Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Defend BMWs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

I have owned 4 bmws, and they are no more unreliable than any other car I have owned. But once you put a proper (not a paddy spec) engine in them they are fantastic. The owner can feel like the car is always in the garage because of the condition based servicing rather than set servicing intervals and also the fact the computers tell you about evey little problem. There are penney of cars out there running faults that the owner is oblivious to, the BMW tells you.

Mercs drive and look like crap unless you get a special one. Audis drive in a comical way unless you get something special.

.......... Audis drive in a comical way unless you get something special.

Let's not get carried away :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭johnthemull

In the end, after all my research, after all my maybe this and maybe thats
    after all my giving ins and outs about runflats
    i went to a bmw garage and started test driving
    my beautiful 5 series will soon be arriving.
    They are so much fun to drive!!!!!!!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

What model did you get?

Enjoy your purchase :)

520D, Manual.
    The 320d was more fun to drive, but the kids would have suffocated in the back with the gs i would be pulling around the corners.
    The 2 year warranty is a great selling point as well.

:confused::confused:

Is it used?

zero nine

zero nine

Thats good then.

I assume it is one of the aftermarket warranties. Anyone any experience of those?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Fiona

but the kids would have suffocated in the back with the gs i would be pulling around the corners.

Seriously uncool to drive sideways with children in a car..... I do hope that was a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Stainless_Steel

I bought my 8th car recently and it is my first BMW - a petrol E60. After the first proper drive of it I was left disappointed that I didn't buy a BMW years ago! Definitely my favourite brand of everyday car.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

mrs crilly wrote: »
    Seriously uncool to drive sideways with children in a car..... I do hope that was a joke.

Ah come on, I know the world is PC mad and all, but of course he's joking........everyone knows the serious G's are pulled doing roundabouts!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

One of my favourite cars I have owned (and the one I had longest) was a 99 E36 318is. Was easily my favourite car, I just loved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Meh, probably have a BMW fanboy reputation at this stage (not that I am beyond my own model), and am in no position as a non-mechanic to comment on BMWs, but bottom line, in my view, internet forums are in no way to be used as an accurate gauge of reliability.

You'll just be met with yes, no, yes no, yes no answers all day long. Proper, accurate, mass-participant surveys are probably the most accurate ways of measuring reliability. Even then, you have to allow for the fact that some manufacturers have a much higher proportion of performance oriented cars than others.

Approaching 4 years myself with a 12 year old BMW flagship, reliable as hell, no complaints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Mully_2011

They are too vulgar at the minute same with most german cars at the minute.

F10M3DD_7.jpg

compared to 10 years ago

grilleinstallede392.jpg

IMO the e39 was one of the best cars made

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Mully_2011 wrote: »

Ah nostalgia is a fantastic thing, the E60 and F10 are superior in just about every measurable way and nostalgia will kick in with them when the new ones come out. The e39 is a fine car dont get me wrong, but the F10 is probably the best all round car available at the moment. And the best car in 2010 is better than the best car from 1999.

F10M3DD_7.jpg .........

If that was grey you'd barely notice it, can't see what you mean by it looking too vulgar tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

F10M3DD_7.jpg

compared to 10 years ago

grilleinstallede392.jpg

If you are going to compare the styling of BMWs of two different eras, at least pick examples with factory standard styling packages, as opposed to both of the above which are non-standard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

520D, Manual.
    The 320d was more fun to drive, but the kids would have suffocated in the back with the gs i would be pulling around the corners.

Go for an auto...I got my 520D last july and pish poohed those suggesting auto gearbox.
    They were completely right to suggest it...manual is a bit stick and definitely the auto gearbox is the way to go. Next car will be an auto..

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,354 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

johnos1984 wrote: »

Thats good then.

I assume it is one of the aftermarket warranties. Anyone any experience of those?

Arent BMW main delaers offering 2 year warranties on AUC's now?
    So i would assume its a BMW Warranty.

kceire wrote: »
    Arent BMW main delaers offering 2 year warranties on AUC's now?
    So i would assume its a BMW Warranty.

Yep :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭stuff.hunter

...well, had ford fiesta, honda civic, mitsubishi carisma, volvo s40-> swapped for '97 e39 520i and ... omg what a difference ... e39 was brilliant: loads of joy and fun .. said 'was' because guess...got '01 e39 520i = more joy and fun and, honestly my next car will be a BMW too. love them :) and feck 1k tax per year and more money at the pump, bmw is worth any penny spent for it .
    my beauty :)
    img0085uou.jpg
    dscf6913q.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Mr.David wrote: »
    If you are going to compare the styling of BMWs of two different eras, at least pick examples with factory standard styling packages, as opposed to both of the above which are non-standard!

But how else to make his BS point and sweeping statements.
    IMO, the F10 is nice, but if anything too refined. Its not vulgar in the slightest.

So on the manual vs auto debate, I'm not convinced that Jesus really does cry everytime a manual BMW saloon is sold....

I think underpowered autos (e.g. 520i) can be better as a manual.....diesel though should always be auto in a BMW. Once it has a decent amount of power in a petrol model it should be auto too (530i).

Not so sure on the 4cyl petrols though.

So on the manual vs auto debate, I'm not convinced that Jesus really does cry everytime a manual BMW saloon is sold....

I think underpowered autos (e.g. 520i) can be better as a manual.....diesel though should always be auto in a BMW. Once it has a decent amount of power in a petrol model it should be auto too (530i).

Not so sure on the 4cyl petrols though.

wouldn't say 520i is underpowered, with 2.2l engine it has 170bhp which is a quite enough for normal use not like all this french and korean cr4p around :) btw talking about manual as mines manual, didn't drive automatic so can't say

Yeah, I know what you mean. It has an adequate amount of power, underpowered is harsh maybe but its not quick either.

Personally, I would find that amount of power in a luxury/sporty car to be insufficient. Of course though its plenty for 95% of your driving.

Is the new 520i still a 2.2? Have they not reverted to a 4cyl entry level?

not sure about new 520i mate but looks like bmw offers a 4cyl engine according to their website

[QUOTE=Mr.David;78015213
    Not so sure on the 4cyl petrols though.[/QUOTE]

They are disgracefully underpowered. Well the e46 coupes are anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Almost €30 for a side light bulb in the E61 is indefensible imo.

30euro from where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Main dealers, they come built in to the holder and the local motor factors couldn't get them in the last time I checked.
    It is a bit petty but annoying.

Main dealers, they come built in to the holder and the local motor factors couldn't get them in the last time I checked.

Is this a roundabout way of justifying BMW drivers failure to indicate? ;)

"But Guard, the bulbs'll cost me 30euros to replace".

"Ah jaysus, sure why didnt you say so? Be on your way now."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Hello.
    As some one who loves cars and will treat them with respect and with the where withal to buy a bmw..... are they reliable? there is so much recall ****up **** centrd around german car makers

Hey everybody, defend a broad sweeping generalisation and if you don't, my dads bigger than dads who aren't as big as him. Fact!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

People will say yes, people will say no and it will be another argument.

My view....they are not as reliable or as well made as they should be for the price and image they have.

depends on the era...

1992 ( e36 body ) right through to the 392 are notoriously cheaply made...

pre 92 e30/e34 are the right bmw or inded, the brand new models...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭gerryo777

Ferris wrote: »
    Surely the biggest problem with modern BMW's is that of Run Flat Tyres and the resultant poor rides and cracked alloys. Nothing more than a revenue generating excercise imo.

Im BMW's defense, they simply do drive better than other everyday mkes of car. They do at least make cars for enthusiasts. Also the impact they have made on making the IC engine more economical is unreal, just look at the economy figures for the new 328 petrol.

(I dont have one btw)

I got rid of the runflats on my 318d and put on normal tyres. Couple of tins of tyreweld in the boot, no problem.
    Some difference, way better and quieter!

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

Changed a H7 bulb in the 325 today in less than a minute. Im sold :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Yeah, I know what you mean. It has an adequate amount of power, underpowered is harsh maybe but its not quick either.

Personally, I would find that amount of power in a luxury/sporty car to be insufficient. Of course though its plenty for 95% of your driving.

Is the new 520i still a 2.2? Have they not reverted to a 4cyl entry level?

The F10 520i is a 2.0 litre 4 cylinder turbo charged unit. The 528i is also a 2.0 litre 4 cylinder unit with twin turbos.

Well you were ripped off. I changed the sidelight in my mothers e61 for €4 (four euro). It's a standard pencil type skinny small bulb. Yes they are in a holder but with a little dexterity you can remove the old bulb and reuse the holder.

The manual says goto main dealer only as headlight assembly has to come out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭sandin

My humble opinion of BMW is that its rather excellent.
    2012 520 efficency dynamics. Does average of 56mpg on a mix of motorway and city driving, certainly has the power (184 bhp or therabouts) and is extremely comfortable.

I don't care what the inside looks like nor anything else, my primary goal as to get the best mpg (or l/100km for the kids here) and a comfortable drive (I do 50,000km a year)

Previous car was grand cherokee - utterly brilliant motor except MPG was low 20's. Never went to a garage except for service and was at 210,000km when it was traded in.

Did BMW ever sort out the issues with the efficient dynamics range?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

johnos1984 wrote: »
    Did BMW ever sort out the issues with the efficient dynamics range?

The diesels never had any problems with ED. You don't hear much about the petrols anymore as there are so little of them bought in this country these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

bazz26 wrote: »
    The diesels never had any problems with ED. You don't hear much about the petrols anymore as there are so little of them bought in this country these days.

The Efficient Dynamics petrol engines that gave all the trouble are no longer sold too - the new turbo units have replaced the old NA trouble makers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭shankespony

I used to be a big fan till i drove a 3.20d which i had for the weekend, would have preferred a mondeo TDCI for comfort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

I used to be a big fan till i drove a 3.20d which i had for the weekend, would have preferred a mondeo TDCI for comfort

People looking for comfort tend not to buy BMWs, especially not 3-series ;)

unkel wrote: »
    People looking for comfort tend not to buy BMWs, especially not 3-series ;)

Really? I would class the E46 3 series comfortable?

Ok it's not the most pleasant going over ramps but is any car?

mrs crilly wrote: »
    Really? I would class the E46 3 series comfortable?

Ok it's not the most pleasant going over ramps but is any car?

If you want comfort there are better options than BMW, though that doesnt make them uncomfortable. For example any boggo POS like a low spec Astra is comparitively "great" over ramps and such.

Matt Simis wrote: »
    If you want comfort there are better options than BMW, though that doesnt make them uncomfortable. For example any boggo POS like a low spec Astra is comparitively "great" over ramps and such.

Well I will be brutally honest, I bought the BMW for the badge. I didn't know the first thing about them. I like to think I have redeemed myself now by educating myself about them :D

But I would never class the 3 series as uncomfortable :o I found my Seat Ibiza more uncomfortable at times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

I wouldn't say they're uncomfortable, quite the opposite in fact. But it certainly is true to say that other cars are more comfortable than BMWs are. Then again if you want comfort, buy a Volvo, BMWs are about doing all the sensible stuff but putting a smile on your face when you're in the mood for a bit of fun (well the ones with more power than the usual poverty spec ones in Ireland at any rate):D!

Personally I prefer firm seats and a firm suspension over soft seats and suspension - whatever about the suspension I certainly do not find soft seats to be terribly comfortable - quite the opposite in fact!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Can't see how people class BMWs as uncomfortable and apply it across their whole range.
    I had a 05 primera which I bought brand new at the time and I thought it was miles better than my previous 98 megane and far more comfortable.
    I often used to borrow the old fellas 97 hiace to move stuff and it would a relief to get back into the primera afterwards...

until I bought a 07 520D (full leather)...difference is comfort was unbelievable..
    normally I borrowed the old fella's van to do favours for a mate but after the last time I swore never again...I couldn't wait to get back into the car and swore to him that never again would I drive the van or even to ask me to.
    The difference was light years apart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Blazer wrote: »
    Can't see how people class BMWs as uncomfortable and apply it across their whole range.
    I had a 05 primera which I bought brand new at the time and I thought it was miles better than my previous 98 megane and far more comfortable.
    I often used to borrow the old fellas 97 hiace to move stuff and it would a relief to get back into the primera afterwards...

until I bought a 07 520D (full leather)...difference is comfort was unbelievable..
    normally I borrowed the old fella's van to do favours for a mate but after the last time I swore never again...I couldn't wait to get back into the car and swore to him that never again would I drive the van or even to ask me to.
    The difference was light years apart.

Have I read that right, we talking about comfort and your arguement is that your 520d is more comfortable then a Hi-ace?

Lol, was thinking the same thing, comfort is relative.