Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you/will you miss phone boxes?

• 07-03-2012 11:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭

When was the last time you used a public telephone? I think phone boxes are pretty much an endangered species on the verge of inevitable extinction.

Will you miss them? Does it bring a tear to your eye?

I don't believe I ever used them much even before my mobile phone days!

Here is something to bring back the memories

Will you miss phone boxes when they are gone? 81 votes

Yes, its really really sad! :-(
    0%
    No
    35%
    Rabies[Deleted User]DonkeyStyle \o/facemanxtal191AmiraniAbiollie1Hande hoche!drBill25Celly SmuntReamer FannyTonyandthewhaleJames.OAOBgigawattFull_TiltKeithDEFTLEFTHANDburnsey1987 29 votes
    ehhhh, ok!
    64%
    D-GeneratetuxyneilmwesDiddy KongRichieCpaconnorsSolairSam Vimesbiko[Deleted User]Freddie59[Deleted User]eZe^stanley1Seachmalldfx-genie_us[Deleted User]Schism 52 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Many old men will miss their piss pot after the pub.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

No, I always swerve to hit them!!!! Ba doom boom!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Havnt seen one in years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

About 5 years ago when my battery died and my bus home hadn't shown up.

Ahhh phoneboxes.... Will be sad to see them go. Though tbf, they're usually pretty grotty now.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I don't miss the smell of p1ss and cigarette smoke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

No
    Anyone else thinking of Bob Geldof and "Phone wreckers are idiots"

Showing my age and feeling old :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

No, primarily because anytime I've tried to use one some scumbag would have left a big blob of phlegm on the ear piece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

I cant wait for them to invent those CRT video pay-phones they have in blade runner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Clark Kent is missing them, haven't seen Superman for years now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

Spunge wrote: »
    I cant wait for them to invent those CRT video pay-phones they have in blade runner.

they already have... skype + pc did/does exactly that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

ehhhh, ok!
    I once found a pair of raybans in a phone box on stephens green in dublin. I'd say they were near enough brand new, still have them after nearly 10years.

No i wont miss them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I've an old style red UK telephone box in the corner of my office, looks class, would def miss it if it was taken away. Handy when you need to take a call and don't want to disturb people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

I used love running into phone boxes, closing the door and screaming 'I'M IN A GLASS CASE OF EMOTION' on nights out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

jester77 wrote: »
    I've an old style red UK telephone box in the corner of my office, looks class, would def miss it if it was taken away. Handy when you need to take a call and don't want to disturb people!

i bet it has plenty of business cards from "escort agencies" pinned to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I'll miss them cos where else am I supposed to get my reasonably priced brazzers from? :(

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

There are two still near me. If you're in Dublin, there is one on South Lotts Rd and another on Bath Ave.

• Moderators Posts: 51,885 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

mike65 wrote: »
    Clark Kent is missing them, haven't seen Superman for years now...

he was arrested for indecent exposure in a Carphone Warehouse :pac:

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

I was out without a phone recently, heading straight from college to meet up with a friend in town so I used a phone box to give them a bell. There are actually still a ****load of them around the city centre, probably about six on O' Connell Street, a few around Stephen's Green and plenty more scattered about the place. They're everywhere, you just don't notice them.

I know there's one on Dorset St. as well as I saw a pair of junkies absolutely going to war on the thing at about half nine at night last week. Needed a couple of shillings for a cup of tea and a hostel, I shouldn't wonder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

ehhhh, ok!
    Haven't used one in yonks. Still surprised when I see on tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

They were great for taking a piss :pac:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

No
    We used to use them to coordinate our drug dealing with our leader Avon. Then Baltimore Police went and stuck a wire on them and we had to stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

No
    Duggy747 wrote: »
    No, primarily because anytime I've tried to use one some scumbag would have left a big blob of phlegm on the ear piece.

The disgusting article that would do that should be made lick it off. They wouldn't be in much of a hurry to do it a 2nd time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭Archeron

Duggy747 wrote: »

"You'll have to speak louder, I'm listening to you through phleghm"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

I haven't seen one in Helsinki, Nokialand for the past five years or so. I don't think there are any left.:)

I don't miss them. I just use a cheap, untraceable prepaid SIM card when I call my dealer.;););)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

ehhhh, ok!
    Na. Out with the old and in with the new. I remember queueing to use a phone box pre-mobile days. **** that shit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

Pace2008 wrote: »
    I was out without a phone recently, heading straight from college to meet up with a friend in town so I used a phone box to give them a bell.
    You know a phone number?

I know my dad's, and a couple of work ones...
    If technology gets eradicated somehow, I'm mostly fücked, friend-wise.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

No
    Ah yes I abhor the relentless encroach of modern technology. Stop this digital revolution and lets go back to the simpler times of the phonebox the typewriter telegram and carrier pigeon.

I also want the green buses and orange trains back, and the Gardai to drive blue ford cortinas.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

ehhhh, ok!
    I miss sending telegrams :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

No

I also want the green buses and orange trains back, and the Gardai to drive blue ford cortinas.:)

Ah, back in the day when the "Blue Squad" were the local fellas and if you seen the "White Squad", you knew something serious was going down. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

No
    Sure lets change FÁS back to ANCO

In Limerick people still call the centre the ANCO building

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

How am I supposed to drop a dime now to inform the local cool detective that Joey the hatchet is back on the streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

Spunge wrote: »

And you can write numbers on the screen in marker. It's going to be great!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

I used to rub my anus on the mouthpiece of these phones.
    Where will I rub my anus now ??

• Registered Users Posts: 4 readygo

I will miss them, they are still in
    in the north

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,982 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Bloody heavy things, back in the day you'd only see vandalised ones in Dublin.

Used to pick up the radio on them, southside it was Radio Dublin and a different station northside , suppose it was which ever transmitter you were near.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,017 ✭✭✭uch

Yep, no where to piss in private on the way home

21/25

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

No, just got myself a flash new Telex machine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Yes I will.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 323 ✭✭emigrate2012

I live on the the Northside and there's plenty of them around still 2 in santry village,2 in larkhill,2 in beamount.Bloody handy if you need to make a call & yiv no credit & not enough money to top up. If there's one within sight of work/school etc take the no. down and ring it,you'd be suprised how many people will anwser.......then ye can mess with them.Great craic!Always handy for a slash aswell. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭DonQuay1

py2006 wrote: »
    When was the last time you used a public telephone? I think phone boxes are pretty much an endangered species on the verge of inevitable extinction.

Will you miss them? Does it bring a tear to your eye?

I don't believe I ever used them much even before my mobile phone days!

My dog will miss them. He always preferred them to a bollard or wall.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭harney

py2006 wrote: »

Well, there's 30 seconds of skimming I'll never get back (or so I'm told) :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭thomasm

I assume someone using a phonebox is getting instructions on where to drop the ransom money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

No
    they still have one of the old style blue and white wood panel ones up by gormanstown college.i might nick it,and make my bedroom en-suite...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

they used to be handy for loose change

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

southside it was Radio Dublin and a different station northside , .

Atlantic 252 ?