Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Average Cost of Furnishing a House

Options
  • 06-03-2012 5:56pm
    Registered Users Posts: 18

Wondering if I could have your imput people ! I am a total newbie first time buyer and wondering how much to budget for furnishing my house.

Its a 2 bed townhouse- would be furniture only, I am very lucky I have no need for a new kitchen, floors or tiling. Would literally be to furnish the place.

Just wanted to get an idea of how much people are budgeting/spending these days (as Google searches are not showing any recent info!)- any of you that recently bought- would love to have your imput !

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

You can have a look at the ikea planner and see the cost that way.
    http://www.ikea.com/ms/en_IE/rooms_ideas/splashplanners.html

I understand why you ask but since you can buy each item at any price I can't see how it'd help you to know what I spent on my house.
    Don't compare yourself to others, buy what you consider good quality and good value and you can't go wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Blondie2011

Thanks a million Biko- I know I can't really compare myself to others, just trying to get a guide/idea on what people spend/budget these days to furnish their houses... I have a budget in mind but not sure how realistic it is..

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

How long is a piece of string tbh, you can spend lots or very little.

I would tend to say that for a sitting room, buying a 2 + 1 couch, a TV and a couple of small units/cabinets will set you back €2k.