Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

my design process so far... C&C welcome

Options
  • 29-03-2012 11:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭

Hi everyone,
    I am thinking of building a PC, I am an electronic engineer so understand the principles & (some of) the lingo but not all the specifics. This is my plan/design assumptions so far.
    I'd welcome any comments or critique you have!

Thanks in advance..

1. What is your budget? ……………..€600-800
    2. What will be the main purpose of the computer? [ Photo editing. & general use, maybe Call of Duty at some point]
    2b. Anything else?
    YES – I want this PC to last 8-10 years. It must be easy to build (My 1st build) low maintenance, and also upgradeable – ie 4 DIMMS, not 2,
    and a good selection of expansion ports etc. ATX is preferred because bigger size = easier assembly & expandability.

3. Do you need a copy of Windows? [YES. 64-bit Win 7 Home Premium]

4. Can you use any parts from an old computer? [Corsair VX-450FW, 450W PSU]

5. Do you need a monitor? [NO, but I may want to add say a 22” or 24” second monitor later]

5b. If no, what resolution is your current monitor and do you plan to upgrade in the near future? [I dunno, lets say it is 1920x1080]

6. Do you need any of these peripherals? [YES…USB 3.0 flash card reader, 802.11 b/g/n, may add a sound card later.
    May add a vidcap card later, will add a GPU card later]

7. Are you willing to try overclocking? [NO. Reliability, Longevity, low maintenance, & upgradeability are more important to me than raw performance]

8. How can you pay? Any option.