Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TriAthy 2nd/3rd June

• Registered Users Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭El Director

Wow very interesting, great high quality. I tell ya one thing, the standard is rising all the time. For instance Saturday top 21 posted times good enough to have won last years race, though there was much worse weather last year.

Even here on boards the standards are rising all the time, a great environment for everybody here to push each other to keep reaching higher and higher.

Re the favourites I think Bambatta is in there with the sprint guys as he has won this before and has since improved even more, even with 70.3 in the legs he should still be there or there abouts in the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Fazz

Re the favourites I think Bambatta is in there with the sprint guys as he has won this before and has since improved even more, even with 70.3 in the legs he should still be there or there abouts in the end.

Absolutely, but I didn't want to put the pressure on :p
    All should be epic races in fairness. Standards high in all.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

I've been flitting with changing to the olympic. Sprint isn't well timed for me...

Am I glad to read that...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Fazz wrote: »
    Absolutely, but I didn't want to put the pressure on :p
    All should be epic races in fairness. Standards high in all.
    I dont know about this now. Body is pretty sore after the 70.3 which i cooked myself on the bike at (confirmed!). Top 8 and id be doing well and the time i posted would take a hell of a race to achieve

The races look interesting, particularly double oly! Im surprised Stephen Early isnt doing it, its as good a race as any for him with the long swim. He'll be well out infront from the off and can match the others for bike and run.

Bambaata wrote: »
    I dont know about this now. Body is pretty sore after the 70.3 which i cooked myself on the bike at (confirmed!). Top 8 and id be doing well and the time i posted would take a hell of a race to achieve

The races look interesting, particularly double oly! Im surprised Stephen Early isnt doing it, its as good a race as any for him with the long swim. He'll be well out infront from the off and can match the others for bike and run.

I can imagine a 70.3 takes 2-3 weeks to recover from.
    So just enough hopefully! :D

Yeah Stephen Early won the Double Oly last year, My guess is he is going for NS this year and ensuring no one cleans up like Bjorn did at Athy Oly last year.

Actually the guy who was 2nd at Double Oly last year, Alan Ryan, ahead of Joe Lynch is in for the Olympic this year it looks like (or a namesake).
    He had 2nd fastest bike just seconds off Joe. And hands down fastest run by a mile...

So he's gotta go into the Olympic basket of favourites too!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭miller82

got in to the olympic .....giddy up :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Am I glad to read that...

...but I'd hate to let you off too easily! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

miller82 wrote: »
    got in to the olympic .....giddy up :)

Great, sorry I'm away "sunning" myself in Galway and only seen your pm now !

• Registered Users Posts: 12,583 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Confirmed in the double.

Estimated finishing time

13 minutes behind MCOS
    15 minutes behind JB
    20 minutes behind Mr Tango

• Registered Users Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭El Director

tunney wrote: »
    Confirmed in the double.....

:cool:

This just got even more interesting! Who's taking bets?? :)

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Confirmed in the double.

Estimated finishing time

13 minutes behind MCOS
    15 minutes behind JB
    Two hours in front of Oryx.

(well, youve got to take the positives where you can).

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Confirmed in the double.

Estimated finishing time

13 minutes behind MCOS
    15 minutes behind JB

How did you work that out? Particularly JB beating me by 2 mins?

Science.

Also know as transferring the competition and banter.

I'm out of the running anyways. I've not sat on my bike for 4 weeks. I don't have any short course speed anyways these days.

Tango surprised me at the weekend and I think he has come into form. With his swim lead ye just aren't catching him.

I agree Tango will be gone, although I may try and hang onto his feet. JB will have to either catch me on the bike or the run.. rest assured I won't give it up to him easily if he does :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭BennyMul

If anyone wants to give me items tools\food\clothes etc , I will happly cover the rear and hand them out if needed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

I agree Tango will be gone, although I may try and hang onto his feet. JB will have to either catch me on the bike or the run.. rest assured I won't give it up to him easily if he does :D

I would say less of the science and more banter....you are safe MCOS.

I will be losing too much time on the swim to both you lads and will not catch you on either bike/run....not to say i will not be trying. I shall try hold onto Tunneys feet for the first 100mtrs of the swim:)
    If it was a HIM i would be feeling a tiny bit more confident of my chances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

:cool:

This just got even more interesting! Who's taking bets?? :)

If i was to price it up
    Mr Tango - 5/6 fav
    Mcos - 6/4
    JB - 3/1
    Tunney - 5/1....i am being kind here i could add a few zeros.

If i was to price it up
    Mr Tango - 5/6 fav
    Mcos - 6/4
    JB - 3/1
    Tunney - 5/1....i am being kind here i could add a few zeros.

Ordering looks right, distance isn't long enough for JB to literally sh1t himself.

Unless you are now doing your sets (e.g. 38x100m) off 1:30 coming in on 1:15 you won't be on those feet for too long............

• Registered Users Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭kingQuez

Confirmed in the double.

Estimated finishing time

13 minutes behind MCOS
    15 minutes behind JB

I was looking for an entry to this, but got off the hook when I didn't bail out of tri an mhi. Looking at the starting list this could be a pretty fun race :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭kingQuez

miller82 wrote: »
    has anyone got a reply from triathy at any stage?

i sent an e-mail 18 days ago and still havent heard a word yet

No reply for me (sent friday), guess they must be snowed under with stuff at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭miller82

kingQuez wrote: »
    No reply for me (sent friday), guess they must be snowed under with stuff at the moment.

they got back to me last night

Fazz wrote: »
    A quick 5 min scan over the who's in shows some interesting reading...
    The Favourites...

Sprint:

Bill McCormack
    Noelie Kavanagh
    Scott Graham

Olympic:

Stephen Early
    David Richardson
    Paul Carroll
    Neal O Grady
    Brian Keane (thought he used a Y but maybe not)
    Alan Ryan (the ironman major, 2nd at double Oly in '11)
    Matt Molloy

Double Olympic

Joe Lynch
    Brian Campbell
    Mariusz Olenicjak
    Wayne Reid
    Colm Sheahan

Nearly missed Mr Molloy in the Olympic....

I think the Olympic has taken over as most stacked.
    Probably just a taster for Athlone 4 weeks later!:eek:
    2 big races coming up.

Targets to aim for everywhere! ;):p

Unless you are now doing your sets (e.g. 38x100m) off 1:30 coming in on 1:15 you won't be on those feet for too long............

:eek: I guess not then..

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭Woody_FX

Looking for a relay team for Tri-Athy.

Running injury earlier this season and only back running a few weeks and not ready for race pace running.

But can swim or cycle at 100%. Average swimmer, fast cyclist. Let me know if anybody needs me for a team.

Thanks guys.

• Registered Users Posts: 263 ✭✭Mr Tango

I think the technical term for what Tunney is doing is 'sand bagging' !!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Mr Tango wrote: »

Tunney sand bagging? Never ;)

Mr Tango wrote: »
    mloc123 wrote: »
    Tunney sand bagging? Never ;)

I haven't sandbagged. I'm running well, albeit no speed, so would do a better marathon than 10km. I'm swimming better than I did in 2011 by far.

Its just the biking. 4.5 weeks off the bike!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

I haven't sandbagged. I'm running well, albeit no speed, so would do a better marathon than 10km. I'm swimming better than I did in 2011 by far.

Its just the biking. 4.5 weeks off the bike!

Join us on Sunday morning then..

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Whats the bike route like for the sprint? I gather it's fairly 'easy'? The run doesn't seem to be very popular...