Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Bertie Ahern statement/resignation

15678911»

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Biggins wrote: »
    Yes Bertie is out milking the Nigerians and telling them how he sorted out this country and its problems. A real hero is our Bertie, the cnut.

Indeed.
    Cowan by the way, is in Washington doing a speech for around €30,000.
    I think Bertie will find himself right at home in Nigeria given its poor record on corruption and scamming. Ahern preaching to others on Sustainable economics, the irony is killing me!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Indeed.
    Cowan by the way, is in Washington doing a speech for around €30,000.
    Who on earth would want to fork out 30,000 to hear that moron speak :confused:
    The mind boggles!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Who on earth would want to fork out 30,000 to hear that moron speak :confused:
    The mind boggles!
    Inter-species communication specialists from the Washington DC Primate Research Institute.

It will be the first time they've ever heard an ape talk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Typical of you. Get your wee sneaky digs in.
    What were you caught for anyway ?

Nothing wee or sneaky about it, Its as obvious as day there is people in the Gardaí involved with covering up and/or ignoring corruption, I suppose all the sex abuse wasn't ignored by the Gardaí either ?

You strike me as an innocent, One that probably cannot see the woods for the trees.

And anything I was caught for is mentioned on my posts, So I'm not no keyboard coward either, I'll talk it and I'll walk it and I am on good terms with most Gardaí that ever dealt me me.

Lots of Gardaí would laugh at your innocence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,500 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

charlemont wrote: »
    Nothing wee or sneaky about it, Its as obvious as day there is people in the Gardaí involved with covering up and/or ignoring corruption, I suppose all the sex abuse wasn't ignored by the Gardaí either ?

You strike me as an innocent, One that probably cannot see the woods for the trees.

And anything I was caught for is mentioned on my posts, So I'm not no keyboard coward either, I'll talk it and I'll walk it and I am on good terms with most Gardaí that ever dealt me me.

Lots of Gardaí would laugh at your innocence.

Why don't you post the details then instead of the innuendo ?
    Its the same clap trap all the time.
    I am not standing up for them either but if you have facts then post them or report on them instead of innuendo. Nothing innocent about me or my comments either. If you know it then say it. Simple.

Why don't you post the details then instead of the innuendo ?
    Its the same clap trap all the time.
    I am not standing up for them either but if you have facts then post them or report on them instead of innuendo. Nothing innocent about me or my comments either. If you know it then say it. Simple.

I'd say you would know a lot about clap and trap..;)

You are standing up for them, On every thread you are always standing up for them, I have no problem with most of them, But their job is to do with justice, And I don't see any politicians in court facing justice now, do you ?

If people won't do their job then don't expect me to lick their ass.

And you have the cheek to ask me to put my details up here about my past, So you can wallow in criticizing me for the night then ? The thread is about Bertie not about me or you.

Everything I post whether anyone agrees or disagrees is taken from how I see it and from my experiences and I wouldn't post anything I believe to be false and if you don't like it you can lump it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭LLU

I see today that the creep was in Nigeria (yet again) over the last few days, giving another €30,000 speech to possible Nigerian Investors.
    A trip (and money gathering exercise) that he makes regularly to the country.

Details: http://www.thejournal.ie/after-resignation-from-ff-ahern-is-keynote-speaker-at-nigerian-conference-397553-Mar2012/

Reportedly by the Indo some time back - he actually gets €40,000 a trip/speech!
    Who needs €2,800 a week in state pensions... eh?

Who the f*** organises those events?? To think that somebody somewhere would authorise paying over 30K to the guy who led his country to bankruptcy and was found to have lied to a tribunal about his financial affairs. The mind boggles.

I'd say you would know a lot about clap and trap..;)

You are standing up for them, On every thread you are always standing up for them, I have no problem with most of them, But their job is to do with justice, And I don't see any politicians in court facing justice now, do you ?

If people won't do their job then don't expect me to lick their ass.

And you have the cheek to ask me to put my details up here about my past, So you can wallow in criticizing me for the night then ? The thread is about Bertie not about me or you.

Everything I post whether anyone agrees or disagrees is taken from how I see it and from my experiences and I wouldn't post anything I believe to be false and if you don't like it you can lump it.

Ok you either p*** or get off the pot.
    It's like saying I know something about somebody but i'm not saying anything. It's called innuendo.
    By the way I criticise or defend on how i see it and the evidence i see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭TURRICAN

Shoot the bastards ,everymother****in last one of them.

Goes to hire assassin.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,626 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

http://www.oireachtas.ie/viewdoc.asp?fn=/documents/publications/registerofinterestsdail.htm
    ETHICS IN PUBLIC OFFICE ACTS, 1995 AND 2001

REGISTER OF INTERESTS OF MEMBERS OF DÁIL ÉIREANN PURSUANT TO SECTION 6 OF THE ABOVE MENTIONED ACTS
    IN RESPECT OF THE REGISTRATION PERIOD
    1 FEBRUARY, 2001 TO 31 DECEMBER, 2001.

AHERN, Bertie (Dublin Central)

1. Occupational Income Nil

2. Shares Nil

3. Directorships Nil

4. Land Nil

5. Gifts

(1) Honorary membership of Grange Golf Club: The Captain and Committee of Grange Golf Club, Rathfarnham, Dublin 16;

(2) Cheque for 1R£1,000.00 payable to Fianna Fáil Dublin Central: Precision Software Ltd., Castlewood House, Castlewood Ave., Dublin 6.

Other Information Provided: (1) I will not realise any material benefit from this, as I do not play golf. (2) I passed this cheque on to Fianna Fáil Dublin Central. A copy of the cheque and receipt is attached.

6. Property and Service

Constituency Office at "St. Lukes", 161 Lr. Drumcondra Rd., Dublin 9: Fianna Fáil.

Other Information Provided: Valuation for the period 1 February 2001 to 31 January 2002 is 13,000 euro.

7. Travel Facilities Nil

8. Remunerated Position Nil

9. Contracts Nil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Keep it country Bertie.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

Poll topper Bertie, election winning Bertie; you can fool some of the people all of the time, and all of the people some of the time, but you can not fool all of the people all of the time.

I hope all you who voted for him and his Soldiers feel good about yourselves now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭SteoL

billybudd wrote: »
    I bet Bertie doesn't give two f**ks about being expelled from Fianna Fail. He's on a fat pension and living off giving speeches to idiots who still believe he's a faultless man. He will give a f**k if he's thrown in jail and buggered by three big lads in the jacks. We all know this won't happen.

The current government think, however, that they can put thousands of people in court for not paying a 100euros household charge. They'll let this cockroach off the hook along with the likes of Sean Fitzpatrick et al.

Why would he, ever in a pub where he drinks? the sickening sight of absolute f88king tools hanging out of him getting they're picture taken with him and why would he not have a sense of well being when they are all slapping him on the back and hugging him.

Its not really that politics is f88ked up in this coutry. its the adult populations mentality that is sure why should TD'S care about reproach if there is no reproach.

I heard today a photo of him and Clinton which was on the wall in his local on your way to the jacks has been taken down. I would love them to put it on the urinals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

I hope the rabble frenzy does not overlook one of the finest moments for any (Past or Present) serving Irish Government Representative was Bertie Ahern's address to the Joint British Houses of Parliament and Lords.

The Fine Gael leader, Enda Kenny, who accompanied the Taoiseach to Westminster said he regarded the event as a fitting acknowledgement of the mature and positive relationship between Ireland and Britain.

How many of you have paid the Household charge? It is supposed to be a Republic albeit an Irish Republic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭InReality

LLU wrote: »
    Who the f*** organises those events?? To think that somebody somewhere would authorise paying over 30K to the guy who led his country to bankruptcy and was found to have lied to a tribunal about his financial affairs. The mind boggles.
    Its a v good question. A casual google could see Ahern's results ?
    Do they just go on his puff piece on the website ? not 1 check ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭howsyourtusk

I hope the rabble frenzy does not overlook one of the finest moments for any (Past or Present) serving Irish Government Representative was Bertie Ahern's address to the Joint British Houses of Parliament and Lords.

The Fine Gael leader, Enda Kenny, who accompanied the Taoiseach to Westminster said he regarded the event as a fitting acknowledgement of the mature and positive relationship between Ireland and Britain.

How many of you have paid the Household charge? It is supposed to be a Republic albeit an Irish Republic.

Yeh, he gave a great speech in Westminster, that's the sort of metric I'm interested in. Not healthcare or education or how many homeless people there are, just how much ****e he talks to Tory ****. Good man :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

And all this to coincide with Weshtlife's statement / resignation hmmm.. sure aren't they married into his mob.

Done enough fleecing emselves that we are already aware of.. and yet there are girls for whom their mere faces are testimony to not just their ability, but innocence .. it stinks

Ok you either p*** or get off the pot.
    It's like saying I know something about somebody but i'm not saying anything. It's called innuendo.
    By the way I criticise or defend on how i see it and the evidence i see.

Excuse me, Your twisting it again, But that's no surprise either. Your rambling on with rubbish because you know damn well I'm right about what I originally wrote.

Well if you criticise or defend on how you see it and the evidence you see well then you must be blind..Wearing blinkers the last twenty years, Yes.

The Mahon Tribunal report even reads that senior gardaí failed to properly investigate dramatic allegations of corruption and bribery involving politicians and senior officials. So I'm getting the wee and sneaky digs in now !! Are the judges from the Mahon Tribunal wee and sneaky too or is it just me ??

It must be awful for you anytime someone criticises the infallible Gardaí, Sure they can't do anything wrong in your eyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭psychward

ilovesleep wrote: »
    I agree with this. Enda and co were in power for the past year and there was no progress or move on legislation for white collar crimes.

Do you know why this is? Enda and FG are also corrupt and it's only a matter of time before scandal comes out on Enda.

Well as I predicted much earlier in the thread , the filth was allowed to resign before being expelled. Resigning as though they are pretending they are doing so out of conscience.. when they are really bulsh1tters.

Ever hear of ''Starvation Orders'' ? Those who left the Irish Army to fight fascism in World War 2 had their pensions and welfare cancelled, were literally shunned and were banned from taking up any form of government sponsored work for years.
    And of course FF was behind it. They and their families literally starved for their ''crime'' of fighting against the gas chambers and imperialism of the Nazis.

It's time the corrupt scum in high office were subjected to a modern day version of starvation orders. It's a nonsense for the State and the FF party to punish those who fought Hitler and call them unpatriotic while defending unpatriotic filth like Bart and Ray Burke etc and allowing them to resign as though they were resigning out of conscience. What a fu(king joke. The Michael Martin even stands up to defend Bartholomew Ahern as he fakes surprise at the revelations out of the other side of his weasel mouth.
    So Bart is giving speeches in Nigeria for 30 k a pop now ? Shell has a lot of money in Nigeria. They also have a lot of money in Mayo. If I was a conspiracy theorist I'd be going nuts right now. Luckily I just bear the righteous anger of an honest man instead.

Mr Kenny needs to take his finger out of his rectum and sign an order to punish corrupt officials properly. And use the sovereignty of the state to make it retrospective as an acknowledgement that those whos reputation is in question were in a position to make the law to suit themselves. Every single decision the previous administration made can be legitimately called into question now. See how Bart crippled the serious fraud squad , reducing money and personnel ? He hobbled it and removed resources from it. And Clowen his successor backed this up while the Gardai inside it were crying out for help dealing with the backlog of casework.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

We spent 200 Million plus, on the Tribunal - and jhow many turn up to debate it and ask questions?
    FECK ALL - the Dail is near empty right now!

See: http://www.oireachtas.ie/viewdoc.asp?fn=/documents/livewebcast/DVR-Flash-Dail.htm

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

Well, em .... ehhhh, meh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

i dont know if i beleive everything i hear and read, as he is supposed to be taking on the findings, to prove his innocence, i will await that outcome,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

goat2 wrote: »
    i dont know if i beleive everything i hear and read, as he is supposed to be taking on the findings, to prove his innocence, i will await that outcome,
    This is a sensible way to approach this. I for one don't think Bertie Ahern is corrupt. I think he is a good man and has done a lot on this Island. I have spoken to many people up here in Ulster about this and they are shocked at the accusations. He isn't a bad man from the view point of many of us.

I think Bertie Ahern needs to tackle these accusations head on and prove he is innocent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

KeithAFC wrote: »
    This is a sensible way to approach this. I for one don't think Bertie Ahern is corrupt. I think he is a good man and has done a lot on this Island. I have spoken to many people up here in Ulster about this and they are shocked at the accusations. He isn't a bad man from the view point of many of us.

I think Bertie Ahern needs to tackle these accusations head on and prove he is innocent.
    i agree, he did lots of good for this country, northern ireland being a big hill to climb and he got there, i do hope that he does prove his innocence, and get back on the election bandwagon again, i wish him luck with it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

He had his chance to clear his name - twice - one in the tribunal - one famously with Brian Dobson. Both times he came out as a dubious character with fanciful tales of wiprounds and winning money on horses.
    Is he going to change his story now that the tribunal found him untruthful.
    As for his achievement in the peace process - the real credit should go to Garret Fitzgerald, Alber Reynolds, John Hume (especially)and as much as I hate to say it Maggie Thatcher and John Major.
    Bertie slid in there on the coat tails of greater people to take the accolades.
    to my mind he is a sleeveen of the highest order.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

stoneill wrote: »
    He had his chance to clear his name - twice - one in the tribunal - one famously with Brian Dobson. Both times he came out as a dubious character with fanciful tales of wiprounds and winning money on horses.
    Is he going to change his story now that the tribunal found him untruthful.
    As for his achievement in the peace process - the real credit should go to Garret Fitzgerald, Alber Reynolds, John Hume (especially)and as much as I hate to say it Maggie Thatcher and John Major.
    Bertie slid in there on the coat tails of greater people to take the accolades.
    to my mind he is a sleeveen of the highest order.

Well put.
    VERY well put!
    He won't go near a court - I hope to god he does though, if just because it will mean he gets to be cross-examined and so does anyone he puts up as evidence.

I have met the man a number of times.
    Every time I met him, I disliked him intensely.
    He came off as a 'Berlusconi' type, false smiling, trying to be charming, slimly creep.
    It didn't shock me later when the stories started coming out about his antics, in the very least.

Excuse me, Your twisting it again, But that's no surprise either. Your rambling on with rubbish because you know damn well I'm right about what I originally wrote.

Well if you criticise or defend on how you see it and the evidence you see well then you must be blind..Wearing blinkers the last twenty years, Yes.

The Mahon Tribunal report even reads that senior gardaí failed to properly investigate dramatic allegations of corruption and bribery involving politicians and senior officials. So I'm getting the wee and sneaky digs in now !! Are the judges from the Mahon Tribunal wee and sneaky too or is it just me ??

It must be awful for you anytime someone criticises the infallible Gardaí, Sure they can't do anything wrong in your eyes.

Regarding the Mahon Tribunal if you look at the thread you will see where I posted about the Garda Commissioners being political appointees and that it left them open to being used by those who appointed them. Garda Commissioners should be appointed on merit by independent boards.

This is entirely different to you making sneaky digs at members of a force being corrupt but not stating why or giving examples. Of course there are going to be wrong-doers in a force of 10/12 thousand. It would be foolish to think that there would not and by the way the Gardai themselves don't want them and are weeding them out bit by bit.

Now if you have specific evidence that the Gardai do not have then you should contact the Garda Ombudsman Office and not be constantly harping on about it here with your innuendos. Nearly all your posts are the same so you obviously still have that wee chip. My advice to you is to get it off your chest and man up by reporting it to the appropriate people.
    Put up or shut up.

Regarding the Mahon Tribunal if you look at the thread you will see where I posted about the Garda Commissioners being political appointees and that it left them open to being used by those who appointed them. Garda Commissioners should be appointed on merit by independent boards.

This is entirely different to you making sneaky digs at members of a force being corrupt but not stating why or giving examples. Of course there are going to be wrong-doers in a force of 10/12 thousand. It would be foolish to think that there would not and by the way the Gardai themselves don't want them and are weeding them out bit by bit.

Now if you have specific evidence that the Gardai do not have then you should contact the Garda Ombudsman Office and not be constantly harping on about it here with your innuendos. Nearly all your posts are the same so you obviously still have that wee chip. My advice to you is to get it off your chest and man up by reporting it to the appropriate people.
    Put up or shut up.

Who are you to tell me to shut up and who are you to criticize my posts ?
    You're like a broken record, I'v already posted comments that pretty much sum up what you just said. You're only bulling for an argument but I reckon if it was man to man you would go and run to your friends. So don't be trying to tell me to "man up".

It must have shattered you when you got the rejection letter from Templemore.

Who are you to tell me to shut up and who are you to criticize my posts ?
    You're like a broken record, I'v already posted comments that pretty much sum up what you just said. You're only bulling for an argument but I reckon if it was man to man you would go and run to your friends. So don't be trying to tell me to "man up".

It must have shattered you when you got the rejection letter from Templemore.

Ha ha. I wouldn't do that job for love or money.
    I also never back down so get your runners on cos i'm coming to find you. I know where you live.

Ha ha. I wouldn't do that job for love or money.
    I also never back down so get your runners on cos i'm coming to find you. I know where you live.

Good man yourself, I actually would like to be in that line of work but didn't have the sense when I was younger to stay out of trouble. I have a huge interest in crime, justice etc as I'v been through the system so I know damn well how good and bad cops can be, But they need to have some of that badness to deal with some of the scum that are around.

Yea, I know your as stubborn as a mule sure call over I'll put the kettle on and skin up a joint....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Richard

KeithAFC wrote: »

I think that for the reasons you describe, Keith, Bertie is held in a higher regard in NI (and elsewhere, for that matter) than he is the South.

He's the Gorbachev of Irish politics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭psychward

Richard wrote: »
    I think that for the reasons you describe, Keith, Bertie is held in a higher regard in NI (and elsewhere, for that matter) than he is the South.

Comparing Bartholomew to Gorbachev is surely taking the piss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Stalin more like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

tbh bertie did a lot of good for this country, in terms of driving forward the economy during the good times, ok we all know some really bad decisions were taken under his tenure. he has to take a lot of credit for the good friday agreement, the role he played in the peace process in general. bertie is a good man but he should have come clean a lot earlier regarding the financial side of things, especially on those 'whip rounds' . i dont think we will see his like again interm of being a real peoples politican.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

tbh bertie did a lot of good for this country, in terms of driving forward the economy during the good times, ok we all know some really bad decisions were taken under his tenure. he has to take a lot of credit for the good friday agreement, the role he played in the peace process in general. bertie is a good man but he should have come clean a lot earlier regarding the financial side of things, especially on those 'whip rounds' . i dont think we will see his like again interm of being a real peoples politican.

This is the kind of doublethink I don't get. How can you describe a politician as "a good man" and in the same sentence acknowledge his financial wrongdoings?

How can someone be corrupt and "a real people's politician?"

Even if a politician does good (and Bertie's good deeds are greatly exaggerated), that doesn't excuse them from wrongdoing.

Unfortunately there seem to be quite a few people in this country who are still willing to put up with gross corruption in politics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

lol expect a wave of new nigerian prince scam emails

Hi I am Prince Bertie Ahern of Nigeria,

I recently inherited Ireland's tax coffers but i need your bank account to temporarily store it in exchange for a small donation i will share my vast fortune.

signed

Prince Bertie

Bertie goes to Nigeria

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,626 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

i agree, he did lots of good for this country, northern ireland being a big hill to climb and he got there, i do hope that he does prove his innocence, and get back on the election bandwagon again, i wish him luck with it,
    If he and others of his ilk hadn't tried to gorge themselves so much at the trough then we could be a lot closer to the lads up North. Now that the coffers are empty it would be difficult to tempt them to join us.

In short Bertie has wasted the best chance we had of a united Ireland

not saying it was likely, but having all the Celtic Tiger money when UK is in the dumps makes it far more likely

Perestroika and Glasnost, remember dem words ?

Glasnost means openness and doesn't apply to most dealings with Bertie.

The first bit is pure FF ,
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2011/aug/16/gorbachev-guardian-interview
    they also brought the collapse of the Soviet Union and the introduction of an unregulated economic free-for-all that turned a few Russians into billionaires while plunging millions of people into poverty.
    Asked to name the things he most regretted, he replied without hesitation: "The fact that I went on too long in trying to reform the Communist party."
    I can see Michael Martin using the second phrase in his memoirs, if he doesn't get exposed in the same way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Richard

psychward wrote: »
    Comparing Bartholomew to Gorbachev is surely taking the piss

In the sense that Gorby is thought of well around the world for leading the Soviet Union out of communism (and out of existence) but isn't liked at home in Russia.

Bertie seems to be thought of better in NI, GB and America than he is on his home turf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

In the sense that Gorby is thought of well around the world for leading the Soviet Union out of communism (and out of existence) but isn't liked at home in Russia.

Bertie seems to be thought of better in NI, GB and America than he is on his home turf.
    They don't know as much about him, or live with the disaster he and his pals caused.

• Registered Users Posts: 175 ✭✭amovingstatue