Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anomoly

Options
  • 06-03-2012 12:19am
    Registered Users Posts: 513 ✭✭✭

I was looking at the moon just now. I was using a Bresser refractor, with a 20mm eyepiece. I had a section of the moon filling my view, bisected by the dark/light side!I noticed a "light" on the dark side, not far from the bright side!At first, I thought it was just the lip of a crater catching light, but after watching it for a few seconds, it disappeared!any thoughts?as evidenced by my shoddy use of technical terminology, im a total noob!

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

leddpipe wrote: »
    I was looking at the moon just now. I was using a Bresser refractor, with a 20mm eyepiece. I had a section of the moon filling my view, bisected by the dark/light side!I noticed a "light" on the dark side, not far from the bright side!At first, I thought it was just the lip of a crater catching light, but after watching it for a few seconds, it disappeared!any thoughts?as evidenced by my shoddy use of technical terminology, im a total noob!
    Congratulations :D
    You just witnessed a part of the Moon experiencing sunset, nice one.

Edit: Oops. That was wrong. The moon is waxing at the moment, so "our side" is seeing sunrise.

• Registered Users Posts: 513 ✭✭✭leddpipe

Congratulations :D
    You just witnessed a part of the Moon experiencing sunset, nice one.

Edit: Oops. That was wrong. The moon is waxing at the moment, so "our side" is seeing sunrise.