Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

did you/will you pay the household charge?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 904 ✭✭✭yourpics

Tipp Man wrote: »
    Oh for gods sake - have a word with yourself. Take a look around and see the actual situation

I know the situation, I am living it every day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

[Mod Note]

Lads, calm down. Keep to the op's topic. Don't personalise it. We are all in this one together!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Vandy West

yourpics wrote: »
    I seriously suggest you try the life of an unemployed person before you pass judgement. Apart from the loss of earnings there is the unimaginable loss of dignity, self-respect, self-worth and the loss of work as a social outlet.

Have friends and family on the dole (and probably headed that way myself) but the current government over-spending is crazy and social welfare will have to be reduced at some stage (along with health spending, public employees, etc.) The more you raise taxes the more people who will be better off on the dole, so you can't solve all the problems by raising taxes continuously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭greenpilot

I think a large amount of payments will be made at the last minute, myself included.
    So I think you will see a big public swing of sorts.

In my opinion... ;)
    11 days of false propaganda ahead. The head of the "Household Charge Collection Agency," Jackie Maguire has been peddling statistics like there is no tomorrow. She thinks that over 1.4 million households will register before the end of March. Here are some interesting details:

1. Jackie Maguire (JM) says the household charge website activity is up 2 fold
    FACT :The site traffic is in decline month on month
    http://www.alexa.com/siteinfo/householdcharge.ie#

alexa is like the TAM or JNLR of web traffic. external audience size
    sampling based on browser toolbar user stats.

2. JM says that registrations have seen “significant increase over the last
    ten days”
    not true

average day rate prior to Feb 20th was 2115
    average day rate 20 – 27 Feb was 2937

That is a 0.3 fold increase. which is not significant.

3. JM & morning ireland talk of 1.6M needing to register. but
    previously JM said and knows it is 1.8M
    so they are not 1.4M off the total they are 1.66M off

4. JM says general trend is upward. true. but it only amounts to 30%
    increase on extremely flat figures.
    if there was a 1000% increase (ten fold) from now to March 31st then
    there would still be 700,000 not registered.
    And right now they have a 30% increase.

Projected non registered at current rate is 1,596,562 source
    http://cahwt.net/calc/

Don't give into the FG-Labour hype and propaganda. You saw where that got you in the last election.

Special exemptions to pay advisers €150,000 a year, Ruairi Quinn fiddling his mileage expenses, James Reilly paying €604 on coffee machines for his offic as outlined here:

James Reilly spent €624 of taxpayers’ money on two deluxe Bewley’s coffee machines — one for each of his offices. One has been installed in his office in the health department at Hawkins House while the other sits in his Leinster House rooms.

His spokesman said the minister needed the machines because he worked long hours and the Dáil restaurant and department canteen were not always open.

* He has received tax breaks for maintaining his 13-bed family mansion in Co Offaly. He received tax breaks for six years running to help pay for renovations to the three-storey Laughton House, which is surrounded by 150 acres of farm and woodland.

Oh and by the way, the chairman of the RTÉ board is Tom Savage. Tom who is married to Terry Prone and is Anton Savage of Today FM's Dad is also a director of "The Communications Clinic."

"So what" you might say.

Well, here's what:

James Reilly, the health minister, paid a public relations company €15,000 for advice on health reform as well as for speech writing advice, his office confirmed.

He paid the money last year to the Communications Clinic, whose directors are PR consultant Terry Prone and Tom Savage, the chairman of the RTÉ board.

I wonder if the Chairman of the board of RTÉ worries about whether or not a customer of his is criticised on RTÉ programmes?

I wonder if Terry Prone is nervous of criticising a valued customer of hers in her columns in the Examiner or when she is giving her expert opinion on various RTÉ programmes?

Vote NO to the household charge and stop funding this casino.

Allow me to change your mind...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 305 ✭✭richiek67

I paid mine last night. Seems inevitable that we'll have to cough up at some stage, even after death they can get it off you!!! lol. O well, anyway, i was totally opposed to it until I read all the ways they can ( and will ) get it out of you. And i'm certainly not giving them a penny more with fines etc after the deadline. They can go * off.
    The UK have had water rates council taxes etc and are burdened with all this tax for many years , think we've gotten off lightly...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

richiek67 wrote: »
    I paid mine last night. Seems inevitable that we'll have to cough up at some stage, even after death they can get it off you!!! lol. O well, anyway, i was totally opposed to it until I read all the ways they can ( and will ) get it out of you. And i'm certainly not giving them a penny more with fines etc after the deadline. They can go * off.
    The UK have had water rates council taxes etc and are burdened with all this tax for many years , think we've gotten off lightly...
    i did the same yesterday:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭BeeDI

I thought abot this issue, for exactly ten seconds, and then paid the charge. It was an easy decision.
    I just looked at the collection of deekheads promoting a no pay agenda, and I knew instantly that the right decision was to pay up.
    I'm talking about the likes of the Shinners one and all, Joe Higgins, That Wallace guy in the stupid shirt from Wexford, Luke Cannabais Ming, etc, etc,.... FFS, the country is bad enough, without looking to that collection of clowns for leadership:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

greenpilot wrote: »
    11 days of false propaganda ahead. The head of the "Household Charge Collection Agency," Jackie Maguire has been peddling statistics like there is no tomorrow. She thinks that over 1.4 million households will register before the end of March. Here are some interesting details:

1. Jackie Maguire (JM) says the household charge website activity is up 2 fold
    FACT :The site traffic is in decline month on month
    http://www.alexa.com/siteinfo/householdcharge.ie#

alexa is like the TAM or JNLR of web traffic. external audience size
    sampling based on browser toolbar user stats.

2. JM says that registrations have seen “significant increase over the last
    ten days”
    not true

average day rate prior to Feb 20th was 2115
    average day rate 20 – 27 Feb was 2937

That is a 0.3 fold increase. which is not significant.

3. JM & morning ireland talk of 1.6M needing to register. but
    previously JM said and knows it is 1.8M
    so they are not 1.4M off the total they are 1.66M off

4. JM says general trend is upward. true. but it only amounts to 30%
    increase on extremely flat figures.
    if there was a 1000% increase (ten fold) from now to March 31st then
    there would still be 700,000 not registered.
    And right now they have a 30% increase.

Projected non registered at current rate is 1,596,562 source
    http://cahwt.net/calc/

Don't give into the FG-Labour hype and propaganda. You saw where that got you in the last election.

Special exemptions to pay advisers €150,000 a year, Ruairi Quinn fiddling his mileage expenses, James Reilly paying €604 on coffee machines for his offic as outlined here:

James Reilly spent €624 of taxpayers’ money on two deluxe Bewley’s coffee machines — one for each of his offices. One has been installed in his office in the health department at Hawkins House while the other sits in his Leinster House rooms.

His spokesman said the minister needed the machines because he worked long hours and the Dáil restaurant and department canteen were not always open.

* He has received tax breaks for maintaining his 13-bed family mansion in Co Offaly. He received tax breaks for six years running to help pay for renovations to the three-storey Laughton House, which is surrounded by 150 acres of farm and woodland.

Oh and by the way, the chairman of the RTÉ board is Tom Savage. Tom who is married to Terry Prone and is Anton Savage of Today FM's Dad is also a director of "The Communications Clinic."

"So what" you might say.

Well, here's what:

James Reilly, the health minister, paid a public relations company €15,000 for advice on health reform as well as for speech writing advice, his office confirmed.

He paid the money last year to the Communications Clinic, whose directors are PR consultant Terry Prone and Tom Savage, the chairman of the RTÉ board.

I wonder if the Chairman of the board of RTÉ worries about whether or not a customer of his is criticised on RTÉ programmes?

I wonder if Terry Prone is nervous of criticising a valued customer of hers in her columns in the Examiner or when she is giving her expert opinion on various RTÉ programmes?

Vote NO to the household charge and stop funding this casino.

Allow me to change your mind...

Hello greenpilot,

I cant disagree with the stats you have posted re web traffic...and don't really disagree with what you have said above regarding who is 'cosy' with who...

I disagree with the statement of "Vote NO to the household charge and stop funding this casino."
    Unfortunately the casino is the country... :(
    There are lots of wrongs in this country, but to stop paying tax, so everything falls apart isn't the answer I feel...

I don't see how not paying taxes, and so breaking the law is somehow meant to make our leaders more honest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Wait till next year when we will have a property tax and then land tax on top of that then they will tax farm buildings as well. They tried to tax farm buildings back in the 90s but were shot down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Wait till next year when we will have a property tax and then land tax on top of that then they will tax farm buildings as well. They tried to tax farm buildings back in the 90s but were shot down.

Yeah - it wouldn't surprise me if we were hit with rates on agricultural land in the next few years :(
    You would hope there would be some reduction for the property tax on farm houses then, but I wouldn't bank on it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Yeah - it wouldn't surprise me if we were hit with rates on agricultural land in the next few years :(
    You would hope there would be some reduction for the property tax on farm houses then, but I wouldn't bank on it...

Indeed and it will be sold as being the same as businesses paying rates. Especially now that they are selling farming as being the only business in Ireland who are minting it in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭BeeDI

bbam wrote: »
    Indeed and it will be sold as being the same as businesses paying rates. Especially now that they are selling farming as being the only business in Ireland who are minting it in.

Rates on business premises, is supposed to reflect the value of services supplied by the state / co councils. Roads, pavements, water system, security, street lighting, landscaping, sign posting, blah, blah.
    What do they provide to farms?

• Registered Users Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

Great to have the choice to pay it or not.

BeeDI wrote: »
    I thought abot this issue, for exactly ten seconds, and then paid the charge. It was an easy decision.
    I just looked at the collection of deekheads promoting a no pay agenda, and I knew instantly that the right decision was to pay up.
    I'm talking about the likes of the Shinners one and all, Joe Higgins, That Wallace guy in the stupid shirt from Wexford, Luke Cannabais Ming, etc, etc,.... FFS, the country is bad enough, without looking to that collection of clowns for leadership:confused:

Sinn Fein are not telling people not to pay. Some of their TD's have taken a personal decision not to pay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Atilathehun

Sinn Fein are not telling people not to pay. Some of their TD's have taken a personal decision not to pay.

Shinners, have a unique capability to speak out of both sides of all their different mouths all at the same time:o http://www.sinnfein.ie/contents/22639

Not really, for example in my case, I object to the tax but I am paying it, so you could argue I am a hypocrite but the government has forced me into a catch 22 situation.

Rates on business premises, is supposed to reflect the value of services supplied by the state / co councils. Roads, pavements, water system, security, street lighting, landscaping, sign posting, blah, blah.

Yes but people also paid council levi when building their houses to supply "services", then we supply our own services and now low and behold I'm paying residential property tax to provide "services", and paying another tax to have my septic tank tested... Just because you think they shouldn't be applied doesn't mean they won't..

Personally I'm waiting on a "charge" for them to test my well to see if I should be using the water and then have me drill a new well if their not happy with it.. just waiting for it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭40701085

I'm with the lady in the letters page of the IT today.

I'm NOT paying by the deadline & that is my protest. That is me expressing the $hitty lttle amount of empowerment and self-respect I have left in this state.
    I won't have them saying among themselves, "ya we knew they'd buckle in the end, wave a threat of a surcharge in front of then & watch them come running to the website in the last week".

So I'll end up having to pay extra after 6 months, so with that & interest arrears I might have to front up 150-200. Small fish in comparison to what they'll charge the year(s) after. Not saying I have it to spare but its me making my own choice & ready to pay for that choice. People have paid a lot worse just to say "no".

Like I said, I'm not being a hero, not cutting off my nose to spite my face - just making my objection. That's still worth something to me. ;)

For those who are paying, Pay Under Protest. Give them 100 euro in extremely small change, making it difficult for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Good loser

Not correct. Rates reflects the value of the property. Properties of equal value should pay equal rates in any Local Authority area.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Good loser

Not really, for example in my case, I object to the tax but I am paying it, so you could argue I am a hypocrite but the government has forced me into a catch 22 situation.

No hypocrisy there yourpics. If you said you were not going to pay or that you did not pay when in fact you had paid that would be hypocritical.

Also if you pretended to oppose the tax when secretly you supported it (Sinn Fein?) that would be hypocritical.

Objecting to the tax is an opinion. Paying the tax is a fact. There is no contradiction in these two procedures.

Good loser wrote: »
    No hypocrisy there yourpics. If you said you were not going to pay or that you did not pay when in fact you had paid that would be hypocritical.

Also if you pretended to oppose the tax when secretly you supported it (Sinn Fein?) that would be hypocritical.

Objecting to the tax is an opinion. Paying the tax is a fact. There is no contradiction in these two procedures.

I strongly oppose the tax but I feel I have no option but to pay it.

• Registered Users Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

I'm against the tax and also can't afford to pay it. Do not have the money to pay full mortage this month, the tax is up on my car and can't afford even the amount for three months.I have a family to put food on the table for also. Both my wife and I are working and can't make enough to pay our monthly bills. Where can I get another 100 from ? Increasing taxes when we're in austerity mode is not the answer. I'll have to take penalties and keep going until it goes to court if that's what this government is about. Not looking for sympathy as I know my situation isn't the exception but becoming the norm. What's the point in paying a property tax if I'm struggling to keep my property ? I can't understand why the government are adding to the suffering but are going to carry on regardless and if a few more people get pushed aside so be it. Compassion is a word that seems to have dis appeared from our vocabulary.

For those who are paying, Pay Under Protest. Give them 100 euro in extremely small change, making it difficult for them.

How do I do that on the website ??
    Obviously my laptop is out of date.. :p

crusher000 wrote: »
    I'm against the tax and also can't afford to pay it. Do not have the money to pay full mortage this month, the tax is up on my car and can't afford even the amount for three months.I have a family to put food on the table for also. Both my wife and I are working and can't make enough to pay our monthly bills. Where can I get another 100 from ? Increasing taxes when we're in austerity mode is not the answer. I'll have to take penalties and keep going until it goes to court if that's what this government is about. Not looking for sympathy as I know my situation isn't the exception but becoming the norm. What's the point in paying a property tax if I'm struggling to keep my property ? I can't understand why the government are adding to the suffering but are going to carry on regardless and if a few more people get pushed aside so be it. Compassion is a word that seems to have dis appeared from our vocabulary.
    Collateral Damage I think is the term the government would use...
    They are point blank refusing to acknowledge that more and more sections of society are just coming to the wall.. However if they can continue to squeeze a few €€ more from the system they will continue with their hap-hazard policies...
    I've still seen no tangible outcome on job creation... We will never have any recovery without job creation..

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭rawlplug

whelan1 wrote: »
    well?

No I am bloody well not going to pay, To the people that say it is only 2 euro a week what happens next year and the year after and so on it will be 500 600 800 ???, I am and have been paying 50 euro a year for my water for the last 10 years, I'm paying more for my electricity because I'm living in the sticks!!, I can't get broadband down the phone line I have seen one garda checkpoint here in 10 years, The one time we needed an ambulance it took 3 and half hours to get here, Im up to my nads in morgatage arrears because the company I worked for fecked off after 20 years to make more money in eastern europe and ( FF) feft them, and many more companies do likewise, Sure bring us in line with Europe they all have a tax like this, But are they paying VRT ?? how much does a beer cost or a packet of smokes say in Holland France ?? and how much do there politicans get paid and what are there pensions like, As for people in council houses I am sure they are a few struggling like us all, But from what I can see new cars, Sky television ,able to go to the pub, ffs give us a break. It is a crooked little Country we live in run my an elected dictatorship who are only intreasted in feathering there own nests (10 years in office and you will have 1 ,2,3 thousand a week pension) Well I'm 46 I've worked since before I left school and but more into the ecconomy then ANY greedy crooked politician, I know what I am going to say next is sour but would we have been better if the Brits had have kept the country!! because as far as I can see the Labour ( peoples party lol) would have James connolly turning in his grave.

As you can guess Iv'e had enough, and as soon as the rest of the ordinary people stand up and say NO ****ING WAY the better (MODS please excuse the foul words) we can't and won't take anymore of youre rubbish Enda because when youre eating steak and drinking fine wine,in you nice warm house planning on what to do do in a very few years with you sickening pension I'm here eating sausages and noodles out of aldi wondering when the EBS is going to take my house. so **** you and your house hold tax it was not long ago you were telling everyone who would listen And I quote ( It would be a vampire tax) Your blasted party and ( the so called peoples party lol) are nothing short of turncoats. You and your likes may not every have to worry about the roof over your heads , school uniforms food ' heat' or any other bill but I can say with all honesty ye will never see the face of God thats for sure, And I am sure they are many more of your European counter parts waiting to pat you on the head Enda ( You good little pup) for ****ing you fellow Irish people up the arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭theaceofspies

Politicians are betraying the people they are supposed to represent and are only worried about pleasing their masters in Europe.

Lol, We all saw Enda getting his pat on the head, I'm sick over this I have enough to worry about at the moment, But they can jail me if they need to, ( maybe then I'll meet someone who can teach me how to rob banks lol) But all joking aside I'm not paying , I hope the rest of the people stick together

Politicians are betraying the people they are supposed to represent and are only worried about pleasing their masters in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

I have no hangup about the property tax however I do not intend to pay it this year or next year or any other year and I am also going to vote against the fiscal compact. The way i see it we are getting it up the h### at the moment. Enda promise to abolish the senate he noy has to have a constitutional congress first, he promised not to pay the bank bonds, he promised that no special advisor would get more than 100K and they are breaking it right left and center. Unless we get Bolshi they will continue to walk over us.
    Also in the local elections I intend to vote independant and Sinn Fein ( it goes against my grain to vote for the latter shower of thugs but needs must) and if Enda and Eamon don't get the message there next I sick and tired of this crap and lame excuses

Did the deed last night... (paid the household charge too) :rolleyes:

I'm not happy with the government, their politics, policies, individual politicians, not one of them inspires me that they will make any progress in returning the country to any sort of a functioning economy..

I do however believe in widening the tax base, to help stabilise the finances of the country.. I think a progressive residential property tax is a good way forward.. This €100 charge is a start, but it needs to be properly applied in the future.

My big problem is that at the next general election I am baffled to know who to vote for so we have a government capable of recovery!! From a political perspective I think we're entering a time when we have no one capable of being in government :eek: Very Scarey

Nice one, Did ye bend over??? when paying

Did the deed last night... (paid the household charge too) :rolleyes:

I'm not happy with the government, their politics, policies, individual politicians, not one of them inspires me that they will make any progress in returning the country to any sort of a functioning economy..

I do however believe in widening the tax base, to help stabilise the finances of the country.. I think a progressive residential property tax is a good way forward..

My big problem is that at the next general election I am baffled to know who to vote for so we have a government capable of recovery!! From a political perspective I think we're entering a time when we have no one capable of being in government :eek: Very Scarey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Paid it today, no point waiting till next week and to end up paying them more.

The people who don't pay will eventually have to pay and if they want to pay more than me, well that's their choice if they can afford to pay it now.

rawlplug wrote: »
    Nice one, Did ye bend over??? when paying
    I was going to say something snappy about your missus, but then I thought that would be pointless and I'd just be lowering myself... I appreciate you don't agree with the charge but please don't talk your trash towards me in your posts. This isn't the "After Hours" forum and it's not appreciated.

Also...
    I see from a post above your eating sausages and noodles from aldi while waiting for the EBS to take your house away..., That's a tough position to be in... But I did notice from this post 4 days ago http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=77734478&postcount=43 you have a few hundred €€ in cash sitting round to spend on Airsoft toys..
    Sometimes people are in positions of their own making and need to focus on the real priorities in their lives..

Came the cry no surrender the voice of !!! , Bet he is sorry now , But I'm sure as always There will be a few who will stand for what is right. And the rest of the sheep will sleep tight at night

;77813598]Paid it today, no point waiting till next week and to end up paying them more.

The people who don't pay will eventually have to pay and if they want to pay more than me, well that's their choice if they can afford to pay it now.[/QUOTE]

Yes that is my post, Am I not entitled to have a hobby that will carry me and my boy over to pass time, I can't go to a pub to socalise I have no fancy telivison stations to watch because of were I live, and to get a Sky supscription I need to sign up for a year (can't do that), I can just about get tv3 with the hill behind me , In hind sight my reply was not nice I'm wound up at the moment So I apologise for that..

btw my wife is dead
    I was going to say something snappy about your missus, but then I thought that would be pointless and I'd just be lowering myself... I appreciate you don't agree with the charge but please don't talk your trash towards me in your posts. This isn't the "After Hours" forum and it's not appreciated.

Also...
    I see from a post above your eating sausages and noodles from aldi while waiting for the EBS to take your house away..., That's a tough position to be in... But I did notice from this post 4 days ago http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=77734478&postcount=43 you have a few hundred €€ in cash sitting round to spend on Airsoft toys..
    Sometimes people are in positions of their own making and need to focus on the real priorities in their lives..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

[MOD]
    Now that we've descended to personal jibes and petty insults, it's time to draw a veil over this one.
    Thread closed.

It was never really a Farming & Forestry specific subject anyway; there are Household Charge threads currently running in Politics, Accommodation & Property, and After Hours, if anyone wishes to continue this elsewhere.
    [/MOD]