Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Economical Classic????

• 17-03-2012 6:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭

Well its nearly 8 weeks since I losy my job and I have been using the 505 on a ,well nearly daily basis. I have cut journeys to a minimum but whatever way I look at it its doing 25MPG at best which is ok as a Sunday/Hobby car. It has been great to have it, even though I had to tax it and NCT it which of course was no problem as its a near perfect car. The other classic is a Renault 20 and this would be the same story as regards MPG.

My real dilema is that I had a company car for well over 10 years so I have no Insurance policy bar the classic one and I have no intention of taking out another . So, I am looking for a more economical Classic, preferably diesel. I'm not doing big mileage, so the mileage limit won't be an issue. I just want to get as much MPG as I can.
    The tax is up on the 505 at the end of April, so I have until then to consider my options. I am looking for ideas guys. I don't really want to sell the 505 as I consider it a bit of a one off condition and it really anoyed me to press it into the daily drive--its too good for that.

All ideas listed to! Obviously car has to be pre-92.

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

johnf2020 wrote: »
    Well its nearly 8 weeks since I losy my job and I have been using the 505 on a ,well nearly daily basis. I have cut journeys to a minimum but whatever way I look at it its doing 25MPG at best which is ok as a Sunday/Hobby car. It has been great to have it, even though I had to tax it and NCT it which of course was no problem as its a near perfect car. The other classic is a Renault 20 and this would be the same story as regards MPG.

My real dilema is that I had a company car for well over 10 years so I have no Insurance policy bar the classic one and I have no intention of taking out another . So, I am looking for a more economical Classic, preferably diesel. I'm not doing big mileage, so the mileage limit won't be an issue. I just want to get as much MPG as I can.
    The tax is up on the 505 at the end of April, so I have until then to consider my options. I am looking for ideas guys. I don't really want to sell the 505 as I consider it a bit of a one off condition and it really anoyed me to press it into the daily drive--its too good for that.

All ideas listed to! Obviously car has to be pre-92.

John

I have had several mk2 golf diesels as dailys and have one at the moment. They are very reliable and are fast becoming a true classic but prices are rising fast. You could go older but then it gets harder to get a good one. I have just bought this but I struck gold as it is perfect with no rust or welding needed.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3029917

To stay french there are a few 305 diesels knocking round from time to time. Citroen bx diesel are class but very rare. I personally think you will have to go vw if you want economy(combined with availability) whether you like it or not. The amount of parts available for the mk2 golf is mind boggling and cheap too. They are the new morris minor. I will warn you that you are taking advice from a vw nut. I have 6 mk2 golfs, 5 are diesel, 1 mk1 jetta diesel and a mk2 van and mk1 golf diesel soon to be bought!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

I would go for pre 82 and save on the tax too.
    Something like this should be economical and reliable.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3103942

Full-10434438.jpeg

hi5 wrote: »
    I would go for pre 82 and save on the tax too.
    Something like this should be economical and reliable.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3103942

Full-10434438.jpeg

Nice find mate, there are not too many carb cars that are light on juice imo, a lot of people forget that when used to fuel injection. Su carb... but then your looking at something very old!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

There is a clean looking 190D on donedeal at the minute for about 800e Johna nd that may be worth a look.

Other than that my old Maxi used to regularly get 36mpg

looks solid and cheap but may not have enough classic presence for you. 205 diesel

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3134602

Oh ya baby this is a sweet 305 van, these were a great ****ing van.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3081099

johnos1984 wrote: »
    There is a clean looking 190D on donedeal at the minute for about 800e Johna nd that may be worth a look.

Other than that my old Maxi used to regularly get 36mpg

Is 36mpg good enough with the price of petrol though? I can get 42mpg out of a carina e but its no good with the price of juice.

Beat to me it, nice find and French. This could be a serious contender

I meant to quote the Renault, nice merc tho

kermitpwee wrote: »
    Is 36mpg good enough with the price of petrol though? I can get 42mpg out of a carina e but its no good with the price of juice.
    It's all relative though, the price of diesel is going up at the same rate too.

I no longer have the Maxi but as a reliable tool it wasn't bad and also for a classic I felt 36 wasn't bad at all

I'd like to know why it isn't being put through the NCT though.

If he got it for around 300 notes and everything appeared to be in order it would be a bargain

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

If you are deadly serious about economy, you'll have to make some sacrifices.

For 70mpg+ and motorcycle rates of tax:

Reliant-Robin-1e.jpg

It's all relative though, the price of diesel is going up at the same rate too.

I no longer have the Maxi but as a reliable tool it wasn't bad and also for a classic I felt 36 wasn't bad at all

36mpg for a petrol classic is very good, nice cars too. I am comparing it to a vw diesel which will walk 60mpg, my best been 74.1 with mixed driving. As i have said earlier I am biased as I love them but i am not telling lies about their economy or reliability. I feel for the op as I know he is a real Classic car enthusiast and maybe vw's will not float his boat but they are retro and light on diesel!

Absolutely agree they are great and misers on fuel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,565 ✭✭✭Blue850

Nice finds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭johnf2020

I would buy this 25 in the morning except that herself indoor said that under no circumstances was a 3rd car arriving---period,literally!

Now this is what floats my boat. I ran 190's as dailys about 14 years ago and loved them. Pity this one is sold, but the 505 should realise enough to buy a damn good one.

http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C285022

I would buy this in the morning except that herself indoor said that under no circumstances was a 3rd car arriving---period,literally!
    "I'm looking after it until the new owner comes along" worked for me in the past :)

Thats what I said about the 505--It was in a shed of mine for 12 months before I "bought" it.-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

A feckin Renault with a diesel conversion.....:D:D Surely they're troublesome enough , dread to think what you'd end up with as I have yet to drive a decent "diesel conversion" and I have driven quite a few :mad:

looks solid and cheap but may not have enough classic presence for you. 205 diesel

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3134602

Cheap little motor , they used to be a little rocket and would be economical , looks in reasonable shape for the price ;)

I have had several mk2 golf diesels as dailys and have one at the moment. They are very reliable and are fast becoming a true classic but prices are rising fast. You could go older but then it gets harder to get a good one. I have just bought this but I struck gold as it is perfect with no rust or welding needed.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3029917

To stay french there are a few 305 diesels knocking round from time to time. Citroen bx diesel are class but very rare. I personally think you will have to go vw if you want economy(combined with availability) whether you like it or not. The amount of parts available for the mk2 golf is mind boggling and cheap too. They are the new morris minor. I will warn you that you are taking advice from a vw nut. I have 6 mk2 golfs, 5 are diesel, 1 mk1 jetta diesel and a mk2 van and mk1 golf diesel soon to be bought!

Yeah I like those m2 golfs myself , have one and they are a much nicer motor than the original mk1 especially the 5 speed with p/s. A lot of them have been blinged out a bit but these guys seem to be giving up on that at the moment so perhaps the odd one comes up for sale :p Know another guy who has a nest of them including a minter mk1 and a gtd mk2 in immaculate con.

shawnee wrote: »
    Yeah I like those m2 golfs myself , have one and they are a much nicer motor than the original mk1 especially the 5 speed with p/s. A lot of them have been blinged out a bit but these guys seem to be giving up on that at the moment so perhaps the odd one comes up for sale :p Know another guy who has a nest of them including a minter mk1 and a gtd mk2 in immaculate con.

I must ring the Rutland addiction centre.
    Hello I would like to attend the clinic for my addiction.
    Yes thats correct I am looking for the vw programme that deals with addiction to 70's/80's golfs and jettas please!!!

shawnee wrote: »
    A feckin Renault with a diesel conversion.....:D:D Surely they're troublesome enough , dread to think what you'd end up with as I have yet to drive a decent "diesel conversion" and I have driven quite a few :mad:

I actually know this car really well. It has been minded like a baby.The car itself has about 220,000 miles on it but the conversion was well done, even to putting the diesel dash clocks in as well. It justy doesnt look well in white

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭oceanman

the datsun cherry in the photo should be very reliable and easy on fuel too. pity its the wrong side of 1980 though!

"Oh that's Johnny's he's waiting on a part for it"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭Tzar Chasm

how about a different route, maybe consider a 'Future classic' pick it up cheap now, tidy it up and hold on to it for a bit

heres something that'd kep ya busy fora while
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3139206

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3139152

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3090852

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2968707

just a few options out there today, obviously some are more practical than others, but that Corolla looks ok for the money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭mk1esc

i dont think there is such a thing as an economical classic.....they are all fairly thirsty buggers as far as im concerned :(.......how about buying a classic with a modern diesel engine in it or doing the conversion yourself???? :) its working for plenty of guys i know and im hoping to do the same one of mine soon enough......do let us know what you find and best of luck in your search

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭Carazy

Tzar Chasm wrote: »
    how about a different route, maybe consider a 'Future classic' pick it up cheap now, tidy it up and hold on to it for a bit

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3090852

just a few options out there today, obviously some are more practical than others, but that Corolla looks ok for the money

I have owned three of that type 1.3 Corolla and they are the last thing I would consider as economical for the 1.3 tax grade tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭DaveCol

How about a pre 92 998cc Mini? 40+ mpg no problem

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭shineon23

92 mk 3 golf 1.9d with nct €750
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2761710

91 jetta 1.6d €995
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3114935

91 jetta €899
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2996623

What's the budget?
    Could get one of these (peugeot 106 1.5 diesel) with a full NCT cheap enough
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3147494
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3008549

Or a corsa 1.3 diesel
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3072249

Well after having a bit of a talk with my friend he said that the 505 is the nicest classic that I've ever had and that did I really want to loose it over spending an extra €20 a week on fuel and not to panic. I think he has a point so that where it lies at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 516 ✭✭✭piston

How about an early to mid 1980s Audi 80 1.6 TD? Easy 50mpg, spacious, comfortable if basic in the best German tradition, well built and reliable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,741 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Well after having a bit of a talk with my friend he said that the 505 is the nicest classic that I've ever had and that did I really want to loose it over spending an extra €20 a week on fuel and not to panic. I think he has a point so that where it lies at the moment.

I think you're making the right decision. Enjoy :)

I thought you were going to keep the 505 and get the diesel classic. If I had known that you were going to sell the 505 I would have told you to cop on!