screams nutjob, and if you engage him in any way he will linger- touching the counter in a manner that reminds me of that salad fingers cartoon with the rusty spoons, throwing out strange compliments. He once told me I shouldn't be working here, that I should be lying on a beach having men in loin cloths feed me grapes :confused:

I've met many, many strange creepy people (especially since I started working in a shop) but they generally tend to be males of 40 upwards. I'll save some of the really weird ones til later, anyone else have any encounters with people that say or do things to give you the creeps?

Your obviously a ride then ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

If they were hot young guys would they be as creepy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

So these "creepy people" are mostly men then. Sexist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

luckyfrank wrote: »
    Your obviously a ride then ?

Ha, no- just attract strange people sometimes, and these are the most recent!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

luckyfrank wrote: »
    You're obviously a ride then ?

"Do you come with the car?" :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

You dont know the meaning of the word.

Wait until you start seeing real weirdos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

Sauve wrote: »

Yes indeed they would- one of the creepiest from a few years ago was my own age and not bad looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Swingers?

chin_grin wrote: »
    "Do you come with the car?" :rolleyes:

Ohhhh you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Ya haven't seen creeps till you've spent a thursday in fibbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Babybuff

Started out work as a waitress (the place with the comely maid outfit) many moons ago and we had a few regulars who had their own special way of doing things, there was one guy in particular mid to late forties who would address us all by the shape of our legs. Mine apparently were fine legs for playing football with and at christmas he arrived with gifts, I got a spatula.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Ooh Jaysus the guy when you were kneeling - yuck!

I worked in Virgin Megastore when I was 19 and we wore a black t-shirt with just the Virgin logo on it. An auld fella said to me one day "Heheh, I bet you're not... "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Up around St. James's I always see people talking to themselves. I feel sorry for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

Ha, no- just attract strange people sometimes, and these are the most recent!!
    pics or GTFO:D:D:D

yeah their are some weirdos out there,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Ramming Hobbins. . .

Maybe not so odd. . .
    on a Friday...:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

creepy people or just dirty old man :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Wait until you start seeing real weirdos

That sentence just feels unfinished without 'would you like to right now? :D:mad::eek::D' at the end of it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Sindri wrote: »
    Up around St. James's I always see people talking to themselves. I feel sorry for them.

And thats just the staff !!! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭Old Tom

I've met many, many strange creepy people
    Have you met any specialist in psychiatry yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

They are just retired construction workers whistling at you from their scaffolding/walking stick . Get on with it .
    I once worked with a plumber that told a young apprentice to go up to the attic that he left a tool up there.
    When the young apprentice went up to the attic the plumber followed him and once in the attic he grabbed him by the nuts. He told him thats the only tool Im after.
    This is way more creepy than anything you have encountered but t the time none of us apprentices even thought of complaining , we thought it was building site craic.
    It was only years later I realised that im lucky Im not as pretty as that poor fella.

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭revell

You must be a good-looking girl. Please accept my compliments;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

How about the middle-aged man humming 'strangers in the night, exchanging glances' at you in the supermarket everytime you pass him! Talk about creepy.

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭Jambo221

My mother works in a supermarket, she was serving someone at her till one day and the following exchange took place:

Mum: "That'll be 1.69"
    Creep: "I'll give you more than one *wink*"

He left soon after, wearing 2 litres of milk :P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Mental.:D Health.:D Issues.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 574 ✭✭✭pipelaser

Do you work in a 'Massage Parlour'?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

When you're old and weather beaten, you'll long for days when you were crept upon...

It's a high class problem toots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

Dudess wrote: »

I worked in Virgin Megastore when I was 19 and we wore a black t-shirt with just the Virgin logo on it. An auld fella said to me one day "Heheh, I bet you're not... "

..so tell us...was he correct?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

I feel your pain...I too am a weirdo magnet. I like to think its because I am a nice person and they sense that I will entertain their manic ravings but actually I could just be a chump who is just a little too uneasy at telling people to go fcuk themselves. As well as the sexual deviants (the tin-pot romeo with the blinding smile who persisted in his attempted romancing, despite my six-month pregnant belly and the presence of my two small children while my husband was in the jacks), I'm a particular favourite with religious zealots (no trip to town is complete without a small following of shorn and berobed chanters; my home is a regular resting point for witnesses in ill-fitting suit jackets), and the genuinely mentally ill (I once walked the entire way around a supermarket with my hand in the vice like grip of a middle-aged woman with Downs Syndrome who'd slipped her carer). Some people are simply more attractive to the misfits of society...think of it as a vocation...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

just travel on Dublin bus...you'll see them everyday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I worked as a landscaper briefly when I was 18 and a woman came up to me and the lad I was working with.
    He was doing all the talking with her and I just stayed quiet. Then she started talking about me as if I wasn't there which seemed really odd, and started talking to him about the bone structure of my face and said how we had lots of foreigners over here now and that she lived in such a country when she was younger and had lots of servants ect ect. In the end she asked where exactly I was from and if I had any English at all. She had guessed I was from Hungry.
    I bit weird but not quite creepy, but if I was female and she was male it probably would have been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    Mental.:D Health.:D Issues.:rolleyes:
    indeed,sometimes people may seem odd due to other disabilities,especialy those whom its very hidden in and otherwise seem neurologicaly or cognitively typical.

sometimes its nothing to do with issues,but its the culture of where a persons from that differs.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

When I was working in a supermarket during college, there was a woman in her fifties working there who was quite slow.
    She'd always seem to ask me to help her push her trolley when it was very heavy, and often she'd try to give me 50p after I'd helped her, and would keep insisting no matter how much I refused it.
    Then as I was walking away she'd keep staring after me, smiling with her mouth open (though it was always open), for as long as possible.
    I can't really label her with deliberately creepy behaviour, and I couldn't help but be nice to her, but it was very creepy nonetheless.

When on the subway in New York, a very petite woman in a short Chinese-style dress sat across from me.
    At the next stop, a walking emodiment of all clichés about New York construction workers (hes looked justs likes this guys) sat beside me.
    He was huge, about seven foot tall and massively overweight, wearing a vest and jeans absolutely covered in dirt and dust from work. He was sweating heavily and breathing through his mouth very audibly, in a breathing-down-the-phone kind of way.
    Shortly after sitting down he turned to me, gestured towards the girl across from us (all of two feet away) and said, not-so-quietly, in his strong old-school, pre-hipster Brooklyn accent "Hey buddy, look at that!"
    I believe I whispered "Uh, sorry?"
    He continued: "Check that out huh? She's gawgeous! Man, I'd love to f*ck her!"
    He wasn't really making any effort to speak quietly, and I looked to the woman, who must've heard, but she didn't seem to have. Maybe she was used to it and was ignoring him.
    He kept going on, and started asking my opinion on the matter of the young girl across from us."Hey buddy, you like to f*ck that girl, huh? Man, she's so hot."
    I didn't want to answer as she'd surely hear me, but I also didn't want to disappoint this man as he was quite big and scary. I may have made some vague, noncommittal sounds like "buh" and "ah," and might even have nodded as she wasn't looking directly at us.
    I must admit that the thought of acting chivalrous and telling him sternly that he ought to be a gentleman never occurred to me, maybe because the girl didn't seem bothered.
    After what seemed like an eternity, the girl got off and the guy didn't speak to me again. While I wasn't being creeped upon, I was dragged uncomfortably into the creepzone and forced to become complicit in the creeping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Groinshot

Just had a guy come into me in work asking to pick up his laptop that he left with us. I looked up the details, he picked it up three years ago.... Started muttering something about how time just flies and he was terribly sorry....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Really ****ty 'flirting' skills does not equate creepiness.

Checkout: "That'll be 1.69"
    Brad Pitt: "I'll give you more than one. ;)"
    Checkout: *me gusta* :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

There's some fella at the bus stop I get on in the mornings. He's got a Scottish accent, he's always wearing the same tracksuit, stinks of piss. Has a watch on both wrists. Talks to himself a lot, and he walks up the pavement, by the bus stop, and stops to tell everyone 'its 8.33am, its 8.34am'. One time he asked me for a smoke, I gave him one, and he tore it up and threw it into the road.

Groinshot wrote: »
    Just had a guy come into me in work asking to pick up his laptop that he left with us. I looked up the details, he picked it up three years ago.... Started muttering something about how time just flies and he was terribly sorry....

Cool story bro needs more dragons.
    Did he get his laptop back or have you since lost it in these 3 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I was getting a really late bus back from Dublin to Limerick one night, last bus home type thing, and there was a guy wearing wellies carrying a Quinnsworth bag, with what looked like the end of a tail pipe of a car sticking out of it,he was a mouth breather too, and even though there was an entire bus with only two other people on it at the time, he sat directly behind me, buses are scary places

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭cojack101

I can sympathise.

I only started working retail last year, and my god some people give me the creeps.

I bounce between different shops around the south side for the same company, and it's the same pervs coming into each shop, no matter the location.

We are all probably talking about the same 20 or 30 whackadoos!!

I have a big black ugly cellmate weirdo , he is sitting here watching everything I ty,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

On a serious note I worked in a chemist on grafton street when in school and the same fella came into the girls asking about the condoms nearly every weekend. Asking them which ones were the best and which ones did they use. Funnily enough he was never barred just ignored.
    He must have been spending a fortune to get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

Preface: I am a skinny, effeminate, nerdy male, aged 29.

Was just after finishing work one Thursday, 9pm.
    Head to the bus-stop, music pumping away in my earbuds, the usual routine of nod-head, tap-foot 'til the bus comes... But to the right of me, there's some middle-aged prick bopping along to the same tempo as me, while looking me up and down, perverted goofy smile on him. I can smell the ten pints off him, and he's five feet away, so I start thinking "run, or twist balls, run, twist..."
    His mouth starts moving. I pretend this didn't happen. He walks up to me, and starts talking loud enough that I'd have to hear, so I take one bud out, and he repeats his spiel:

"You're having' a nice little boogie for yourself there, aren't you? Hnnnng hnnng hnnnnng..."

"I guess so."

"Looks nice, hnnnng.", with his palm rubbing slowly across his belly.

"The BUS!" which I sounded too excited for, was finally here. But this is where I make a fateful mistake.
    Never get on the bus BEFORE the weirdo who's speaking to you.
    I walk to my seat, innocently thinking "la la la la laaaaa, no more weirdo, awesome, sitting on bus, ignore ignore ignore, sit, sit sit, sit sit".
    He sits down beside me. I find it incredibly tough to be rude unless drunk, then I'm a cünt. So this is it. He's sitting beside me, on the bus, nudging at me to take my earbuds out, trying to talk to me. Thinking he might snap in a stupor, I do.
    "So, I suppose you're heading home, are you? Hnnnng..."
    God that fücking "Hnnnnnnnng" thing, this weird desperate outward breath that says "Want to fück."
    "I am," I say, "off home to my girlfriend." hoping to fück that this'll throw him off the scent.
    "Ooh, I bet she's gorgeous, with a fabulous man like you on her arm... Hnnnnng..."
    "Eh, uh, yeah... Ahm... Yeah, I suppose."
    "I'd say ye're beautiful together... Hnnng... I suppose you'll be riding' her when you're back... Hnnnnnnnnnnnnng..."
    Sensing an opportunity to at least make it jokey...
    "Nah, we've been going out five years, sex doesn't exist anymore..."
    "Oh, I'll bet it does. I'd say she likes it good and hard, from a fabulous man such as yourself... Hnnnnnnnng... I'd say she does, and I'd say you give it good..."
    Now, I am in no way fabulous, but gays tend to like me, which is grand... But not great when cornered against a bus-window.
    I can hear the people behind me stifling laughter.
    "So, eeeeeehhhh, what're YOU doing tonight, got a wife to go home to, ah, ride?"
    "No, I'll be all alone... Hnnnnng... No sex... Hnnnnng..."
    "Ah well, it's over-rated. Make yourself a bacon sandwich. Much better."
    He starts getting depressed-looking, ignores me, and gets off at the next bus-stop.
    "OH THANK FUUUCK!", and the people behind me break their holes laughing.

Fin.

Sauve wrote: »
    In fairness Sauve, that point is fair enough when a girl is complaining about a guy merely saying hi, striking up a conversation etc, but the thing the guy said to the OP when she was kneeling is borderline harassment. And the other stuff she describes is weird and cringey full stop, no matter what the person's looks are like. There's a line.

grindle wrote: »
    Preface: I am a skinny, effeminate, nerdy male, aged 29.

Was just after finishing work one Thursday, 9pm.
    Head to the bus-stop, music pumping away in my earbuds, the usual routine of nod-head, tap-foot 'til the bus comes... But to the right of me, there's some middle-aged prick bopping along to the same tempo as me, while looking me up and down, perverted goofy smile on him. I can smell the ten pints off him, and he's five feet away, so I start thinking "run, or twist balls, run, twist..."
    His mouth starts moving. I pretend this didn't happen. He walks up to me, and starts talking loud enough that I'd have to hear, so I take one bud out, and he repeats his spiel:

"You're having' a nice little boogie for yourself there, aren't you? Hnnnng hnnng hnnnnng..."

"I guess so."

"Looks nice, hnnnng.", with his palm rubbing slowly across his belly.

"The BUS!" which I sounded too excited for, was finally here. But this is where I make a fateful mistake.
    Never get on the bus BEFORE the weirdo who's speaking to you.
    I walk to my seat, innocently thinking "la la la la laaaaa, no more weirdo, awesome, sitting on bus, ignore ignore ignore, sit, sit sit, sit sit".
    He sits down beside me. I find it incredibly tough to be rude unless drunk, then I'm a cünt. So this is it. He's sitting beside me, on the bus, nudging at me to take my earbuds out, trying to talk to me. Thinking he might snap in a stupor, I do.
    "So, I suppose you're heading home, are you? Hnnnng..."
    God that fücking "Hnnnnnnnng" thing, this weird desperate outward breath that says "Want to fück."
    "I am," I say, "off home to my girlfriend." hoping to fück that this'll throw him off the scent.
    "Ooh, I bet she's gorgeous, with a fabulous man like you on her arm... Hnnnnng..."
    "Eh, uh, yeah... Ahm... Yeah, I suppose."
    "I'd say ye're beautiful together... Hnnng... I suppose you'll be riding' her when you're back... Hnnnnnnnnnnnnng..."
    Sensing an opportunity to at least make it jokey...
    "Nah, we've been going out five years, sex doesn't exist anymore..."
    "Oh, I'll bet it does. I'd say she likes it good and hard, from a fabulous man such as yourself... Hnnnnnnnng... I'd say she does, and I'd say you give it good..."
    Now, I am in no way fabulous, but gays tend to like me, which is grand... But not great when cornered against a bus-window.
    I can hear the people behind me stifling laughter.
    "So, eeeeeehhhh, what're YOU doing tonight, got a wife to go home to, ah, ride?"
    "No, I'll be all alone... Hnnnnng... No sex... Hnnnnng..."
    "Ah well, it's over-rated. Make yourself a bacon sandwich. Much better."
    He starts getting depressed-looking, ignores me, and gets off at the next bus-stop.
    "OH THANK FUUUCK!", and the people behind me break their holes laughing.

Fin.
    Dude you play your earphones so loud everyone at the bus stop and on the bus has to listen to your ****. You stand at bus stop dancing . D o you ever wonder if ypu brought a gay come on on yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

cloptrop wrote: »
    Dude you play your earphones so loud everyone at the bus stop and on the bus has to listen to your ****. You stand at bus stop dancing . D o you ever wonder if ypu brought a gay come on on yourself.

Dude, my earphones aren't that loud, they're in-ear and I don't want to be deaf. I was nodding my head, and my knee was jittering along. That makes ME the bad one?
    Are you one of these people who thinks short skirts=rape?

Dude, my earphones aren't that loud, they're in-ear and I don't want to be deaf. I was nodding my head, and my knee was jittering along. That makes ME the bad one?
    Are you one of these people who thinks short skirts=rape?

Ha ha no a homosexual come on is not the same as rape , that is racist or whatever it would come under.Your music was loud enough for him to dance to, he just thought you were gay he tried to chat you up. Its hardly rape.
    Homophobic thats the word I was looking for .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭SirLemonhead

Suit you sir! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

This happened when I was 18.
    My friend had just moved into a house share with people he didn't know, we went back there one night after town for more beers. His house mate (a 45 year old tubby man) came into the living room and we gave him a beer, my buddy fell asleep so me and the house mate were just left to chat away, house mate said he had a bit of hash up in his room if I wanted to go up and have a smoke, I said great so we headed up to his room, continued drinking and talking, he made a smoke and passed it on, he then went to the CD player and put on Savage Garden, he asked did I like them, I just said they're grand, the next words out of his mouth when he sat down were do you want to have sex now, I said no I have a girlfriend, he said okay are you sure, I said I'll talk to you later bhoy, he said okay bye nice talking to you.

:eek::confused::(:o:mad::pac:

Must be lonely for a lot of older gay men in Ireland - might not feel able to tell anyone close to them, but it doesn't excuse coming on to guys without establishing that they're gay.

Do men tell you they are straight before coming on to you?