Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My dating dilemma

• Registered Users Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Midnight Sundance

token101 wrote: »
    You know where she works and her name. Order some expensive flowers for her and leave a sealed envelope with the florist. Winner ;)
    Oh my god don't do this, she will run a mile!!!!
    My friend is in a school where some guy had rang every school in the area looking for a blonde teacher he met out one night. Everyone thought it was her, luckily she wasn't in the county that wknd.

It got us talking and we all agreed that it would be freaky....
    ( maybe leaving a note with secretary might work but I'd try the pub again first )

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Put your faith in the Lawd and he will guide you.
    Bless.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

Ring the school, simples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 theirishstig

Was playing five aside there folks, hence the delay in posting. Thanks for yer replies and the interest in my thread. Some of them have being helpful, more of them have being dowright ignorant (ye know who ye are), while more don't make any sense to me whatsoever...they must have being meant for another thread or something.

What I have done is drafted a letter, explained the situation and left my contact number. I wrote it in a very formal manner just in case it gets into the wrong hands and gets her in trouble. I will put it in a sealed envelope, write her name on it and drop it into the school secretary Friday morning to give to her. I know its not ideal but feck it you only live once and if I don't I'll only spend the next while wondering what could have being.

First though I will go back to the same pub for a few socialables tomorrow night in the slim chance that they may be back there themselves, unlikely though I think as they did say they are seldom out in town or out at all for that matter as I recall.

She did mention that she does get a bit of grief from some of the young lads in the school so I could appreciate her not having a facebook page for that matter... I don't really dig the whole facebook thing myself anyway and understand that not everybody is into it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

Have a look on LinkedIn she might be on that if not on facebook

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

I really don't see what the problem is about leaving a note or message with the school.

OP lost / misplaced her number. He wants to get in touch. What else is he supposed to do?

People who think "weirdo" need to get a f*cking grip.

Best of luck OP. Nothing ventured nothing gained. Thinking about what might have been is a killer - I've been there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭ihsb

Years ago I had a guy not ask for my number, he knew where I went to school (he was also in another school, not a perv) and he waited outside of the gates for me to get off the bus one morning just to ask me out. It was so cute. I don't think that there is any point in regretting anything. So what if she ends up thinking you are mad? You said yourself the chances of you seeing her again are v slim. So go for it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

That is a brilliant idea! Can you get to the school, meet her on the way in, and have a quick chat - maybe give her a note that on the one hand tells her you like her, buit on the other, reassures her you arent perving?

nlgbbbblth wrote: »
    I really don't see what the problem is about leaving a note or message with the school.

OP lost / misplaced her number. He wants to get in touch. What else is he supposed to do?

People who think "weirdo" need to get a f*cking grip.

Best of luck OP. Nothing ventured nothing gained. Thinking about what might have been is a killer - I've been there.

Thanks nlbbbblth. I'm very much thinking along the same lines.

A few people mentioned ringing the school and leaving my contact details for her to get in touch with me. I'm not sure this would be a fantastic idea as I have a common enough name, she might assume I'm a parent or something and get a bit startled when she makes the call.

As I think I mentioned in my opening post I think (almost sure thats what she said) its her grandfather on her fathers side that from the parish next door to mine. I definately got the surname right and that and if it is her grandad on her fathers side then that will be her surname also. But if its her grandfather on her mothers side then I'm at a bit of a loss and for that matter will look a bit of a fool going into the school with a letter for somebody who does not exist there.

Other than that I hope its not between classes and shes in the corridor and spots me if and when I go into the school. She might not thank me too much for that either if there are students or other teachers around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Thanks nlbbbblth. I'm very much thinking along the same lines.

A few people mentioned ringing the school and leaving my contact details for her to get in touch with me. I'm not sure this would be a fantastic idea as I have a common enough name, she might assume I'm a parent or something and get a bit startled when she makes the call.

As I think I mentioned in my opening post I think (almost sure thats what she said) its her grandfather on her fathers side that from the parish next door to mine. I definately got the surname right and that and if it is her grandad on her fathers side then that will be her surname also. But if its her grandfather on her mothers side then I'm at a bit of a loss and for that matter will look a bit of a fool going into the school with a letter for somebody who does not exist there.

Other than that I hope its not between classes and shes in the corridor and spots me if and when I go into the school. She might not thank me too much for that either if there are students or other teachers around.

Have you checked rate my teacher - might confirm the name.
    http://ie.ratemyteachers.com/

• Registered Users Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

annettea wrote: »
    this sounds really weird... but.... type her name in google and her hometown maybe something will come up,,, she may not be on fb but she could be on something else,.

Like a porn site you mean? That'd be cool, score OP!

OP, take a picture of yourself, print it off about 2 dozen times, then proceed to plaster it around the pub and adjacent areas, with text over picture saying hot for teacher and then your e-mail address under it. Don't give her your number, don't want weirdos contacting you

• Registered Users Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Groinshot

*ahem*Relevant?

nlgbbbblth wrote: »
    Have you checked rate my teacher - might confirm the name.
    http://ie.ratemyteachers.com/

I had a look there nlgbbbblth, there are only two women teachers on the list that don't have a christian name in. Looked both up on facebook but no joy. Neither of them teach the subject she mentioned she teaches also as per the site. Hmmm, I wonder is that site kept up to date and would all teachers be on it

• Registered Users Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

Facebook was made for this.

Groinshot wrote: »
    *ahem*Relevant?

Had a quick look at that Groinshot. Wee bit different I think all the same as its many moons ago at this stage that I was a secondary school student.

That'ts it! Go back to secondary school!

St.Spodo wrote: »
    Facebook was made for this.

Unfortunately she doesn't seem to be on it St.Spodo (assuming I've her surname right). She works in an all boys school and is well fit so I could see her logic there. She even mentioned that she does sometimes get some grief from some of the young lads in that regard....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

That'ts it! Go back to secondary school!

Perfectly plausible plot for a romcom.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Hoping ye can provide me with a bit of direction and perhaps some ideas following on from my encounter last Thursday night.

Will try to cut a long story as short as possible...
    Owen_S wrote: »
    Well you've certainly failed on that front.

:D True! :pac:

OP
    A short version...
    "Met someone, lost mobile number, works in a school, help!!!"

1. Don't hang around outside a school - at the very least.
    2. Don't send flowers to a school (she might not want the attention and or questions there of nosey people) - not until at least you get an opportunity to know her and THEN judge for yourself better.
    3. Your best bet is to return to the pub and mention LIGHTLY to her friends if they appear that you mislaid her number and give her friends (or her if she is there) yours also.
    Ask it to be passed on if she is not there herself.

Good luck!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Joe10000 wrote: »
    Perfectly plausible plot for a romcom.

*trailer voice*

Meet irishstig. His life is pretty boring, until one day he meets the girl of his dreams, but loses her straight away!

*RECORD SCRATCH*

Now, to find the woman he loves, he's going to have to go back to the one place he never thought he'd return to!

That's right, irishstig is going Back to School!

*shot of Matthew McConaughey struggling to fit into a desk, which he's stuck into when he stands up*

Starring Matthew McConaughey, Kate Hudson and James Cromwell as Principal O'Malley.

You won't want to miss this class!

In theatres May 5.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

Biggins wrote: »
    You poor sod!
    You asked AH for advice?
    This should be interesting! LOL

So basically your looking for tips on tracking/stalking down someone?

ill be need 100 cans of tescos cheapest larger, a sack and some duck tape.

give me 3 days or you're money back.

*trailer voice*

Meet irishstig. His life is pretty boring, until one day he meets the girl of his dreams, but loses her straight away!

*RECORD SCRATCH*

Now, to find the woman he loves, he's going to have to go back to the one place he never thought he'd return to!

*shot of Matthew McConaughey struggling to fit into a desk, which he's stuck into when he stands up*

Starring Matthew McConaughey, Kate Hudson and James Cromwell as Principal O'Malley.

In theatres May 5.

Copyright thaty **** quick man

Also you could repleace Matthew Mc Conaughey with Sandler for equal ****tiness

*trailer voice*

*RECORD SCRATCH*

In theatres May 5.

Also you could repleace Matthew Mc Conaughey with Adam Sandler for equal ****tiness.. he sort of has form with this kind of thing, with similar outcome.

I'm gonna make sure I get at least a "story by" credit. I do have a moral objection to Adam Sandler, but if Jack and Jill can turn a profit he can do anything. I'll do lunch with him.

Just remember that Jack and Jill was taken as inspiration from South Park ( they should get a movie credit if they didn't get one) but otherwise yeah, it's fool proof... Amy Adams or someone would be good for teacher, hey it's your movie, you decide... oh yeah, and make sure you get that credit... this guy didn't :(

http://www.filmschoolrejects.com/features/6-things-the-film-industry-doesnt-want-you-to-know-about.php (actually an interesting article)

Just remember that Jack and Jill was taken as inspiration from South Park ( they should get a movie credit if they didn't get one) but otherwise yeah, it's fool proof... Amy Adams or someone would be good for teacher, hey it's your movie, you decide... oh yeah, and make sure you get that credit... this guy didn't :(

http://www.filmschoolrejects.com/features/6-things-the-film-industry-doesnt-want-you-to-know-about.php (actually an interesting article)

Ooh, Amy Adams would be good.

And Rob Schneider as theirishstig's sleazy best friend who's always looking to get some! a derp a derp a derp a derp!

Ooh, Amy Adams would be good.

And Rob Schneider as theirishstig's sleazy best friend who's always looking to get some! a derp a derp a derp a derp!

Rob Schneider has to appear in every Sandler film, it's a written law in hollywood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Donna1973

*trailer voice*

*RECORD SCRATCH*

In theatres May 5.

Do you resemble Matthew Mc Conaughey Stig?? If so I'll be your teacher;)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

With regards facebook, teachers and anyone that works with young children or teens are usually encouraged NOT to have a facebook account as the whole kids being your friends can look very dodgey.

Some get around this by using a strange name or using initails.

Like mentioned previously linked in might be your best option.

Does the school have a website? you might be able to get info there (pic and name)

or ie.ratemyteachers.com and look for the school and you might get her full name properly and then you can google properly

• Registered Users Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Faolchu

danniemcq wrote: »
    With regards facebook, teachers and anyone that works with young children or teens are usually encouraged NOT to have a facebook account as the whole kids being your friends can look very dodgey.

Some get around this by using a strange name or using initails.
    or maybe just not adding the kids to your friends list could help. OP check if teh school have a website and has a list of teachers, there may be email links or something to them. other than that just Google the hell out of the name, if its that unusual there wont be many results. even try the eircom phone book or something like that