Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Do you know anyone who is in prison?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭gabsdot40

I have an uncle who was interned in the early 70s and spent a couple of years in the Maze prison. The family are pretty sure he hadn't actually done anything, He was a bit of an idiot and was probably just in the wrong place and friend with the wrong people.
    My dad's cousin's husband got 25 years for terrorism charges of some kind but after he had served 2 years the 'supergrass' witness's evidence was thrown out and he got out. Again, the family reckon he hadn't done it, he's a really lovely guy and I can't imagine him being a terrorist but you never know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

I know someone who's been in prison, All I had to do was take a look in a mirror !! :o

ColHol wrote: »
    How sick would ya be if ya were sitting around telling stories in the canteen, one guy is in for slitting a guys throat, one for murder, one for drug smuggling etc, then it came to you and all you could say is....."Well I asked a supplier to put apples on the box instead of garlic"

Believe me, Evil can be spotted no matter where you are, I know the minute I saw Gary Campion he was scum, Then a chap I used to know inside made me very uneasy the way he was speaking about women, Found out he had murdered a woman in Tralee years ago, That man will be a threat when he is released.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

charlemont wrote: »
    I know someone who's been in prison, All I had to do was take a look in a mirror !! :o

What were you in for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

If she was caught doing what you say then she would be a liability to the staff. She would never be retained in that service. She would be a threat and would be searched every day several times before being dismissed for improper behaviour after being convicted in court of course.
    The only way she would still be there is if they could not prove their case, witnesses refusing to testify, but I feel she would have been transferred to another prison and be well watched.

I have no idea if she is still working in the same prison as to where the actual incident occurred, but she is definitely still working in the same role she did before her suspension.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I was in a holding cell for a few hours if that counts. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭rgmmg

I was the court clerk one day when a guy from my year in secondary school got sentenced to a few months. That felt a bit awkward.

Our whole family thinks one of our cousins is in prison in America, nobody has seen or heard from the guy in over 10 years and his mother isn't very forthcoming on info as to what he's up to. She'll talk the ear off you telling you what his sister is doing though.[/QUOTE]

Watch her - could be a KGB double agent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

yeah I used to know this ahole when I was working in London in the 90ies, met him through a friend who was an old school buddy of his

never liked him but he used to hang around with a few of us from time to time,

always kept my distance especially when I heard he called his girlfriend\wife at the time "the panda" (because she always had two black eyes)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

blow69 wrote: »
    Are we sure Sindri isn't a prisoner themselves?* 2350 posts in approx. three months. La-hooser.

*by prison I mean parent's basement
    Sindri wrote: »
    It's called intellectual prowess. :)

Lolz

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Yeah my old pal johnny 'eye gouger' jones, he is in for social welfare fraud:(

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Dont know about now but a few people I know have done time. Some fairly sound, others complete filthbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,555 ✭✭✭Sar_Bear

A guy who was ahead of me in school has been charged with manslaughter. As bad as they may sound, it's a relief to everyone in my home town that he'll finally be locked up, he's been robbing, drug dealing and oretty much just terrorizing people for years.

The general consensus is, he should have been locked up years ago, before he could kill someone.

What were you in for?

Robbery. :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

lividduck wrote: »
    Yes, I know several who have been or are in Prison.
    Does anyone seriously believe that having been in prison means that a person is pure bad and can never do good, be good, or amount to anything?

Sar_Bear wrote: »
    A guy who was ahead of me in school has been charged with manslaughter. As bad as they may sound, it's a relief to everyone in my home town that he'll finally be locked up, he's been robbing, drug dealing and oretty much just terrorizing people for years.

The general consensus is, he should have been locked up years ago, before he could kill someone.

To answer your question Lividduck, this^^^^^.

Everybody knows some scumbag who just keeps getting away with stuff, so the general consensus is that only the worst of the worst of the worst actually end up inside.

As to whether people change or improve their lives when they come out, we can only hope, but in the majority of cases they dont. Ergo the impression that anyone who has already done time is now forever doomed to be on the dark side.

Obviously there are some exceptions. Charlemont?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

I don't know anyone who is in prison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I was in Folsom Prison for shooting a man in Reno, just wanted to watch him die :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭dougieruggie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Pike in the Thatch

I don't know anyone in prison currently but I know a good few people who have spent time in jail, some for quite a long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Moses G. Washington

All my best homies be up in Attica.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Oh yeah used to work with a few ex ra men that got out after the good Friday agreement. Very civil people to work with but I know they've done some shocking stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

I did some time (well 3 weeks) awaiting trial in the Balkan region. Don't want to give too many details away because I like being anonymous but I was young and seriously injured someone.

The prison was dark, had no windows in the blocks, no air conditioning and no beds. It was literally just yoga mats on the ground. There were 8 of them and 12 people in our cell so a few people had to sleep on the dirty floor. There were loads of cockroaches and what I assumed were fleas. While there were no windows in the block there was a small open barred window in the guard area where mosquitos would fly in and eat you all night long. When I went in there was no sign of food for the first 2 days and then eventually some lad came down from a local takeaway to the prison to take orders from the prisoners (I **** you not). The guards encouraged fights, didn't break them up and beat up a lot of the prisoners. They also got drunk a lot and watched football. A guy did get raped in the block as well, I didnt actually think that **** happened but it did. I heard him crying all night. I was a bit stupid when I arrived and used a communal water bottle. Very easily could have gotten hep and anything else but luckily got the clear.

Are you sure you didn't just accidentally lock yourself in the supply cupboard at the gym? Because you know I've done that before :o

Yup. Life in prison for murder, I believe. Wouldn't be surprised if people I knew growing up are also doing time now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭SteoL

Sindri wrote: »

Mod note, user banned

I often see this in posts yet the poster never actually seems to be banned. What's the story with that?

To stay on topic I knew people who were in prison, served their time and are actually productive members of society now.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Two murderers, and some general scumbags who would have got a few months for criminal damage/theft and generally scumbaggery. One particularly nice guy who beat a guy over the head with a dumbell and hit his girlfriend (with a frying pan if town rumours are true, they usually aren't!). The joys of growing up in a f*cking sh*thole town. When you say 'know', it'd be more 'know of' through being in the locality, I don't write to them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Yep, knew a man, now dead, who did time for kiddie porn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Born to Die

Yes and they are all innocent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭up for anything

A guy did get raped in the block as well, I didnt actually think that **** happened but it did.

If you go by tv programs like CSI, Criminal Minds and Law and Order prison rape seems to be endemic in the the USA. Not one person on those programs ever comes out having not been raped and turned into someone's toy. Makes me wonder is it true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,663 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

SteoL wrote: »
    I often see this in posts yet the poster never actually seems to be banned. What's the story with that?

To stay on topic I knew people who were in prison, served their time and are actually productive members of society now.

I think it's more a case of the user getting a few more posts in before the mod sees the bannable one.

To stay on topic, no.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Foghladh

I have a mate who did a few months in prison over in the UK for receiving stolen goods. I think he was nabbed trying to sell some car stereos another mate of his had lifted from somewhere.
    He said he went into court fully expecting a community service order and his lawyer had no worries. He got the judge on a bad day though and got sent down for 6 months. As far as I know he was out in less than 2.

What always stuck in my mind was how scared he said he always was inside. This lad is 6'3" and built like a small shed but he spent as much time as possible in his cell to avoid the general population.

I figure I wouldn't last 5 mins. A pretty fella like me would be f***ed. Quite literally I fear

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭dubbie82

My sisters school mate killed a 7 year old girl back in 89. He was serving a sentence for arson and other crimes in an open prison. He murderd her on a night out without supervision. He was 19 years old then. I was only 8 then and didn't know him myself but I still remember the girls picture on every newpaper. They found her a few weeks later in a cornfield.
    He got 20 years for that so I reckon he is out now. Makes me sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭maiden

When I was a teen a lot of my friends spent time in jail, visited Limerick a few times. One close friend did 8 years for a mugging (was murdered himself years ago), his brother did 5 for same crime,(came out killed in a car crash)

Next door neighbour did 3 years for manslaughter, was never the best after it, but was in Cork one day when a guy jumped into the river, my friend jumped in and saved him (took a life, saved a life)

Have 3 friends in Limerick prison at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

I have a cousin doing a long stretch in Portlaoise. He's a "political" prisoner, if you get my drift.

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭canttellyou

hondasam wrote: »
    If I know someone who is in prison does that makes me a knacker?
    You can't help who you are related to, you can choose your friends but you can't choose your family.

Define knacker.?
    Whats so bad about a knacker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭soundbyte

A guy that was in a few of my classes in Leaving Cert raped an 83 year old woman. Thing is, he did it BEFORE he started the school year. The judge allowed him do the school year before serving his seven year sentence. He was a bit of a laugh, but a wee bit odd. Sick bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Define knacker.?
    Whats so bad about a knacker?

She wasn't using the word herself, she was quoting it from a poster who got banned.

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭canttellyou

?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dirtyden

maiden wrote: »
    When I was a teen a lot of my friends spent time in jail, visited Limerick a few times. One close friend did 8 years for a mugging (was murdered himself years ago), his brother did 5 for same crime,(came out killed in a car crash)

Next door neighbour did 3 years for manslaughter, was never the best after it, but was in Cork one day when a guy jumped into the river, my friend jumped in and saved him (took a life, saved a life)

Have 3 friends in Limerick prison at the moment

Were you from Ennis then (ie, when you were a teen)? I just see Ennis in as your location. I never would have thought Ennis was a particularly rough town, but you make it sound so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

dubbie82 wrote: »
    My sisters school mate killed a 7 year old girl back in 89. He was serving a sentence for arson and other crimes in an open prison. He murderd her on a night out without supervision. He was 19 years old then. I was only 8 then and didn't know him myself but I still remember the girls picture on every newpaper. They found her a few weeks later in a cornfield.
    He got 20 years for that so I reckon he is out now. Makes me sick.

That wasn't in co cork was is? I remember around that time in youghal a kid was missing and later found dead, a teen did it and was related somehow to the child. While the search was going on we were walked to school instead of being let walk on our own.

dirtyden wrote: »
    Were you from Ennis then (ie, when you were a teen)? I just see Ennis in as your location. I never would have thought Ennis was a particularly rough town, but you make it sound so?

I don't see Ennis as a rough town but it has it's famous villains, lying eyes being one of them ( due out soon too). the youth centre there brewed a few criminals, from drug dealers to rapists (Adam Keane )one that stabbed a guy ( got 8 years) David o loughlin, then the taxi driver was murdered a few years back and also a guard's kid stabbed someone in the main street. Emer o loughlin was murdered in co Clare too, still haven't got the scumbag who did it, I knew emer.

Sounds like a really rough place but these incidents are far apart

I knew people who have been in prison. My own dad did time before I was born, I am not close friends with anyone in prison or who has been in prison.

• Registered Users Posts: 498 ✭✭FueledByAisling

soundbyte wrote: »
    The judge allowed him do the school year before serving his seven year sentence.

That's actually a very nice thing for the judge to do. Pushing the fact that your ex classmate is a sick prick, the judge ensured he'd have proper education when he left prision instead of going off living on the dole once released so instead of him living for the rest of his life off the government it'd only be seven years.

dirtyden wrote: »

Yes Ennis, cant say that it is rough, just every village and every town have their own few that end up in prison

the youth centre there brewed a few criminals, from drug dealers to rapists

Ah now thats not entirely fair, I don't think the youth centre brewed criminals in fact I would go as far as saying they saved quiet a few from the 'wrong road'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

One of my best golfing & drinking buddies got 9 months before, ended up in the open prison in Shelton Abbey.
    We visited him & brought in Club Orange bottles that were 50% vodka.
    They had Sky Sports & a Pitch n'Putt course, was a bloody holiday camp.
    He was annoyed he didn't get 12 months as the state would have covered expensive dental work once your incarcerated over a year.
    He was let out for the weekend after 6 months & released 10 minutes after returning.

maiden wrote: »
    Ah now thats not entirely fair, I don't think the youth centre brewed criminals in fact I would go as far as saying they saved quiet a few from the 'wrong road'

Not entirely fair, just my opinion. Some are already troubled when they go there, others leave worse. Some who want to be helped are.