Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Indians boasting that they're 'not Irish'

• Registered Users Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Sure what people who live in teepees know about bricks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

There's a building company in Birmingham that is Indian owned, their slogan is

"You've tried the cowboys, now try the Indians"

totally unrelated.

• Registered Users Posts: 47 elliott550

I dunno, give em a wee call find out ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,908 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Pfft.

Potatoes > Curry

No question about that :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Looks like Thai to me.

Also ad says 'were not Irish' - I'm presuming he is now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

Pfft.

Potatoes > Curry

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

hmm, but potatoes IN curry = win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,029 ✭✭✭Wossack

but they arent irish

/shrug

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

IN 2 ALL BRICKWORK 'were not irish'

This implies they are Irish now :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭jaykay74

I'm outraged etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭happyman81

Pfft.

Potatoes > Curry

I believe the potato originated there.

A shiny penny for the first person to perform a Wiki to test this claim.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

summerskin wrote: »

True. That's a good dish.

Surely they'd be able to tell from the name on the application though? No need to explicitly say you're nationality

Can you image in an interview?

"So Mr. Patel is there anyone you can prove that you aren't Irish?"

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Rumour has it they are tanned Paddy's pulling a fast one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Yeah well.................eh..............th......they're just poo-poo heads!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

The feckin black and tans!!! Again!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,411 ✭✭✭positron

happyman81 wrote: »
    I believe the potato originated there.

Potato originated from Americas, so that would be native / american / (red?) Indians, not Indian Indians.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Damn, now I want curried potatoes.

And in other news, yes non-light-skinned-people are perfectly capable of being racist too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

elliott550 wrote: »
    Advert on gumtree Melbourne Australia for a brickie gang. Making a big show about how their not Irish (are in fact Indian) and how reliable they are...

http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/melbourne-cbd/tradesmen-labour/in-2-all-brickwork-were-not-irish-/1000767526

Bit of a liberty imo...
    Indians and Pakistanis are not to high on my scale of trust to get a job done right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Are Irish brickies in Australia really that bad? What kinda muppets are emigrating?

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭Unavailable for Comment

HELLO,im a bricklayer with a gang of 3 working for me "VERY RELIBLE" just seeking some work we cover all melb,have 15 years experience and all my work comes with a LIFE-TIME GUARANTEE,what we do=NEW HOMES,GARAGES,EXTENSIONS,FENCES,eg

I'm not sure I'd trust a brick layer who doesn't know block built fences are called walls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭bwatson

Show Time wrote: »
    Indians and Pakistanis are not to high on my scale of trust to get a job done right.

that's why dubai is falling down already to be fair. it looks grand but it was made by clueless pakistani workers with little in the way of technical knowledge or ability.

Not as a result of being pakistani of course, but because they were basically brought in by the ship load, given a hard hat and a set of plans and sent on their way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Wanted: IN 2 ALL BRICKWORK 'were not irish'
    Seems Indians can't spell either.

bwatson wrote: »
    that's why dubai is falling down already to be fair. it looks grand but it was made by clueless pakistani workers with little in the way of technical knowledge or ability.

Not as a result of being pakistani of course, but because they were basically brought in by the ship load, given a hard hat and a set of plans and sent on their way.

It is really falling down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

http://www.arabianbusiness.com/building-standards-slammed-122729.html
    Sher backed up his views by referring to how poor quality construction is exposed whenever the region suffers downpours of rain. "A friend of mine was having a shower, and as he switched the shower off, the outside wall just fell off -the wall fell off because it was a few days after the rain."

This why Irish builders are so good!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Well he is more relible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

bwatson wrote: »

I will stick with my not to expensive Eastern European handyman. A good hard working fellow from solid stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,362 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

In fairness mike the houses that went up over the last 10 years here are shoite and these are the guys gone to Australia. I wouldn't let them build a dog house let alone a real house. The workmanship is terrible, the materials are terrible, the layouts are terrible, they've filled the country with estates full of ****. It's no wonder there skills are not wanted. A baboon and a bag of coke would have done a better job than a lot of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭happyman81

A baboon with a bag of coke

Having grown up with these types, I can't tell the difference,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭BornToKill

A baboon and a bag of coke would have done a better job than a lot of them.

Or a monkey with a drink problem perhaps? The script is in the Thai language by the way so it's probably not Indians or Pakistanis advertising. Visually a lot like Sanskit though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Well goodness gracious me :eek:

(Where does it say the are Indian)

• Registered Users Posts: 562 ✭✭✭haminka

BluesBerry wrote: »
    Well goodness gracious me :eek:

(Where does it say the are Indian)

Nowhere. And the address is in Thai and means Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

In fairness mike the houses that went up over the last 10 years here are shoite and these are the guys gone to Australia. I wouldn't let them build a dog house let alone a real house.
    So you are saying that all, or at the vast majority, of house built in Ireland over the past decade are so poorly constructed that they presumable aren't fit to house dogs?
    The workmanship is terrible,
    All the workmanship in all the houses?
    the materials are terrible,
    Are you saying that the specification, certifications and supply of material used in a house, or again the vast majority as you're saying, is the trademans responsibility?
    the layouts are terrible,
    Trademen design houses, really? Which estates, I thought that was an architect job.
    they've filled the country with estates full of ****. It's no wonder there skills are not wanted. A baboon and a bag of coke would have done a better job than a lot of them.
    Where can I get one of these baboon, actually fcuk one I'll take a dozen.

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Voodoo_rasher

If it came to this, I'd trust Indian property developers over Irish property developers, ha ha.

this is the number
    0420 382 373

Whats the with international dialling codes I wonder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

dirty **** b******s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

There's a building company in Birmingham that is Indian owned, their slogan is

"You've tried the cowboys, now try the Indians"

totally unrelated.
    Oh I love it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

Re the 2010 commonwealth games.

Indians are hardly the concrete master race.

http://www.personal.psu.edu/rlc272/blogs/our_global_village/India_Bridge_Collapse_Thir_s640x403.jpg

This thread is an Epic Fail by the OP. Originally it said Indians boasting that their 'not Irish', and now we find that they weren't Indians, the link has no reference to the Irish.

Probably it was a link to a Sri Lankan builder saying they weren't Hungarian. .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

When Prince Philip was on a tour of a factory in Scotland he said their fuseboard "Looked like it was wired by an Indian".

Legendary racist.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Are Irish brickies in Australia really that bad? What kinda muppets are emigrating?

Irish brickies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,029 ✭✭✭Wossack

mandrake04 wrote: »
    Re the 2010 commonwealth games.

Indians are hardly the concrete master race.

http://www.personal.psu.edu/rlc272/blogs/our_global_village/India_Bridge_Collapse_Thir_s640x403.jpg

built by Irish lads posing as Indians afaik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,069 ✭✭✭✭neris

imagine some other nationallity other then irish was able to make a wall or use bricks. big ****ing deal. Though hes very sure of his work with his lifetime guarantee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

India are one of the 'BRIC's nations now aren't they? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Just to clarify lads is it the Thais or the Indians we're after?:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

the ones that built priory hall it would seem

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭ThinkAboutIt

They complain when people claim to be Irish.
    They complain when people claim to be not Irish.
    The Irish - They complain.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Pfft. We'd batter them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

I always associate India with a dose of the scutters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,141 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Show Time wrote: »

As far as building-work is concerned, they know what to do with the corners, but the the rest of the building is a bit of a grey area.

• Registered Users Posts: 766 ✭✭✭mkdon05

nobody hates the Irish, more than the Irish!
    - True Story