Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Steve Collins leaves Ireland

• 25-03-2012 4:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭

Didn't think he would leave but its a pity, He is a good man and has helped gain more public attention to the carry-on of so called gangsters (scumbags).

Limerick's loss will be some other countries gain.

www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/roy-collins-parents-leave-country-on-witness-relocation-programme-544864.html

I suppose his biggest fear and the most realistic one is that he or another member of his family would be attacked by some up and coming scumbag looking to make a name for himself or to impress some of the Dundon's relatives.

Almost three years after losing their son Roy Collins, his parents have left the country under a State witness relocation programme.

Roy Collins was shot to death at the family pub and amusement arcade in Limerick in April 2009.

His family have been under Garda protection since.

His father Stephen told the Sun on Sunday that leaving Roy behind was the hardest thing to do since he was taken away from them.

In 2010, the Central Criminal Court heard that the motive for Roy's murder went back to 2004 when a member of the McCarthy Dundon gang was refused entry to one of Steve Collins' pubs for being underage.

Read more: http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/roy-collins-parents-leave-country-on-witness-relocation-programme-544864.html#ixzz1q8zabJgX

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I'm into civil liberties but **** me I wouldn't be sad if these scumbags were systematically assassinated until there was none left.

• Registered Users Posts: 27 Undercover FBI Agent

He and the Collins family did this country a great service by getting those scum off the streets.

Very best of luck to him and his family in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

A murder planned for 5 years for a member of the gang was refused entry into a pub for being underage?!

Any excuse to throw their weight around, jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

He was boxing above his own weight in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

I'm into civil liberties but **** me I wouldn't be sad if these scumbags were systematically assassinated until there was none left.

If drugs were legal or controlled by the state then these clowns wouldn't be capable of gaining the wealth that allows them to fight feuds.

I'm surprised W.D hasn't been charged with murder yet considering the note that was found, But the getaway driver will soon be done for two murders anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Doesn't all of this contradict the aims of witness protection.

A thread on an internet forum, and the top story on the hourly news on the radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Thought this was gonna be about the boxer, meh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

irish-stew wrote: »

A thread on an internet forum, and the top story on the hourly news on the radio.

They're no longer in a witness protection program. They'll keep their identities wherever they move to afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

They're no longer in a witness protection program. They'll keep their identities wherever they move to afaik.

But still. Someone who was in witness protection , and the news broadcasts that they have kept their name and moved abroad.

It just doesn't seem right that, that kind of information is sent out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

charlemont wrote: »
    If drugs were legal or controlled by the state then these clowns wouldn't be capable of gaining the wealth that allows them to fight feuds.

Yep. Try telling that to law-tards and conservatives though.

State witness relocation programme. I'm not too sure whether they will or won't keep their identities but I seriously hope he can make it a success, It must be an awful burden on Ryan Lee to know all this hassle started over him which of course is not his fault, All of that trouble over something so stupid just shows Wayne up for the scumbag he is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Bastards, this is truly sad, the whole affair just reeks. The wrong family is leaving Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

• Registered Users Posts: 317 ✭✭Casillas

These people are amongst the bravest Ireland has seen in recent times. Too many of us lie down, give up, bury our heads - the Collins family are heroes, I hope someday that will be recognised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

This is a dreadful situation for the Collins family and I have huge sympathy for them. Basically they have been run out of the country by scum so the question has to be asked, who is in charge in this country?

The people who caused this are a cancer on society and need to be dealt with accordingly. They have chosen to behave outside the norms of normal society so normal rules should not apply.

When Veronica Guerin was murdered the government of the day set up CAB to get the perpetrators one way or another. Something similar should be done to show these people that they cannot get away with things like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

If drugs were legal or controlled by the state then these clowns wouldn't be capable of gaining the wealth that allows them to fight feuds..

Why would they not just keep on illegaly importing the drugs and selling them cheaper than the state sponsored dealers? Without vat and other overheads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,923 ✭✭✭SeanW

Why would they not just keep on illegaly importing the drugs and selling them cheaper than the state sponsored dealers? Without vat and other overheads.
    Considering that some of the drug smugglers have had to resort to getting mules to swallow condoms full of drugs, I'd imagine that a legal market would be much more cost-efficient.

Also consider that black market drugs can be cut with *anything* and one would have to be an utter moron to buy them on the black market.

The alcohol gangs started to dissipate after the Volstead Act was repealed and the annual murder rate fell year-on-year until the 1960s. Clearly, there was a much reduced market for bootlegged alcohol (so called because of its awful quality and taste, i.e. it tastes like old boots) after the end of Prohibition.

You have reason to believe it would be any different if cannibis etc. were decriminalised?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,480 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Thats all well and good if the government made legal stuff available at a low price. This being Ireland, they would probably tax drugs to a level that they are at similar cost to what they are now thereby making it still worthwhile for the scumbags to do business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭Socialist_Pig

and tell me this do you buy cans in an off licence or a bottle of moonshine on the streets just because its cheaper/

its all about quality...I pay top dollar for good hash...and would happily pay the government good money for quality blow.They would be able to import it/make it themselves without having to pay drug mules,bribe border cops etc

at the moment there's a massive mark up on the street price of drugs and if that large mark-up was legaly tax based I wouldnt have a problem paying it either

and tell me this do you buy cans in an off licence or a bottle of moonshine on the streets just because its cheaper/

Do you know anyone that buys cigarettes from places other than shops? I've seen it happen.

Plus we're talking about comparing like for like. If you buy 10 cans of Bud every day for €15 say and some guy can get you 10 cans for €10. Thats not the same as him sellign you 5 litres of stuff he knocked up himself in his bath. Do you not believe he'll do a decent trade?

Once drugs are legalised it automatically lowers the public perception of how wrong it would be to buy them "duty free" off a local bloke selling them. They'd no longer be some scumbag drug dealer. Now they'd be the guy that drops you off your otherwise legal products but at a cheaper price. Sure it's only tax evasion then is all.

SeanW wrote: »
    Also consider that black market drugs can be cut with *anything* and one would have to be an utter moron to buy them on the black market.

Presumably anyone reading now that has done drugs in their time falls in to this catagory?

Its the quality. Plus lots of Weed smokers would grow their own. Lots of drug users wouldn't deal with scumbags to procure drugs, They would prefer to pay the extra few bob to buy clean drugs in a safe environment from a pharmacist or coffee shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,923 ✭✭✭SeanW

Do you know anyone that buys cigarettes from places other than shops? I've seen it happen.
    Yes, because the gov't raised the prices so high over the last 10 years with taxes that they've created an opening in the black market.

I doubt there was such a market for smuggled cigarettes prior to 2000.
    Plus we're talking about comparing like for like. If you buy 10 cans of Bud every day for €15 say and some guy can get you 10 cans for €10. Thats not the same as him sellign you 5 litres of stuff he knocked up himself in his bath. Do you not believe he'll do a decent trade?
    Where is he getting the cans of Bud? Stealing them? Of course, if someone steals a legitimately made product, they can sell it cheaper than the rightful owner.
    Once drugs are legalised it automatically lowers the public perception of how wrong it would be to buy them "duty free" off a local bloke selling them. They'd no longer be some scumbag drug dealer. Now they'd be the guy that drops you off your otherwise legal products but at a cheaper price. Sure it's only tax evasion then is all.
    1) Where would the dealer be getting the stuff?
    2) You do realise that drugs (alcohol, tobacco, caffine etc) are already legal. Again, how often do you go meet some scumbag down a back alley to buy coffee? You probably wouldn't - unless the government were doing something like silly taxes or Prohibition to encourage you to do so.

This is why we have so many gangs.
    Presumably anyone reading now that has done drugs in their time falls in to this catagory?
    So anyone who has ever smoked a spliff is automatically and irrevocably a moron in your view? How about anyone who has ever taken a drink, cigarette, or caffinated beverage?

I was suggesting that one would have to be a moron to buy stuff from slimy operators on the black market when there's a safe legal alternative. Like buying some bootleg whiskey from Al Capone's gang after the end of Prohibition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,140 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Its the quality. Plus lots of Weed smokers would grow their own. Lots of drug users wouldn't deal with scumbags to procure drugs, They would prefer to pay the extra few bob to buy clean drugs in a safe environment from a pharmacist or coffee shop.

By the time the government and the pharmacists have had their cut, the price probably wouldn't be much different to what it is now, and despite booze and fags being legal, it doesn't stop people smuggling them for a profit.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

If it was an 'establishment' family (father/mother is a judge, guard, politician, etc), it would never have gotten to the stage where they had to emigrate under witness protection. Some country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Hawk Wing 2

the government would clean up if drugs were legalized and production was in the hands of professionals, the quality would be unbelievable for a start, to compare it to alcohol why would you buy a bottle of rancid piss mixed up in barrel in some dodgy scumbags shed when you can buy a bottle of JD or smirnoff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

Its a sad state of affairs when a country can't protect its decent citizens from scumbag murderers,and they have to leave their home,family and friends in order to live in peace and safety elsewhere.
    Makes you wonder what kind of country we will have, if the solution is for decent people to leave and for the scum to stay.
    I wish him and all his family all the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

If I was in government, and had ultimate control the justice dept, I would hire 2 top hit men from the c.i.a pay them a bounty of 10k for each scumbag they nail from a supplied dossier. wonder how brave the cardboard gangsters would be after 100 or so were killed in the first couple of weeks.

SeanW wrote: »
    So anyone who has ever smoked a spliff is automatically and irrevocably a moron in your view? How about anyone who has ever taken a drink, cigarette, or caffinated beverage?

I was suggesting that one would have to be a moron to buy stuff from slimy operators on the black market when there's a safe legal alternative. Like buying some bootleg whiskey from Al Capone's gang after the end of Prohibition.

I didnt call anyone a moron, you did.

The drug dealer swould be selling the same stuff after legalisation as they are now. Surely its the actual taking of what they have that makes someone a moron and not the fact that there is a legal alternative?

If something is bad, its bad.

Its a sad state of affairs when a country can't protect its decent citizens from scumbag murderers,and they have to leave their home,family and friends in order to live in peace and safety elsewhere.
    Makes you wonder what kind of country we will have, if the solution is for decent people to leave and for the scum to stay.
    I wish him and all his family all the best.

It's not very feasible to have a Garda excort for the rest of their days though is it. Who would even want a Gard with them 24/7 forever?

Its great in theory that they should be protected 100% but in reality its not like that. It's not a case of just locking up a few people. It could end up being someoen thats a small child now that decides to kill them in 20 years. You cant protect against that.

I'm sure the family have decided its an easier life for themselves to move.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,478 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Seriously? These are just misunderstood people who just want to make a living selling drugs, and the fact that a family is going through huge upheaval is the result of the government's drug policy? Not because the criminals in question have no respect for laws or life? I'm sure that if drugs were more legally accruals, they would be honest, law abiding people who wouldn't harm a fly...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭Socialist_Pig

If something is bad, its bad.
    forget about the minefield of the government supplying drugs how about legalising the growth of marijauna...2 or 3 plants per person.no more. and allow the private person to smoke grass or cultivate it to make their own hash in their own home.

The government aint making money(apart from the profit on the esb needed and the jump in sales of munchies) and the crimal gangs cant make money(unless they can sell seeds of good quality which cost pennies,so it aint gonna happen).

give the gardai power of arrest to anyone carring enough to supply others,and the power to take personal stash of people stupid enough to smoke it in a public place.

end result???people that smoke irrespective of the legality dont get criminal records,the gardai aint wasting time busting people for enough for a few joints,wasting their time and the criminal gangs cant make money off it....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Far more horrible people than me might suggest another thread title "Publican with tragic family history joins Irelands exodus due to economic downturn in search of a better life..." They might have a point though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,140 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

the government would clean up if drugs were legalized and production was in the hands of professionals, the quality would be unbelievable for a start, to compare it to alcohol why would you buy a bottle of rancid piss mixed up in barrel in some dodgy scumbags shed when you can buy a bottle of JD or smirnoff

Because the going rate for rancid piss is less than JD or smirnoff, as is the going rate for fake JD or Smirnoff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jeboa Safari

It's not very feasible to have a Garda excort for the rest of their days though is it. Who would even want a Gard with them 24/7 forever?

Its great in theory that they should be protected 100% but in reality its not like that. It's not a case of just locking up a few people. It could end up being someoen thats a small child now that decides to kill them in 20 years. You cant protect against that.

I'm sure the family have decided its an easier life for themselves to move.

The chances of a small child killing out of the blue are very slim. If we had a proper justice system repeat offenders would be locked up, previous convictions taken into account, not given a couple of months (if even) here and there and then free to terrorise and add to their number of convictions. I still can't understand how people are able to run up 50+ convictions and still be out free, causing more trouble

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭RiseToTheTop

Is the Steve Collins mentioned the boxer? They mentioned the scumbags being refused entry into one of Steve Collins' pubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

That is very sad. I hope they are happy were they go and their family can visit. They will probably feel an enormous sense of relief once they settle.

Society is a bit messed up when the scum can stay in Limerick but good people like Collins can't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Domo 230 wrote: »
    What did this Steve Collins guy do and why is he so well known beyond having his son killed?

His son was shot dead because a barman/relation of his refused to sell dunduns underage sister a drink back in 04, Dundon got 7 years for threatening barman in which steve collins son gave evidence ?,They(dundon gang)then killed steve collins son,shooting him dead in an amusement arcade beside the family pub?.Steve collins has been a out spoken critic of the gangs in limerick and else where even though they where under threat of there lives.Some of this could be corrected but I think thats most of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,031 ✭✭✭Slippin Jimmy

It's a ****ing disgrace that these innocent people had to leave their country because of people like these **** heads. It's disgusting. Pathetic wastes of space. They should be shot on sight if they leave their house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

We should put all of these people and their families on an island and replicate "Battle Royal".

Dreadful that this family has had to leave its home and country.

Seriously? These are just misunderstood people who just want to make a living selling drugs, and the fact that a family is going through huge upheaval is the result of the government's drug policy? Not because the criminals in question have no respect for laws or life? I'm sure that if drugs were more legally accruals, they would be honest, law abiding people who wouldn't harm a fly...

I don't think anybody said the above is true...But if that's how you want to interpret it then fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Everyone says he should be shot.. so will somebody just have done with it already?!

Literally nobodies would care

I'm not advocating murder btw.. you can easily make it look like a tragic accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,031 ✭✭✭Slippin Jimmy

Everyone says he should be shot.. so will somebody just have done with it already?!

Literally nobodies would care

I'm not advocating murder btw.. you can easily make it look like a tragic accident.

I can't see the guards putting much effort into solving the case if it was to happen. It'd be a great service to the decent people of this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

I am well aware of that Guy ,but its still a sad reflection of our society . Where people stand up to the scumbags ,they have to move abroad and leave everything.The message it send's to others is keep your head down and don't stand up to these murderers.Unless you are prepared to give up your home,job,family and friends.It just strengthens the criminals position and lessens the chances of people giving evidence against them in the future.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

Those animals should be arrested without trial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,448 ✭✭✭Riddle101

F*ck sake, his son was shot dead because he refused someone from the gang entry to the pub. These guys have chips on their shoulders, it's a shame that our justice system is a sham because if this happened in the US for instance, they wouldn't be throwing their weight around, they'd be more cautious but that's another topic really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭Skrynesaver

I believe the point being made is that by criminalising drugs we have handed a profitable monopoly to criminals. Legalisation would remove their primary revenue stream. I doubt that the gangster class would instantly become upright business people providing legitimate retail services to their community, however they might find it more difficult to purchase their Glocks without the funding that control of the drug supply affords them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Fcuk civil liberties they gave up their rights when they made the decision to murder people,get the Rangers to take them all out in one go:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

irish-stew wrote: »

Maybe that's the idea. In reality he's just moving to somewhere on the Fanad peninsula.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

I'm surprised W.D hasn't been charged with murder yet considering the note that was found, But the getaway driver will soon be done for two murders anyway.

its not that expensive when their all related ( imbred if anything )

their petty scumbags, you meet them anywhere, the more glory you pour onto them the tougher they look.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

This isn't about drugs, legalising them isn't the real issue here. If they legalised drugs the vermin would turn to racketeering or prostitution or something else. Scum are scum. The fact that people can be forced from the country by these types is insanity. It's terrorism, albeit on a smaller scale. This stuff just goes on and on and on and nothing changes. Moving these people around is just like spreading the cancer. We need internment.