Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

New National Anthem needed.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

What's your problem with our current one?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

it's ****e and it's in a language the majority of the population can't speak

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,246 ✭✭✭conor.hogan.2

No, it is not needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

LOL get off the computer and learn it then. If people in America can learn it then so can you.

It's not ****e. I like it. What would be ****e would be if it was sung in English.

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭forfuxsake

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭AEDIC

LOL get off the computer and learn it then. If people in America can learn it then so can you.

It's not ****e. I like it. What would be ****e would be if it was sung in English.

Or German :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

That's your and their problem. I went to school and did Irish for 14 years and yes I can speak Irish.

Besides, it's not shíte, I rather like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Bück dich by Rammstein...
    We're ruled by Germany now and we're also totally ****ed....

Better not post a video...:D

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I like it, a good rousing call to arms, the ending always gives me goosebumps. I'd hate to see another commissioned to replace it, Phil Coulter's Ireland's Call really pisses me off when I hear it, its like a bloody pop song, really embarrassing. I know the Nordy boys on the rugger team had to be appeased somehow but surely somebody could have done better job on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

I'll admit to not being a fan of the national anthem but...

FFS, its what we've got, and I hate this sh1te of picking holes in it.

Can't see too many people signing up to Irelands Call!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭luckyfrank

As Gaelge

Seo dhibh a chairde duan Oglaigh,
    Cathreimeach briomhar ceolmhar,
    Ar dtinte cnamh go buacach taid,
    'S an speir go min realtogach
    Is fonnmhar faobhrach sinn chun gleo
    'S go tiunmhar gle roimh thiocht do'n lo
    Fe chiunas chaomh na hoiche ar seol:
    Seo libh canaidh Amhran na bhFiann

Curfa:
    Sinne Firnna Fail
    A ta fe gheall ag Eirinn,
    buion dar slua
    Thar toinn do rainig chugainn,
    Fe mhoid bheith saor.
    Sean tir ar sinsir feasta
    Ni fhagfar fe'n tioran na fe'n trail
    Anocht a theam sa bhearna bhaoil,
    Le gean ar Ghaeil chun bais no saoil
    Le guna screach fe lamhach na bpilear
    Seo libh canaidh Amhran na bhFiann.

Cois banta reidhe, ar ardaibh sleibhe,
    Ba bhuachach ar sinsir romhainn,
    Ag lamhach go trean fe'n sar-bhrat sein
    Ta thuas sa ghaoith go seolta
    Ba dhuchas riamh d'ar gcine chaidh
    Gan iompail siar o imirt air,
    'S ag siul mar iad i gcoinne namhad
    Seo libh, canaidh Amhran na bhFiann

Curfa

A bhuion nach fann d'fhuil Ghaeil is Gall,
    Sin breacadh lae na saoirse,
    Ta sceimhle 's scanradh i gcroithe namhad,
    Roimh ranna laochra ar dtire.
    Ar dtinte is treith gan spreach anois,
    Sin luisne ghle san speir anoir,
    'S an biobha i raon na bpilear agaibh:
    Seo libh, canaidh Amhran na bh Fiann.

Curfa

In English

We'll sing song, a soldier's song,
    With cheering rousing chorus,
    As round our blazing fires we throng,
    The starry heavens o'er us;
    Impatient for the coming fight,
    And as we wait the morning's light,
    Here in the silence of the night,
    We'll chant a soldier's song.

Chorus:
    Soldiers are we
    whose lives are pledged to Ireland;
    Some have come
    from a land beyond the wave.
    Sworn to be free,
    No more our ancient sire land
    Shall shelter the despot or the slave.
    Tonight we man the gap of danger
    In Erin's cause, come woe or weal
    'Mid cannons' roar and rifles peal,
    We'll chant a soldier's song

In valley green, on towering crag,
    Our fathers fought before us,
    And conquered 'neath the same old flag
    That's proudly floating o'er us.
    We're children of a fighting race,
    That never yet has known disgrace,
    And as we march, the foe to face,

Chorus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

our national anthem is brilliant. its a pity that it sums up what we used to stand for. Currently it doesn't, all it represent is the english soccer following, money grabbing, begrudging shower of **** that most of ireland is now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

This one for our Germany friends(listen to the words): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dQw4w9WgXcQ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

neil_hosey wrote: »
    our national anthem is brilliant. its a pity that it sums up what we used to stand for. Currently it doesn't, all it represent is the english soccer following, money grabbing, begrudging shower of **** that most of ireland is now.

• Registered Users Posts: 254 ✭✭moany

With the price of petrol and diesel , maybe this could be our new national anthem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

1 million times better than the abomination that is "Ireland's Call".

baz2009 wrote: »

Ehhhh you couldn't be more wrong... Ireland Call is what it is, its the anthem of rugby that is all inclusive of both north and south, you can't just dismiss it cos it doesnt suit ya... it is for want of a better description, "politically correct", but it has its place and that cannot be just ignored just because you don't like it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

I think the anthem is grand no need to change it

• Registered Users Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

We could just edit the English national anthem by singing "God save our country"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Deutschland Deutschland uber alles... oh wait the Germans aren't allowed to sing that on account of shoving six million people into poison gas chambers recently so they just mentally fill in the words.

Edit: fucking lol: "The following content has been identified by the YouTube community as being potentially offensive or inappropriate. Viewer discretion is advised. "

Anyway, yeah our own anthem is robbed directly off of "pomp and circumstance" so it should be changed to something celtic. Maybe some enya for the craic.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,534 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Ehhhh you couldn't be more wrong... Ireland Call is what it is, its the anthem of rugby that is all inclusive of both north and south, you can't just dismiss it cos it doesnt suit ya... it is for want of a better description, "politically correct", but it has its place and that cannot be just ignored just because you don't like it!

It's a rubbish song. I'd personally drop the Ulster lads so we won't have to endure that ****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

It just has to be Lovely horse,,

• Registered Users Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

baz2009 wrote: »

Irelands Call is a great anthem imo, far better than the national anthem. Makes me feel a lot more patriotic when i hear it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

It's a rubbish song. I'd personally drop the Ulster lads so we won't have to endure that ****e.

Drop Tommy Bowe????!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Two Father Ted references and neither of them 'Ghost Town'. Not impressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

Anti Irish brigade is out in force again tonight. Really doesn't matter where anyone is from and the more culture the better, makes people far more interesting. But Ireland has to be one of the only countries I've seen that constantly bashes it's own culture and history on a day to day basis. I get it that we're in a bad economic situation with a lousy government, but christ we're not the only country to be so and rather than looking on some good aspects of our culture like Irish language which ok not everyone likes and thats fine, but for the people who do, its rich in a literature and musical sense, and other aspects of Irish culture too. Grow up. These type of threads are constantly coming up on after hours. Boring at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Anti Irish brigade is out in force again tonight. Really doesn't matter where anyone is from and the more culture the better, makes people far more interesting. But Ireland has to be one of the only countries I've seen that constantly bashes it's own culture and history on a day to day basis. I get it that we're in a bad economic situation with a lousy government, but christ we're not the only country to be so and rather than looking on some good aspects of our culture like Irish language which ok not everyone likes and thats fine, but for the people who do, its rich in a literature and musical sense, and other aspects of Irish culture too. Grow up. These type of threads are constantly coming up on after hours. Boring at this stage.
    Our national anthem was swiped from a ditty celebrating British Imperialism, yes it should be changed. There are a lot of the brotherhood of nod out and about though with that said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

Its grand. Keep it like it is. Once its not Ireland's call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭tempura

Christ, I was just having a laugh.

Some people are awful touchy about a bit of a tune !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

shoving conny around the green

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

Ireland's call is a bit camp

• Registered Users Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

Ireland's call is a bit camp

at least you can understand Ireland's call, not like that other rubbish, sang in that dead bogball language

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

at least you can understand Ireland's call, not like that other rubbish, sang in that dead bogball language

Stay swimming until you reach England

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Please do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Da Nash Annnnthum on da Noorthsoide is dis beaut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I don't particularly identify with the Irish anthem. I don't suggest changing it, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

John Doe1 wrote: »

The Sash should be the Anthem for the Protestant players. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

KeithAFC wrote: »

The Sash should be the Anthem for the Protestant players. ;)
    Why?
    Are all Protestants automaically Orangemen?
    And if so are all Roman Catholics IRA scum?
    What Anthem would be used for agnostics?Athiests?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Enkidu

I never really looked at the National Anthem before and I just realised that its Irish is very archaic. There's a few verbs in it that haven't been in common use since the 18th century.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,516 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Probably no need to change it but its definitely a bit flat as anthems go to be honest.
    Noticeable that no Irish sporting crowd ever breaks into a spontaneous rendition of Amhrann na bhFiann. We sing along at the official time during the preliminaries, but thats it, forgotten about til the next match.
    It was especially noticeable in the Stade de France on Sunday, with 60000 people continually belting out La Marsellaise throughout the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

RachaelVO wrote: »
    As Gaelge

Seo dhibh a chairde duan Oglaigh,
    Cathreimeach briomhar ceolmhar,
    Ar dtinte cnamh go buacach taid,
    'S an speir go min realtogach
    Is fonnmhar faobhrach sinn chun gleo
    'S go tiunmhar gle roimh thiocht do'n lo
    Fe chiunas chaomh na hoiche ar seol:
    Seo libh canaidh Amhran na bhFiann

Curfa:
    Sinne Firnna Fail
    A ta fe gheall ag Eirinn,
    buion dar slua
    Thar toinn do rainig chugainn,
    Fe mhoid bheith saor.
    Sean tir ar sinsir feasta
    Ni fhagfar fe'n tioran na fe'n trail
    Anocht a theam sa bhearna bhaoil,
    Le gean ar Ghaeil chun bais no saoil
    Le guna screach fe lamhach na bpilear
    Seo libh canaidh Amhran na bhFiann.

Cois banta reidhe, ar ardaibh sleibhe,
    Ba bhuachach ar sinsir romhainn,
    Ag lamhach go trean fe'n sar-bhrat sein
    Ta thuas sa ghaoith go seolta
    Ba dhuchas riamh d'ar gcine chaidh
    Gan iompail siar o imirt air,
    'S ag siul mar iad i gcoinne namhad
    Seo libh, canaidh Amhran na bhFiann

Curfa

A bhuion nach fann d'fhuil Ghaeil is Gall,
    Sin breacadh lae na saoirse,
    Ta sceimhle 's scanradh i gcroithe namhad,
    Roimh ranna laochra ar dtire.
    Ar dtinte is treith gan spreach anois,
    Sin luisne ghle san speir anoir,
    'S an biobha i raon na bpilear agaibh:
    Seo libh, canaidh Amhran na bh Fiann.

Curfa

In English

We'll sing song, a soldier's song,
    With cheering rousing chorus,
    As round our blazing fires we throng,
    The starry heavens o'er us;
    Impatient for the coming fight,
    And as we wait the morning's light,
    Here in the silence of the night,
    We'll chant a soldier's song.

Chorus:
    Soldiers are we
    whose lives are pledged to Ireland;
    Some have come
    from a land beyond the wave.
    Sworn to be free,
    No more our ancient sire land
    Shall shelter the despot or the slave.
    Tonight we man the gap of danger
    In Erin's cause, come woe or weal
    'Mid cannons' roar and rifles peal,

In valley green, on towering crag,
    Our fathers fought before us,
    And conquered 'neath the same old flag
    That's proudly floating o'er us.
    We're children of a fighting race,
    That never yet has known disgrace,
    And as we march, the foe to face,

Chorus
    That isn't the anthem. Neither is there an English version of it. What you have posted is a song called The Soldier's Song.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

That isn't the anthem. Neither is there an English version of it. What you have posted is a song called The Soldier's Song.

Actually the anthem was originally sung in English in the 1920's, in it is unclear as to when exactly the Irish language version written by Liam O Roinn became the prevailing version.

I find the Irish national anthem to be a rousing old tune. Obviously being Irish is a biasing factor, but I'd put only maybe the French and Italian anthems as being more 'inspirational' sounding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭baltimore sun

I want this as our anthem

or maybe this one for before football games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

elefant wrote: »
    Actually the anthem was originally sung in English in the 1920's, in it is unclear as to when exactly the Irish language version written by Liam O Roinn became the prevailing version.

I find the Irish national anthem to be a rousing old tune. Obviously being Irish is a biasing factor, but I'd put only maybe the French and Italian anthems as being more 'inspirational' sounding.
    The song existed before the 1920s but the official anthem is in Irish only and has no words in English. Officially they are two different songs

• Registered Users Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

Stay swimming until you reach England

I could do that, or I could stay in the country I was born in and keep sticking it to you nationalistic loons