Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Right from the start. Unable to run for a minute ----> To a Marathon.

Options
  • 04-03-2012 5:08pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭

This is my first training log (with thanks to Bammbaata for suggesting it to me) This is a little unusual for the forum here as most training logs are from established runners documenting their progress to marathons etc :D This is one right from the start and I'm hoping in a few months time may serve as inspiration for other total beginners.

A little about me for those who do end up reading this thread.

I'm about 6 weeks into a training program called "get running" which I have downloaded on my iphone. It's a couch to 5k app which takes you from the most humblest of beginnings and brings you to a point where you can hopefully run 5k in approx 30 minutes. I had a brief flirtation with running a couple of years ago but once stopped fitness levels plummeted and weight piled on.

I'm coming at this from being overweight (was at 16 stone 6 weeks ago) and struggling to run for 1 minute at a time.

My Goal

Short term - I have set a modest target of running the 5 mile race in the phoenix park at the end of June. I want to run this in less than 40 minutes and would be very happy with 38 or lower. In the medium term I want to shed some weight (have lost 10 lbs so far) and maybe stretch to a 10 mile or half marathon at some stage.

The last 6 weeks in summary ..

I already feel like I have made huge progress. Each week consists of 3 runs

Week 1
    Each run was made up of 8 x 1 minute runs with 1.5 minutes rest between each.

Week 2