Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Starting an IT career

Options
  • 11-03-2012 8:06am
    Registered Users Posts: 8

Hi,

I am currently working abroad and am looking to begin a career in IT in the near future. I have a 2.1 honours degree in a computer science discipline, however I have little to no experience in the IT field.
    I worked through college and have years of retail experience in Ireland. I have been in Canada for about 18 months working in general office admin work.
    My problem is my lack of experience in IT related field is holding me back from applying for work in that field. I am not confident in my skills learned in college...graduated in 2009 so I have little or no recollection of any of the programming languages etc. I "got through" college rather that earned my degree.
    Would love some advice on where I should start whether it be what disciplines I should start brushing up on or tips for securing entry level positions. Having looked at jobs online I have noticed that there are quite a few java developers positions...was thinking maybe I should brush up on my PHP, SQL and HTML also???

I just don't know where to start so help appreciated.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 634 ✭✭✭jimoc

Best place to start is to try a free online course in a language you are interested.
    Java is a good one to start with as there is a huge amount of resources out there for it.
    Once you've got a nice grounding in the language, come up with an idea for a program and write it or get involved in an open source project that you find interesting.

and good luck :)