Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meath GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭rpurfield

Ladies final is pods of two alright, there's a lot of comment online over it now. U18s have to be with an adult. Its a bit mad but I think its to ensure the full 40k is used. I can't remember the limit for Meath and Dublin I think it was 18k but they only got 12k in, and in the week after it I had read the gap was in part down to different sized pods and keeping the gap between each pod.

The fact we've two finals in a week is class. We've three lads on the minor panel and one on the Ladies. The four of them were in the club last night for photos in all the gear, we were down training the 13s and the excitement in some of the lads seeing them around was unreal. Its brilliant to have it as it gives the lads something to look up to. I'm sure its the same in every club around the county at the minute. I just really hope we take all the tickets we can and get behind both teams as well as covering the county in green and gold.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,411 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Honestly don't think they'll get 40000 with that in place. Families simply won't bother going.

Ladies tickets on sale. 700 people in queue on Ticketmaster. Wonderful.

And then get to the front only to be booted to the back of the queue again.

Hammer I was the same booted me back to 4000. I opened it on the phone and got straight in on the terrace tickets. Seems the demand is all on the stand and the terrace is a seperate link, if you can manage the terrace its a handy one.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

Kerry hate Tyrone so will no doubt cheer for Meath but I doubt there'll be many Kerry supporters heading in early for the minor game.

Standing for hours with a 3 year old wouldn't be fun :(

Finally got in and thought I'd chosen seats only for it to freeze and got booted out again. What an absolute farce.

Now I finally got tickets selected and went to the checkout: "An unexpected error occurred".

Post edited by Hammer Archer on

Ah no I don't blame ya. The lad coming with me is nearly 13 so he'll be grand. I can't believe Ticketmaster have it so wrong they're normally grand to buy off

9 hours after starting, finally got them.

It was a total farce on Ticketmaster with the Offaly and Roscommon u 20 tickets on Ticketmaster. I was in a big que and booted out as well.

A lot of people in the same boat. They were freely available on Ticketmaster the next day. They will probably be available tomorrow again.

Bit of a disaster the Ticketmaster with the gaa.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭snowgal

absolute disaster yesterday. LGFA took matters in to their own hands in the end and you can apply through them. How did they feck it up so bad? (tmaster I mean)

Very impressive win for Dunboyne tonight against Senechalstown.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Minors not taking their chances so far, looking a bit nervous, better footballers though and much more attacking intent

I take that back, great goal 😎

Great performance first half. But really should be further ahead. Some terrible wides and another half goal chance we messed up.

Some absolutely excellent footballers on the team though. Definitely the more skillful of the two sides.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭enricoh

Took them a while to settle, definitely the better team in the second quarter though.

Rode our luck big time but they've done it!!!!!! What a team!!

• Registered Users Posts: 915 ✭✭✭whatnext

Better to be lucky than good. Tick both boxes and you won’t be beaten. Edge of the seat stuff. Well done to the team, management and all connections.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Hon the Royal 🏆️

• Registered Users Posts: 384 ✭✭vapor trails

First win at the top table in any age bracket since 99? I thought the referee was very harsh on them in the first half with some decisions. I felt we were scoring with greater ease than them. Missed the second half so that’s where my analysis ends. Great win, now let’s win an U20’s

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭Sonny678

This is one of the best minor teams underage teams to come out of leinster in long time. They are only the third leinster team since 2000 to win minor All Ireland title. In the last 21 years laois in 2003 and Dublin in 2012 and Meath now in 2021 are the only leinster teams to win minor All Ireland titles.

This is brilliant underage team. This team and many of the players have won 2 leinster minor titles in a row and 1 All Ireland minor title. They have beaten Dublin by 11 pts in this years championship and beaten Dublin by 11 pts in last years championship.

And beat a Tyrone team that were strong favourites, Tyrone team that hammered Cork by 14 pts in the semis and hammered every other team in championship they met. Many were saying before the game this was the best Tyrone minor team to come out of Tyrone since Tyrone All Ireland minor winning teams of 1998 2001.

Meath had the better footballers. Some great prospects like Kelly at 3 and Corbett at 6. Ennis is an outstanding defender. Wilson kinlough are a strong midfield. Emmanuel is an exciting talent. And O Murchu Finley Corcorcan are quality inside forwards.

O Bric has done a really good job. He will be charge of this team at U20 also. And take them over as manager of U19 development panel. That's the plan that was made at the start of year. And has to be kept to. O Bric has being involved managing underage teams in Meath for thd last 20 years with O Mahonys and Wolfe Tones. He managed outstanding Navan O Mahonys minors teams to county titles in 00s. He has impressed me also as manager.

A massive massive win for Meath football.

Looks like rumours of Kells' demise were exaggerated. They annihilated Moynalvey by 11 points, 3-15 to 2-7. Simonstown, however, are in a spot of bother as they're guaranteed to be in a relegation playoff (which they'll survive without much issue, you feel) with Tones hammering them 2-14 to 0-10.

Bracks got their first win at senior, beating Curraha by 6. You'd fear for Curraha as I think they're missing a number of players.

Interesting final day in store in group A. Ratoath were poor in the first half against Ashbourne and were 4 down at half time but scored 2-6 to 1 point in the third quarter to win the game. NOM were hammered by Dunshaughlin in the other game. Ratoath should top the group but second place could still go to any of the remaining teams.

Seems to be a very open senior championship this year. Could make cases for 4 or 5 teams to win it outright.

I'm still not convinced by Kells. I was very surprised to see them make the senior championship final in Meath last year. They're missing Oisin Reilly and Seamus Mattimoe went off at half time yesterday. Not sure if its an injury or due to commuting as he's been travelling back and forth from London which isn't ideal.

Drumbaragh streamed their game against Kilmainham last night. Picture quality wasn't great but it was watchable - probably recorded off a phone. Some good scores by both teams and was entertaining stuff.

I still expect Dunboyne or Summerhill to win the senior.

Congrats to the minors by the way. With their rise and Dublin on the decline (hopefully!), there could be good days ahead for the Royal!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭zetecescort

as a neutral the Ladies football is very enjoyable, certainly not fazed but the occasion. Meath well worth their lead. ref has let the Dubs off with two high tackles, both should have been yellow cards imo. How he gave a free out for the 2nd one was mad

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,880 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Meath ladies winning by 5 at ht, 1-08 v 0-06

Third time seeing them this year and they are well worth their lead.

Vicky Wall causing all sorts of problems- although she clearly over carries a lot - and the defence are defending the D very well.

Dublin defenders are fouling a lot and will no doubt be down to 14 at some stage of the second half, that could well be important.

Great to see such a big crowd travel from Meath.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Xander10

Great first half display. If they can keep that intensity for the second half, the shock is on.

• Registered Users Posts: 605 ✭✭✭meath4sam

Great 1st half

great counter attacking

a joy to watch

common Meath

Dublin on the edge of a red card

fingers crossed Meath can keep this up.

• Registered Users Posts: 605 ✭✭✭meath4sam

Duggan scored a point in the first half Stephan Bray would be proud of.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Meath must have a serious management team. Their defensive organisation is great, if they can score from outside the D let them off but if Dublin try to go inside they’re getting swamped. Kickout strategy is excellent too, you had a great view from behind the goal to see the movement. It’s something that let us down badly in the semi final.

The second point for Emma Troy was outstanding, as good a point as you’ll see, the speed of the transition was phenomenal.

Emma Duggan is a baller

Hope ye see it out from here

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Another hand to the face left go by the ref

• Registered Users Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Xander10

3 wrong calls in a row by the Ref, hope he doesn't ruin what has been a great game