Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Psychic Sleuths Drive Gardai Mad

• 25-03-2012 12:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭

Just read an interesting article in the times (I can’t quote the article as it is subscription only online). Apparently the Gardai are been forced to divert precious Gardaí resources after been put under pressure from the victim’s family to investigate so called leads, supplied by psychic or spiritualist.

In a lot of cases the whackos come forward voluntarily or the family consults them. The most effected investigation is operation trace, the cold case unit investigating the disappearance of 6 women in the Leinster area from the 90s.

I find this depressing, that in this day and scientific age people could still believe in this crap. Also the so called psychics themselves spreading their faith and not realising the damage they are doing. I think the Gardai should introduce a blanket policy of absolutely and totally ignoring them and any prompts from them.

What are your thoughts.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

The guards don't have to investigate anything they don't want to. If the family wants to take it up with the ombudsman they can. I smell fishiness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

what if one of these leads prove helpful?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

what if they threw darts at a map of Ireland and dug the ground where the darts hit hoping to find murder victims corpses?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

What if I flip a coin 80 times and get 80 heads? I'm not going to bet a tenner on it happening again, certainly not the welfare of a loved one.

44leto wrote: »
    Just read an interesting article in the times (I can’t quote the article as it is subscription only online). Apparently the Gardai are been forced to divert precious Gardaí resources after been put under pressure from the victim’s family to investigate so called leads, supplied by psychic or spiritualist.

In a lot of cases the whackos come forward voluntarily or the family consults them. The most effected investigation is operation trace, the cold case unit investigating the disappearance of 6 women in the Leinster area from the 90s.

I find this depressing, that in this day and scientific age people could still believe in this crap. Also the so called psychics themselves spreading their faith and not realising the damage they are doing. I think the Gardai should introduce a blanket policy of absolutely and totally ignoring them and any prompts from them.

What are your thoughts.

If science is so strong why are the cases still unsolved?

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,132 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

what if they threw darts at a map of Ireland and dug the ground where the darts hit hoping to find murder victims corpses?
    It'd be awkward if the dart landed on a graveyard!

What if I flip a coin 80 times and get 80 heads? I'm not going to bet a tenner on it happening again, certainly not the welfare of a loved one.

Or you could leave the unsolved case with the gardia cold case unit where it will remain unsolved. Its a cold case for a reason

Look up Sylvia Browne and Sean Hornbeck on YouTube. The creepy bitch played emotional poker with that child's parents, genuinely sickening and hard to watch.

It may very well be a long shot but I'd consider anything if one of my nearest and dearest went missing.

Or you could leave the unsolved case with the gardia cold case unit where it will remain unsolved. Its a cold case for a reason

Psychic abilities have never been proven in test conditions. Why don't we pray to Odin that he'll be found, we can get the most devoted Odin followers from all over the world with the tax payer's money, why not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

I find this depressing, that in this day and scientific age people could still believe in this crap.

.....I agree that it's depressing, but I can't say I'm too surprised. Seems a lot of people still bellieve in an awful lot of weird and completely unfounded fairy tales. I guess that's why it's called faith rather than understanding or science.

Must be hard for the gardai though, I wouldnt really want to be the one to tell a grieving family to stop believing in some quack/hoaxster and give up all hope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Its based on reason and evidence not faith and superstition. Off course its not perfect but it is developing. Take for example the scientific tools they have now in comparison to 50 years ago. Example DNA evidence ETC.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

i do not believe in psychics. i dont care if other people do because it's not my money they are throwing away. if the family want to use a psychic let them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It may very well be a long shot but I'd consider anything if one of my nearest and dearest went missing.

And the 'psychics' know that. I wonder if they get paid for 'helping' the families.

The Gardai should simply refuse to engage with them in any way. I'm surprised they actually give them the time of day.

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    The guards don't have to investigate anything they don't want to. If the family wants to take it up with the ombudsman they can. I smell fishiness.

They are put under pressure by the families of the victims who were taken in by a wacko to appease them they sometimes will meet with them even search an area.

A leading detective is quoted as saying never has a psychic helped solve any case in his 30 years of experience (surprise surprise).

• Registered Users Posts: 324 ✭✭Wereghost

No doubt this is the bit where someone usually throws that picture of Fry from Futurama at you. You know the one - "Not sure if troll or just really, really stupid."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

They are put under pressure by the families of the victims who were taken in by a wacko to appease them they sometimes will meet with them even search an area.

A leading detective is quoted as saying never has a psychic helped solve any case in his 30 years of experience (surprise surprise).

Wonder what the psychics explanation for this is, bad detective work I guess. (i think physics have probably helped solve a few cases ;))

(WTH I could have sworn that said physics just now?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭up for anything

If it was my child or family missing I would try every avenue possible. It still stumps me the amount of manpower and Gardaí power that was put into searching for Shergar and how little of that we see when a human being goes missing! I remember the gardaí coming round to search the shed at the back of our house and the near ruined house next door. Nobody did that for any of the missing women in Operation Trace.

Its based on reason and evidence not faith and superstition. Off course its not perfect but it is developing. Take for example the scientific tools they have now in comparison to 50 years ago. Example DNA evidence ETC.

The case remains unsolved either way. All "reason and logic" had previously failed to come up with a satisfactory solution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭Socialist_Pig

like saying prayers to a bearded sky fairy?

You could say prayers to the bearded garda sergeant in the sky that couldnt solve your case if it makes you feel better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Exactly. A lot of people would, and so there are those who are ready to take advantage of desperate people.

goose2005 wrote: »
    Exactly. A lot of people would, and so there are those who are ready to take advantage of desperate people.

Dont pay them then. That solves preying on desperate people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Just read an interesting article in the times (I can’t quote the article as it is subscription only online).
    Put in a link so people with subscriptions can read it.

I did say it was a long shot but it may be worth a shot if a police investigation did not lead a to a satisfactory conclusion.

There is a fair probability that it may not help but why not?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Its the pressure part I'm having trouble with. While I know of course its a delicate area, to be treated with sensitivity, its pretty hard to put pressure on the guards. Have you got a link to that article I wouldn't mind having a look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

These fcuking frauds should prove their 'powers' in a scientific forum if they want to be taken seriously by the Gardai or anyone for that matter.

The fact that so many have flat out refused speaks volumes.

There's no such thing as a 'psychic'. I believe perhaps there's a possibility as we evolve there could be scope for that, but right now. Nope.

Bad Panda wrote: »
    These fcuking frauds should prove their 'powers' in a scientific forum if they want to be taken seriously by the Gardai or anyone for that matter.

The fact that so many have flat out refused speaks volumes.

There's no such thing as a 'psychic'. I believe perhaps there's a possibility as we evolve there could be scope for that, but right now. Nope.

Even if psychic ability did exist how can it be proven?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

I'd imagine that would be quite an easy thing to prove, just by being psychic....

There's any number of things they could do to prove themselves..

Isn't "wasting police time" still a crime, anyway? In that case, charlatans or the delusional shouldn't be paid much attention to during an investigation; certainly not if it diverts resources from tried-and-proven methods. That's tried-and-proven. So-called psychics have been tried, tested and found wanting. The very fact that there's not a psychic investigation division of every police force tells us that.

You could say prayers to the bearded garda sergeant in the sky that couldnt solve your case if it makes you feel better.

Hand on heart I know I'd have the cop on not to buy into any of that psychic sh1te or indeed get a sudden renewal of faith in the hope that a bearded sky fairy(even one with the rank of a sarge) would help out.

Actualy any of those fukkers called to my door,the guards would be looking for a 2nd unmarked grave tbh.
    It still stumps me the amount of manpower and Gardaí power that was put into searching for Shergar and how little of that we see when a human being goes missing! I remember the gardaí coming round to search the shed at the back of our house and the near ruined house next door. Nobody did that for any of the missing women in Operation Trace.
    You can bet your savings the guards put a lot of effort into looking for those missing women,just because they didnt check your shed(maybe they arent aware you are a serial killer??)doesnt mean they didnt do everything with in their power to trace them..

There is a fair probability that it may not help but why not?

because it gives false hope

Scrawny71 wrote: »
    Isn't "wasting police time" still a crime, anyway? In that case, charlatans or the delusional shouldn't be paid much attention to during an investigation; certainly not if it diverts resources from tried-and-proven methods. That's tried-and-proven. So-called psychics have been tried, tested and found wanting. The very fact that there's not a psychic investigation division of every police force tells us that.

Would they be entertained if "tried and proven methods" had already worked?

because it gives false hope

When no hope already exists. I wouldnt necessarily condone but I can see why people try it

When no hope already exists.
    and thats what makes them scumbags of the lowest order.

The family of the victims would be better off reconcilling themselves to the fact that their loved one is gone and getting on with life if they can rather than getting p1ssed about by some clairvoyant for a few years,having them think think the chancer knows where the body is

biko wrote: »
    Put in a link so people with subscriptions can read it.

OK

http://www.thesundaytimes.co.uk/sto/news/ireland/News/article1002003.ece

You know, I think you should pull up some statistics on the percentage of missing persons cases where regular methods succeeded and the percentage of cases where psychics were employed that actually led to positive results. No system produces perfect real-world results all of the time (and it would be a weird, weird world if that were not the case). That doesn't make alternative approaches more likely to succeed.

Of course, if due to some bureaucratic or administrative reason the police were obliged to stay on an essentially dead case for a given time or there was an otherwise unfillable gap in the schedule, then I can see that consulting these people might start to appear at least quasi-sensible. But really, even people who swear by horoscopes and palm-reading would have to accept that it's a last-ditch effort.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Very easily. Let's say a psychic claims to be psychically able to locate objects. To test this we would really testing if this psychic is better at locating stuff than a non-psychic - ie better results than by chance.

You could bury 100 easter eggs in various places around dublin, ask a psychic and non-psychic to locate them remotely and compare the results. If a psychic has the abilities that they claim to have they should be able to consistently do better than a non-psychic.

These sorts of tests are simple and have been tried many times before. Guess how they always turn out.

I doubt it. Why go to a psychic when you already have what you're looking for? The problem is that the opinion of a psychic is no better than that of a some guy down in the pub. It may even be worse because self-proclaimed psychics are disproportionately represented in the dumb end of the bell curve.

Unfortunately, people believe in this shíte and self-proclaimed psychics use this to take advantage of families and end up wasting Gárda time.

And just because logic and reason fails to solve a problem, which happens when the necessary information isn't available, it's no excuse for just guessing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

If these people really are physic, why do we need investigations at all?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

By them being right.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

What are your thoughts.

What are my thoughts?:confused: Well, as someone obviously very sensible once wrote: "I find this depressing, that in this day and scientific age people could still believe in this crap. Also the so called psychics themselves spreading their faith and not realising the damage they are doing. I think the Gardai should introduce a blanket policy of absolutely and totally ignoring them and any prompts from them."

I think that pretty well sums it up.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Then you start investigating the "psychic"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

quite easily, also they'd all be millionaires

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

My psychic ability tells me that another person will shortly reply to this thread. And they will have made many posts on this website before. And there's a good chance they will be male.

This person will also most likely not believe in pyschics.

Lets see how good I do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

What are your thoughts.

those union reps for the psychics were going to have a general meeting with the gardai about it but had to cancel due to unforseen circumstances ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,029 ✭✭✭Wossack

My psychic ability tells me that another person will shortly reply to this thread. And they will have made many posts on this website before. And there's a good chance they will be male.

This person will also most likely not believe in pyschics.

Lets see how good I do.

!

he's a witch!

I know of a big case up north which was solved by psychic information. It was a murder of a child that happened years ago and a conviction happened last year.

There is also a boardsie who is psychic who located a body for police, which was seen on RTE.

I have no doubt there are the crazy people out there who cause problems but the gardai are also known to use psychics for information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

Cases go cold.
    The alternative is not to try magic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,828 ✭✭✭✭28064212

I know of a big case up north which was solved by psychic information. It was a murder of a child that happened years ago and a conviction happened last year.
    Link? Name of anyone involved? Date range? Because a range of google searches for related terms is showing up nothing
    There is also a boardsie who is psychic who located a body for police, which was seen on RTE.
    As above

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

krudler wrote: »
    quite easily, also they'd all be millionaires

That really is the crux of it. If any psychics, clairvoyants or seers did exist, with even a small ability, these people would be trillionaires. They could win every lottery or gamble and corner every stock and commodity exchange in the world. They could hire Bill Gates or Warren Buffet as their drivers.

On a wider sense we are living in a time of dumb, psychic hotlines charging premium rates, X Factor and other reality shows, a resurging of religious fundamentalism in broad parts of our world, the new age filmflam, Global warming deniers, 9/11 and the host of totally moronic conspiracy theorists, who even deny man walked on the moon. Ect Ect Ect Ect the list is endless these days..

Its as if science and progress is being questioned by idiots who think astrology is scientific and has all the answers and informative books are made of kryptonite.

Yet I tap this out on an incredible machine, of which gives me access to nearly all world culture and knowledge, at my fingertips. A machine 50 years nobody would have dreamed of or thought possible, not even the science fiction writers or the psychics.

Ehh rant over.