Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

101 Irish Albums to......

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭GoldenTickets

daveyeh wrote: »
    The (****) corrs, the (pathetic) fight like apes & the (contrived) cast of cheers get a mention, but no Horslips

Perfect comment so far... I think I can get behind this...
    or Republic of loose? Shame on you all. :mad:

...aww, so close and yet so far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

whatever and ever amen by ben folds five... Easily one of the best albums ive ever heard... start to finish perfection done n a few thousand dollar budget.

Eat that bono ye muppet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Pdfile wrote: »
    whatever and ever amen by ben folds five... Easily one of the best albums ive ever heard... start to finish perfection done n a few thousand dollar budget.

Eat that bono ye muppet.

Ben Folds Five aren't Irish

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 14 HidePork

tbh I'd find it hard to recommend 10 never mind 101!
    Recognised some of those albums from the bargain bin in the local charity shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

noone mentioned something happens. they weren't bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

Originally Posted by daveyeh viewpost.gif
    The (****) corrs, the (pathetic) fight like apes & the (contrived) cast of cheers get a mention, but no Horslips
    Perfect comment so far... I think I can get behind this...

Quote:
    Originally Posted by daveyeh viewpost.gif
    or Republic of loose? Shame on you all. mad.gif

...aww, so close and yet so far!

Rep of Loose are alright!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭notnumber

emo72 wrote: »
    noone mentioned something happens. they weren't bad

where not that good either..DaisyHead was a good song though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Hannibal

121. Snow Patrol - Final Straw

122. The Blizzards - Domino Effect

123. Aslan - Goodbye Charlie Moonhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

I see Live and Dangerous didn't make it, the 101 that did must all be amazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Daru

124 - Skid Row - 34 Hours
    125 - Skid Row - Skid
    126 - Horslips - The Tain
    127 - Horslips - Happy to meet Sorry to Part

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭SilverScreen

Dotsey wrote: »
    That's debatable. I've always seen Snow Patrol as more of a Scottish band than an Irish band. They formed in Dundee and are currently based in Glasgow so technically they're a Scottish band.

Also take into account that the Irish music media will happily jump at anything that is remotely Irish, in this case Gary Lightbody being from Bangor, Co. Down.

Zero1986 wrote: »
    That's debatable. I've always seen Snow Patrol as more of a Scottish band than an Irish band. They formed in Dundee and are currently based in Glasgow so technically they're a Scottish band.

Also take into account that the Irish music media will happily jump at anything that is remotely Irish, in this case Gary Lightbody being from Bangor, Co. Down.
    I agree its debatable but Gary Lightbody is from Bangor, Jonny Quinn is from Bangor, Nathan Connolly is from Belfast and Mark McClelland is also from Belfast and was in the band at the time of the release of Final Straw so that's four out of five members being Irish.

Using the logic that Snow Patrol are Scottish because they formed there even though most of them including the main creative force were born and raised in Ireland pretty much means they are/were Irish. If we were in the habit of claiming anything "remotely Irish" we could also claim Oasis seen as Noel and Liam Gallagher are practically Irish, but regardless of their parents and where they spent their summer holidays Noel and Liam were born, raised and the band formed in Manchester which is the crucial difference between Snow Patrol.

The Waterboys would be the opposite to Snow Patrol with them being a Scottish band mostly based out of Ireland.

Only two out of the four members of U2 are Irish and they pay tax in Holland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

128 . Simple kid - 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭karaokeman

I agree its debatable but Gary Lightbody is from Bangor, Jonny Quinn is from Bangor, Nathan Connolly is from Belfast and Mark McClelland is also from Belfast and was in the band at the time of the release of Final Straw so that's four out of five members being Irish.

Using the logic that Snow Patrol are Scottish because they formed there even though most of them including the main creative force were born and raised in Ireland pretty much means they are/were Irish. If we were in the habit of claiming anything "remotely Irish" we could also claim Oasis seen as Noel and Liam Gallagher are practically Irish, but regardless of their parents and where they spent their summer holidays Noel and Liam were born, raised and the band formed in Manchester which is the crucial difference between Snow Patrol.

The Waterboys would be the opposite to Snow Patrol with them being a Scottish band mostly based out of Ireland.

Only two out of the four members of U2 are Irish and they pay tax in Holland.

Have Snow Patrol ever proclaimed themselves to be an Irish band? The way I see it, the place you consider to be home is a basic human right, like anything else.

I was born in Dublin, lived there till I was three and have resided in Kildare since but I've always considered Dublin my hometown, never Kildare. It is recorded on my birth cert, Dublin is where I was and always will be from, its something that can never be changed.

The Gallagher brothers have called Ireland their home, and the place they are ultimately from. Not only did they spend their summers here, Peggy is from Mayo and Thomas is from Westmeath, Ireland is the families home and where Noel and Liam were born and nothing will never change that. Your heritage is a social identity, it defines you as a person, you can't get anymore proof of where your from than that.

Does the place a project (like forming a band) takes place really matter that much more than where the participating members are from? Some episodes of The Simpsons are produced in parts of Asia because its cheaper, that doesn't make those episodes non-American, because The Simpsons was created in America and that is the place of origin of the entire franchise, thats what matters the most.

karaokeman wrote: »
    Have Snow Patrol ever proclaimed themselves to be an Irish band? The way I see it, the place you consider to be home is a basic human right, like anything else.

The Gallagher brothers have called Ireland their home, and the place they are ultimately from. Not only did they spend their summers here, Peggy is from Mayo and Thomas is from Westmeath, Ireland is the families home and where Noel and Liam were born and nothing will never change that. Your heritage is a social identity, it defines you as a person, you can't get anymore proof of where your from than that.
    The fact that every member of Snow Patrol bar one is from Ireland means they have never had to come out and say "we're an Irish band". If two lads are from Bangor and two from Belfast then they're Irish hence why I included their album on the list.

So not to offend Tommy Gallagher, he's from Duleek which is in Meath not Westmeath and Noel and Liam were I believe born in Manchester, England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭FionnK86

129. The Script- the script

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 hankfitz

I wouldn't be in any rush to include the script

hankfitz wrote: »
    I wouldn't be in any rush to include the script

IMO they're a great band with a diverse sound, that many people are hating on because of their recent fame in the charts. However to make it with such a band-orientated sound into the charts is no easy task, we should be proud a purely Irish act have achieved what the likes of Mumford & Sons, Of Monsters & Men and Killers are doing, keeping rock alive:)

FionnK86 wrote: »
    IMO they're a great band with a diverse sound, that many people are hating on because of their recent fame in the charts. However to make it with such a band-orientated sound into the charts is no easy task, we should be proud a purely Irish act have achieved what the likes of Mumford & Sons, Of Monsters & Men and Killers are doing, keeping rock alive:)

I actually thought the reason so many people hate on The Script is because two of them were in a boyband.

I would probably disagree that its not easy for The Script to make the charts with the type of music they put out, generally its all down to the watering down aspects of the music to make it radio-friendly. Nothing is wrong with that of course, plenty of pop acts throughout history have had a radio-friendly sound and it doesn't take away from their credibility, ABBA, Carpenters, Roy Orbison, Michael Jackson to name a few.

All in all The Script are a decent band, maybe not as revolutionary as My Bloody Valentine or Ash, but who says you need to radically change music to be a worthwhile act.

They are much better than Lady GaGa, Flo Rida, Niki Manaj or any of the more manufactured/auto-tune driven acts who usually make the charts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The fact that every member of Snow Patrol bar one is from Ireland means they have never had to come out and say "we're an Irish band". If two lads are from Bangor and two from Belfast then they're Irish hence why I included their album on the list.

So not to offend Tommy Gallagher, he's from Duleek which is in Meath not Westmeath and Noel and Liam were I believe born in Manchester, England.

Noel pays lip service to his Irish blood but he's a Manchester boy through and through.

Liam on the other hand hates the plastic Paddy tag and in no way identifies himself as being Irish.

Their eldest brother Paul is actually the complete opposite and embraces his heritage. A big Gaelic fan as well, he attended some of Mayo's games over the summer. So its interesting to see how the family is split when it comes to this issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

a diverse sound

Come on now...
    However to make it with such a band-orientated sound into the charts is no easy task

Who cares what the charts have to say about music anymore?
    we should be proud a purely Irish act have achieved what the likes of Mumford & Sons, Of Monsters & Men and Killers are doing, keeping rock alive:)

I'd rather be proud that an Irish act makes good music. Like Adebisi Shank, Thread Pulls, Enemies, Girl Band, Spies, Sert One, Kara Kara, etc. etc. etc. We don't need to lower our standards to the likes of The Script to recognise great Irish music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

rcaz wrote: »
    If we count the Pogues can we count Aphex Twin?

Good point, at least Richard D. James was born in Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

130. Berkeley - In Moments

One of the most underrated Irish albums ever in my very humble opinion

• Site Banned Posts: 224 ✭✭SubBusted

If we count the Pogues can we count Aphex Twin?
    Or Sally Oldfield?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

128 . Simple kid - 1

I just looked through this whole thread to see if anyone had posted this album, its brilliant, i'd listened to it for months before i even realised he was Irish. One of the best and under listened albums ever imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Patsy fyre

Kathey davey/tales of silversleeve.

Come on now...

Who cares what the charts have to say about music anymore?

I'd rather be proud that an Irish act makes good music. Like Adebisi Shank, Thread Pulls, Enemies, Girl Band, Spies, Sert One, Kara Kara, etc. etc. etc. We don't need to lower our standards to the likes of The Script to recognise great Irish music.

A lot of people care what the charts have to say...thats why they are the charts...The Script make good music, ive listened to Adebisi Shanks for two years longer than the Script...they haven't done much to make an impact an the global scene

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

karaokeman wrote: »
    I actually thought the reason so many people hate on The Script is because two of them were in a boyband.

I think a lot of people hate them because they make sh*te music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

The (****) corrs, the (pathetic) fight like apes & the (contrived) cast of cheers get a mention, but no Horslips or Republic of loose? Shame on you all. :mad:

Pfft, you got all sorts of wrong saying that about The Corrs and Fight Like Apes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Kerbdog, "On The Turn"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

Kerbdog

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

tl;dr E&OE

1: Whipping Boy: Heartworm
    2. ASH Free All Angels
    3: U2: The Joshua Tree
    4. Thin Lizzy : Jailbreak
    5: kerbdog: On the Turn
    6: My Bloody Valentine - Loveless
    7: Van Morrison - Astral Weeks
    8: Therapy? - Troublegum
    9. Damien Rice - O
    10. Stiff little fingers - Go for it
    11. Microdisney – The Clock Comes Down The Stairs
    12: Van Morrison: Moondance
    13: The Immediate - In Towers and Clouds
    14. I Do Not Want What I Haven't Got - Sinead O'Connor
    15. Mamas Boys - Plug it in
    16. Thin lizzy - Black Rose: A rock legend
    17. Irish Tour 74 - Rory Gallagher
    18: Rollerskate Skinny - Horsedrawn Wishes
    19: Pet Lamb - Tenderness
    20: The Frames: Fitzcarraldo
    21. The Cranberries - Everybody else is doing it, so why can't we?
    22. Sunrise - Eire Apparent
    23: U2 - Achtung Baby
    24: The Redneck Manifesto - I Am Brazil
    24. Gary Moore - Still Got The Blues
    26: Bawl - Beyond Safeways
    27. Becoming A Jackal - Villagers
    28. The Lookalikes - Daydreamin' at night
    29: Republic of Loose - This is the tomb of the Juice
    30. Skindive - Skindive
    31 Moving Hearts: Dark End of The Street
    32: Inflammable Material - Stiff Little Fingers
    33: Duke Special - Songs From The Deep Forest
    34. People - Hot House Flowers
    35 - Trains, Boats and Planes -The Frank and Walters
    36 - I am the greatest - A House
    37 - Squarehead - Yeah Nothing
    38 - Churchtown - Into Paradise
    39 - Pony Club: Home Truths
    40. Philip Lynott - Solo in Soho
    41: Adebisi Shank - This Is The Second Album Of A Band Called Adebisi Shank
    42. Sugar For My Soul - Sweet Jane
    43. Thin Lizzy - Shades of a blue orphanage.
    44. JJ72- JJ72
    45. The End Of History - Fionn Regan
    46: Future Kings of Spain - Future Kings of Spain
    47 Engine Alley-A sonic holiday
    48 God Is An Astronaut - All Is Violent, All Is Bright
    49: David Kitt: The Big Romance
    50. The Fatima Mansions - Valhalla Avenue
    51. Damien Dempsey - Shots
    52. Sultans of Ping F.C. - Casual Sex in the Cineplex
    53. Wilt - Bastinado
    54. Tales Of Silversleeve - Cathy Davey
    55. The Frames - For The Birds
    56. Pierce Turner - The Sky and the Ground
    57. The Fourth Dimension - Around the Day in Eighty Worlds
    58. The Pogues, If I should fall from grace with God
    59. Burn The Maps - The Frames
    60. Cruachan - Pagan
    61. The Cast of Cheers - Chariot
    62. The Fatima Mansions, Viva dead ponies
    63. Skylarkin' - Mic Christopher
    64. Boomtown Rats - Tonic for the Troops.
    65: The Undertones - Hypnotised
    66: Gemma Hayes -Night on my side
    67: Republic Of Loose - Aaagh!
    68: Scary Eire - The Scary Era
    69: Power of Dreams-Immigrants,Emigrants and Me
    70: Lisa Hannigan - Sea Sew
    71. Christy Moore - Prosperous
    72. Ash 1977
    73. Jape - The monkeys in the zoo have more fun than me
    74. Róisín Murphy - Overpowered
    75. Paul Brady - Back to the Centre
    76. David Holmes - Lets Get Killed
    77: Christy Moore: Live at The Point
    77 - Aslan - Made In Dublin
    78. Reamonn - Eleven - Live & Acoustic At The Casino
    80: Afro Celt Sound System: Volume 2: Release
    81: The Divine Comedy: Cassanova
    82. Ash Meltdown
    83. And So I Watch You From Afar - Gangs
    84. The Frames - Set List
    85 O Emperor - Hither Thither
    86. Róisín Murphy - Ruby Blue
    87. The Blades - The Last Man in Europe
    88. Planxty - After The Break
    89 Jinx Lennon. Know Your Station Gouger Nation
    90. The Radiators from Space - Ghosttown
    91. Rory Gallagher - Fresh Evidence
    92. Mellow Candle - Swaddling Songs
    93. Gary Moore ballets and blues
    93. The Big Geraniums - Tall Tales and Short Stories
    94. The Pale -Here's one we made earlier.
    95. Joyrider - Be Special
    96. David Holmes - This film's crap, lets slash up the seats
    97. The Bothy Band - Out of the Wind into the Sun
    98- Go Blimps Go - global glo
    99. The Commitments. OST
    100. Bell X1 - Blue lights on the runway.
    101. The Pogues - Rum, Sodomy and the Lash
    Horslips' BOOK OF INVASIONS
    102. My Bloody Valentine - Isn't Anything
    103. Mick Flannery - White Lies
    104- * The Mary Janes - Sham
    105: The Jimmy Cake - Dublin Gone, Everybody Dead
    106 An Emotional Fish - An Emotional Fish
    107 : republic of loose -johnny pyro and the dance of evil
    108. The Chieftains - Long Black Veil
    109. Scullion - White Side of Night
    110. Rory Gallagher - Top Priority
    111 - Bell X1 - Flock
    112. Andwellas Dream - Love & Poetry
    113. The Corrs - In blue
    114-The Minutes-Macata.
    115-Superextrabonusparty-Nighthorses
    116. God is an Astronaut - Age of the Fifth Sun
    117. Relish - Wildflowers (at least the first 5 songs)
    118. U2 - Pop
    119. Fight Like Apes and the Mystery of the Golden Medallion - Fight Like Apes
    120. Jimmy MacCarthy - The Song of The Singing Horseman
    122. The Blizzards - Domino Effect
    123. Aslan - Goodbye Charlie Moonhead
    124 - Skid Row - 34 Hours
    125 - Skid Row - Skid
    126 - Horslips - The Tain
    127 - Horslips - Happy to meet Sorry to Part
    128 . Simple kid - 1
    129. The Script- the script
    130. Berkeley - In Moments
    Cathy davey/tales of silversleeve.
    Kerbdog, "On The Turn"

133: The Stunning - Paradise In The Picturehouse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭trashcan

133 albums and no mention of the best Irish band ever. That's just taking the piss. The Stars of Heaven, people. Sacred Heart Hotel and Speak Slowly.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SX1Fjop6570&feature=fvwrel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,019 ✭✭✭nagirrac

Lets be honest here, in the grand scheme of things there have not been many "great" Irish albums. Great implies relatively great in a particular genre, the whole album being great not just a few songs, and then you can start ranking them. Based on that I would say anyone who doesn't place Astral Weeks first and then have a large gap to second hasn't actually listened to Astral Weeks. It is a timeless work that will be marveled at by our descendents like we do with Mozart. After that you have to ignore Van because he could easily fill 1 through 5. So, dropping down a few rungs of nothing you get to Loveless, a sublime achievement. I don't know after that, maybe The Lion and the Cobra and Moving Hearts debut.. but anyone mentioning The Script needs to be taken outside for a long chat (I almost said U2 but thought better of it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭Paranoid Mandroid

134. Hal - Hal

IMO a fantastic album.

Said it before and I'll say it again.

This thread has run its course.