Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dealing with a "GET YOUR DOG AWAY FROM MY CHILD!" *Read post #117*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

Em, get your dog away from the kids.

Some people hate dogs or are terrified of them, nothing annoys me more then people letting their dogs run amok, running over to strangers.

I hate it, half the time people dont even have their dogs trained properly, ie they jump up. When I was a child I was terrified of dogs, I didnt understand they were just coming over to say hello. I know that now but when people who dont have dogs see one running over to their small child naturally they are scared, apprehensive and annoyed at the inconsiderate owner. Dogs bite afterall.

What I do when I see small kids and I can't cross the road or whatever is get my dog (golden retriever) to sit calmly on the side of the path until they pass. If they want to pet the dog I generally let them unless I'm in a rush.

Many dog owners have a sense of entitlement, but not everyone likes dogs, and people, especially kids who may be afraid of dogs, come first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,188 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

If the dog is under control (doesn't have to be leashed) she should feck off and mind her own business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Armelodie wrote: »
    Am I banned yet...the truth hurts

Yes you are. I suggest you consider what forum you're in and tone down you language before returning. FYI children aren't always that clean, neither are humans. I clean up after my dogs, and I have to negotiate our way through filth left by parents & children but that's part of life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭deandean

OP here, many thanks all for your replies, it is great to get this feedback!

Yes, absolutely, my dog is always on a lead and is well socialised.

What I see in the woman is a genuine fear - I don't think she is putting this on - and it is sad to see this paranoia being passed onto her next generation.

I am gonna keep my place on the footpath and telling her to stop being so bloody paranoid. I will report back LOL!

Dean

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Amzie

Em, get your dog away from the kids.

Some people hate dogs or are terrified of them, nothing annoys me more then people letting their dogs run amok, running over to strangers.

The OP's dog is undercontrol and on a lead,

I agree that dogs should be on a lead and not running around annoying ppl! I always have my dog on a lead when out on walks and if we go to beach I will only leave him off when its quiet:) I'd hate for him to hurt anyones kids as he only wants to play but dosent know his own strength!

I dislike (some)peoples attitude to my dog when I do have him under my control on a lead and they throw looks of disgust as if hes going to eat thim! seriously like they need to get a grip!:rolleyes: theres a mixed bunch of people out there, they either love him and say hes like a fluffy teddy bear or they think hes a wolf (hes a samoyed- friendliest ejit around):P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭gud4u

I have four dogs, it still annoys me when others dogs jump up on me, and I will lose it if i'm in my 'Dry Clean Only' uniform or coat.

The OPs problem mother, does sound scared, but could equally just be like my friend who goes nuts if the dogs dirty her kids clothes, it used to be a problem, until I told her clearly, that my dogs are not super trained robots and do get excited from time to time as her kids are the only ones they see. My friend has now agreed to only have her kids over without their best clothes on.

It's only a sugestion, but could you leave the dog at home just one morning and ask her to explain herself, if you think that's something she may be open to. Perhaps it's already gone on too long.
    Maybe you'll both see a different side to it, it could just escalate things if you hold your ground now. If she's not interested in improving the situation, then you have done all you can, and by all means, just walk on by, head high, dog and kids in tow.

deandean wrote: »
    OP here, many thanks all for your replies, it is great to get this feedback!

Yes, absolutely, my dog is always on a lead and is well socialised.

What I see in the woman is a genuine fear - I don't think she is putting this on - and it is sad to see this paranoia being passed onto her next generation.

I am gonna keep my place on the footpath and telling her to stop being so bloody paranoid. I will report back LOL!

Dean
    Wow, you are giving dog owners a bad name.

So the womans afraid of dogs and you wont even be a bit considerate?

"LOL" :rolleyes:

Its not funny, some people are really scared of dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,742 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

I think if the woman is really scared of dogs, she should probably keep out of their way, rather than demand the OP get away. I think the woman in question needs to be a bit more considerate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

Put it this way, if you're afraid of flying do you let rip at the pilot or the airline staff? No - you avoid flying.

If this woman has a fear of dogs it's in HER best interests to avoid the situation ie she should be the person crossing the road to avoid the dog. What entitlement has she that all dogs and their owners must clear from her path? It's clear from the OP that she hasn't been polite or even explained herself - she's just gone on the offensive straight away.

The OP has been considerate of her as he has taken to walking past her on the road with his dog and his children. Do you really think that is unconsiderate???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

deandean wrote: »
    I wouldn't phrase it like that, but if she says anything to you say that you think it's unreasonable for her to ask your children to stand on the road, and assure her that the dog won't go near her. I'd keep the dog on a short lead on the other side of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

How on earth is the OP giving dog owners a bad name? Because she wont allow herself to be bullied out onto the road because of someone and their irrational fear?

Fair enough if the dog was running wild, but the OP is perfectly entitled to walk on the path. You can't bend over backwards to please everyone. If the woman has such a fear of dogs she should work on it. It's not up to the OP to.

Maybe its not irrational.

Always amuses me how so many dog owners dont recognize that people come first and dogs are simply animals.

If the woman is scared of dogs and you know that, the decent thing to do is to try and keep your dog away from that person. Its not that hard, I've already explained what I do, people appreciate it and I've never had any issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Always amuses me how so many dog owners dont recognize that people come first and dogs are simply animals.

If the woman is scared of dogs and you know that, the decent thing to do is to try and keep your dog away from that person. Its not that hard, I've already explained what I do, people appreciate it and I've never had any issues.

A stranger with an irrational fear, who expects me to walk on the road to accommodate them has nothing to do with dogs being animals. It's infringing on the OP's right to use the street. The op is doing nothing wrong, why should they be subjected to a stranger shouting at them?

It always amuses me how people expect dog owners to bend over backwards to accommodate them.

And yes, if the dog is under control then it is an irrational fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,627 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I have a close relative who is mad about dogs. As far as she is concerned everyone should treat her animals with the same enthusiasm as she does. Their needs come first. They are the babies who's feelings must not be hurt (:rolleyes:)

Everyone including her frail grandmother should accommodate the dogs, (ie walk round them if they choose to lay across the middle of the floor when visiting the grandmother's apartment) then she wonders why people get just a bit irritated with her. She wonders, but she doesn't come to any reasonable conclusions, and so we go on.

The OP should not be attacked in that way, nor should she have to walk in the road. She should be expected to keep the dog on a short leash near other people, and respect the fact that not everyone likes dogs. There is no need for extreme behaviour on either side.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭lrushe

I agree that people come before dogs in a life or death circumstance but this is hardly that.
    The women in question not only expects the OP to walk his dog on the road for her convience but also himself & his children which is unexceptable, her comfort does not trumph the OP, his well behaved dog & his children's safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,916 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Yes it is irrational. A hell of a lot more people get killed and hurt by cars than dogs in this country. Would you stop driving because everyday you had to drive past someone with a fear of cars? Many women who are raped by men develop a fear of men, would you stay indoors if you found out your neighbour feared men for that reason? I have a fear of flying, it's bad enough that at times I feel anxious when planes fly over me. But that's my irrational fear and I don't call up the aviation authority and scream at them for flying planes over my house on occasion.

If someone has a fear of something they actually need to recognise that it is their issue, not anybody else's. In fact expecting others to pander to your fear does yourself no favours. You will never be able to function properly if you don't deal with your fear and learn to either get over it or control it. If someone has a fear of dogs they need to get over themselves. In fact if someone had a fear of cars or men everyone they know would press them to get counselling to learn how to cope and that's what someone who can't walk down a street with a dog on it without screaming, should be doing too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭ppink

If I were you I would not cross the road but I would make sure the dog does not touch her or the kids. I would keep him against the edge of the path.

Then without the kids being there I would have a conversation with her about it.....is it fear or does she just not like dogs. If she is scared i would be explaining to her that she is making herself a target(wrong word but can think of the right one just now:rolleyes:) for the dog. anyone who is on edge always attracts my dogs attention more. I would ask is ther anyway I can help with this. Its up to her then.

I think it must be awful to be afraid of dogs. I have met people who have said from a distance that they were afraid and I would always rein in everybody and move to the side for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 534 ✭✭✭talkin

what breed is your dog op? i know that some people genuinly have major fears of bigger dogs. i know that shouldnt matter. i was bringing my little dog on the lead and a woman nearly ran when she seen her. some people have had bad experiences with dogs and feel threatened by them no matter what

• Registered Users Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ziggy23

Armelodie wrote: »
    if you enslave an animal for your own pleasure it's cruelty.
    Dogs lick their own genitals and can carry pests/disease.
    I have to negotiate my way with my child through dog excrement in the parks and footpaths beach every day because the council and other people won't do their job, and this will never change..

so if you really love your dog then keep it in your own backyard.... I dont want them in my life..maybe consider giving the money you'd spend on an animal to a charity for humans!

Am I banned yet...the truth hurts

^^^mother of god I've heard it all now:rolleyes::rolleyes:
    OP if this was happening on a regular occurence the next time I walked by her I would say in a loud voice''my dog is not going to touch you or your kids'' and then just ignore her from from then on.

• Registered Users Posts: 746 ✭✭✭skregs

Have your dog attack the kids

<Banned>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

• Registered Users Posts: 323 ✭✭loconnor1001

if the dog is on his leash and behaves then let her walk off the path or cross the road if she doesn't like it!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭colly10

If the dog is on a leash I would ignore her and I wouldn't be leaving the footpath to avoid her, she is being totally unreasonable.

On the other hand if the dog isn't on the leash I can understand her, I have seen dogs off the leash with their owners that would be big enough to savage me and naturally the dog is curious so can start moving quickly towards you. Her kids are small and she doesn't know your dog so it's reasonable for her to consider that the dog poses a theat if it's not on the leash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

I don't understand those that would make no consideraton, surely it is manners. I don't mean dive head first into traffic, but keep the dog on a short lead and keep it firmly to one side with yourself between the two parties or perhaps cross over or duck into a driveway if easier to do so.

With kids involved belligerence is not the answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

I don't understand those that would make no consideraton, surely it is manners. I don't mean dive head first into traffic, but keep the dog on a short lead and keep it firmly to one side with yourself between the two parties or perhaps cross over or duck into a driveway if easier to do so.

With kids involved belligerence is not the answer.

This ^.
    our dog walks to and from school with us. I always put myself between the dog and other people and if there are a few kids/ buggy I'll step off the pavement. I wouldn't have my own kids step off the pavement though... don't see the need for that.
    Even on a very short lead it only takes a split second for my dog to have her mucky paws up on someone passing close enough and though shes being friendly the other person doesn't necessarily know that and it can be very scary for a child.

On the other side of the coin my daughter was really scared of dogs when she was small... really really scared, I mean even seeing a dog on the other side of the road had her in pieces. Irrational yes but....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,163 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

colly10 wrote:
    If the dog is on a leash I would ignore her and I wouldn't be leaving the footpath to avoid her, she is being totally unreasonable.
    This.I'd go out of my way to be mannerly about it, but if some nutcase(yes nutcase) is shouting at me going about my business with my dog on lead and under control then sod that. Worse said nutcase is transmitting this irrational fear to the next generation. Basically for me other people's mentalism is not my concern as long as I'm acting in a socially appropriate and responsible way.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,916 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Wibbs wrote: »
    Worse said nutcase is transmitting this irrational fear to the next generation.

This really is the worst of it imo. I would be absolutely gutted if I passed my fear of flying onto my children. I recognise my fear as a negative in my life and would never want to have my children share it. If I ever fly with my children I will suck up my own feelings and treat it like the world's best adventure. Who knows, it might even do me good and help me get over the fear too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

Stop her and talk to her, it's absurd that she would force your children onto a road before letting her own walk past a dog at the hand of it's owner. Do explain that your dog is well trained and well socialised, ask her to pet him, not the kids, she's the one with the problem.

She a Woman who clearly and act her way and is clearly not wanting to having a conversation to clear matters up.
    1/. She has a phobia and her irrational fear is getting the better of her and she does not want to be near dogs (I doubt it is the case or she be running for the hills with her child pulling her child back and doing everything possible to keep as much as possible distance from your dog).
    2/. She is a bully and wants to get you a male out of her way and use your gender and your dog as verbal weapons to abuse you and embarrassed you. If she roars "GET YOUR DOG AWAY FROM MY KIDS" with no fear in her voice then she is using the public as intimidation to engender fear in you and your kids. Public see you a male and hear a roar DOG & KIDS will stupidly think and allow their emotions to act with her a puppet master to dolls (Public observers) make them think that your dog is going to bite and you are a threat because you are a male, but in reality she is the Threat. Like male abusive bullies, Abusive women will use any method to engender fear to get you to cooperate with her and allow her to publicly abuse and embarrass you. Abusive women favourite tool is verbal and emotional weapons which leaves no physical scars.

I would be serious considering ASBO's, if she continues her bad behaviour.
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/justice/law_enforcement/anti_social_behaviour_by_adults.html
    Before doing that never ever let that bully take an advantage of you, no matter who they are. You do not avoid her when you meet on the street because you give her power over you, and most importantly, you will only teach your kids and her kid by your own behaviour, that bullies will always get their way. Next time she roars at you, call the Gardai immediately and report her to breach of the peace for her persistence verbal harassment and again every time after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,302 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Have the dog between you and the wall. If she wants, she can go onto the road. Never endanger yourself, your dog or your kids because of someones fear of the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

Wibbs wrote: »
    Worse said nutcase is transmitting this irrational fear to the next generation. Basically for me other people's mentalism is not my concern as long as I'm acting in a socially appropriate and responsible way.

She's also teaching her kids that reacting in such a rude and irrational manner is a perfectly acceptable social norm. I tend to ignore such people and quietly feel sorry for the kids :(