Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Are Kenny Dalglish and Liverpool Done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

MrMatisse wrote: »
    The pressure of playing for Liverpool?

What about the pressure of playing for newcastle etc?

All the top clubs were after young not downing.

Rabble? Do you want to see the team relegated?

The team won't be relegated this year. Get a clue son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,342 ✭✭✭Ardent

Also, Henderson emerging young star?? Most never heard of him prior to LFC paying £20 million for him.

Carroll scoring for fun? Eh, don't think so.

Too many LOLs in that post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

CjQ0D6IN_original.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

Roy Hodsgon is a mediocre man, with a mediocre coaching record and is a mediocre manager. Anyone who thinks he is a good manager knows nothing about football. His only skill is organising poor or badly managed teams into mediocre teams. For relegation threatened sides that have been mismanaged then he is a safe bet as his mediocre football and mediocre playing style and stifling game will bore it's way to a few points here and there and the side will gradually climb a little to a mediocre league position. Roy Hodgson is mediocre, if a team aspires to mediocrity then go ahead and choose him, however Liverpool is the most decorated team in the history of the English game and one of the most well-loved teams in world football, the last manager a club like Liverpool should ever choose is Roy Hodgson.

Having said all that I don't think Kenny is the right man either, although the guy has a million times more class, dignity and understanding of what Liverpool FC is about than Roy Hodgson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,038 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

johnnyjb wrote: »
    It was not a direct quote, it was a figure of speech.

You really showed how open to debate you are with your foul lanuage :confused:

It was a direct quote, you quoted it in your post, that's what happens when you press the little quote button.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,907 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

The-Rigger wrote: »
    So you had zero aspirations for your club to rise above their 6th - 12th place status?

Of course, but first you need to achieve a level of consistency and sacking someone six months in won't provide that.

Sure Kenneth has had 15 months and still not found it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭MrMatisse

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    The team won't be relegated this year. Get a clue son.

so sack him next season then? or the season after? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭counterlock

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Rabble Rabble Rabble.

Give him 6 more months and a Goalscorer.

I thought you'd be able to find someone to score for 50 million
    Carroll was scoring for fun.

He was injured when he was signed....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Reekwind

Kenny is not a bad manager, he has made some poor transfer decisions, based on what seemed like sound enough principles at the time.

Adam, did well in the Premier League last year.
    Downing was highly saught after by all the top clubs.
    Henderson was an emerging young star.
    Carroll was scoring for fun.
    Nope. These were purchases that immediately set alarm bells off and had people talking about the 'English premium'. Nobody outside Anfield seriously thought that Carroll was worth £35m, Downing £20m or Henderson £16m. None of these players had ever suggested that they were even close to world class. The subsequent season of mediocrity cannot be claimed as a surprise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

donfers wrote: »
    Roy Hodsgon is a mediocre man, with a mediocre coaching record and is a mediocre manager. Anyone who thinks he is a good manager knows nothing about football. His only skill is organising poor or badly managed teams into mediocre teams. For relegation threatened sides that have been mismanaged then he is a safe bet as his mediocre football and mediocre playing style and stifling game will bore it's way to a few points here and there and the side will gradually climb a little to a mediocre league position. Roy Hodgson is mediocre, if a team aspires to mediocrity then go ahead and choose him, however Liverpool is the most decorated team in the history of the English game and one of the most well-loved teams in world football, the last manager a club like Liverpool should ever choose is Roy Hodgson.

Having said all that I don't think Kenny is the right man either, although the guy has a million times more class, dignity and understanding of what Liverpool FC is about than Roy Hodgson

Was with you till this point.

Reekwind wrote: »
    Nope. These were purchases that immediately set alarm bells off and had people talking about the 'English premium'. Nobody outside Anfield seriously thought that Carroll was worth £35m, Downing £20m or Henderson £16m. None of these players had ever suggested that they were even close to world class. The subsequent season of mediocrity cannot be claimed as a surprise

If he keeps at it wont even be able to sign players like that. We will be competing with Swansea for journeymen

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Of course, but first you need to achieve a level of consistency and sacking someone six months in won't provide that.

Sure Kenneth has had 15 months and still not found it.

Ah well, I've been calling for him to be sacked for a while now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

J. Marston wrote: »
    Who are these ''top clubs'' you speak of?

I was just about to post the same thing.

Villa saw them coming methinks.

so sack him next season then? or the season after? :rolleyes:

Certainly not sack him now as you call for in the first post in this thread, when the league has become meaningless from a competitive perspective in either direction and there is all to play for in a cup semi - final.

See where we are at season's end and move him upstairs at that point if it is deemed necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I think people forget that Rafa left because he was getting no funding so when Woy took over he was left with a very much depleted team - He was then giving a measly 20 million to rebuild -

He was then sacked and Kenny came in a spend 100+ million albeit half the funds came from selling a player but still he spend 100 million and the football has only slightly improved, the win ratios between the 2 managers will show that !

Maybe Woy wasnt the right man but Kenny certainly isnt any better and TBH I'd rather Hodgson manage my team than Dalglish!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

Right...Alex Ferguson in his second full season at Utd, they finished, wait for it...11th in the League and knocked out 6th round FA Cup.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alex_Ferguson

Also had a 9 game non winning streak in the middle of the season.

Far far worse season than Liverpool this year. Yeh, that Ferguson guy, he really should have been given the sack alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

Did Dalglish give a post-match interview today?

plasmaguy wrote: »
    Right...Alex Ferguson in his second full season at Utd, they finished, wait for it...11th in the League and knocked out 6th round FA Cup.

Far far worse season than Liverpool this year. Yeh, that Ferguson guy, he really should have been given the sack alright.

Did he spend 100 million?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Dalglish is getting Sport Relief and Comic relief mixed up.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Your club/city has an intensely clannish vibe at times. Given Roy wasn't 'one of ours', he was always starting off with a bit of a handicap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Why not leave Roy to it then? Sacked him no problem.

Kenny Dalglish won a competition that Roy Hodgson got knocked out in during the third round at home to a League Two side.

Kenny Dalglish is a manager with a track record of significant success; Roy Hodgson is a mediocre journeyman.

Not this again.

Last time I will explain it to you.

Both Ferguson and Dalglish are/were highly successful managers with records of winning league titles in proper leagues.

Hodgson had no such record in a credible league in over 30 years of management.

After reading all the posts on this forum, I hope now Dalglish is sacked, so I can come back in a year and say "I told you so".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Your club/city has an intensely clannish vibe at times. Given Roy wasn't 'one of ours', he was always starting off with a bit of a handicap.
    Clannish.....lol....keep on truckin'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

I love these Fergie comparisons. He was an up and coming talented manager trying to rebuild a club. Kenny was always a make shift manager until someone else came along. All of a sudden he is the guy to build a team around. Go right ahead!

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

Ferguson took over a club whose infrastructure was ****ed, had players who spent more time drinking than playing, and didn't have the sums of money to spend that Kenny has had.

It's not comparing like with like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

You left out the import parts
    He was initially worried that many of the players, such as Norman Whiteside, Paul McGrath and Bryan Robson were drinking too much and was "depressed" by their level of fitness, but he managed to increase the players' discipline and United climbed up the table to finish the season in 11th place, having been 21st (second from bottom) when he took over.

What happened the following season?
    In the 1987–88 season, Ferguson made several major signings, including Steve Bruce, Viv Anderson, Brian McClair and Jim Leighton. The new players made a great contribution to a United team who finished in second place

Another pointless post.

It wasn't a nett 100 milllion. He lost Torres, so had to replace him.

He didn't add 100 million worth of talent to the club.

He lost who was then rated a 50 million player and then added 100 million value of players.

Technically he only added 50 million worth of new talent to the club, which is a pittance these days.

Man City on the other hand have added about 500 million worth of new talent to the club or ten times what Dalglish has added.

Oh good, a Liverpool fan going on about net spend again.

RasTa wrote: »
    You left out the import parts

What happened the following season?

Still won nothing in first few seasons. Already Dalglish has won more trophies.

Or should the FA Cup be ignored, if so, then Ferguson should have been sacked in 1990 as well.

Strange that people don't consider FA Cup and League Cup wins successes these days.

Sad to see for the sake of football that some fans only take the league seriously.

I suppose Liverpool should have done what Man Utd do and put out youth team players and reservists in the League Cup and concentrate fully on the League. Maybe they should do that anymore, that would please the League fans.

Another pointless post.

He lost who was then rated a 50 million player and then added 100 million value of players.

Technically he only added 50 million worth of new talent to the club, which is a pittance these days.

Man City on the other hand have added about 500 million worth of new talent to the club or ten times what Dalglish has added.

If I earn a grand a month and I spend a grand a month, i spent a grand

Or should the FA Cup be ignored, if so, then Ferguson should have been sacked in 1990 as well.

Strange that people don't consider FA Cup and League Cup wins successes these days.

Sad to see for the sake of football that some fans only take the league seriously.

Modern football fans would take qualifying for a competition they get knocked out in every year over actually winning a trophy or two.

At least when Liverpool are in Europe they make a fist of it!

Another pointless post.

Hasn't he even added near £50m

I'm not a Liverpool fan, do you even follow what goes on here, or just post randomly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

I suppose Liverpool should have done what Man Utd do and put out youth team players and reservists in the League Cup and concentrate fully on the League. Maybe they should do that anymore, that would please the League fans.

I never said he should be sacked, just laughing at your pointless comparisons to Fergie.

You aren't earning and spending assets every month that add value towards the achievement of an objective though.

This old chestnut is a great way to disseminate the sharp posters from the not so sharp.

You aren't earning and spending assets every month that add value towards the achievement of an objective though.

This old chestnut is a great way to disseminate the sharp posters from the not so sharp.

Keeping myself alive is a pretty good objective....

Agreed on the not so sharp posters comment, that post was as sharp as a beach ball

Net spend is spend. That's how you work out how much you spent.

You'd make a great accountant.
    Ah lads, going on about the DEBITS again, state of ye!

Keep on trucking lad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Modern football fans would take qualifying for a competition they get knocked out in every year over actually winning a trophy or two.

There we have it, LuckyLloyd thinks winning the Carling cup is better than a top 4 league finish.

I'm not a Liverpool fan, do you even follow what goes on here, or just post randomly.

Randomly, to be honest.

The point still stands about comparing Ferguson's first couple of years with Dalglish's second spell at Liverpool. It's apples and oranges.

jank wrote: »
    There we have it, LuckyLloyd thinks winning the Carling cup is better than a top 4 league finish.

That is not how squad building works.

Football players are assets. He lost one asset, he brought in a few to replace him, but he was still down the first asset. Is there any point trying to explain this?

He lost Torres. Fair enough if he had Torres, Suarez and Caroll as strikers, but he doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,592 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Another pointless post.

Net spend is a poor excuse for poor performance at best. When a manager comes into a club he has his own ideas for playing football. Some highly talented players come into this, some don't. Every manager who comes into a club will want the highest available budget to sign these players. The ones for his team.

The ones that leave barely come into the equation. If anything, it is a bonus to have them there as they create the precious funds to create the team that you want. Dalglish had 100 million to create that team, aswell as already established Premiership players like Reina, Skrtel, Agger, Gerrard, Lucas, Kuyt, Johnson and some squad players to make some good bones for a team meaning he wouldn't have to sign a player for every position. Unfortunately Dalglish has signed very poorly for the most part.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭JohnnyRyan99

I think it's about time we got a Liverpool/Dalglish sub-forum!

So that's your aspiration then?

Never to actually win silverware, just always finish in top 4. Maybe you should switch to supporting Arsenal so.

Already Dalglish has more silverware in one season than Wenger in the last 7.

I doubt these player when they retire will remember finishing in the top 4.

They will remember good days out at Wembly, trophies and medals.

You pay 100m for an asset, you expect it to be a bloody good asset

Never to actually win silverware, just always finish in top 4. Maybe you should switch to supporting Arsenal so.

I was agreeing with you!

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Net spend is spend. That's how you work out how much you spent.

You'd make a great accountant.
    Ah lads, going on about the DEBITS again, state of ye!

Keep on trucking lad.

Yes, but this is football.

The net spend argument is invariably trotted out after a failure of some sort...usually by a Liverpool fan who is trying to justify why the team are doing poorly. 'Sure Carroll, Henderson, and Downing have made no appreciable difference to our team, but we sold Torres for £50 million...so we really only spent circa £15-20 million'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

True that, but you must admit that Arsenal are closer to winning a major trophy than Liverpool....

And I know the Carling Cup is classed as a major trophy, but the league, and CL qualification is where it's at.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭JohnnyRyan99

I think it's about time we got a Liverpool/Dalglish sub-forum!

Never mind, found it!