Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland v Scotland -Aviva Stadium - Saturday 10th March 5pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Get in there McFadden.

Job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

TMO for that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭bossa_nova

conor1979 wrote: »
    Can anyone explain to me why ROG comes on for Darcy and then McFadden comes on for Kearney?

Surely McFadden should have come on for Darcy!

Kdney has a thing for trying sexton at 12 for whatever reason, bit strange alright, it happened in a pinch situation against France before the world cup but he really seems to be pushing it the last few games

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Can this referee make any decisions for himself ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Try McFadden.

Great stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,303 ✭✭✭ongarite

looks good for McFadden.

healy for MOTM?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,008 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Sexton's had a great match

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭cork exile in london

brilliant. pub time

• Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭Leinster7

Great rugby in a hard fought game against great opposition. Great to see us progressing. Can't wait to watch this team continue to progress for the next 4 years.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

Ryan MOTM for me.

Ruined the perfect Scotish line out today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

Ryan MOTM. Between himself and Healy I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

OLeary has been very good. Fair play to him.

Bring on Engerland.

Get in there and change it up for us in 2 minutes Mccarthy, such a pointless change

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Wouldn't argue with Ryan for MOTM, he had a fine game.

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭cork exile in london

healy has been immense along with mr ryan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,619 ✭✭✭eigrod

OLeary has been very good. Fair play to him.

Bring on Engerland.

Agreed. He played really well when he came on today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭dougieruggie

Probably would have gave MOTM to Kearney.

Hes definitely been our player of the tournament.

Jesus we killed the Scottish scrum when Court and Cronin came on.

castie wrote: »
    Heels were clipped but doubt it was intentional.
    Still put himself in that position though.

Just re-watched it. No clip of the heels.

To be honest I'm disgusted at Earls for diving. If a Scottish player did it we'd be livid! I hate diving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭endabob1

Think the ref has had a very good game, a couple of dodgy calls but I thought he was very consistent.

Very few negatives from Ireland, you could see confidence growing as it went on.

What is McFaddens game to try scoring ratio for Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

I thought Ferris was immense! Again! I would have given him MOTM but Ryan was excellent too.
    Great display, great first start for O'Mahoney and Sexton was top class,oozed confidence and it should be him and Reddan from now on.
    Reddan was taken off too soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,875 ✭✭✭budhabob

Poor ryan couldn't get away from the interview fast enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

I like Ryan. Pure honest unassuming guy. He's our SOB. :)

Wow i know ESPN's stats arnt the most accurate, but healy made around 31 yards in that match :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

Delighted for Ryan, madness that this was his first start, next week should by rights be Doc's last game starting in an Ireland shirt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Greg feek. Take a bow. He has taken our set piece to another level entirely.

Holy crap that game was 2 hours long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,751 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Ryan had a great game today. Very good result against a Scottish team who really fancied their chances today.

But again an injury had forced Kidneys's hand to pick an in form player when it was clear to everyone who should be starting.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Good win, some great performances by Ryan, Kearney, Healy, ferris. We minced them up front in that second half. To many changes at once killed our momemtum around 55 mins. Still not sure why ROG was brought on though.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭digzy

Fantastic performances from our players, delighted for ryan getting motm though felt been richie gray was outstanding for them! guy's lethal
    fair play to our lads, they must have been dying after last sunday

bossa_nova wrote: »
    Kdney has a thing for trying sexton at 12 for whatever reason, bit strange alright, it happened in a pinch situation against France before the world cup but he really seems to be pushing it the last few games

I think we all know the answer.

Kidney knows he cant take off Sexton anymore because hes too good.

But he also knows that he can't bring on O'Gara unless he plays him at 10.

If he takes off Sexton then the team could lose. But if he doesn't play O'Gara then he can expect a massive whinge in the newspaper next week.

The simple solution?

Move Sexton to 12 and give O'Gara some game time

ongarite wrote: »
    Jesus we killed the Scottish scrum when Court and Cronin came on.
    George Hook will have to find someone else to invent idiotic criticisms about now, yet again.

Gee feel sorry for Macca. Doc contributed nothing throughout, and Kidney throws him on with about 4 minutes left? A joke. Also, Ryan contributed a whole lot more throughout this match than Doc did in all the games put together. How come everyone else can see that Ryan is the better player except Kidney..

• Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭Seph503

Think Sexton looks far more comfortable for Ireland now than he did at the start of the 6 Nations, run of games seems to have done his confidence a boost.

Ryan brilliant, hope the rumours of him to Leinster have some weight, would love to have him!

TOL to be fair played well. Good service. Who knows, maybe the break from Ireland has done him a bit of good??

Scrum=awesome and delighted for Best to get a try today.

My only gripe - the cross field kick try didn't come off:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Healy, Ryan, POM, Sexton, Earls- All fantastic.

Good win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,880 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Ryan was magnificent. Injuries have shown kidney that there are excellent players ready to take their chances if he would only take a chance on them.

DOC has got to go. Honestly, McCarthy contributed more. When will Kidney let go of us his favourites?

I also think McFadden deserves a start. He looked hungry today. Put him at 12 or 11.

Reddan-Sexton combination MUST remain. Every time they've played together we've been good.

1.Healy
    2.Best
    3.Ross
    4.Ryan
    5.Touhy (it will be DOC though)
    6.Ferris
    7.O'Brien
    8.Heaslip
    9.Reddan
    10.Sexton
    11.Trimble
    12.McFadden
    13.Earls
    14.Bowe
    15.Kearney

Ryan had a great game today. Very good result against a Scottish team who really fancied their chances today.

But again an injury had forced Kidneys's hand to pick an in form player when it was clear to everyone who should be starting.

Thats a bit harsh on SOB, he was savage against France last week and has been played well in the tournament, but no harm in rotation and that's where most off the criticism towards Kidney's selections comes from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,616 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Surely Ferris was man of the match, nothing against Ryan he had a good game but I think the world has come to expect so much from Ferris we just casually ignore when he decides to be immense!

Great game, I thought TOLs cameo was quite weak, I am also worried that realistically we got quite lucky with Trimble and Reddan, those tries wouldn't have happened against better teams.

Was Bowe's double movement a double movement?

Thats a bit harsh on SOB, he was savage against France last week and has been played well in the tournament, but no harm in rotation and that's where most off the criticism towards Kidney's selections comes from.

Hes referring to Ryan not POM......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Reddan-Sexton combination MUST remain. Every time they've played together we've been good.

That is the biggest lesson from this game.

Hes referring to Ryan not POM......

do'h :o:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

RuggieBear wrote: »
    dougierugby, i don't want you to post in this thread again till after the final whistle

This worked well so we will extend it to don't post in this thread again.

Richie Gray was the best player out on the pitch today. Who actually gives the MOTM? Is it RTE? Was watching BBc you see...

That is the biggest lesson from this game.
    How many times does it take for Kidney to learn it though?

Honestly would not be surprised at all to see TOL start in Twickenham.

If Poc was fit next week would be so interesting, I would not in the slighest be surprised if he still started Doc in that instance, laughable...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Good news there about Jones.

Seems like nothing worse than concussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,751 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

No, this was in reference to the DOC - Ryan selection really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

Liking the way Ferris has taken up BOD's shooter role full time, watching him mangle players is an awesome sight. POM looked very good throughout, I still think he's not an natural open side (yet) but he's definitely not out of his depth for Ireland.