Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Bertie Ahern statement/resignation

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭Callipo

Fair play.

The report didn't call him a liar. The media is doing that.

The report basically said id didn't trust his evidence. Not his fault they dint trust it.

That was his get out clause.

They said I am lying, I am saying I am not. No proof either way.

that was coming a mile off....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,500 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Talk on RTE this evening of expelling him from Fianna Fail...he should be expelled into space to wander the cosmos and waffle on about his innocence for the rest of his days.
    Grade-A prick.

This says everything about Fianna Fail. They had to wait 15 years and have it written down for them before they believe it ? What were they doing ? Praying that it would go away ?
    These shower of fcuks are all tarred with the same brush.
    If they meant a word about being anti corruption they would have thrown Bertie out years ago. They are all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Jack_Russell

poor aul Bertie,

didn't he have a portrait of Padraig Pearse in his office?

and him a lover of the GAA as well, a modest pint drinker, a man of the paeple, an ordinary man, and a more devout Catholic you'll not witness.

didn't ye all vote fer him when we were booming?

and if we were still booming wouldn't ye still be voting 'n cheering fer him?

sure he transformed this place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

I'll bring the portable kettle and a very long extension lead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

The sh1tty, laughable, cryable thing is, it took 250million, 14 years, and it comes out with this wishy-washy crap. All it did was line a lot of lawyers pockets to tell us vaguely what we all already clearly knew.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭benway

Ah here, PT comp of Dermot Ahern, DJ Willie O'Dea J, Dick Roche ... and who's this only Micheál Martin coming out attacking the Tribunal...

And Rabitte tearing them a new one "Bertie is delusional ... a psychologist or psychoanalyst would have a good time with that". When he's right ...

Paddy Duffy isn't making it much better with his Under Tens hurling references.

Fianna Fáil is sunk. It has to be.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I'll bring the portable kettle and a very long extension lead.

Fancy bringing a few cans instead? We'll make a night of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,723 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Fücking tribunal cost €300m and not a jail cell will be filled.

how can it be justified to cost 300 million , to produce such a luke warm report , with findings that every dog on the street were talking about for years - the legal big wigs (not all - but a select few) have milked the nation for every penny - was anyone surprised the judges wouldnt reduce their outrageos pensions, no wonder they are so out of touch with the ordinary man in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

I love how we all bitch about how "No one will ever protest, we just sit and let this happen! You are all pathetic!!" Some guy offers you all a chance RIGHT NOW if you're in the area, and this is the result.

Good old AH, always non-consistent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Jack_Russell

benway wrote: »
    Ah here, Dermot Ahern, DJ Willie O'Dea J, Dick Roche ... and who's this only Micheál Martin coming out attacking the Tribunal...

And Rabitte tearing them a new one "Bertie is delusional ... a psychologist or psychoanalyst would have a good time with that". When he's right ...

NEVER, EVER underestimate the stupidity of the Irish electorate.
    FF will be back!

Ah here, Dermot Ahern, DJ Willie O'Dea J, Dick Roche ... and who's this only Micheál Martin coming out attacking the Tribunal...

Don't bet on it.
    The people of this country have proven many times before that when it comes to elections they are pure stupid. They even bought all the F.G. lies last time too.

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭Awful_Bliss

NEVER, EVER underestimate the stupidity of the Irish electorate.
    FF will be back!

It's a frightening thought....but you're absolutely right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Fancy bringing a few cans instead? We'll make a night of it.

Now THAT is a protest I can get into.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

I read the first sentence and I read no further.
    I note the publication today of the Mahon Tribunal Final Report which are not the findings of a court of law.

He wears the "not a court of law" like a badge of honour. The reality is himself and his cronies set up the tribunals to subvert the courts of law, to make sure he never faced a judge. When lawmakers go bad, this is what results.

These aren't the findings of a court of law because you wrote the laws that way you vile bollocks, and every soulless bastard that took a shilling from the Irish taxpayer in the name of this farce.

This is the face of bald and open corruption folks. This is the face of a man who deliberately and with malice aforethought went out to fleece a nation. This is a man who sits in his mansion laughing at the thick paddies still paying his wages. Only we're not so thick Bertie, we can see full well what you're about.

I won't go any further with it, but by god I'd shed no tears.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

I love how we all bitch about how "No one will ever protest, we just sit and let this happen! You are all pathetic!!" Some guy offers you all a chance RIGHT NOW if you're in the area, and this is the result.

Good old AH, always non-consistent.

Yep, go up to a now private citizen's house to vent, and do what? Burn him out? Empathise with a lock of Shinners? Come off it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Definatly up for it. Where does he live ect. It would be a good idea to notify rte or tv3 of any plans to protest. Or send in an email to vincent browne stating our intent to protest. Im sure it would be read.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Bertie - if you have a problem with the Tribunal's report then I suggest you kill yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Warper wrote: »
    Im sick and tired of this sh1t. Im living in D1 and am now going to head down to Drumcondra outside Berties house to protest against this never-ending corruption of this country - Please join me

what's the address?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

ill be across the road having a pint, give me a shout when he comes out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Protesting outside his house will do nothing but land you in trouble for harassment and don't put it past him that he'd do that to you. He's not worth it.

We do alright need protests to demand for justice, accountibilty, change ect and it is my opinion protests on a large scale around Dublin would help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    I won't go any further with it, but by god I'd shed no tears.

"will no-one rid me of this troublesome priest ?"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

920 words folks.

That cost YOU

€32.6 million euros per word.

Enjoy.

Yep, go up to a now private citizen's house to vent, and do what? Burn him out? Empathise with a lock of Shinners? Come off it!

If the gaurds or dpp do not do their job it is I believe the duty of the citizens of the country to enforce justice.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

ilovesleep wrote: »
    Protesting outside his house will do nothing but land you in trouble for harassment and don't put it past him. He's not worth.

We do alright need protests to demand for justice, accountibilty, change ect and it is my opinion protests on a large scale around Dublin would help.

This country is a vested interest haven. Name me one person that the entire country could follow, leaving behind their own little parochial prejudices? I will not protest under a socialist, union or shimmer banner. Each in their own way have made a cock of this country too. They protest becaue they are contrary, not for justice or fairness but for their own enrichment. They want their shot at the title.

920 words folks.

That cost YOU

Enjoy.

What the fcuk! It was 920 words?

920 words folks.

That cost YOU

Enjoy.

The lack of action by other state forces cost us 32.6 million per word.

This country is a vested interest haven. Name me one person that the entire country could follow, leaving behind their own little parochial prejudices? I will not protest under a socialist, union or shimmer banner. Each in their own way have made a cock of this country too. They protest becaue they are contrary, not for justice or fairness but for their own enrichment. They want their shot at the title.

Jesus protest for your own dignity and protest against the fact that Ireland protects criminals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Protesting against the country wasting hundreds of millions on stupid tribunals to find out if someone was skiving a fraction of that amount would be a far better use of the time and energy, no?

The tribunal report filled up to 3000 pages. How the fcuk can it only contain 920 words?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,202 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Grab your pitchforks folks we got us a good auld lynching to do, from the spire.

I was going to recommend a dig-out.

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭mrrepublic

another with hunt to damage F.F. by F.G. brainless low lives.
    come next election F.F. will be back in Government, The sooner the better.
    at least they will abolish house charge et and get the country back on its feet. construction all thrived under F.F.

Apparently brought in €300m (I think, open to correction on the exact figure) in unpaid taxes as well. On Primetime just now some academic was reckoning that last four or so Tribunals have actually more than paid for themselves when you factor in the amount of extra money the Revenue has taken owing to what they've unearthed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

where does padraig flynn come into it, did he also get money or what is his story, i did not catch it, but something about a farm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Count me in

What a sneaky little snake of a man.

goat2 wrote: »
    where does padraig flynn come into it, did he also get money or what is his story, i did not catch it, but something about a farm

Report straight out called him corrupt, took £50k for his personal use from a developer, bought a farm with it.

I want to hang him upside down by his ankles, poke a cattleprod into his eyes balls, stick a flame torch up his ass, and sh1t, p1ss and puke all over him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭doomed

Eh.. I can't understand why the Tribunal should have rejected my account of where I got the money. I gave them a variety of explanations. Jaysus they could have picked one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭temply

Bertie is a knacker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,697 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Is there any non corrupt politicans :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Corrupt politicians are being jailed in Britain and the USA. When will the Irish justice system start doing it? Perhaps too many of the powers that be are caught up in it .......... and they are afraid to send these criminals down - in case they spill the beans. Just saying .........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

Report straight out called him corrupt, took £50k for his personal use from a developer, bought a farm with it.
    did he do a favour for developer, and did developer say that he gave mr flynn this money,

poor aul Bertie,

didn't he have a portrait of Padraig Pearse in his office?

Id say Sepp Blatter has a potrait of Bertie Ahern in his office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

Ah now it was not that bad, the 50K was a contribution to the political party, and he took that for his own use, but the farm was in his wife's name!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭mrrepublic

is it true that the mahon tribunal judges were all appointed by a former F.G.
    Government.

Id say Sepp Blatter has a potrait of Berlusconi in his office.

FYP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

We voted for him, and he gave us what we wanted!

Now it's all his fault, oh actually no it's the property developers fault, wait actually i'm confused :/ all i know is it's defo not my fault!

goat2 wrote: »
    did he do a favour for developer, and did developer say that he gave mr flynn this money,
    The inquiry’s final report states that senior Fianna Fáil figures including Bertie Ahern knew about the payment to Flynn in 1989 – but did not question him about it until after the establishment of the investigation in the late 1990s.

Flynn, who was Minister for the Environment at the time, “wrongly and corruptly” sought the payment from developer Tom Gilmartin then “proceeded to utilise the money for his personal benefit”, the Tribunal found.

A substantial portion of the money was reportedly used to buy a farm in Co Mayo in the name of Flynn’s wife.

http://www.thejournal.ie/ff-minister-padraig-flynn-took-e50k-corrupt-payment-mahon-392481-Mar2012/

He has to be prosecuted. Has to be. Bertie might wriggle out of it, but Pee is fcked.

Spread wrote: »
    Corrupt politicians are being jailed in Britain and the USA. When will the Irish justice system start doing it? Perhaps too many of the powers that be are caught up in it .......... and they are afraid to send these criminals down - in case they spill the beans. Just saying .........

I wonder would there be any journalists that would be willing to dig a little deeper to open up a can of worms to turn the politicians against each other. All it will.take is something juicy and scandalous on Enda Kenny and I'm sure he will start to sing.

We voted for him, and he gave us what we wanted!

Now it's all his fault, oh actually no it's the property developers fault, wait actually i'm confused :/ all i know is it's defo not my fault!

You sir did not live up to your name, Fighting Irish indeed!