Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tour de Conamara 2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

I'm going (140). Will be on an old red steel frame and probably wearing an old Panasonic jersey. Say hi if you pass me by. I'll be taking this one easy and just enjoying the ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭mel.b

I'll be there as well doing the 80km. I'll be the one at the back fo the pack, taking it easy and stopping to take lots of photos!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭thehangtenguy

I'll be there. Looking foward to the 140 spin in a lovely part of the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

I wish I was doing this on Sunday, but I can't really afford it :(
    Anyway best of luck to everyone doing it. The weather looks like it will be a lot better than last year!! (I'm still getting Vietnam-style flashbacks from it :o )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

doozerie wrote: »
    Out of interest, who from here is taking part? I'll be doing the 140km route, might be useful to have a few boards names to shout for when I'm frantically looking for a friendly wheel to tow me home :)

I'll be back again this year, I actually 'enjoyed' last years one. Was very tough with the wind and rain but it was some challenge! Weather looking much better this year and a lot more people talking about it so I'd say numbers must be good this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

I'll keep an eye out for people, presumably the boards people will be the ones typing updates on their laptops while riding! I'll be riding a silver Enigma.

I'm really looking forward to it now, it has been years since I've cycled in that area of the country and back then it was with panniers and all too often bad weather, so hopefully this time it will be different in every respect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

doing it.

Hoping for plenty of this......
    1000x500px-LL-0275fffb_hinault.jpgclick?format=go&key=dc0e317a49c017b4832075300eb2c2dc&loc=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.cyclingforums.com%2Ft%2F314849%2Fits-killing-me-but%2F4410&v=1&libid=1337937703667&out=http%3A%2F%2Fcdn.cyclingforums.com%2F0%2F01%2F018de146_fullgas.jpg&title=It's%20killing%20me%20but..........&txt=%3CIMG%20alt%3Dfullgas.jpg%20src%3D%22http%3A%2F%2Fcdn.cyclingforums.com%2F0%2F01%2F1000x500px-LL-018de146_fullgas.jpg%22%20width%3D286%20height%3D341%3E&jsonp=vglnk_jsonp_13379381241345

Not so much of this.....
    1000x500px-LL-af17ecd6_hinaulttdfcrsh2.jpg

Maybe a bit of this....
    1000x500px-LL-6a9381a7_Hinault-punch-PINP-thumb.jpg

Bit of this might be fun.....
    hinault+push.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭Benbecul97

Anyone with a route profile for the section of the 80km through the Inagh Valley?
    Any nasty climb through it or are the only nasty climbs on the 80km after Kylemore?

Benbecul97 wrote: »
    Anyone with a route profile for the section of the 80km through the Inagh Valley?
    Any nasty climb through it or are the only nasty climbs on the 80km after Kylemore?

Here is a mapmyride of the route...

http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/94582427

mel.b wrote: »
    Here is a mapmyride of the route...

http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/94582427

Thanks alot mel.b!

So nothing nasty through the Inagh Valley, just that 4kmish climb after Letterfrack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭ccull123

Any ideas on numbers participating for the 80/140 events?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭alexanderomahon

Sun cream packed, toothbrush packed, cycle gear in boot, bike loaded, and away we go into the WEST!!! Now only 140k to worry about.

Oh yeah a bit of help please. Could people please advise me on how much is the recommended amount of beer a person should drink before such an event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

If anyone wants or knows any one who wants an entry for this let me know - unfortunately, the car has let me down so I won't be able to make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭midlands1

Sun cream packed, toothbrush packed, cycle gear in boot, bike loaded, and away we go into the WEST!!! Now only 140k to worry about.

Oh yeah a bit of help please. Could people please advise me on how much is the recommended amount of beer a person should drink before such an event.

No more than 9 pints .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭subscriber

Anybody have any idea if the event jersey's are still available to buy? Meant to buy one a while back but it slipped my mind? Did I hear someone say somewhere they will be selling them in clifden in the morning??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

Believe there are bibs and jerseys left. Possibly no jackets left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

Ragin Im not able to go.... Have to work...

Looking out at the sun.... You lucky jammy shower of gits....!

Njoi the owl run lads.... Plenty of pics of "The Badger"

I have the Vitus to work today with all teh retro Peugeot gear - Thats as close as I will get today......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

Arrived in Clifden this morning before 9 and after last year wasn’t sure how many people would be there but there was hundreds so a big improvement on last year. Collected my jacket along with an energy bar and beanie / scarf thingy which was nice. At the start there were some very nice blond girls handing out free cans of red bull and a Powerbar stand topping up bottles.

Set off at 9:30 and I stead in the lead pack till at least Roundstone (I think) and then a few started to break away, the pace was by no means tough for some so it kept bunching up although it was more then fast enough for me so I stuck with them. Roads were fine and no major climbs so nothing too exciting other then the scenery till we got to Maam and then the first test of the day across the valley which due to the wind was much easier then the Croi cycle a few weeks back. Then came the second food stop (my first) and wow – tea / coffee / sandwiches / muffins / donughts / cake / bananas / Lucozade / Chocolate and loads more, so much food and also another PowerBar stand.

I made the mistake of eating too much but with so much food it was hard not to. From there I pushed on solo as I wanted to have a go till the end. Across to Leanaun was up and down with a nice downhill into Leanaun and then a breath taking cycle along Kilary Harbour with the wind on my back doing 40 kph. A few nice hills to the end kept it interesting but my stomach started hurting more then my legs but kept I kept a good pace (wind on back) and got home with just over 4.5 hours riding time so pleased with that.
    After last year it must have been tough for the organisers to try again but they didn’t just raise the bar they by passed it, although the great weather definitely helped but did I mention the food!!!

Route was shorter and I wished they did the same as last year and hope they give a 3rd option of doing the 167 km next year as the additional sections were really testing last year.

Great day and well done to all involved will definitely be back next year!!!Oh and never seen the badger although wasn’t too interested either (I know, I know, I’m not a real cyclist!). Hopefully get a few more in this summer in short sleeve jersey :)

I made it around the 80km route and was my goal :) Also my longest cycle to date, so i am happy with that after almost 6 weeks off the bike.

The 80km people set off at 9.45am and was a much smaller number compared to the 140km group. I stuck at the back because i knew thats where i would end up anyway! I really enjoyed the first part of the cycle as i hadn't seen that part of the Connamara before. I was joined at about the 20km mark by another girl and we stuck together all the way until the climb near Letterfrack. The first stop at Zetland hotel had sandwiches, fruit and apple pie plus a very welcome ice bucket from which i took loads of ice to top up and cool down my water bottle!

I struggled with the first couple of km after the break. I don't normally have stops when i cycle by myself so the legs felt heavy for a while. After that it was a great cruise until we hit the N59. After following the N59 for a bit the route headed off through Inagh valley. I again struggled for a couple of km there initally but after that was flying it until Kylemore Abbey.

At kylemore Abbey i had a mint conetto:p and while it was extremely welcome at the time i don't know if it was such a great idea. I really struggled with the climb out of Letterfrack and ended up getting off and pushing :( so if anyone passed a girl pushing up the hill wearing a green jersey that was probably me! I think the sun really did me in there...there was no shelter from it and it was hot. Plus, not having really cycled for 6 weeks i just didn't have it in me.

At the top of the hill i got back on the bike for the trip back into Clifden. The last 4km or so i really struggled with as well....was pushing the granny gear even though i think it was flat! I also actually felt really cold - a couple of times i had to check that i didn't have goose bumps because that's what it felt like. Not sure what that was about.

So i finally reached the end 83km in 4hrs 28 min. Never was an end more welcome! The ending was in agreat spot i thought - a courtyard with the bar and some cafe/shops arounds, lots of tables and chairs around and then a band playing.The shower in the leisure centre was also very welcome.

Finally i'm very glad i went a bought some sunscreen at the supermarket when i got into clifden. Don't want to think about what shade of red i would be now if i hadn't!

Oh and does anyone know the elevation for the 80km route. Mapmyride has it at just over 300m and my runkeeper app that i used has it at over 900m:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭subscriber

Mother of god the heat was soaring out there today, several times I empted my drinks bottle over my head in an attempt to keep cool but alas, the jesery and myself were bone dry within a matter of minutes again. Well done to all who participated in both events, god knos it wasn't easy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 walaw

Ya it was really baking out there today. I somehow managed to miss my arms when putting on the sunscreen and they are on fire now.
    I did the 140km, my longest cycle to date. I struggled the most for the last 10k or so before the stop at Maam. Trying to be a hero spending a lot of time cycling at the front of a group when I wasn't really able for it.
    Did it in 5 hrs 30 mins. Happy enough with that
    This was my 4th ever sportive and I really enjoyed it, the best one done so far
    Will definately do it again next year. Here's hoping for more of the same weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Herc

Must say well done to the organisers - great event, great route, greats stops and the weather was, well, the weather - bit of a slight headwind for the first 70k or so but the heat was of a consistent searing kind, nicely toasted here now despite a good dollop of suncream (anyone have any secret tips of how to keep out of the eyes? Seen numerous people squinting in pain at the stop in Maam, myself included) - made a school boy error of passing the first water stop without a refill (140k route) so had to wait until Maam for the next one - was tugging on a couple of gels in the meantime which was to come back to haunt me and my stomach towards the latter end of the spin. Great crowd there today also, much bigger than I was anticipating. Didn't see the man himself like @1 said but I'm not going to lose sleep over it. Nicely placed stop at Kylemore just in time before the final drag home, bit of a nasty headwind then again for the final 5-10k home which wasn't what the doctor ordered. Came in just under the 5 hrs which was bang on plan so can't argue. Well done again and thanks for the day.:o

Hey Herc, I don't put any sunscreen on my forehead - find that the easiest way to make sure it doesn't get into my eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭alexanderomahon

Amazing scenery, amazing weather, amazing route. \the whole thing was well AMAZING

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Arthurdaly

I've done Alot of these events over the years and this one ranks up there with the very best. The weather was definitely a contributing factor but the organisation
    and food stops were top notch.

The 140km route was epic, jaw dropping beautiful from start to finish. Good crowd and nice pace whilst the groups lasted. Final 10km was not easy with the headwinds and drags!

Particularly liked the location for the finish with the BBQ and live music and bar etc, Alot of events lack a bit a fanfare at the finish and tdc delivered.

I'll probably bin the jacket as id imagine id drown in sweat if I wore it for any length.

Legs are sore and nicely burned. 42 euro is expensive, would I pay it again?!

Have to say this was a great event. The route, scenery, weather and food stops were great.

I have one rather serious complaint though. The event FAQ's stated that the second food stop would be 80k into the route. However at 85K with my water all but gone there was no food stop in sight. It didn't appear to 92K. That's 12K mostly uphill in 27 degree heat with no water. Not only was it very uncomfortable it was downright dangerous. I suffered sever dehydration, headaches and loss of concentration on the run in. I spoke to A LOT of people who had the same complaint. Surely in that weather with a changed itinerary it would have been wise to send someone out with water to make sure the participants were okay, nothing fancy but a least a person on the side of the road with some bottles.

Anyway it was a great event and I'll certainly do it again as long as the water stop situation is addressed. Also I saw no sign of Mr Hinault. :(

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

What a day, great weather, incredible scenery and good crack with the other cyclists, good to meet lads from Tralee, Westmeath, Athlone andthe Sandy-covies our cousins! :)

Great setup at the reg and foodstations and savage amount of food, the guys are the energy drink stations were dead on with the bars and drink.

Suffered with the back from 70-80km and thought I would have to pull out but the break at 90km was great and some stretches and work on the area around the disc eased the pain. Loved the surface from Leenaun to Letterfrack.
    The hills near the end were sapping.

No negatives at all, ONLY gripe would be the lack of awareness of some riders to road position and sticking to the white line leaving people to underpass.

To the lad in the 3/4 length pants and long sleave jersey.... fair play! :)

Got pic with the main man and the lads from the club in Westport, fit man for his age.

Great location and great weather made for a great day. When I asked the evening before about parking I was told there would probably be plenty of spaces beside the hotel. Ha! Parking was manic, the place was like an explosion in a lycra factory.

Turns out I was sitting amongst the 80km group when I saw the 140km group ride off. Bah! Tagged on the back and thought it might all stay together for a while but within 1 or 2km it started to gradually split into groups. I decided to put in an effort to get up the road before the front half disappeared forever. I jumped from group to group and was surprised to see that there were still lots of people on the road ahead of me. I was told last night that they expected about 450 riders or so to take part and they reckoned that most of those would be doing the 140km route and that would tally with what I was looking at alright.

I ended up near, and briefly on, the front coming into Maam's Cross. That wasn't my plan at all, I was not as strong as many there, but I felt it cheeky to leech off the efforts of those on the front for the entire ride. Funny moment was when the guy in the Italia jersey, with the bulky something-or-other on his back under the jersey, sprung a water-ey leak apparently from his chest. Presumably he was wearing a Camelbak and something had gone awry with it. Less than funny moment was when the same guy lobbed an empty water bottle, which had been handed to him a couple of km before, into the ditch. Ignorant and pointless (foodstop wasn't far away), why do people do that?

The food stop at Maum was great. Gobbled a sandwich, refilled with water, and put on more suncream. The suncream I put on before the ride was great, dried quickly and caused no problems at all, but the stuff I applied at the stop went on thick and sticky and served mainly to catch flies on the rest of the ride. The flapjacks at that stop were particularly good, found myself regretting not having stuffed my pockets with them the further away from the stop I rode.

I caught up with a group of 5 or 6 shortly after leaving Maum. One guy had what I presume must have been a particularly odd looking large sweat patch on his Cervelo jersey. Was that the face of Jesus staring back at me from between his shoulder blades? I couldn't be sure. Shortly afterwards someone in the group seemed to snap a spoke and they all stopped to go back and give him a hand. I was on my own again. I missed Jesus, he was a great wind block at times, bless him. Spent the rest of the ride alone or with the odd person or group I encountered along the way.

Got round in 4h31, and I'm happy with that. I didn't really have any target time in mind, I was happy to just push myself where I could. That lemon Powerbar drink at the finish was a strange combination of manky, like most energy drinks, but slightly addictive. Was very glad of the rarely used air conditioning in the car on the drive back to where I'm staying.

@happytramp, The distance to the supposed 80km foodstop took me by surprise too. When I came through Maam's Cross though there was a guy handing out bottles of water as riders went past. A couple of people in my group certainly grabbed them.

@yop, There was certainly some silly behaviour by some people as regards riding on the wrong side of the road. I saw some riders stay constantly out there, making a half hearted effort to stick to the (wrong side of the) white line as cars came past and then moving well into that lane again. It was unnecessary and just bizarre. It also contributed a lot to the hauling on the brakes when a parked car on the other side of the narrower roads was being passed - passing a parked car on the opposite side should not be a cause of danger and yet it was when it meant people trying desperately to push back into the correct side of the road again. Mad stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭ccull123

Really enjoyed this event. Weather/scenery was unreal. I opted for the 80km route and with 50km left who overtakes me but Bernard Hinault. I decided that I would TRY and stay with him for a few km and ended up doing the last 50km with him and one other cyclist.

I found the last 5km extremely tough but managed to complete the 80km in 2hrs45mins so im happy with that.

Will be back for the 140km next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Nephinbeg

Did the 80k. My last cycle was the Ring of Kerry and boy have my legs weakened since then. Had to stop three times to get the cramp out of my legs. In my stupidity I only brought one water bottle as well. Found the last drag tough and got badly sunburnt but on a day like yesterday with scenery like that I can have no complaints. Absolutely beautiful, brilliantly organised and with dead-on competitors. Ill definitely be comin back but might train a bit more beforehand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭dermur

Nephinbeg wrote: »
    Did the 80k. My last cycle was the Ring of Kerry and boy have my legs weakened since then. Had to stop three times to get the cramp out of my legs. In my stupidity I only brought one water bottle as well. Found the last drag tough and got badly sunburnt but on a day like yesterday with scenery like that I can have no complaints. Absolutely beautiful, brilliantly organised and with dead-on competitors. Ill definitely be comin back but might train a bit more beforehand...

Did the 80k too - didn't bother stopping at Kylemore since it was so close to the finish. That last uphill shunt between Kylemore and Clifden almost broke me!

Fair play to the single-speeder, how he got up that last climb is beyond me...I was too busy weeping onto my handlebars to examine his technique properly!

Lots of wind - if you lost the wheel in front you were a goner. Sun and scenery more than made up for it though.

What are the chances that the Tour de Conamara event will have had the best weather during the four events of the the Celtic Series??

Cycled the 80km (really 84km!), great scenic route on a fabulous day. Roundstone, the Inagh Valley are Kylemore are beautiful places. Really nice friendly atmosphere too. That "drag" at the end was really tough - had it "dragged" much longer I was in serious trouble. Thank God for the granny chainring!

The foodstop at the Zetland Country House Hotel was very nice (even if the top layer of the bread was slightly toasted and the cheese melting on the sandwiches in the morning sun!). And the staff and safari-hat-wearing-owner(I-presume) were very welcoming! I know of a few people that overshot the right turn off to this foodstop (there was a Celtic Series signpost pointing to make a right turn but several went straight through - it was easy to miss it. This junction wasn't manned by a marshall and I know that the people that missed out on this foodstop let it be known when they finished).

The event jacket is nice - I'm sure it will be useful in less pleasant weather! The Celtic Series shirt and bib shorts are the dog's - delighted I got them - think they look great. The sizing on them though was very much on the small size though - I'm not normally 2XL!

No sign of Monsieur Hinault anywhere, but Madame and Mademoiselle Hinault were at the Zetland Country House Hotel foodstop being introduced by safari-hat-wearing-owner(I-presume)!

Well done Tour de Conamara event organisers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭dermur

Less than funny moment was when the same guy lobbed an empty water bottle, which had been handed to him a couple of km before, into the ditch. Ignorant and pointless (foodstop wasn't far away), why do people do that?

I hope someone gave him abuse for that.

Less than funny moment was when the same guy lobbed an empty water bottle, which had been handed to him a couple of km before, into the ditch. Ignorant and pointless (foodstop wasn't far away), why do people do that?

He must have seen in on the telly!

Great day out. Enjoyed the 140k spin. Same gripe as the rest of ye, was in the front group and blew past the 40k stop, it didn't look like we were expected as the group flew around the corner. Then there was discussion with lots of bewildered looks, was that the stop? is it not at 60k? and on it rolled.

After 65k my back teeth were floating and I had to stop, so I came out of the group did my business and picked up the next group with Galway Bay. Having budgeted my water I was out and fell off the pace as we hit 80k and no water / feed, 85k nothing and no stop at Peacocks, I was fit to cry. No water at Maam Cross so onto Maam.

The feed was great and got the group again. Rolling out the scenery was fantastic and easy going with the tail wind. Loved the hill down to Leenane and should have skipped the last stop but a sign saying 'FEED' had me tempted. Gels are not 'FEED'!

Smashing day out and a big sprint finish, just like the real thing.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Arequipa

Bernard Hinault helped me repair my punctured tyre which sounded like it exploded! An absolute gent!
    Also lost bits of pump & wheel in grass and he helped us search through the grass!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭midlands1

Done the 80k myself. didnt see any sign of Mr Hinault anywhere.Perhaps the organisers should have asked him to say a few words of welcome at the start of the 80k. The stop at kylemore could be better located, perhaps on the roadside either before or after , a bit of a nuisance trying to cross the road getting in and out of the place , also one big carpark where everyone could go , had to park in a housing estate , otherwise an enjoyable day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭ArraMusha

One of the most scenic locations in the west for cycling. The motor-bikers did a mighty job at the junctions and at the temporary lights in Rosmuc by keeping the groups flowing through, fair play. Nice grub in maam.

However Quinn hasn't learned from last year!! i.e. no water AGAIN!!

Loads of people were left gaspin for water last year, and again this year. There was nothing from Clifden to Maam in 25+ degrees.:confused:

In summary, great location and routes, well done hi-viz crew, shame on the organizing
    .cartoon%20dry%20mouth%20for%20web.jpg

Herc wrote: »
    ... nicely toasted here now despite a good dollop of suncream (anyone have any secret tips of how to keep out of the eyes?

I find that some suncreams just run down my forehead and into my eyes no matter what I do. Others though I've found not to run at all. I tried a different suncream for the first time for yesterday's ride and it caused me no problems at all. It's the Boots factor 50 for kids. It's a spray-on one, although that makes little difference really as you just end up spraying it onto your hand and applying as you would a regular suncream. It dries quickly and wasn't tacky or runny throughout the first 3 hours of the ride. My downfall was the different cream (also from Boots) that I applied at the second foodstop, which did run into my eyes. On the basis of one (testing) use, I'd recommend that Boots kid's one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 M Aurelius

ArraMusha wrote: »
    One of the most scenic locations in the west for cycling. The motor-bikers did a mighty job at the junctions and at the temporary lights in Rosmuc by keeping the groups flowing through, fair play. Nice grub in maam.

However Quinn hasn't learned from last year!! i.e. no water AGAIN!!

Loads of people were left gaspin for water last year, and again this year. There was nothing from Clifden to Maam in 25+ degrees.:confused:

In summary, great location and routes, well done hi-viz crew, shame on the organizing
    .cartoon%20dry%20mouth%20for%20web.jpg

There was loads of bottled Galway water at all the stops, especially at the one in Cashel (Zetland Hotel) at the start and at the finish? you must have not stopped in Zetland, some early riders did slip by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Herc

ArraMusha, thinks its harsh to blame the organising here - I commented above that I was hanging for water by Maam but that it was due to an error on my part for thinking I could fly by Zetland and hang on to the water I had till the next stop - the water and feed stations were outlined on the website and the regular mails that were sent out (see site http://www.celticseries2012.com/tour-de-conamara/event-faq) - the only error was saying that the feed station was at 80k instead of slightly further on - I'm giving organising at good 8 out of 10 for the event and there are few events in the country I would give that to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭ispyvisuals

I was up near the front group of the 80km, i knew of the food stop from the website and was looking out for it either side of the 40km mark but 3 of us missed it, definatly nobody out there directing and if there was a signpost it wasn't very noticable at all.

This confusion really spoilt a large portion of the journey for us. Also noticed several groups of riders going back in the opposite direction having missed turn offs, maybe they were going back looking for food stops? or a turn off to the 140k?(which again we didnt see).

Weather and scenery great obviously, shower facilites and the courtyard with the bbq and music was a fantastic way to finish afterwards.

Unfortunatly left my front wheel behind in the car park opposite the reg area, on lower level in front of apartnments, pm me if anyone came across it

I'm surprised at the number of people who had trouble with the 40km food stop. To be fair i was at the back of the 80km group but there was a big banner strung across the road that said 'Zetland house hotel welcomes the Tour de Conamara' ( or words to that affect). I thought it was pretty obvious that was where the stop was.

I was also offered water at every junction where a marshall was and also from a guy in a van a couple of times, once towards the start and again while going up the hill outside letterfrack (but maybe i just looked like, i needed it!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭budgie001

The big banner over the road was very plain to see, there was a route map available for stops etc on their website/facebook. It was really well ran and organisers take a bow but reading some of the complaints here.......... next year they should maybe pedal for us too -)

mel.b wrote: »
    I'm surprised at the number of people who had trouble with the 40km food stop. To be fair i was at the back of the 80km group but there was a big banner strung across the road that said 'Zetland house hotel welcomes the Tour de Conamara' ( or words to that affect). I thought it was pretty obvious that was where the stop was.

I was also offered water at every junction where a marshall was and also from a guy in a van a couple of times, once towards the start and again while going up the hill outside letterfrack (but maybe i just looked like, i needed it!)

Mel the problem wasnt the banner you talk about right in front of the Zetland Country House Hotel. The problem was about 5k before this when we had to make a right-hand turn at a junction. Yes there was a Celtic Series sign on a signpost with an arrow pointing to the right but it was very easy to miss it. Only for I was with a group we would have missed it. There was no marshall at this junction. It was the only junction all day on the 80km route that didnt have a marshall.

Unfortunatly left my front wheel behind in the car park opposite the reg area, on lower level in front of apartnments, pm me if anyone came across it

Get in touch with the organisers, they have found a front wheel. Its on their Facebook page.

budgie001 wrote: »
    reading some of the complaints here.......... next year they should maybe pedal for us too -)

The complaints are serious enough to warrant mention. Incorrectly representing the distance between food/water stops on an event like this is a certainly a big deal. As other people, including myself, have stated it had a detrimental effect on an otherwise great day. Just because something did not effect you does not mean it's not important. Hopefully the organisers take this on board and address it next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Arthurdaly

Maybe next year they can get a Mitchell star chef to cook some fillet steaks at the stops and perhaps arrange an industrial sized fan to blow people around the course.

Most people in the 140 group flew through the first stop which as mel pointed out had a huge banner across the road. These people obviously calculated that they had enough liquids to get them to exactly 80km but not 90km?

Arthurdaly wrote: »
    Most people in the 140 group flew through the first stop which as mel pointed out had a huge banner across the road. These people obviously calculated that they had enough liquids to get them to exactly 80km but not 90km?

In fairness I don't think this is true. The group went around the corner at 40kph and was gone under the banner before anyone in the group really saw the banner.

Discussion in the group centred around whether that was the stop or not with most people convinced that the stop would have been in a clearer position there then became confusion as to whether it was actually 60k.

When the 80k stop turned out to be 93 / 94k that was stretching it a bit. Nothing wrong with the amount of food or quality at the stops , it was just the positioning that caused problems.