Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

the irish & litter

• 13-03-2012 11:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭

What is it with some irish people who seem to have a total lack of respect for their surroundings.

I saw a school kid today unwrap a chocolate bar and threw the wrapper over his shoulder without a second thought. All the school kids throw litter around and some adults aren't much better.

Is it to do with our DNA our ingrained disrespect for authority and rules??

I mean the irish always say how much they love their country so why don't they show it by not messing it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭TreesAreCrowd

What did he say when you reprimanded him over it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭puzzle factory

your on your own there,i cant even remember the last time i saw litter at the side of a road,never mind around town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

The only things kids understand today is a punch in the face.

next time...........punch him in the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,666 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

"**** off! I'm gonna tell the police you touched me! PAEDO!!!!! PAEDO!!! HELP!!!!!" probably.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

fryup wrote: »

I mean the irish always say how much they love their country so why don't they show it by not messing it up.

Are you sure he was Irish ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭rusty_racer94

Just out of curiosity, why are you watching young school kids?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

he gave me the.................two fingers :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 350 ✭✭Roadtrippin

Fair play for bringing this up. I really hate people littering. It is such an annoying thing around here. People even drop rubbish right on their doorstep and don't care if they have to look at their own rubbish everyday. I really don't get it!

I also think legislation should be a lot harsher regarding littering. In other countries the fines for littering can be a lot higher than they are here. For example, I know that in some other European countries there is hotlines for anonymously reporting someone leaving enormous amounts of rubbish behind somewhere illegally... Maybe it's time to rethink the punishment so the crime does not continue as much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Call dublin police station, I'm sure they'll put their best detective on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

I think that people are much more conscious of litter and cleaning up after themselves these days. Of course you'll always come across a few muppets who don't care but such is life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

He deserved a kick in the hole then...

I don't get what being Irish has to do with it???

If you remove the whole "Irish" thing from the littering issue, I'd agree with you. I can't stand littering, shows a certain amount of ignorance and disrespect, but even worse is that it's so widespread the majority of people accept it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

What is it with some irish people who seem to have a total lack of respect for their surroundings.

I saw a school kid today unwrap a chocolate bar and threw the wrapper over his shoulder without a second thought. All the school kids throw litter around and some adults aren't much better.

Right, because it happens in Ireland it must be something only done by Irish people and litter isn't a problem in any other country. All the school kids? Did you observe each and every one of them doing this? I suppose its just like how they all smoke and all the girls are slappers.

Ingrained disrespect for authority? I don't think so. Quite the opposite infact, 4 years of austerity and not a single riot, people falling over themselves to pay the household charge on the first day of the new year. We must be the most obedient crowd of europe, there was actually an interesting documentary about this on Al Jazeera lately.

Irish people saying they love their country - also a load of shoite, here you find more people besmirching the place and moaning how Ireland is inferior to the USA, Canada, Aus, Germany, Holland etc and how everything is better in those countries.

Cause you spot one fella throwing away a wrapper all school children and all Irish people are bad. You're talking shoite

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    "**** off! I'm gonna tell the police you touched me! PAEDO!!!!! PAEDO!!! HELP!!!!!" probably.

I wouldn't be surprised, unfortunately.
    Just out of curiosity, why are you watching young school kids?

It's insinuations like this that have men in a place where we're now totally uncomfortable to be around children by ourselves in case we're accused of something. Thankfully I've no interaction with children however f*cked up attitudes like yours mean great parents and role models are now actively steering clear of interacting with kids in case some freak like you comes along with your "guilty until proven innocent" attitude towards men.

94? Ah so you're only a little 18 year old kid yourself then. Cop yourself on and grow up.

I don't get what being Irish has to do with it???

If you remove the whole "Irish" thing from the littering issue, I'd agree with you. I can't stand littering, shows a certain amount of ignorance and disrespect, but even worse is that it's so widespread the majority of people accept it.

but i lived in england and on the continent, and even in rough working-class areas you wouldn't see it as much as you would here...there's definitely a relaxed irish attitude (ah sure) to it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

galwayrush wrote: »
    He deserved a kick in the hole then...

He wouldn't rolo over without a fight. If he snickered I would have kicked his ar$e to mars.

That's all I have.

eth0 wrote: »

Cause you spot one fella throwing away a wrapper all school children and all Irish people are bad. You're talking shoite

i'm not takin shoite:rolleyes:

there always been a litter problem in this country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

but i lived in england and on the continent, and even in rough working-class areas you wouldn't see it as much as you would here...there's definitely a relaxed irish attitude (ah sure) to it

I don't agree with this at all, most towns in Ireland are clean and tidy, there will be some litter after the weekend as is to be expected, unless you are out early in the morning you will not see it because it's cleaned up very early.
    One person dropping a sweet wrapper hardly makes the country full of litter.

The only littering I actively notice is the cúnts who drive a bit out of Dublin and throw their trash around the countryside because they're too scabby to pay the refuse charges tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

A student throwing his ice-cream wrapper on the ground now represents the nation!

Why do all chinese people each rice? And why are all Americans either obese pizza eaters with acne or slim athletic teenagers with perfect skin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭Socialist_Pig

And I've lived and worked in the uk,germany,holland,italy and sweden and I've seen plenty of rubbish just dumped or been dumped.No better/no worse than here tbh.

Sweden was the exception but all the shoite was probably under the snow:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dirtyden

I agree with you apart from the UK part, they are as bad as us, I work in the UK quite a bit and it is as messy as here, most of the rest of Europe is much better, well the parts I have visited. I think our local authorities dont help. How many times have you passed a public bin that was rammed with stuff, and had to walk half a mile before getting rid of a sandwich warpper etc., although that is not an excuse for someone littering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

In fairness to the OP I don't think he was having a go at Irish people..

The way I read it was that the country has a bad litter problem, which I think it has.

He just happened to see a schoolkid throwing a wrapper today.

There are parts of some towns around the country that are just disgusting.

Many people seem to fill their bins and then let them overflow and blow all over the road and would never think of cleaning it up.

If parents litter then of course the kids will too.

I don't see it as an Irish persons problem, its an any person problem.

I think it's disgusting..so please put your litter in a bin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

i'm not takin shoite:rolleyes:

there always been a litter problem in this country

There have been litter problems everywhere there's people since litter was invented.

The biggest problem is western society's over-reliance on plastic non-degradable packaging. The plastic bag tax was a great thing but it doesn't go far enough

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Some people just do it instinctively, for instance I was driving a friend out to his house out the country when without a second thought he rolled down the window and dumped his Supermacs takeway bag out complete with the empty drink carton. I was kinda stunned by it really, when I questioned him he couldn't understand why I'd a problem with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

The only littering I actively notice is the cúnts who drive a bit out of Dublin and throw their trash around the countryside because they're too scabby to pay the refuse charges tbh.

Yahoo.... the Dubs v Rest of Ireland starts!!!

Jaysus can anyone starte a thread about being Irish, Irish attitudes, Irish... whatever without that crap... any chance at all???? Nope, didn't think so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Well there is no place you can go in Ireland without coming across a can of Dutch Gold.
    I've seen then by the sea at Howth and I've also seen them in the middle of nowhere in Wicklow Mountains! Along with all sorts of other trash.

Actually I don't understand why people would go to all the lengths to dump their trash in the middle of nowhere in Wicklow Mountains but not in a bin somewhere close to where they live??

Although Ireland is still much cleaner than most 3rd world countries. Also I like how there are so many bins around the city centre. In London you can't find a bin for miles and you need to carry your trash in your pockets till you finally come across a bin you can dump it in...

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Yahoo.... the Dubs v Rest of Ireland starts!!!

Jaysus can anyone starte a thread about being Irish, Irish attitudes, Irish... whatever without that crap... any chance at all???? Nope, didn't think so!
    Er, what? I'm from Dublin and I'm criticising other Dubliners for driving to the outskirts of the city and dumping their bags of rubbish there. What are you on about?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

ah Feck Off!!!!!!!!!!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Foreigners will pick it up, they doing the jobs we dont want to do cos we better than that....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Insted of bringing race into it lets just say some people are quite happy to live in **** so dropping litter,whether by car or walking along the street, is just an extension of that choosen lifstyle which also might include the people who adopt the mentality ie, '' I pay high taxes so expect for people to pick up my litter'' .

Which on a personal level, in any town village or city = dirty fcukers .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Nah, he was just eating a twix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

There's a lovely forest park here which gets destroyed with litter during the summer. People sit around eating pizzas and chip shop food and just discard the boxes and bags on the ground. Then there's kids feeding bread to swans and dropping the empty bread wrappers beside the river. I'm sure the swans would be better off doing without bread but having their surroundings kept clean.

I live in Carlow and it won the Tidy Towns competition last year. I have no idea how it won because the town is a disgrace. Everywhere I walk there's broken glass and cigarette butts.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭winston82

Well there is no place you can go in Ireland without coming across a can of Dutch Gold.
    I've seen then by the sea at Howth and I've also seen them in the middle of nowhere in Wicklow Mountains! Along with all sorts of other trash.

Actually I don't understand why people would go to all the lengths to dump their trash in the middle of nowhere in Wicklow Mountains but not in a bin somewhere close to where they live??

Although Ireland is still much cleaner than most 3rd world countries. Also I like how there are so many bins around the city centre. In London you can't find a bin for miles and you need to carry your trash in your pockets till you finally come across a bin you can dump it in...

There are thousands of places you can go without seeing a can of Dutch Gold. That's a ridiculous statement to make. You're really gaining a talent for these types of statements. Congrats!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

Smoke butts don't seem to be considered litter in Ireland, I find that strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

winston82 wrote: »
    There are thousands of places you can go without seeing a can of Dutch Gold. That's a ridiculous statement to make. You're really gaining a talent for these types of statements. Congrats!!

Hyperboles, you don't seem to get them...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Foreigners will pick it up, they doing the jobs we dont want to do cos we better than that....
    We ? ...who's We ?

( and No , you're not better then them ,that's all in your head )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Gaunty

It's a leftover thing from when the British ruled. We didn't mind dirtying their land and the habit has kinda stuck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 GoldDustWoman

No, it's not in every Irish person's DNA but these school-kids parents have clearly not taught them better manners, that it's fine to litter, throw it where you like and then it's someone else's problem.

Off topic but sort of ties in - I saw someone spit before going into a shop today and my first thought was 'Why not, share your salvia with the rest of us, sure that's what we're here for!'. It's so disgusting and disrespectful.

Littering and spitting are go hand-in-hand for me, both show a complete discourtesy to everyone else in the same space. Gross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Guill

I'm Irish and I was raised to not litter and I don't. Fúck you OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Wrappers don't annoy me as much as having to dodge broken glass and sh/te everywhere on the footpath, little kids throwing out sweet wrappers is nothing to the amount of adults wrecking the place, everyday I see more rubbish bags illegal left somewhere (was gonna say lying around but thats just a normal Tuesday morning heh).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

As a nation you will never find another quite as dirty as us Irish.

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭AeoNGriM

Fair play for bringing this up. I really hate people littering. It is such an annoying thing around here. People even drop rubbish right on their doorstep and don't care if they have to look at their own rubbish everyday. I really don't get it!

I also think legislation should be a lot harsher regarding littering. In other countries the fines for littering can be a lot higher than they are here. For example, I know that in some other European countries there is hotlines for anonymously reporting someone leaving enormous amounts of rubbish behind somewhere illegally... Maybe it's time to rethink the punishment so the crime does not continue as much.

Rubbish, dog****, the stench of piss and piles of vomit. The political party that cracks down on this, imposes much harsher fines and prison sentences and follows through with it is getting my vote in the next GE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Show Time wrote: »
    As a nation you will never find another quite as dirty as us Irish.
    Speak for yourself. And fair play to you for having such knowledge to be able to compare "us" with all other nations.

I wouldn't be surprised if it weren't possible to find any other nation with as many simpering self-loathing types all right though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Dudess wrote: »
    Speak for yourself. And fair play to you for having such knowledge to be able to compare "us" with all other nations.

I wouldn't be surprised if it weren't possible to find any other nation with as many simpering self-loathing types all right though...
    Walk around Amsterdam Paris or London and you will not find anything like the rubbish dumped on the streets of Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

hondasam wrote: »
    I don't agree with this at all, most towns in Ireland are clean and tidy, there will be some litter after the weekend as is to be expected, unless you are out early in the morning you will not see it because it's cleaned up very early.
    One person dropping a sweet wrapper hardly makes the country full of litter.

I think if you take the time to stop and talk to any one of the teams of folks out gathering the litter they will indeed tell you just how terrible it is...
    I deal with teams of these guys and they spend days and days each week gathering up litter that is just casually thrown round nearly every town in the country..

There guys are just passed bye in the mornings without a second thought, they are out on schemes and come from most backgrounds (except the wealthy) and for the most part do a sterling job at clearing up the litter, glass and sh1te left behind by the general public...

They are already sick at the thought of next week, facing a sea of crap... Wake up folks... Irish people for the most are a littering nation and something needs to be done..

• Registered Users Posts: 313 ✭✭noddyone2

We're a dirty race. Most litter on roadsides is thrown from cars/vans, especially drink containers, fairly soon after they leave shops. You should see the river beside us: drowned dogs, coal sacks, plastic containers, shoes, bags of rubbis dumped from Killurin and Edermine bridges. Three houses nearby have all their toilet waste going straight into the river, within 150 yards of a quay used for angling and swimming. Wonder if the septic tank charge will apply?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

You shouldn't just single out the kid for this, I've seen people in their 30's at it too. Pure laziness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭rgmmg

That's why they're called "refuse" charges ;)