Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Permanent Defence Forces Recruitment 2015

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭CIGANO

ashley21 wrote: »
    Would it be worth wearing a suit for the medical?

Jeans and a hoody will do, I made the mistake of wearing a shirt, they want to do the medical as fast as they can, dont waste their time unbottoning and bottoning up (it would take even longer if you are wearing a suit and tie). Everyone else at the medical will be dressed casually.

BigDuffman wrote: »
    Don't show up with a full beard either. One of the day I went for medicals was sent away to shave before the doc would look at him.

Anyone showing up to any of the stages without a neat haircut or been unshaven lacks common sense, it is the army/navy they are applying to after all.

• Registered Users Posts: 27 Bigus Dickus

does anyone know if we will start to hear back from the medicals starting 2mo like from monday morning that is

Depends on the brigade, the east is still holding medicals till Wednesday where as results for the west should be out on Wednesday.

• Registered Users Posts: 244 ✭✭alan86

I am a electrican and have done the medical for the navy presuming i pass it and get in will i automaticaly have to be a electrican or will i get the choice to do something else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭not_a_robot

alan86 wrote: »
    I am a electrican and have done the medical for the navy presuming i pass it and get in will i automaticaly have to be a electrican or will i get the choice to do something else.

You're not confined to your civilian qualifications at all, you can apply for whatever courses/branch vacancies you'd like as/when/if they are advertised or become available. It'd be well after recruit training though that you'd have to start worrying about your specialist training.

• Registered Users Posts: 27 Bigus Dickus

is it true people have being getting fone calls saying they have been accepted or not for the PDF

Well that's a bit worrying if it's true ha.. I haven't heard anything about phone calls and no one I know has got one anyway! Probably just another rumour in the long list of rumours that have surrounded this competition.

• Registered Users Posts: 22 jimbob92345

Hopefully not , i only did my medical today

• Registered Users Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Maoltuile

News is out for cadets at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 zolinho

Hopefully not , i only did my medical today
    Could you tell me for what? Is it for the army or navy? And did you go for the eastern brigade?

zolinho wrote: »
    Could you tell me for what? Is it for the army or navy? And did you go for the eastern brigade?

For the army, and it was the southern brigade

You must have been one of the last for medical in the south surely? That's an entire month of medicals seeing as they started the first week of August.. hope it went well for you anyway.

I'm not sure when they started and when they are finishing in the southern brigade. Yup doctor said if the blood is grand i'll be declared fit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭swimfast

Medical today for navy think.todays last day

swimfast wrote: »

Medical today for navy think.todays last day

Think you're right swimfast, hope it goes well for you :)

anyone know when the results ara out for the eastern? the lad at the medical told me that results will be out in the first week of september,anyone else have told the same?

Next week i was told same for navy good luck everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 8 jilybilysily

Hi all

Does anyone know for certain when the emails for the western brigade should be out??
    Getting quite worried!!

Hi all

Does anyone know for certain when the emails for the western brigade should be out??
    Getting quite worried!!

Hello.I don't know when are they sending the emails... they told me that they will send it in the first week of september... someone said it before that he has told the same as me,but the emails will be send next week.unfortunately we cant do anything just wait for the emails...
    I hope we will get the good news next week.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 hjt

Hi all

Getting quite worried!!

Hello.I don't know when are they sending the emails... they told me that they will send it in the first week of september... someone said it before that he has told the same as me,but the emails will be send next week.unfortunately we cant do anything just wait for the emails...

The first platoon offers for the curragh were out yesterday

hjt wrote: »
    Hi all

Getting quite worried!!

Did you get an email yourself?

• Registered Users Posts: 8 jilybilysily

Great thanks!! Best of luck!!

• Registered Users Posts: 10 shgjahsk

NO emails have been sent out yet, whoever is saying that emails have been sent out is lying... We may get and prob will get the emails 3 or 4 days before we are actually told to go in....

• Registered Users Posts: 6 hjt

hjt wrote: »
    Hi all

Getting quite worried!!

Did you get an email yourself?

No, I'm still waiting but 3 lads in the village got there e-mails yesterday to start on the 24th

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭ocnoc

The village?

ye navy told us emails for people to start on the 24th would be sent out from mon-tues second group later thatt week and third group prob the following week

Anyone have any idea what the craic is for people who are waiting to hear from both Army and Naval Service? I wonder can you accept whatever comes up first but then take the other if you get it..

• Registered Users Posts: 10 shgjahsk

You will get the option of taking one of the two

shgjahsk wrote: »
    You will get the option of taking one of the two

Unlikely I'd say seeing as the offers come at different times as they're two separate competitions..