Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Just reported someone for driving dangerously and feel so guilty!

• 08-03-2012 11:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭

I was on the slip road approaching the motorway and the car in front stopped, the old woman got out of the car and approached mine, she asked me where so and so lived, i said i didn't know, I told her she was on a motorway and to proceed left and she asked where do i go if i turn right. I told her she cant turn right ITS A MOTORWAY.

She got into her car and attempted to TURN right. There was an oncoming car and it beeped at her, myself and the 4 cars behind me were also beeping at her, she tried to do it again and we proceeded to beep at her until she turned of to the left.

When i got home i called the local station with her details (in shock i forgot her last 3 numbers)

The woman had not a clue how a motorway worked, or her immediate location. I was nervous for her that she might cause a serious accident, injury to herself or others so i phoned my local station.

I feel really guilty. Suppose i want to know, did i do the right thing? because i feel so guilty for doing it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Yes, you definitely did the right thing - don't feel guilty!

That's seriously dangerous! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

I was on the slip road approaching the motorway and the car in front stopped, the old woman got out of the car and approached mine, she asked me where so and so lived, i said i didn't know, I told her she was on a motorway and to proceed left and she asked where do i go if i turn right. I told her she cant turn right ITS A MOTORWAY.

She got into her car and attempted to TURN right. There was an oncoming car and it beeped at her, myself and the 4 cars behind me were also beeping at her, she tried to do it again and we proceeded to beep at her until she turned of to the left.

When i got home i called the local station with her details (in shock i forgot her last 3 numbers)

The woman had not a clue how a motorway worked, or her immediate location. I was nervous for her that she might cause a serious accident, injury to herself or others so i phoned my local station.

I feel really guilty. Suppose i want to know, did i do the right thing? because i feel so guilty for doing it.

You definitely did the right thing. You probably saved her life. And the lives of others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

oul wans eh?

GERROFFDEBLEEDIN'ROW-AD!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭sonyvision

Dont feel guitly. You may be stopping a massive accident about to happen and save her and others lives. More then likely she has not sat a test in her car in many years. She could be confused and sick, least the garda may call round and get her family to check on her.

Should feel proud its a civil duty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

Of course you did the right thing! She could have caused a serious accident. Fair play to you dude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

You feel guilty because she's a fragile little old lady, but just remember that if she's stopped or put off the road, you have saved her life as much as you've protected everyone else.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Highly unlikely anything to be done, but you did the right thing OP.

The amount of people who arent up to driving standards in this country, especially the older folks. Something should be done to retest them as things have/are changing so much. Its for the safety of the general public.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Of course you did. Dangerous drivers should always be reported.
    Slow ones, fast ones, mobile phone using ones, seem like they're drunk ones.

I have a 1 hour drive to and from work and regularly encounter people who are clearly not competent to be on the road. In my experience it is the guys and gals drivign at 40 kph on a 100 kph natioanal route that are liable to do anything (wrong way around a roundabout, etc). They have zero confidence (rightly) in their ability to drive and so creep along.

• Registered Users Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Sierra 117

You did the right thing. She could have easily gotten herself and others killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭tmc86

You some kind of ageist or something?

Fair play though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Op is a rat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

There's some auld lad sitting at home wondering where his sandwich is while his missus is out causing havoc on the nations motorways :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

Big assumption to presume the guards will actually get up off their arse and do something about it....No money in it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

i did that once.... some drunk fecker reversed backwards around a corner into my car then drove off.... i phoned the gardai and followed the guy telling the gaurds where he was going. they eventually caught up with him and done him for drunk driving and no tax or insurance. i still had to get a new regplate and bumper cos of that twat.

oh noes, how will she collect her pension?? she could die from hunger OP.

Just kidding of course, you did the right thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

its probably her day out from the old folks home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

You should have rang immediately after the incident, she could have still turn up the motorway after you left, they seem either hi or at a loss of faculties, she could have caused a pile up.

I am tempted to profile the driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Has the makings of a movie.

The OP as "the old dear hunter"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

I feel sick to the stomach, dont know if its shock or guilt of both.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Man up!

Probably guilt.

That she was on her way to a loved ones funeral and realised that she took the wrong exit on to the motorway. Seeing that the only option was to turn around to make it in time, she did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,368 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

You should have ignored it and proceeded with your own journey.

Now Death will be looking for the lives it didn't get and all those involved will suffer terribly on their way to their Final Destination:eek:

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

44leto wrote: »
    You should have rang immediately after the incident, she could have still turn up the motorway after you left, they seem either hi or at a loss of faculties, she could have caused a pile up.

I am tempted to profile the driver.

I have no hands free kit and dont have my local guards number. I got in home and looked it up on the net and phoned them, I was sort of do I or dont I and I decided to phone them to warn them that she was on the motorway and that she didnt know how to drive on a motorway (explained the incident). She was driving too slow on the motorway , and that too could cause an accident.

still feel like s**t.

It's called adrenaline (the low side of the rush).

Yakult wrote: »
    Man up!

Thats hard, im female ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i honestly believe that when a person reaches a certain age (80ish) its time to hand up the car keys and the drivers licence

its happened a few times now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Dont feel guilty, you may well have saved a life or two. You'd feel worse had she caused an accident.

chin_grin wrote: »
    It's called adrenaline (the low side of the rush).

I can feel it all though my hands and arms too, very weird sensation. Anything to get rid of it?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Well done OP.

If she stopped the car in such a maner and asked you where someone lived, then it is safe to assume that she is "not right in the head".
    What Lando would have done is to forceablly remove the risk from the car and neuterlise the subject until the professionalls came to take her away to be accessed, hence reducing the risk of injury to the general public and the subject.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

When the mast majority of After Hours posters agree with you, you can be certain you've done the right thing!

I've done it a number of times in the past, I'll continue to do it in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Big assumption to presume the guards will actually get up off their arse and do something about it....No money in it...

Yeah i hear thats why they have stopped investigating murders and stuff....:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

fryup wrote: »
    i honestly believe that when a person reaches a certain age (80ish) its time to hand up the car keys and the drivers licence

He was right, it was everyone else going the wrong way.

I can feel it all though my hands and arms too, very weird sensation. Anything to get rid of it?

Mug-a-tae!

Sorts anything.

With sugar (even though that's blasphemous....it's needed in this case).

..............or gin. :pac:

fryup wrote: »

Jeez, I hope a squad car was dispached to find my old lady, thinking now i should have followed her..

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Has the makings of a movie.

The OP as "the old dear hunter"

Has a good ring to it.

If you're into granny porn.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

OP - I think you're the worst person I've ever come across :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

This incident proves that old dears aren't as harmless as they look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Has a good ring to it.

If you're into granny porn.

Who's been telling tales?

<_< >_>

ejmaztec wrote: »
    This incident proves that old dears aren't as harmless as they look.

Their weapon is confusion. And age.

AGE and confusion. And a lack of respect for the rules of the road.

Age, confusion and a lack of respect for the rules of the road. That's their main weapons.

(You're going to read that in Michael Palins voice).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

FutureGuy wrote: »
    I've done it a number of times in the past, I'll continue to do it in future.

Fuc
    king hell, dude - do you not care about the dangers of doing that? You could kill someone!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

Logan's Run them from orbit. It's the only way to be sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

poor lady. she could have had alzheimers or something. Sounds like there was some kind of problem if she was "lost" and looking for a house and did not know how a motorway works. Did you ask if she was okay at all? Or did any of the other "beepers" behind you ask if she was okay.

re. calling the cops - ya you did right to inform them of the situation - however I think by the time you did that, it was a bit too late. Maybe you should have gotten one of the other beepers to call, and maybe talked to her before leaving her to it.

IN saying that I wouldn't feel guilty about calling them both as a safety precaution for herself and other drivers, and also for her own safety if she did have a touch of alzheimers.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

You've reported it to the Guards.

If they investigate and if there is a reason to take things any further , like a warning or caution then it's up to the Guards to decide if such action is warranted or not.

At the end of the day stubborn people who don't know the rules of the road and are in charge of a killing machine are dangerous.

Had she turned into the traffic she would probably have tried to turn into the overtaking lane so no quick ducking into the hard shoulder. It's possible that she may have panicked.