Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need some info - Mature Student BSc Computer Science Questions

Options
  • 27-03-2012 5:19pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3

I'm 21 and planning on either repeating Leaving Cert maths or doing Computer Science in Griffith College - Fetac Lvl 6 - through Springboard. My problem is that I'd scored an A1 in Foundation maths when I'd done my LC. I don't know what came over me but a lack of direction was certainly part of it.

The plan so far is to do a course or repeat come this September and return as a mature student the following September. As a mature student I won't have to worry about the points.

Essentially, my question is 'How do I get from A to B''. Social welfails is covering my ass for the time being, and minimum wage work isn't where I want to be. I'm dying to get back in to education - I spent the entire day in the sun with the missus out in UCD, so I can tell you I already like the atmosphere.

Also, in case anyone might wonder why I'd choose such a difficult subject: I'd grown up with a strong background in computers, which was stunted by living in the countryside and having no broadband access. I love being around them and tinkering with them. I can't imagine following a career in anything else, other than maybe a cadetship with the military.

Also, I'll be eligible to study as a mature student in Sept 2013, right? I'm 23 before the start of 2014 so I should be eligible. Someone had said that I'd have to wait until the following year, but I'm pretty sure its turning 23 before Jan 1st of that academic year.