Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relic of St Laurence O'Toole stolen from Christ Church.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

The 12th Century preserved heart of the Patron Saint of Dublin, Saint Laurence O'Toole, has been stolen from Christ Church Cathedral.

Who the fcuk would want to do this?

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0303/laurenceotoole.html

Doubtless some heartless bastards.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Oh noes, hold on there while I count how many fúcks I give.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Someone call Tom Hanks, he is good at this kind of ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭mongoman

Oh noes, hold on there while I count how many fúcks I give.

So why even bother posting here if you couldn't give a fúck?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭Nate--IRL--

mongoman wrote: »

It is in After Hours - it seems to bring out the inner dickhead in some posters.

Nate

• Registered Users Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

What a bunch of tools!

Because I can.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

Itinerants I'd say.

Because I can.

Which wasn't my point.

You were trying to make a point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

Im guessing it is someone with a grudge against priests.

immm. Not many of them about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Obviously it's not too difficult to bypass security there.

Maybe not enough of them on the beat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

gsxr1 wrote: »
    Im guessing it is someone with a grudge against priests.

immm. Not many of them about

It's the Church of Ireland's cathedral, not sure how many Irish people have a grudge against a vicar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Itinerants I'd say.
    I would doubt it very much, travellers are very superstitious about this type of stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

I would doubt it very much, travellers are very superstitious about this type of stuff.
    That's funny because around a year and a half ago there was expensive grave ornaments stolen from my Grandmother's grave and others, and guess where they were recovered from by AGS? That's right a traveller halting site!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Itinerants I'd say.
    The crowd at the confirmation in ballinrobe last week didn't seem to mind ......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

That's funny because around a year and a half ago there was expensive grave ornaments stolen from my Grandmother's grave and others, and guess where they were recovered from by AGS? That's right a traveller halting site!

There is a difference between grave ornaments and bits of a dead body.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Itinerants I'd say.
    Single Mothers I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Nodin wrote: »
    Doubtless some heartless bastards.

Gardaí are seeking a Tin Woodsman to assist them with their inquiries.

You were trying to make a point?

keep trying, you might work it out eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Gardai have identified a suspect:

http://tinyurl.com/heartsuspect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

Twas fuppin' Muslims I bet!

Crusade is on! I've got a hurl & some Doritos, we're takin back Jerusalem tonight!

To the Pope Mobile!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,934 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Maybe someone felt that the heart deserved a Christian burial rather than being paraded in a church especially as it is certain to be a fake.

Relics belong in a travelling freak show & not in a modern religion.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

Gardai have identified a suspect:

http://tinyurl.com/heartsuspect

Did you get permission to use that?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Bad dog!:mad::mad::mad:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Fart wrote: »
    Did you get permission to use that?

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Discodog wrote: »
    Maybe someone felt that the heart deserved a Christian burial rather than being paraded in a church especially as it is certain to be a fake.

Relics belong in a travelling freak show & not in a modern religion.

Wisdom is back in town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

I know whats its like to have your heart stolen by another :(

Whoever said it is better to have loved and lost was a fool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,216 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Wizard of Oz would be my guess,he is always looking for hearts to give away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Who the fcuk would want to do this?

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0303/laurenceotoole.html

Agreed, pretty creepy keeping a human heart like that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

He was good in Lawrence of Arabia.

Or should I just say 'He was good in Arabia'?

bleg wrote: »
    Agreed, pretty creepy keeping a human heart like that...

No more creepy than keeping it in a church for people to ogle at !

Today if anyone took out a human heart before burial to keep as a souvenir the church would condemn it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

What grade relic was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

No more creepy than keeping it in a church for people to ogle at !

Ya, just like I said. Creepy creepy church.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Jason Mewes visited the crypt last week. The Gardaí might want to follow up on that.

benwavner wrote: »
    What grade relic was it?

Grade ? :confused:

Edit: Just Googled. If you believe that it's a bit of a Saint then it's a grade one. One would of thought that Saints, of all people, would deserve a decent funeral instead of being disembowelled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I wonder how much it's worth.... and would i be taking the piss putting it in the buy and sell so soon.

RichieC wrote: »
    I wonder how much it's worth.... and would i be taking the piss putting it in the buy and sell so soon.

No you're fine. I have just bought some pig hearts & plan to do the same thing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,757 ✭✭✭smokingman

Edit: Just Googled. If you believe that it's a bit of a Saint then it's a grade one. One would of thought that Saints, of all people, would deserve a decent funeral instead of being disembowelled.

So being a grade one, does it banish ghosts and cure cancer then yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

What grade relic was it?

It's on a par with the mushroom field in Cavan afaik

It was a reference to Father Ted............don'tworry about it Discodog. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

My chief suspect in this crime is the Teflon Taoiseach himself, he's the only one slippery enough and badly in need of a heart to have been able to slip in n ou while no one noticed.

smokingman wrote: »
    So being a grade one, does it banish ghosts and cure cancer then yeah?

As long as you believe that it will - it's the same with my pig hearts :D

It was a reference to Father Ted............don'tworry about it Discodog. :p

I guessed that but it did make me wonder how they "grade" the things :D

I remember reading that if all the bits of the "true" cross had been put together the thing would of been huge ! Oh & apparently one Saint has at least three heads !

I guessed that but it did make me wonder how they "grade" the things :D

Maybe I should have Google'd it too...............I actually thought the whole grade thing was a piss take. Evidently not.

WHOO HOO a 2,012 post in the year 2012.....do I get a prize or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Maybe I should have Google'd it too...............I actually thought the whole grade thing was a piss take. Evidently not.

Nope. Which makes it funnier, of course.

• Registered Users Posts: 21 Cowenwatch

Al Qaeda?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,046 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Must be a fox. Them buggers is all over Dublin these days. Leave a bit of meat lying around, 'e'll be in like a shot, no respect for anyfink, the wily sods ...

Ye Hypocrites, are these your pranks
    To murder men and gie God thanks?
    Desist for shame, proceed no further
    God won't accept your thanks for murder.

―Robert Burns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

My guess is Feargal Sharkey.;)