Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to get out of friend zone?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

OP, your 'friend' sounds like one of those girls who ruins nice, sweet guys for other women who may come into their lives later on. They keep the nice friend around for an ego-boost (knowing that the guy is in love with them) and the attention. The guy eventually becomes so disillusioned with the girl's mindgames that he becomes bitter towards other girls as a result. Such a shame.

By the sounds of it you're leaving school soon. Forget about this girl and leave her to wreck someone else's head. Have fun in college, sleep around and you will find a girl who wants to go out with you for you, not just keep you in the friend zone to feed her own ego. I guarantee in year's time, you'll be looking back and thinking "Why did I ever waste time on her?"

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

psychward wrote: »
    The way to be successful with women is to be successful without them. I bet if the Swedish womens bikini team picked the OP up and banged the living daylights out of him in their tourbus he'd not want to leave the bus for a year. And concerning the girl who is breaking his heart and obsessing his mind , He'd be like ''who'' ? Theres always choice. If he emigrated for 20 years and returned to Ireland and tracked her down to see what she was doing and discovered she looked like shed been abusing meth all this time he was away he'd probably think he had a lucky escape and that spending the last few decades as a heartbroken obsessed angry Heathcliff type figure was a complete and utter waste of time. Don't let your balls rule your brain son. Just go up to her , ask her how she is and if she has any news (so you don't unluckily ask her out after her mom died or at a bad moment etc). Then say to her : How about it ? Me, you , (improvise based on what you already know about her which should be a lot). If she says no then who cares. You are far better off not having her around you if you are sinking into a depression every time you are reminded of her.
    Note the emboldened bits.

When I was 17 (it was a very good year), I was mad into this ****ing really hot chick.
    Nothing ever came of it and I went about 10 or 12 years before seeing her again as she had gone to Australia or England or some such place.

So I'm outside the pub one night and there she was.
    She walked over to me and we started talking. I was on my own in the pub (waiting on a friend), so asked if I could join her and her sister.
    Got a round in and we talked about old times and such. After about 5 minutes I realised that she was the dumbest bint ever to walk the Earth and wondered what I had ever seen in her.

I really couldn't believe that I had wasted time lusting after her when there were other girls who actually liked me and, like the fool that I am, I had ignored them.

After another 5 minutes she asked me if I had any coke. I laughed at her.
    Thankfully my friend arrived just then and I walked away thankful that we had never been anything more than friends.
    She doesn't like you and sounds like she is packed full of drama mate. You grew a pair and expressed yourself and fair play for that but it's time to move on.

Spot on.
    Fair play for trying, but stay the **** away from the drama queens. You'll regret it in the end.
    There are plenty of women out there who don't constantly seek attention and will be happy to be with you for who you are.

I'm going to go into a diabetic coma after typing that last sickeningly sweet line, but it is true. In the mean time, there's always internet porn.

Also, listen to The Smashing Pumpkins' "Mellon Collie and the infinite Sadness".
    It won't help with anything to do with love, but it's a really ****ing great album.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

firedancer wrote: »
    Yawn....

(as a parent also..)

Well done op you can move on now, also forget above 'advice' as to focussing on who you may become...utter bull****....focus on you right now, on all the good stuff like your courage and wit and obvious innate sensitivity (lacking in most lads nowadays) and go enjoy your life, find out most importantly what you love doing , what it is that makes you individual, and make that your living.
    Live in the moment.

Lots more fish in the sea. (sorry for cliche)

Live the life.

More or less the same applied to my daughter.

I watched this thread and we posted together on Sunday morn.

She has overcome this sort of situation. There is another side to this story.

Sometimes this situation can overshadow another persons life.

Think about it. ANOTHER PERSONS LIFE. Before you Judge.

Firedancer.

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

Was it breaded chicken, or what?

Was it breaded chicken, or what?[/QUOT

Microwave mayonnaise sambo?.....no way!.....;)

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Live the life.

Firedancer.
    Can you elaborate on that?

Also, is your daughter hot and of the legal age?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

White bread! I'm disappointed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭superstoner90

Run for your life OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭TheBegotten

Ah lads, leave him off ffs, he's 17. Don't go too heartfelt OP, basicly (or literally) tell her "f*ck that sh*t, i like you". Depending on your confidence level, this should be the right thing to say.

• Registered Users Posts: 412 ✭✭Akarinn

The dilemma is simple: Girl iv known for 4/5 years, always kinda fancied her, got to know her during last year and find myself madly in love with her. She's probably out of my league to be honest. There is no doubt i am in the friend zone, she even said it while we talking one time. Iv decided i want to let my feelings be known but how do i do it when im so far in the friend zone?

Send her a smiley face..

....Bitches love smiley faces! :))

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Mhibbo9000

Akarinn wrote: »
    Send her a smiley face..

....Bitches love smiley faces! :))

Defo Akarinn...\o/ :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Babybuff

15 years ago I met a guy who placed himself in the friend zone and despite being given more than subtle hints to F off he never did. he was quite happy there. Back to today, I have stomach ulcers from dealing with him. He became like a second child and dependant but convinced himself and everyone else he was never interested in me in any way shape or form. Couple of years back I found video on his fone that he took of me painting a wall in my house, he had just stood there and videoed my arse jiggle for four solid minutes. I don't even..

Recently he met a girl. At a push he has admitted he likes her so I told him to do something about it and not spend the next fifteen years stalking her. It's been about three months and while he often meets her in the pub or for the match with the club he's still just happy to be in the friendzone. Thankfully though meeting his new stalkeree means that he has gradually decided he no longer needs me. I almost feel sorry for the girl but she's welcome to him.

15 years ago I met a guy who placed himself in the friend zone and despite being given more than subtle hints to F off he never did. he was quite happy there. Back to today, I have stomach ulcers from dealing with him. He became like a second child and dependant but convinced himself and everyone else he was never interested in me in any way shape or form. Couple of years back I found video on his fone that he took of me painting a wall in my house, he had just stood there and videoed my arse jiggle for four solid minutes. I don't even..

Recently he met a girl. At a push he has admitted he likes her so I told him to do something about it and not spend the next fifteen years stalking her. It's been about three months and while he often meets her in the pub or for the match with the club he's still just happy to be in the friendzone. Thankfully though meeting his new stalkeree means that he has gradually decided he no longer needs me. I almost feel sorry for the girl but she's welcome to him.

Wow, u hated the fact he wanted to be just friends..? Or maybe u just hated the fact that he had no interest in you wat so ever?? Hmmmmm...???!

Matt, Eggshell or Silk...?

Mhibbo9000 wrote: »
    Matt, Eggshell or Silk...?
    silk

Wow, u hated the fact he wanted to be just friends..? Or maybe u just hated the fact that he had no interest in you wat so ever?? Hmmmmm...???!
    yes, you're right that's what it is.

Babybuff wrote: »
    silk

Niiiiiice....:cool:

Yes, you're right that's what it is

-.-'

• Registered Users Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 justinwillianm

don't make friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭firedancer

Live the life.

Firedancer.

Did your daughter go out to meet someone for lunch on Sunday around 1 by any chance....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 652 ✭✭✭jeckle

15 years ago I met a guy.... Couple of years back I found video on his fone that he took of me painting a wall in my house, he had just stood there and videoed my arse jiggle for four solid minutes. I don't even..
    Can you blame him? It's not every day you see someone using clenched buttcheeks to hold a paintbrush or spraypainter. If you'd simply used your hand you could have avoided the constant arse jiggling :eek:

Why were you snooping through his phone anyway:confused:

jeckle wrote: »
    Can you blame him? It's not every day you see someone using clenched buttcheeks to hold a paintbrush or spraypainter. If you'd simply used your hand you could have avoided the constant arse jiggling :eek:

Why were you snooping through his phone anyway:confused:
    he was trying to show me a video of something and opened it up accidentally. Wouldn't mind but it was about two years after it had been recorded so I don't really want to know what he was doing with it in the meantime.

just want to add, as a parent. My daughter put her current oh in the friendzone when she met him first. They've been together for two years now an are inseperable, I know she loves him back but she was 16 when she met him first (he was a little younger) and she just wasn't interested in boys or being in a relationship at the time. He just didn't give up on her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

I had serious crush on a girl when I was 16. Anyway one night after the teenage disco I told her I liked her and asked her how she felt. Well anyway I was crushed, I mean crash and burn down in the dumps.
    The upshot is that I knew where I stood from then on. We actually became really good friends after, so much so that she became the sister I never had and from then on I could never see her any other way.
    Fast forward a few years, college happens and we lose touch for a while. Finally we're in the same neighbourhood again and we catch up. This time it was her who wanted to cross the friend zone, I actually felt ill at the thought.
    Thankfully we talked about and we were cool again. She's got two kids now with a guy that I think is really good for her.
    Another plus is she introduced me to the woman I married.

Firedancer/Terry

Take note.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

maybe he is gay but hasn't admitted it to himself

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

I reckon she hated the fact that he was throwing out the line "I just want to be friends" while making secret videos of her for his spank bank.

It's that kind of subtle thing that moves someone into the "freak" category.

That happened to me years ago. I was in the friend zone, then i lost interest and then she was in the friend zone. Life is a game , enjoy it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I've just skimmed through the thread. So does she have a hot mate that you can ride?