Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Permanent Defence Forces Recruitment 2015

• Registered Users Posts: 22 jimbob92345

Cathal_91 wrote: »
    in fairness the maths was tricky even if the time limit was a bit longer.

Ya i found it very hard, only got to question 26 i think, and i was fairly sure i hadn't got the majority of em right, be interesting to see now how i got on in it when they sent it out !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭swimfast

hi
    just wondering what was qualifying score for army?
    I got break down of my test results for navy just curious about the army now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

swimfast wrote: »
    hi
    just wondering what was qualifying score for army?
    I got break down of my test results for navy just curious about the army now

There is no "qualifying score". A high score in one could be a low score in another depending on the quality of the candidates.

there was a qualifying score
    Dear ,

Following our previous email yesterday please find, below, the breakdown of
    your assessment results.

Comprehending Instructions
    Your Score 658 Qualifying Score 454

Numerical Test
    Your Score 650 Qualifying Score 385

As stated in order to qualify at the assessment test candidates were
    required to reach the qualifying score in both of the tests.

Any queries regarding this campaign should be made directly to the Defence
    Forces at recruitment@defenceforces.ie.

Yours sincerely

Mary Doyle
    Recruitment Manager

Poccington wrote: »
    Go Army.

why though ? what do they do day to day because i was told theres a lot of just sitting around wereas in the navy your doing something everyday this is after basic training of course i understand how rigorous that process is i want to go army to try and get into the rangers and for the overseas but i want to go navy as i am under the impression its a busier life could you help ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

Anyone else not get an email from the army with your results? Nothing arrived for me today.

Blacktie. wrote: »
    Anyone else not get an email from the army with your results? Nothing arrived for me today.

nothing from army but already done that interview so know i was successful in psychometric naval interview on Monday :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

nothing from army but already done that interview so know i was successful in psychometric naval interview on Monday :)

Yeah same just curious on my score tbh!

why though ? what do they do day to day because i was told theres a lot of just sitting around wereas in the navy your doing something everyday this is after basic training of course i understand how rigorous that process is i want to go army to try and get into the rangers and for the overseas but i want to go navy as i am under the impression its a busier life could you help ?

50 overseas + another 850 training and preparing to go overseas + the previous 850, many on leave with their families = approx 2,250 involved in UN duty. Personnel on standby in case the **** hit’s the fan overseas and reinforcements are needed asap.
    Overseas in min 6 months and can be extended to 7 months. Some missions are a year overseas.

Someone asked what the army did during the year, here are some of the many tasks carried out, taken from a report in 2003

12% of overall strength either entering or exiting the PDF in a year.

618 recruited in a 2003 who have to be trained. Takes the best part of a year to train a soldier to the basic standard.

2,669 on training and career courses, these can vary from weeks to six months.

Now add in the instructors etc to the above totals.

Also we train foreign troops how to be peacekeepers at the UN school in the Curragh.

Members serve with NGO’s in Africa and south and central America

Numbers in major military field exercises in 2003 = 2,895

Non Border operations
    Security of key installations, (Government buildings, Portlaoise prison and hospital, central bank, explosive factory at enfield and Dublin docklands during the loading and unloading of munitions etc.) = 2,140 parties (parties could be anything up to 30 strong)

Patrols of other installations, (RTE, CIE, fuel storage, prisons, courts, airports, docklands etc ) = 1,156 patrols

Bomb squad (EOD) = 79 call outs then add to this the anthrax scares etc

As for the border remember the Real IRA and Continuity IRA are still around and do you want an Omagh style bombing here in the south? Hence troops needed to watch the border area. And Mr Bin Laden is still alive and kicking, recent TV reports suggest that extremists are here recruiting and fundraising in Ireland. If those boys decide to kick off we will all be screaming for the army to save our asses.

Ranger Wing etc to deal with a hostage rescue. Could you picture the Guards trying to do that. Rangers need a large pool of potential recruits (ie soldiers) and the number that pass each selection is about 5 people if there very lucky.

Details of military assistance to Civil Authorities in 2003 (2002 remember the foot and mouth)

January to March
    Ambulance Strike An emergency ambulance service was provided to Midlands Health Board
    Cover providing cover to Longford, Tullamore, Mullingar, Birr and Portalington regions.

January to February
    Fire Strike Cover Provision of Defence Forces fire tenders and crews in the Lifford and Bridgend areas of Co. Donegal during UK fire strikes.

January
    Flats Lift Dispute Provision of technical services providing continuous lift repairs & maintenance in the Ballymun Flat Complex – Dublin.

January
    Flood Relief Flood water engineering and relief assistance to Letterkenny General Hospital.

April
    Forest/Gorse Fires Assistance in fighting forest/gorse fires in Galway and Co. Wicklow areas.

May to July Ambulance Strike Cover Provision on emergency ambulance service to South East Health Board to cover strike.

October to November
    Landslide Provision of assistance to Galway Co. Council with regard to bog slide at Derrybrin, Gort, Co. Galway.

If the bin collectors, postmen, ambulance, fire, etc. etc. go on strike who do you call on = the army

Also remember the blue flue when the Garda went sick who stepped in = army

At the rate Limerick is going we will need troops there to keep the peace.

Not forgetting the bank escorts & Prisoner escorts = 24,951 man days

Explosives for mining construction usually requires military personnel, to make sure someone does not blow themselves or half the countryside up in 2002 = 1,545 man days

Guarding of barracks usually is shifts lasting 24 hours

Not forgetting Shannon 2003, Mayday and EU enlargement, and that muppet Bush.

Participation in major ceremonial events = 5,981 personnel

Number of military band engagements in 2003 = 535 (A lot if these were military but many of these were free public recitals, festivals and school concerts)

And on top of all that soldiers get annual holidays like everyone else.

The price waterhouse report recommended some changes etc and 2,500 jobs went along with at least six barracks. About 100 civil servants went as well. An entire layer of red tape and pen pushing was cut out leading to a major increase in efficiency.

Name another government organ that could do with less pen pushing? Health anyone?

Last time I checked the 40 hour week does not apply. Also on overseas or on exercises you are never really off duty. When you look at the pay rates do not divide by 40 hours a week try about 72.

If a soldier fails the drugs test = lose job

If a soldier fails the fitness test, and does not pass in set time frame = lose job

If a soldier is medically unfit for an extended period = lose job

A soldier no longer has a job for life but can be out after 12 years or less.

In fact the army is considered a tad over stretched at the moment so there will be an extra few thousand integrated reservists to help with the day to day items at weekends and short periods overseas and you can only go overseas for 6 months so many times before the spouse/partner and children start to kick up! LOL :-)

Remember when you need us or the government calls we will be there and do our very best to help and defend up.

PS A lot of the army's training and infantry equipment is designed with Guerrilla fighting in mind. Numbers are important but the real difference in battle is training and equipment.

found my answer

• Registered Users Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭billy few mates

The qualifying score will be the same for both, it would make sense for it to be different otherwise you'd have people deemed 'unsuitable' for the army but suitable for the navy (or vice versa).

Does anyone else think the whole process has turned into a bit of a shambles...?
    I don't think its the fault of the defence forces, personally I think they're having the same issues as I experienced when we used outside HR "experts" instead of our own common sense and judgement.
    First the change in age after the process had started, then the vague e-mails telling you you'd passed but suggesting you might have failed, and now the complete rethink on the documents you have to bring to the interview....

The DF have been doing a fine job of staffing itself for years, they didn't need the "experts" to show them how to do it now....

The qualifying score will be the same for both, it would make sense for it to be different otherwise you'd have people deemed 'unsuitable' for the army but suitable for the navy (or vice versa).

Does anyone else think the whole process has turned into a bit of a shambles...?
    I don't think its the fault of the defence forces, personally I think they're having the same issues as I experienced when we used outside HR "experts" instead of our own common sense and judgement.
    First the change in age after the process had started, then the vague e-mails telling you you'd passed but suggesting you might have failed, and now the complete rethink on the documents you have to bring to the interview....

The DF have been doing a fine job of staffing itself for years, they didn't need the "experts" to show them how to do it now....

• Registered Users Posts: 45 Knucklebreaker

I thought the qualifying score would be dependent on how many people they have chosen to interview...

I have interview date but didn't get email today with scores. They are all over the place...(the public jobs crowd)

Has anybody any idea of how many are being interviewed for the army???

there was a qualifying score
    Dear ,

Following our previous email yesterday please find, below, the breakdown of
    your assessment results.

Comprehending Instructions
    Your Score 658 Qualifying Score 454

Numerical Test

As stated in order to qualify at the assessment test candidates were
    required to reach the qualifying score in both of the tests.

Any queries regarding this campaign should be made directly to the Defence
    Forces at recruitment@defenceforces.ie.

Yours sincerely

Mary Doyle
    Recruitment Manager

Well then maybe you should email the ****in link then instead of askin here?
    You try to help arseholes out and the spit it back in your face.:mad:

I'd prefer not to go back to the nepotism of the past. You need a transparent process that gives everyone a fair chance, no matter how fast they think they can swim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

PS A lot of the army's training and infantry equipment is designed with Guerrilla fighting in mind. Numbers are important but the real difference in battle is training and equipment.

Wherever you got the above post from, the above quote is a flat out lie.

In the Army, assuming you go to the Infantry, you'll be plenty busy, especially now that all Bn's will be either at, or close to, full stength.

Day to day, you're not going to sit around doing nothing. Some days may be busier than others but no unit will let you just hide all day.

You'll be upto your tits in duties, courses, exercises, ceremonial, overseas etc.

The first half of this year, I was upto my tits in work. That's without even taking into account duties or anything. Purely with exercises, I was flat out.

If you genuinely want to pass Selection or serve overseas, go Army. If you want to go to sea, join the Navy.

It's simple. Decide what you want from a career in the DF and make your decision. If Selection and overseas is really what you want though, join the Army.

Well then maybe you should email the ****in link then instead of askin here?
    You try to help arseholes out and the spit it back in your face.:mad:

Tone it down.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭Mop93

All going well and lets say you go into basic and do the training and pass it all , when could you even think of going overseas
    is their a waiting list
    is their certain amounts of time you need to have served before applying

Also had interview today for the army just wondering roughly when would i hear back about if i was successful in this stage of the competition?

Thanks.

Mop93 wrote: »
    All going well and lets say you go into basic and do the training and pass it all , when could you even think of going overseas
    is their a waiting list
    is their certain amounts of time you need to have served before applying

Also had interview today for the army just wondering roughly when would i hear back about if i was successful in this stage of the competition?

Thanks.

At the minute, once the re-org happens?

I'd imagine if lucky within 2 years of serving you could get over, 3 at a stretch. Depends on what kinda courses you get done in that time.

No, you can apply soon as you finish training if you like.

Thanks and have you went oversea's also if you have whats it like?

Id love to head over and see whats it really like.

Thanks and have you went oversea's also if you have whats it like?

Id love to head over and see whats it really like.

In the Army, assuming you go to the Infantry, you'll be plenty busy, especially now that all Bn's will be either at, or close to, full stength.

Day to day, you're not going to sit around doing nothing. Some days may be busier than others but no unit will let you just hide all day.

You'll be upto your tits in duties, courses, exercises, ceremonial, overseas etc.

The first half of this year, I was upto my tits in work. That's without even taking into account duties or anything. Purely with exercises, I was flat out.

If you genuinely want to pass Selection or serve overseas, go Army. If you want to go to sea, join the Navy.

It's simple. Decide what you want from a career in the DF and make your decision. If Selection and overseas is really what you want though, join the Army.

Plenty of Naval types have passed selection too. It isn't about what your job entails beforehand, it's about whether you are suitable or not.

sorry goldie fish

thanks

What do you mean "pass selection"....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

What do you mean "pass selection"....?

The selection course for the Army Ranger Wing.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 Merchant10

Just wondering if anyone can tell me what is involved in the medical and what they test for, incase i'm successful in the interview and get a one. Cheers.

• Registered Users Posts: 22 jimbob92345

How did ye all get on in the breakdown of the psychometric exam ? In the comprehending the qualifying score was 454 and I got 621 . In the numerical the qualifying score was 385 and I got 473. How'd ye all go ?

• Registered Users Posts: 45 Knucklebreaker

Your Score 565 Qualifying Score 454
    Numerical Test

I went to the pre-test course: it was half day long think they cost 70 euro, really helped with maths, which only took about an hour...he spent rest of the time reading the instructions but for that hour alone it was worth while.

I still think I would have passed but preferred to be on the safe side.

The best advice I got for the comprehending instructions was move quickly don't rush.

Is the marking scheme out of 1000???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Brad Pittman

Is the marking scheme out of 1000???

They couldn't be, because there wasn't the same amount of questions for each test