Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

heat detection

• 18-03-2012 10:46pm
    Registered Users Posts: 48

hey lads 6 calved down so far all grand and calves flying around the field now. 2 very big calves had to be pulled..the 1st one is grand but the one yesterday is very weak and only standing this evening

ive a few more questions for ye suprise suprise

1) how much nuts should milking mothers be getting to get them back to condition....how long will it take them to get in heat

2)whats the best way for heat detection was reading about PRIDS(estrumate) is this the best way or will tail painting,patches work. still dont fully understand it...if cows are in heat others will rise them is that it? but are cows,bullocks etc not always rising each other

3) best Limousin or any other recommended ai straws for bb 2nd calvers.. these cows are the quietest animals so want to keep that trait along with milk to expand herd

sorry for all questions again but there's only so much you can get off google.... i suppose trial and error is best

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

hey lads 6 calved down so far all grand and calves flying around the field now. 2 very big calves had to be pulled..the 1st one is grand but the one yesterday is very weak and only standing this evening

ive a few more questions for ye suprise suprise

1) how much nuts should milking mothers be getting to get them back to condition....how long will it take them to get in heat

2)whats the best way for heat detection was reading about PRIDS(estrumate) is this the best way or will tail painting,patches work. still dont fully understand it...if cows are in heat others will rise them is that it? but are cows,bullocks etc not always rising each other

3) best Limousin or any other recommended ai straws for bb 2nd calvers.. these cows are the quietest animals so want to keep that trait along with milk to expand herd

sorry for all questions again but there's only so much you can get off google.... i suppose trial and error is best

My cows were getting 2.5kg of rolled barley mixed with Gain bagged fertility mineral and good quality ad-lib silage and they all came bulling to be calving before , and within a year of calving next year .
    I try to stay away from prids / ceadars for expense and i would also try to steer clear of keeping replacements from cows that require them .
    I used the heat detector patches this year for the first time instead of tail paint and found them a great success . Stick them above the tail of each animal and when they are mounted a small paint cartridge within the patch is burst causing it to change colour . Great for cows with short heats late night/early morning ..
    I have Castleview Casino from Dovea on cows i hope to keep replacements from this year. Ment to be a good maternal bull that still brings good quality calves :D ????

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭essgee268

That Castleview Casino casino seems to be all the rage for calving ease, used polled limousin Bull Called Viking NKG on a big simmental Heifer she had a little cat of a heifer calf but she was restricted for month before calving, aparrently he can be used on year old Beef Heifers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭farmerjack

essgee268 wrote: »
    That Castleview Casino casino seems to be all the rage for calving ease, used polled limousin Bull Called Viking NKG on a big simmental Heifer she had a little cat of a heifer calf but she was restricted for month before calving, aparrently he can be used on year old Beef Heifers.

I had two Simmental heifers calved to him about a month ago, fine calves, calved handy and have grew like steam since, Granted the heifers were strong when they calved, but very happy with him and I will use his straws again.Casino that is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭john mayo 10

Richk2012 wrote: »
    My cows were getting 2.5kg of rolled barley mixed with Gain bagged fertility mineral and good quality ad-lib silage and they all came bulling to be calving before , and within a year of calving next year .
    I try to stay away from prids / ceadars for expense and i would also try to steer clear of keeping replacements from cows that require them .
    I used the heat detector patches this year for the first time instead of tail paint and found them a great success . Stick them above the tail of each animal and when they are mounted a small paint cartridge within the patch is burst causing it to change colour . Great for cows with short heats late night/early morning ..
    I have Castleview Casino from Dovea on cows i hope to keep replacements from this year. Ment to be a good maternal bull that still brings good quality calves :D ????
    Where can you purchase these patches, im thinking bout trying them this year.Are the easy to use and apply?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

Where can you purchase these patches, im thinking bout trying them this year.Are the easy to use and apply?

I was looking at them at the ploughing champs but didnt buy any off the companies that were advertising them . I bought them in Glanbia couple of weeks after . There plastic patches with a glue on the back that stick directly on to the cows back . Just make sure the hair your sticking the patch on to is fairly clean and ****e-free or it will fall off sooner rather than later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

I got kamar heat detectors at the local co-op. 50 smackers for 25 of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

How long is a piece of string! Many factors will influence this including Silage quality, cow breed/age, BCS at calving and now etc. Probably hard to go over 2kg/day.
    They should, if on a rising nutritional plane, come bulling from 6-8 weeks after calving. An odd one sooner and later again a few variables will influence this. Eg nutrition, age etc

The best way is observation, observation and observation. Often a cow coming bulling will be the one doing the rising, and the one bulling will be standing for her. Clear slime behind is a sign to be noted.......Slime tinged with blood means you are too late. Record it and be vigilant in 20 days. On this note, record all activity. Knowledge is power!

2nd calvers can be slower than I said above to get back incalf, the rearing of a calf/cow still maturing etc.
    What Lim bull???????????? On a second calver ease of calving would still be high on my agenda, particularly with a BB cow! What AI company do you deal with?

Hope this is some help!

• Registered Users Posts: 48 danpaddyandy

cheers bizzum thats great help lost that calf this evening vet came and said he was bit anemic so gave him injection, that was grand but,vet said to bottle feed her cos she wouldnt suck so when we were feeding her after that milk i think went down wrong way or something and was coming out her nose and he couldnt catch his breath ....and then he just went within 2 minutes....sickened

getting twin pollies from neighbor tomoro for the cow so that should be fun

anyway never used ai before but i see munster ai vans around so them i suppose