Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Volvo Ocean Race 2012

• Registered Users Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭Pen Rua

PUMA win; Camper second; Telefonica third; Groupama fourth; Abu Dhabi fifth; Sanya sixth. That's the VOR 2011-2012 over, and the last time for the Volvo Open 70 boats.

Edit: I have the livestream on, and the commentators are praising Galway non-stop. They're saying how friendly the Irish are, how interested we are in the race, how much hospitality we give. They also said it is possibly the highlight of the race.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

the silent disco was epic last night. was wedged but absolutely great craic.everyone in great form. we need more street parties like that methinks. Sharon Shannon later, should be quality!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Wolverine359

Just wondering what time the air display is on?

Now. The first planes just went by. According to the Volvo Ocean Race Galway page, the next planes are due over Galway at 15.15.

14.50 PCNs
    15.15 AW139s plus S61 Coastguard plus S92 3 Ship Formation
    15.15 Mick Liddy Display
    15.30 s92 Coastguard
    15.45-16.00 AW139 - Mick winching over the naval boats

• Registered Users Posts: 415 ✭✭shampoosuicide

hey folks, i don't fancy traipsing through 69 pages so would anyone have an up-to-date timetable for music/bands playing? the one i have found seems to be leaving stuff off, eg sharon shannon, delorentos, the stunning aren't on there?

thanks..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭whatlliwear

Are Delorentos playing??

• Registered Users Posts: 415 ✭✭shampoosuicide

Are Delorentos playing??

were, according to twitter. presume it's over now. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭beardybrewer

hey folks, i don't fancy traipsing through 69 pages so would anyone have an up-to-date timetable for music/bands playing?

Bogus Pogues are playing Global Village stage Sunday at 3pm.

• Registered Users Posts: 382 ✭✭Brad768

So many photos to sort through from today it's not funny. Shame about the weather when the race was on.
    It wasn't really an air show though was it, more of a flyby :P
    All in all I would say VOR was an excellent success and I thoroughly enjoyed every day I was out there. Kind of sad it's over to be honest :o

• Registered Users Posts: 25,966 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Brad768 wrote: »
    All in all I would say VOR was an excellent success and I thoroughly enjoyed every day I was out there. Kind of sad it's over to be honest :o

I reckon we should feck the horse races out the window, and just have a boat festival of some sort every year.

The people who come to watch boats (or to watch people watching boats :) ) are just sooo much nicer.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Amazing crowd, so friendly and good humoured . Great to see families relaxed and enjoying themselves safely well into the morning hours.
    The organisers have been praising the city almost non stop since they arrived, looks good for at least a stage stop over 2015. It will take some persuading by other ports to take the finale from us. I reckon a good Irish presence/ investment in a boat will swing the final stage for us.

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭buzz11

ED6042382B89432390779502874EE184-0000346192-0002922364-00800L-F46BBFA2734B4FFC9D0741BEEDF3C247.jpg

E0F26C624ACC491BBB8991F08A12BECA-0000346192-0002922363-00800L-6ADB742899C949DEA66FFBFB46E4F6EA.jpg

817C5920EE09411B8B86B18EDCA03DD6-0000346192-0002922362-00800L-D1D57BFC1B7D4D67AF5AB036DDD8AA79.jpg

8216EDE8FE8F4D9085D40B220D49C31D-0000346192-0002922361-00800L-578F95EA2554490188DD654F728A3335.jpg

FDA0A511481B4ED599C748862ACA8570-0000346192-0002922360-00800L-2581183F593F4827B09E6DF7C655863F.jpg

8CDCC31FB8AB4C8DB0E4A68F198FACB4-0000346192-0002922359-00800L-A793D359C48B4F12AD818932C22ADF42.jpg

3E917D39DE53404B9542B8F7817060C6-0000346192-0002922358-00800L-785DBCF68F3D47958EFBDD8945E09BCE.jpg

2B8DE94D6E33467BAD7A8F10920311A1-0000346192-0002922357-00800L-EAAE341B399E465B8DA25AA39921E882.jpg

FD07EEDB1D7A483AB84DB5A6006B61E4-0000346192-0002922356-00800L-0CDA6CADC6734DDE904A0E26F795CED0.jpg

8AAE6F0EE0D845EB8066610DA91B1C94-0000346192-0002922355-00800L-C50B423BE1DE4EA782665C6EBB5CDD16.jpg

736C96D01060436D91F9AD73201E95A8-0000346192-0002922354-00800L-4EFF47A09B9848DA939FE8D92BFF33C6.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭greeneyedspirit

What a brilliant brilliant day. Week, even - thoroughly enjoyed having the VOR in Galway again. Best. Thing. Ever.

D205EA9D96954F4395062FC91C51CA06-0000324172-0002922449-00700L-E8117BFDB96C46F4A94A29FF897D15A0.jpg

44F23A62B7D54A9A9455D5219ACBA2D8-0000324172-0002922447-00700L-D744D61198094F9581A92FACA75A614C.jpg

CFF4ED68631547FDB665EE55C0943A43-0000324172-0002922445-00700L-D00BA2A7AE8E478D9F51BE970D9EA449.jpg

C454290289D644ABB8244F3392D6719C-0000324172-0002922444-00700L-31517833F5A44805B87868AD5F005DD2.jpg

B20B337727634C82A85A1702574BAB17-0000324172-0002922443-00700L-23CC0AA9C8C24EAEAD6D09AF6D11DED0.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Were all the barriers and fences down around the docks necessary? I found they made it much harder to get around.
    And there were sooo many people. I don't understand how people can derive any enjoyment from being stuck in the middle of such a throng, good for businesses and all as it might be...

I so regret not going down today! Ah well. There's always 2015... c;

JustMary wrote: »

I reckon we should feck the horse races out the window, and just have a boat festival of some sort every year.

The people who come to watch boats (or to watch people watching boats :) ) are just sooo much nicer.
    That'd be way better than the races, imo. If there would be some festival in the docks, it would attract more people as it is much easier to access than the racetrack, for a start. Just a thought.

It appears the musicians are not happy... My friend is friends with a guitarist in a band who played the Global Village one of the days. He said that the organization was poor and he didn't know what was going on. I tweeted Daithi (O Dronai, you may remember him from the All Ireland Talent Show) asking will he be playing tomorrow (I read somewhere he will) but he tweeted back: "to be honest it doesn't look like it anymore, piss poor organisation, sound system and staff, you don't want to see me play there..." In another tweet he said: "I played last night and it was an absolute joke." Hm...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,242 ✭✭✭squonk

Anyone know who is on for the finalé gig tomorrow night? Is it on in the arena or elsewhere?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

snubbleste wrote: »
    Just popped down there. Not very exciting. Just some colourful yokes sprinting across the waves framed by heavily pregnant clouds nestling abver the mounds of Clare.

How very disparaging !

Without those 'colourful yokes' this would have been yet another miserable damp so called 'summer' week in Galway !!

Instead it was a very exciting spectacular week with an estimated 800,000 visitors enjoying the festivities.

The notion put forward by the 'moaners' that it was the weather and the Bank Holiday weekend which made the 2008-9 event a success has been firmly disproved.

I can't wait for the next time these phenomenal Volvo Ocean racing boats grace our waters !

squonk wrote: »
    Anyone know who is on for the finalé gig tomorrow night? Is it on in the arena or elsewhere?
    Keywest said they're closing the festival at 5pm tomorrow (they were on the iRadio Stage, they said that has changed). No idea what's going on.

Pen Rua wrote: »
    Keywest said they're closing the festival at 5pm tomorrow (they were on the iRadio Stage, they said that has changed). No idea what's going on.

Thanks! Wanted to catch them. It kinda sucks they haven't updated the info on the gigs page. It's €12 so I'm not expecting headline acts but I'd still like to know. Great week though!!!

Wait.. What's €12? The event in the Arena? Oh! I thought you meant in the Race Village. Sorry, I got confused. idk what's happening in the ticketed event in the Arena - sorry!

Sorry, there isn't much in the race village after 6 tomorrow. That's why I said I'd head down to the global!

Oops... Missed that part... Sorry!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Fair play to the Puma crew wearing the green!

180259_10150958717725017_1724896856_n.jpg

Galway should honour Ken Read... He was really complementary and heaping praise on Galway and Ireland during his last visit in the 2008-9 race also.

These were his comments today after winning the In-Port race...
    Ken Read - PUMA skipper

"I'm sick of you guys commentating about champagne moments on other boats, so I wanted us to have one of our own.

"To race against the best sailors in the world and come out on top is all we can ask for.

"Winning anything is fun, whether it's an in-port race or a game of checkers. All these guys on this boat did an amazing job, we just finished an around the world race, a Volvo Ocean Race.

"God bless the green shirt, we love everyone in Ireland so it's the least we can do."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Just about made it into town this afternoon. Got to spend a few hours wandering down at the docks and the swamp before Sharon Shannon. It was a good gig although I was wrecked tired and I had the hiccups which took forever to go away.

So what's on for tomorrow?

How about the VOR boats? When will they be going home and leaving our docks? Will there be a send off for them?

Will there be anything closing this event tomorrow? Any fireworks?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭inisboffin

Missed today due to a million things, town seemed to be hopping when I passed through.

It's 1 now and the drumbeats can be heard in Mincloon so things must still be hopping :p. It sounds like a DJ so I can't tell if it is Dominic St or Docks? I don't mind the drumbeats so much its just that every feckin' dog in the area is now barking and I don't have regular weekends to sleep in ::rolleyes:

Craic + no sleep I can sometimes do, but no craic and no sleep = :(

inisboffin wrote: »
    Missed today due to a million things, town seemed to be hopping when I passed through.

It's 1 now and the drumbeats can be heard in Mincloon so things must still be hopping :p. It sounds like a DJ so I can't tell if it is Dominic St or Docks? I don't mind the drumbeats so much its just that every feckin' dog in the area is now barking and I don't have regular weekends to sleep in ::rolleyes:

Craic + no sleep I can sometimes do, but no craic and no sleep = :(
    It's some party in the Global Village.

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭swiftman

I so regret not going down today! Ah well. There's always 2015... c;

That'd be way better than the races, imo. If there would be some festival in the docks, it would attract more people as it is much easier to access than the racetrack, for a start. Just a thought.

It appears the musicians are not happy... My friend is friends with a guitarist in a band who played the Global Village one of the days. He said that the organization was poor and he didn't know what was going on. I tweeted Daithi (O Dronai, you may remember him from the All Ireland Talent Show) asking will he be playing tomorrow (I read somewhere he will) but he tweeted back: "to be honest it doesn't look like it anymore, piss poor organisation, sound system and staff, you don't want to see me play there..." In another tweet he said: "I played last night and it was an absolute joke." Hm...

what a little prima donna. ok if he wasnt treated right he should of had a quite word or refused to do it. im sure he is getting a few euro for it. slagging of people on twitter is not the best thing to do when you will be looking for work in the city again. imagine if one of us was thinking of getting him to our pub and at back of our mind thinking, if his drink isnt cold enough he will start giving out on twitter.

suck it up boy, your not as good as you think you are. stick to the pubs and keep you mouth shut.

Right. Anyone who has to work on a Sunday mornigh has every right to sleep it in. Volvo are paying apparently.
    :(

Edit: Timestamp is 2.45 in case that comes up in defense court your honour

swiftman wrote: »
    pre madonna

Excellent malapropism!