Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Operation racoon city FULL REFUND NEW

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

gizmo wrote: »
    I vehemently disagree. Amazon offering refunds on ME3 is a ****ing horrible precedent which is not only (more than likely) a horrific PR stunt but also makes no sense. Remember, these are people who have played through the game for 20-40hrs and simply not liked the ending. Why in the hell should they get a refund for that? Whats next, people wanting refunds from book stores/cinemas because Frodo didn't put on the Ring of Power and bring down the Dark Tower all by himself? Or what about returning The Witcher 2 because Geralt ****ing every second thing he saw offended their morals? Or maybe wanting a refund on Dead Space because it was too scary for them to finish?

OP I have a feeling the guy in the store was referring to the ability to return the game unopened within 7 days for a full refund. I highly doubt they'd give you your money back after you had broken the seal.

Jesus man.

I can't judge me3 amd if it's justified to return it, because I haven't played it. It is true that some people will have amazon for a ride. Returning game, because ending is bad is not justified.
    BUT! Gamers have to have ability for full refund on **** games. Developers bull**** you for ages and when game comes out it is nothing as advertised. Games like duke nuken forever, spore, brink should be all refunded as those were pure lies and ****. Me as consumer should have a right to return the product which is falsely advertised and low quality. Games with game breaking bugs on launch day should have option to be refunded too. Sick of paying 50eu for game that is not even playable. There should be some standards FFs.

One time I refunded a pc game. Oh yeah. I bough Scarface on pc for 50eu. My pc was almost double the power of recommended settings. When I started playing I realised it was the shotiest poorest console port ever created. I gow back to "virgin" and demanded full refund and got it.
    No way I will let get away with that ****.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Jesus man.

I can't judge me3 amd if it's justified to return it, because I haven't played it. It is true that some people will have amazon for a ride. Returning game, because ending is bad is not justified.
    Totally agree. :)
    BUT! Gamers have to have ability for full refund on **** games. Developers bull**** you for ages and when game comes out it is nothing as advertised. Games like duke nuken forever, spore, brink should be all refunded as those were pure lies and ****. Me as consumer should have a right to return the product which is falsely advertised and low quality. Games with game breaking bugs on launch day should have option to be refunded too. Sick of paying 50eu for game that is not even playable. There should be some standards FFs.
    This is where we disagree, why should you get your money back for something that you don't like? No one is forcing you to buy it, assuming you didn't pre-order it then you'll have had the chance to either play the demo or ready previews and reviews. I can't really see how anyone could blindly buy a game these days. DNF, for example, was well sign posted as a total disappointment. I'm not sure what the issue is with Spore outside of the horrific DRM, I've not played it yet but the reviews seemed pretty solid across the board. And Brink, same can be said really, it wasn't fantastic but it was fun from what I played and got some pretty decent reviews. How were any of these games falsely advertised? Specifically like.

Lets use a personal example. I absolutely love the Ninja Gaiden series. When NG3 was announced I was totally pumped, despite the lack of Itagaki's involvement. The CE was then announced and it looked pretty great so I pre-ordered it on Amazon. Then I started reading previews about how the core mechanics had changed, my confidence began to waver. Then, in the leadup to release, I read some reviews and my worries were confirmed, they had ****ed it. So I cancelled my pre-order. Now, if I hadn't cancelled it and had bought it knowing the above, do you really think I should have gotten a full refund?

To use a different form of media, if I go to see the latest Michael Bay monstrosity in the cinema, should I be entitled to a refund if it's bad?

As for the game breaking bugs issue, as I said above, I agree there too. A game should not be released when it is known to be broken. Day one patches are all well and fine in principle but there are still a decent chunk of gamers, mainly console, who don't have their machine connected to the net so it is unacceptable.
    One time I refunded a pc game. Oh yeah. I bough Scarface on pc for 50eu. My pc was almost double the power of recommended settings. When I started playing I realised it was the shotiest poorest console port ever created. I gow back to "virgin" and demanded full refund and got it.
    No way I will let get away with that ****.
    Totally agree with this too. It falls into the category of actually broken so you should definitely get your money back.

Gizmo:

All those games drop in to false advertisement category and games are the best at getting away with it.

If you buy a TV which is advertised to be 42inch, but in reality you get 27inch then you are entitled for full refund.
    You buy a car which is 5 door, but in reality it has only 3 doors, then you entitled for a refund ( no matter how stupid this sounds, it's just examples )
    If you buy a cake which has to have a flavour of strawberry, but I'm reality it's a flavour of soggy socks, then you entitled for a refund.

Video game industry is getting away with this shiet, because it is so "not clarified" what is good, bad, acceptable.

This is the reason, why I don't even bother with non gameplay trailers. I do agree that you have to look in to reviews these days.
    Now to make it clear: I don't defend people who just don't like game after playing it for 50h etc. if a game had a demo and after playing demo you bought it, then no refunds for you.
    Now if game is falsely advertised and when you buy it it is just broken and crapy game - refund all the way.

I really wanted to like brink and they had everything going for it. Good story and ideas. When we got game it was a freaking striped down crapy game with no story or characters, mediocre gameplay and totally broken multiplayer with huge lag issues. They knew they ****ed up, so that even game free dlc after launch to make up for it. ( which still did not work... )

What a horrible precedent to be setting.

Gizmo:

All those games drop in to false advertisement category and games are the best at getting away with it.

If you buy a TV which is advertised to be 42inch, but in reality you get 27inch then you are entitled for full refund.
    You buy a car which is 5 door, but in reality it has only 3 doors, then you entitled for a refund ( no matter how stupid this sounds, it's just examples )
    If you buy a cake which has to have a flavour of strawberry, but I'm reality it's a flavour of soggy socks, then you entitled for a refund.

Video game industry is getting away with this shiet, because it is so "not clarified" what is good, bad, acceptable.
    But those examples don't apply to games. An appropriate example would be buying that 42" TV, getting a 42" TV but finding out the picture quality isn't as good as a different 42" model. Where have these games been falsely advertised in such a way?

As for video games not being clear what is good, bad and horrible quality wise, I don't see how it's different from any other media, be it music, literature or movies.
    This is the reason, why I don't even bother with non gameplay trailers. I do agree that you have to look in to reviews these days.
    Now to make it clear: I don't defend people who just don't like game after playing it for 50h etc. if a game had a demo and after playing demo you bought it, then no refunds for you.
    Now if game is falsely advertised and when you buy it it is just broken and crapy game - refund all the way.
    Again, where were they falsely advertised? Trailers which don't contain gameplay, for instance, are legally obliged to include a warning saying that it's non-gameplay footage. If they didn't then it would be a very clear case of false advertising.
    I really wanted to like brink and they had everything going for it. Good story and ideas. When we got game it was a freaking striped down crapy game with no story or characters, mediocre gameplay and totally broken multiplayer with huge lag issues. They knew they ****ed up, so that even game free dlc after launch to make up for it. ( which still did not work... )
    Right, in this case if the multiplayer was deemed unplayable due to horrific lag then you should be entitled to your money back. This is because the game is fundamentally broken. On the other hand, the gameplay being stripped down and the story being non-existent are not valid reasons for your money back as they just mean the game isn't very good. Again, there's a difference between something not being very good quality wise and a product being utterly broken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

This game looks and plays like a Playstation 2 game, Resident Evil should go back to its roots and ditch the over-the-shoulder third person shooter that it has become.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,540 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Again, where were they falsely advertised? Trailers which don't contain gameplay, for instance, are legally obliged to include a warning saying that it's non-gameplay footage. If they didn't then it would be a very clear case of false advertising.

I remember Square/MS getting into some **** when they showed video of the PS3 version of 13 for those Xbox ads.

justryan wrote: »
    This game looks and plays like a Playstation 2 game, Resident Evil should go back to its roots and ditch the over-the-shoulder third person shooter that it has become.

If the HD remakes do well they may see some potential going back to it.

Varik wrote: »
    I remember Square/MS getting into some **** when they showed video of the PS3 version of 13 for those Xbox ads.
    I remember there being a kerfuffle about it alright, I guess that's the problem when you don't have parity between SKUs. I can imagine a lot of disgruntled PS3 Bayonetta fans too. :o

Right, I am not arsed to go deeper in to this topic. I know gizmo is defending his point from the side of developer and we do agree on some cases and I understand where is he coming from with refunds. Problem is gamer is quite a slime sneaky pest, who will do anything to bend over and have a go at developer or retailer. Mass effect 3 is a great example. People who play game for 50h and then refund it because of ending are quite an assholes. In perfect world if product is **** I should get refund, and please there were tons of games which were shiet and not worth full price tag, but we live In real world where people will try to **** other people by just finding a loop hole. In this case amazon return policy.

Varik, be honest, you newer ever bough a game, which was totally dissapointed? Something that newer lived up to expectations and develepers vision?
    Every single game is full of shot with its advertisemt campaign. Amd no, games are not different, games are products like any other decking product in the world. If my carton of milk tasted like **** and it did stated it was milk on a carton, then I can go and refund it. Games are industry like any other, so please can we stop putting gaming industry like something special and unique? It was special way back, when people were happy to see other people play their game, it was reward on its own already. These days it is all commercialised and only here t make money, I love how gaming can take all the perks of being a business to make money, but does not take responsibility for making ****y products and taking money for it. A bit hypocritical?

No, I am not anty gamer, and most of you will know that I LOVE gaming, but lately it is becoming something really Allien for me. You see more and more cash in games with very low bar of quality and no responsibility from developer.

Right, I am not arsed to go deeper in to this topic. I know gizmo is defending his point from the side of developer and we do agree on some cases and I understand where is he coming from with refunds.
    I most certainly am not. I am, like you, a gamer first and foremost. As you can see from other posts above, I'm also not the only one who disagrees with this precedent. :)

You're right though, games in this case are no different than movies, books and music. So as I asked before, if I buy a DVD/Bluray, book or album should I be able to open it, watch/read/listen to it for awhile, decide I don't like it and then bring it back to the shop for a full refund?

I most certainly am not. I am, like you, a gamer first and foremost. As you can see from other posts above, I'm also not the only one who disagrees with this precedent. :)

You're right though, games in this case are no different than movies, books and music. So as I asked before, if I buy a DVD/Bluray, book or album should I be able to open it, watch/read/listen to it for awhile, decide I don't like it and then bring it back to the shop for a full refund?

If you open a book and it clearly says: sci-fi pew pew novel in its discription, but instead you get some ****y romance crap for ladies, which throws in a word or two from sci-fi, then I don't see why should not go and refund damn thing.
    If you buy a movie, which was support to be a pure good comedy, scarie movie 4-5 anyone? Amd when you watch it and it is pure shiet, then why wouldn't you get a refund? Did it made me lough? **** no, it failed at what it had to do. When I watched that in cinema I wanted to go and get refund, same as a good few other people ( I sow it in their faces ), but I was not ****ed as it was 15eu for me and misses, so I just wrote it off. And I deffenetly heard when movies, plays in theatre, shows, concerts were **** and people were demanding their money back.

I, as consumer, don't want to be bend over and fecked. If I get ****y product for money I payed I will go and get my money back. I work to hard for some cowboy get away with it.

Just to add, new gorrilaz album was pure pure shiet. I did not bought it as I listened to it first. If I would have bought that and then listen to realise how **** if is. I would be back in record shop and jaming it back up the arse of salesman if he would refuse to refund it.

It should always be up to the buyer to determine whether they are going to buy something first or not. To ensure I do not waste my money, I always do research into the book/movie/game first by looking at various reviews. If they seem to agree that the item is terrible, I won't buy it. I most certainly wouldn't buy it, find out it's crap and then return it. And I really can't see why a shop should let you do such a thing, especially when the product itself isn't faulty. They shouldn't be penalized for a customer's individual taste.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,540 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Varik, be honest, you newer ever bough a game, which was totally dissapointed? Something that newer lived up to expectations and develepers vision?

Not for a long time, but that was usually from ignorance when i was young.

Just to name a few(names may be subject to change).

Breed, generic with the key advertised features being only minor in the real game. Still have it sadly.

Generic historic rts that had a year in it's name, jumped onto a skirmish game spend ages building a huge ship and then some ****ing Indians in canoes with sticks burnt it down. Returned it the next day, it was also on PC.

Devastation, an fps that tried to make a story out of respawning.

It's been years since i bought a game that i really regretted getting but there's a big difference between Peter Molyneux saying that Black & White 2 would allow me to give my creature armour and some sales person saying the Wii can play Halo.

If you open a book and it clearly says: sci-fi pew pew novel in its discription, but instead you get some ****y romance crap for ladies, which throws in a word or two from sci-fi, then I don't see why should not go and refund damn thing.
    Again, totally agree. :)
    If you buy a movie, which was support to be a pure good comedy, scarie movie 4-5 anyone? Amd when you watch it and it is pure shiet, then why wouldn't you get a refund? Did it made me lough? **** no, it failed at what it had to do. When I watched that in cinema I wanted to go and get refund, same as a good few other people ( I sow it in their faces ), but I was not ****ed as it was 15eu for me and misses, so I just wrote it off.
    Okay, first thing. You went to see Scary Movie 4 and 5 thinking they were going to be pure good comedy? :pac:
    And I deffenetly heard when movies, plays in theatre, shows, concerts were **** and people were demanding their money back.
    See I specifically didn't mention the cinema above because unlike the physical forms I listed, it's an exception. As far as I'm aware in some cinema chains if you're not enjoying the movie you can leave within 20mins and get a refund. With DVDs, Blurays, books and CDs it would be impossible to know whether a customer has watched, read or listened to the entire thing.

On that note, this logic could carry over to games. For instance, if you purchase a game on Steam and after 10mins you discover it's ****ing awful, you could stop playing it, mail customer support and complain. They could then check your account, see that you've only played it for 10mins and know you aren't trying to pull a fast one.

That being said, I'm still not sure I agree with the idea full stop. At the end of day you don't buy media to like it, you buy it to consume it. Whatever happens after that is totally up to the individual and since it's such a subjective thing, I would regard it as being non-refundable.

Again, totally agree. :)

Okay, first thing. You went to see Scary Movie 4 and 5 thinking they were going to be pure good comedy? :pac:

See I specifically didn't mention the cinema above because unlike the physical forms I listed, it's an exception. As far as I'm aware in some cinema chains if you're not enjoying the movie you can leave within 20mins and get a refund. With DVDs, Blurays, books and CDs it would be impossible to know whether a customer has watched, read or listened to the entire thing.

Lol nostalgia about scaryovie! Don't judge me! :D.

As for physical copy: I gave album example, if it's **** and I got same or next day with receipt to refund, then why not? Them ofc like I said about real world, if I am an asshole and buy that album, listen it for a month and them go refund it, by having excuse - it wasn't really for my taste...

Same as movies. I personally buy movies that I want to keep and watch them more then one time. If I want just to watch it once, then I go rent it. So basicly if I bought a movie for full price to watch it once, then I am an idiot in the first place.
    It's again something that in real world won't work ( unfortunately ). Assholes will use a refund system as a free renting place.

Though I will still demand a refund on something ****. I hope it won't happen again as I am being very very carefull with my money lately. I only buy something after putting a lot of time researching product. Even if I decide to go for an item I still give 24 hours cool down "sleep on it" time. I got burned way to many times and my money is really tight now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I was on the verge of buying this on friday :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 18,707 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

Back in my day, we used to read these things called "reviews", pick the game we thought looked good, and then play it even if it sucked!

• Registered Users Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Hygro

So is the game pure ****e??

• Registered Users Posts: 842 ✭✭✭WildCardDoW

The reason Game had to scrap there 28 day return was down to people like WarZone, cheers man, you screwed it for the rest of us.

ShadowHearth I disagree with most of your points and I can't imagine your fun to deal with! :p. Still if you get your refund fair play I guess...you wouldn't from me!

• Registered Users Posts: 232 ✭✭Angeles

No, there is no valid consumer rights reason to be able to request a refund alone on this basis, unless explicitly stated by the manufacturer/shop that "if said item does not meet your requirements/expectations you have the right to return." This more obviously applies to tv sales and clothing but can be applied to everything.

However there are other means which follow through to the consumer, one of which is false advertising

Take this example - A clerk makes a tag pricing error on some goods being sold in a shop, The item tagged by him/her states thats this item is to be sold for 40eur, Yet when a consumer comes along and wishes to pay for this item, the checkout scan says this item is actually 200eur.
    Do you go, oh ok and dish out 160eur? or go wait a min, i wanted to purchase this on the premises that this STATED 40eur!

Now what you need to be aware of is that the law actually supports this and that an item advertised for the price/description must be sold for said price or must contain exactly what is stated on the description.
    If questioned otherwise you are in full right to sue.

Interestingly enough, this also applies to media such as gaming when it comes to advertisement. But as you know a lot of company's are very smart about this, you can use ME3's example. By consumer right they should have refunded every single person who bought this game simply because the contented media is not content complete and does not meet what was officially advertised, more so based around the ending.

Yet these only reasons in which you could gain a refund are usually completely over-ridden the moment you click I AGREE to the terms and conditions you are required to agree to to even play the thing.

Angeles wrote: »
    Take this example - A clerk makes a tag pricing error on some goods being sold in a shop, The item tagged by him/her states thats this item is to be sold for 40eur, Yet when a consumer comes along and wishes to pay for this item, the checkout scan says this item is actually 200eur.
    Do you go, oh ok and dish out 160eur? or go wait a min, i wanted to purchase this on the premises that this STATED 40eur!

Now what you need to be aware of is that the law actually supports this and that an item advertised for the price/description must be sold for said price or must contain exactly what is stated on the description.
    I was under the impression this had been debunked? I've seen it brought up a few times on the Consumer Issues forum but there seemed to be some disagreement on whether you are actually entitled to the product at that price?
    Interestingly enough, this also applies to media such as gaming when it comes to advertisement. But as you know a lot of company's are very smart about this, you can use ME3's example. By consumer right they should have refunded every single person who bought this game simply because the contented media is not content complete and does not meet what was officially advertised, more so based around the ending.
    I can't really debate this fully as I'm only about 75% of the way through but on a high level, I can't see how this is valid. Bioware stated repeatedly before release that ME3 would be the end of Shepard's story but not necessarily the end of the ME games, even going so far as to warn people to keep their save games. On that basis alone, they're not obligated to wrap the whole thing up neatly. In terms of content complete, as long as there's an ending, whether it's good, bad or terrible, and doesn't explicitly cut off at the end, they're covered. The DLC character argument, on the other hand, is not the least bit valid when it comes to the game shipping with complete content. As I said, I can't comment fully but it just seems like it's a case of people just not liking the ending. That being said, if you can explicitly say where the game was falsely advertised, without giving away the ending, I'd love to hear it as I still haven't seen one good example of this so far. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

I was under the impression this had been debunked? I've seen it brought up a few times on the Consumer Issues forum but there seemed to be some disagreement on whether you are actually entitled to the product at that price?

My understanding is that is is irrelevant, it's an invitation to tender when you present an item to purchase at the till.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

If you buy a movie, which was support to be a pure good comedy, scarie movie 4-5 anyone? Amd when you watch it and it is pure shiet, then why wouldn't you get a refund? Did it made me lough? **** no, it failed at what it had to do. When I watched that in cinema I wanted to go and get refund, same as a good few other people ( I sow it in their faces ), but I was not ****ed as it was 15eu for me and misses, so I just wrote it off. And I deffenetly heard when movies, plays in theatre, shows, concerts were **** and people were demanding their money back.

I, as consumer, don't want to be bend over and fecked. If I get ****y product for money I payed I will go and get my money back. I work to hard for some cowboy get away with it.

Scary Movie of all movies you expected to be good?

the problem with what you're suggesting is that its based on personal opinion, I know plenty of people who think games with high review scores are crap and vice versa, I hated Demons Souls even though it was in the top 10 of a lot of critics lists and has almost universally good reviews, still despised it. Still doesnt mean I'm entitled to a refund though, I just traded it in. What constitutes a good or bad game is completely up to the player at the end of the day.

No, there is no valid consumer rights reason to be able to request a refund alone on this basis, unless explicitly stated by the manufacturer/shop that "if said item does not meet your requirements/expectations you have the right to return." This more obviously applies to tv sales and clothing but can be applied to everything.

However there are other means which follow through to the consumer, one of which is false advertising

Yet these only reasons in which you could gain a refund are usually completely over-ridden the moment you click I AGREE to the terms and conditions you are required to agree to to even play the thing.

completely untrue, if an item is priced at one amount and scans at something else then its at the retailers discretion to offer it at the lower price, most will as a goodwill gesture but they're not obligated to.
    I worked in retail for years and this is one of the most misunderstood pieces of consumer law around. if this was the case everyone would just be putting lower priced stickers on stock and getting it for that amount.

The reason Game had to scrap there 28 day return was down to people like WarZone, cheers man, you screwed it for the rest of us.

ShadowHearth I disagree with most of your points and I can't imagine your fun to deal with! :p. Still if you get your refund fair play I guess...you wouldn't from me!

I am very nice fella, but I'd you try to **** me, I am becoming a freaking axe murderer. And trust me, you would give me that refund, if not you, then your supervisor or manager or managers manager. I would make such a fuss, that you will give me that game plus my refund. If needed I will even take it to court with salesman himself, just to make his life annoying.

Where I came from ( eastern Europe ) a ps2 after years launch costed 3xmonthly wages. So as you can imagine I am very respectable with money. I am not an tight arsehole, I love spending money, but I won't let some dickweeds get away with it by giving me a crapy product. Games are products, if they suck and I will take my refund.

I am really chocked how many gamers just bend over and take it... Just buy a game which is totally crap, but just keep it and newer play it or trade it in for half price.

I won't go deeper in refund topic, I already said what I wanted.

I am very nice fella, but I'd you try to **** me, I am becoming a freaking axe murderer. And trust me, you would give me that refund, if not you, then your supervisor or manager or managers manager. I would make such a fuss, that you will give me that game plus my refund. If needed I will even take it to court with salesman himself, just to make his life annoying.

ugh, every retail workers nightmare customer, the stamp their feet till they get what they're not entitled to person.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,079 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

If people just don't buy crap games in the first place, at least then there is some chance that developers will stop making them. :P:

@ShadowH I jhave to completely disagree with you on this point, when buying a game, book or DVD etc, I firmly believe the onus is on the customer to do some research to establish if it will be to your taste or not. Being disappointed with an 'arty' product like any of the above, does not make it defective.

Obviously game breaking bugs, incorrectly stated system requirements etc are a completely different matter.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Meesared

This is not true at all, look up "Invitation to treat"

marco_polo wrote: »
    If people just don't buy crap games in the first place, at least then there is some chance that developers will stop making them. :P:

@ShadowH I jhave to completely disagree with you on this point, when buying a game, book or DVD etc, I firmly believe the onus is on the customer to do some research to establish if it will be to your taste or not. Being disappointed with an 'arty' product like any of the above, does not make it defective.

Obviously game breaking bugs, incorrectly stated system requirements etc are a completely different matter.

this, if the game works and you just dont like it then its not faulty, if you were able to get a refund on every game you claimed not to like you'd never pay for games