Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Has a mod ever annoyed you

• 06-03-2012 7:08pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭denballs

Has a mod ever annoyed you or done something you feel is wrong?

RULES-
    Dont name the mod
    Dont name the section if it can be avoided

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Yeah. Frada in Cool Vids annoyed me for snipping a repost. :mad:
    denballs wrote: »
    RULES-
    Dont name the mod

Whoops.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Andy!!

Isn't that their primary mandate?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭denballs

Yeah. Royce Low Syrup in Cool Vids annoyed me for snipping a repost. :mad:

Whoops.

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

Yes, when they lock stuff rather than moving it. It mkes no logical sense, or when they lock your thread for not being in the right place but don't use the same logic for other threads:rolleyes:
    rant over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

The GTA 3 Motorcycle mod annoyed the **** out of me

Andy!! wrote: »
    Isn't that their primary mandate?

I dunno but i just replied to a mod with ever piece of profanity under the sun...but he insulted me first...so if i get banned and he doesnt...its BS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I was in the [snip] forum and got in trouble for [snip] all I did was say [snip] and then I got a pm giving me a [snip]

Feckers the lot of them :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Sure we're drunk most of the time anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Don't know why people have such an obsession with mods on here.

booboo88 wrote: »
    Yes, when they lock stuff rather than moving it. It mkes no logical sense, or when they lock your thread for not being in the right place but don't use the same logic for other threads:rolleyes:
    rant over

i get threads closed on a daily basis when there is no reason for it.....i think they do it too quickly..without following any guideline or rules as to when they should.

• Registered Users Posts: 22 cat2012

yes ive had a mod close my thread and wen i pm'd him to ask why so, it was cuz he didnt agree with the subject, i told him that it was ignorant as i was just looking for information, he said that was no grounds to reopen the thread. i can tel ya...not impressed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

Maybe the problem is you. Maybe you're the annoying one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

*waits to see denballs's status move from Registered to Banned...*

Adyx wrote: »
    Maybe the problem is you. Maybe you're the annoying one?

Now is not the time for jokes

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    *waits to see denballs's status move from Registered to Banned...*

Im not tryin to piss anyone off i just want to let the powers that be know how some boardsies feel about their antics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

cat2012 wrote: »
    yes ive had a mod close my thread and wen i pm'd him to ask why so, it was cuz he didnt agree with the subject, i told him that it was ignorant as i was just looking for information, he said that was no grounds to reopen the thread. i can tel ya...not impressed!
    *checks profile to see other post*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Paul Weller.

What an @rsehole lads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Now is not the time for jokes

Whats brown and sticky?

Anal.

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭danslevent

Once I got a ban for calling someone a pr**k (they deserved it, truly) but I notice people do that to each other all the time on this and I feel bullied!!

KeithAFC wrote: »

Well, it's mostly because a lot of them are gits who react in the completely opposite way to rational. And they can do it without any ramifications, because they answer to no one it would seem. Even if they did, any complaints made would probably have this über-mod laugh his hole off and then delete it, and give you some bull**** reply where he justifies their actions.

YAY!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

*checks profile to see other post*

Ive nothing to add to your post but had to comment on your name.
    just yuck :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

How many is there on here? seems every 2nd poster is one and how do you become one? answers on a post card:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

The mods here are the coolest posters ever, but it really annoys me when they ban me. Its such a thoughtless act, but it is OK when they ban others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Has a mod ever annoyed you or done something you feel is wrong?

RULES-
    Dont name the mod

Yes.

some of the mod just take the piss and are complete bullies for no reason!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Andy!! wrote: »
    Well, it's mostly because a lot of them are gits who react in the completely opposite way to rational. And they can do it without any ramifications, because they answer to no one it would seem. Even if they did, any complaints made would probably have this über-mod laugh his hole off and then delete it, and give you some bull**** reply where he justifies their actions.

YAY!
    They are only doing what they are told. They are just human like everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I've had a couple of arguments with mods.

Meh. I don't envy them in any way. I wouldn't* become a mod even if I was paid.

*couldn't either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Mods are just like every one else here.. Some pricks, some excellent = 'tis life.

I always thought that they were reptiles from the planet Theta. Who knew?

problem is, i doubt they,r told anything..they get no training they do what they think is correct.......but when a thread with 20+ is closed by 1 person who doesnt agree with the 20...that ruins the fun of the majority

how the hell do some of the become mods n the first palace?!

I always thought that they were reptiles from the planet Theta. Who knew?

I believe its spelt DH-ey-ETaH ...but pronounced Theta:D

some of the mod just take the piss and are complete bullies for no reason!!

You must be great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Kells...

Yeah there's 2 really KeithM89 and Leeg17

Such twat's.
    All up there own arses

they get banned...get angry...go server side and........oops..no nevermind...thats just what i was thinking a few mins ago....

Nope. A large amount use (read:bend) the rules to fit their own nasty little whims.

Not saying that there aren't really nice mods too but, I hardly ever notice them, which is sad. Maybe I notice them if they make a funny post in AH or whatever. But when a mod is a complete arsehole by god you know about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Yup there are two that really should be demodded but I'm sure they'll feck up soon and it will make me one happy girl :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

patwicklow wrote: »
    How many is there on here? seems every 2nd poster is one and how do you become one? answers on a post card:D

About 600 mods think. And about 200k users (not too sure on that, probably way more)

I believe its spelt DH-ey-ETaH ...but pronounced Theta:D
    That's what they want you to think.

KeithM89 wrote: »
    You must be great craic.

ur one of the worst ones by the looks of it....i dislike you!! :)

Haha I've never noticed your username before Windsock... Pretty sure I could make a joke that would get me banned here :P

ur one of the best ones by the looks of it....i love you!! :)

Thanks ;)

WindSock wrote: »
    About 600 mods think. And about 200k users (not too sure on that, probably way more)

Ah......explains why they act like prison guards now....lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭gerryo777

I think it's their stupid clothes and lambretta's with loads of mirrors and stuff....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

No not really.

Thanks ;)

sap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

To be fair, the mods in the forums I tend to be active enough in are sound. Only ever had a problem once, and that was when there was a distinct lack of moderation in a forum for a sustained period of time.

That said, I've seen mods that just take the piss and abuse their position as well, but luckily in my experience these are few and far between.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Yes, but i took him down in the end.

Whats brown and sticky?

Anal.

Now I am actually wondering how mods become mods... What's the process? Be mates with an admin?