Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meath GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users Posts: 385 ✭✭Mully_2011

5 managers in seven years now.I wasn't a big fan of Bantys appointment from the start I didn't see the point in getting rid of O Brien.

The problem as I see it is we are still living in the glory days of the 90s and where expecting to go back to that level in a season. The more experienced players aren't consistent and tend to have more bad days then good,Cian Ward Didn't show up on Saturday.When their good there great when there bad they are ****e.

IMO we need to start playing a more Phyiscal Faster Kicking game that handpassing craic is woeful to watch

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,411 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Not really surprised. Even if we had won last weekend I don't think he would've stayed on after the end of the season the way the county board carried on in April. No one really stands out as a perfect replacement for him though. Hopefully the CB get their ar$es in gear and get a replacement on board soon before the county championships are finished.
    Mully_2011 wrote: »
    The problem as I see it is we are still living in the glory days of the 90s and where expecting to go back to that level in a season.
    This is one of the biggest problems with the county board especially. I found it cringeworthy in their meeting before the Leinster finals when they were basically patting themselves on the back for both senior and minor teams being in the Leinster final, saying Meath football was "back where it should be". One of the delegates even came out with the line "we must be doing something right", or in other words "we don't really know what we're doing at all".

• Registered Users Posts: 17,771 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

I would place a bet Johnny Evans will become new Meath manager. Very funny he was brought in around the same time Banty was facing the chop.

Banty brought him in himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

keane2097 wrote: »
    Banty brought him in himself.

Thats what we were told at the time but it did seem strange the timing and all and tbh it looked like it was a condition put in place for him to keep he's job at the time

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

All the talk is of Colm O'Rouke taking it. Any reason behind it, hes never seemed too interested in the past.
    Any chance Gerry McEntee can be convinced

iDave wrote: »
    All the talk is of Colm O'Rouke taking it. Any reason behind it, hes never seemed too interested in the past.
    Any chance Gerry McEntee can be convinced
    O'Rourke is always talked about whenever we need a new manager. Not up to the job in my opinion. He was over the U21s and failed to win a game with them if I remember correctly.
    Can't see McEntee having the time to be manager. Seeing as he's a surgeon, it wouldn't be the type of job that would allow him enough time to scout players.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,771 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Thats what we were told at the time but it did seem strange the timing and all and tbh it looked like it was a condition put in place for him to keep he's job at the time

I was actually down in Navan last weekend and as he used to manage our club at home I asked a few of the lads about him and it didn't sound like it was anything but Banty's doing to bring him in. They also all seemed very positive about him fwiw.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭rpurfield

theres certain members of the executive need to realise that it doesnt matter if ya come from navan nenagh or new york if the new manager has the right credentials.i cannot think of anyone from within the county id give it to to be honest

Updates from the minor game against Tyrone here:
    https://twitter.com/MeathSports

1-3 apiece after 15 minutes. Tyrone overwhelming favourites.
    1-7 each at HT.

Meath win 2-12 to 1-14 against the much fancied Tyrone minors :D:D:D

Meath v Mayo in the All Ireland minor semi final on August 26th! Fantastic performance after the disappoinment of the Leinster Final.

great bounce back from the leinster final from the young lads.delighted for them

• Registered Users Posts: 679 ✭✭✭eastmayo

Jess did not think wr would get over tipp yest...good win for yeah...hard semi to call..ya never no with minors what way it will go.

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭meath12

it said on lmfm that were playing kerry in the semi final?

no we play mayo because they beat tipp.it follows the senior semi finals for provincal rotation so to make it easy were basically ulster champions now and mayo are munster champs!!kerry dublin is the other semi thatll be on the day of the dublin mayo game

Honestly cannot see anyone getting close to beating Dublin now. Not one team has gotten within 10 points of them so far and the only team that I think may have had a chance (i.e. Tipp) are out.
    But the lads certainly won't fear Mayo and they've nothing to lose and could be in an All Ireland final on the fourth Sunday of September :D

yeah i say dublin will get to the final anyway, it could be a meath-dublin all ireland final :D

will many people be going to the meath minor game on the 26th?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭a7k10rf6z8buel

Did anyone get up to see the minors on Sunday? Did they look like they improved or were Tyrone just a lot weaker than Dublin?

Didn't see them on Sunday but I'd say they improved a lot. They let themselves down in the Leinster final. Tyrone were well fancied to make the All Ireland final. Seems like there was a little bit of luck involved but we'll take it.
    Not sure if I'll make it to the semi final. €40 is a bit steep given the amount of money I've spent this season. But the senior game afterwards could be a good one.

In other news, Liam Hayes thinks the county board should get Kieran McGeeney to be the new manager if he was available :pac:
    I do think we shouldn't be restricted to just Meath men though.

id like john evans to take over and still have giles and geraghty as selectors,hes said hes interested and i think hes the one who made the difference to the team after the league, i hope the county board would give the job to him.

might get a hill ticket for the minor match the fact donegal and cork is going to be some battle helps justify it but id agree hammer weve spent some wedge following the seniors this year!

as regards next manager if john evans is interested give it to him if you ask me might help with the continuity thats badly needed.but whoever gets it should be givien three years before theyre reviewed, the constant chopping and changing wont help

i was watching championship matters the other night and they were talking about sports psychologists and i was just thinking have meath ever had a sports psychologist?
    its interesting that mayo and dublin both have one, jim mcguinness himself is a sports psychologist and i heard cork have one too but its just interesting that the four teams left all have had psychologists in to help them. if meath dont have one, it wouldnt be a bad idea to get one seen as they have helped other teams.

• Registered Users Posts: 14 eastmeathroyal

no we've never had one and the county board would probably object to it being against our traditions!

wonder if many will go up to the minor semi final, they deserve the support and you get to watch a great semi final after wards. i'd recommend going up to it and see how far behind the top teams we really are.

what about the club senior championship being postponed?according to the chronicles fergal lynch on twitter it wont be finished till october 28th at the earliest now and i cant understand that.there is two group games left and then the 1/4 semi and finals surely it can be finished quicker than the last weekend in october.how can anyone plan holidays etc when things are taking that long

I'm a bit confused by that alright. Originally it was set for October 14th. Surely they can keep to that schedule without too much trouble.
    How does everyone see the Senior, Inter and Junior championships going? It's quite sad to see Slane not able to field a team in Junior. I'd say they'll drop like a stone now.

never heard that about slane hammer thats a bad state of affairs for them now.i havent had a chance to look at the chronicle even at this stage so im not 100% sure who id be tipping.i had a quick glance earlier in the chronicle earlier actually and seen brendan derby getting a less than friendly escort off the field after the gael colmcille game!

Yeah they gave a walkover to Trim's second team last weekend. They've also given two or three walkovers in a row in the league. It's surprising given that they were comfortably surviving in Intermediate not too long ago and now they can't get 15 players together. I'd be very surprised if they're not in Junior B next season.
    I haven't really been paying much attention to the championships either to be honest. But in senior I'd say Donaghmore/Ashbourne have a good chance.
    I think Intermediate is very weak in Meath. Several teams have won Junior and went on to win Intermediate soon afterwards. Longwood, Ballinabrackey and Ballivor seem to be doing well this year.
    Junior is just a minefield as usual. I'm a Ratoath man and we have to get a result against Bective in the last group game or we'll be out again. As well as those two, Cortown, Dunsany, Kilmainham and Kilmainhamwood all have good chances. I think it's a good thing that two teams go up from Junior this year. It really is a horrible level to get out of when there's only one place.

GIFTatPaircTailteannposter.jpg
    Anyone heading to it? :pac:
    Gridiron in Navan. Who'd have thought it?

love the friday night lights shout that show and film and book and other film has probably done more for american football this side of the atlantic than all the high school college and nfl games that are brought over do!!

Should be good craic. Not sure about sitting on those horrible seats for 4 or 5 hours though.
    Think I may head to the minor game on Sunday. Hill tickets are €25 so it's not too bad so long as it doesn't rain. Senior game should be a good spectacle as well I'd say.