Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I can haz general discussion? 2!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

Moderating on my phone like a boss

• Registered Users Posts: 5,624 ✭✭✭TheBody

Thwip! wrote: »
    Moderating on my phone like a boss

BANNED

• Registered Users Posts: 18,139 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Can I recommend the campus stop adding new buildings and fix the damned computer service on campus and off, trying to access anything is worse than dial up era porn access.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭aaabbbb

Can I recommend the campus stop adding new buildings and fix the damned computer service on campus and off, trying to access anything is worse than dial up era porn access.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

TheBody wrote: »
    BANNED

Well aren't you brave?

aaabbbb wrote: »

Better break out the Dutch Gold for that one, I am now going into my fortress of solitude(aka the jaks) to think on how I can gain access to my student web service.

Mines working tho veeeerrrryyyyyy sloooooowwwwlllyyyyy like a tortise could walk quicker !

I have it open now but I don't want to look until my sister leaves the room :o

• Registered Users Posts: 5,624 ✭✭✭TheBody

Thwip! wrote: »
    Well aren't you brave?

I'm sorry!!

Newborn-Baby-Very-Sad-1024x768.jpg

Mines working tho veeeerrrryyyyyy sloooooowwwwlllyyyyy like a tortise could walk quicker !

I have it open now but I don't want to look until my sister leaves the room :o

Hurry up then, only one tortured soul is allowed on the server at any given time. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭upinthesky

Question

if you get 42% in first semester and 23% in second semester and your not keeping the subject on, whats the lee way on the second semester result i needed 25% right?

Hate the subject

Hurry up then, only one tortured soul is allowed on the server at any given time. :P

My sister still hasnt left :( I dont want to tell her either 'cos then then shell want to know :L

Fcuk it I am off to watch more Tony Soprano, good luck one and all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

In 4 days the CAO change of mind ends. Still pretty sure I've made the right decision picking Maynooth but jaysus the lack of decent room's for a price I can afford is annoying.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,941 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I've passed, I think. The Student Web Services site tells me I've got ~550pts and a pass grade from this year, is there any reason to still be worried?

Congrats on the pass your holiness, now flee before they change their minds. :pac:

I am changing my name to Captain Hindsight, 34% and 35% damn it all I could have compensated if I had done my continuous assessments, all well. Always Look on the Bright Side of Life...

How do we know if we passed continues assessment? would it say if ye hadn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

No need to worry, that's a 2.2, through to the next year.

mickstupp wrote: »
    No need to worry, that's a 2.2, through to the next year.

Oh thank fuck. I was worried that it was something like the average of your modules in one subject for passing-by-compensation, e.g. the average of two Maths modules - I probably would have been screwed in that case.

Seaneh wrote: »
    In 4 days the CAO change of mind ends. Still pretty sure I've made the right decision picking Maynooth but jaysus the lack of decent room's for a price I can afford is annoying.

Getting any sort of accommodation here is worse than the hunger games. Even cardboard boxes in Tesco are scarce :pac:

:'(

Even for a 30 year old mature student (well, I'll be 30 in August)?

That's pants.

:'(

Even for a 30 year old mature student (well, I'll be 30 in August)?

That's pants.

You could well end up in Lucan if you're really unlucky ! Theres an incredible housing shortage here.

Balls to that.

I'm changing my first preference to UCC :pac:

Balls to that.

I'm changing my first preference to UCC :pac:

No houses but the craic is mighty !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭DylanII

Just got my results... I was shocked to say the least I got an average of 54%. I failed one and missed one exam in each semester. First one I missed as I took down the time table wrong and the second one I got extremely I'll during an exam.

So unless I get an average of 76% in my repeats I'm kinda stuck with a 2:2. Slightly devastation but I still have my two year masters... Hopefully the result in that is a lot more important :/

What happens if you can't make the department consultation day, will they have another day to look at scripts, surly they cant be leaving it at just the one?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

lisar816 wrote: »
    What happens if you can't make the department consultation day, will they have another day to look at scripts, surly they cant be leaving it at just the one?
    They leave it at one day for the sake of convenience, everyone go down at the same time. However, they're your scripts, if you can't make it, mail the department secretary to make an appointment to view your scripts some other time. If they give you crap about it, even refuse, go talk to the examinations office. They're yours and you're entitled to see them and find out where you lost marks and why.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

Please only advertise any grinds services in the Grinds / Study / Tuition thred. Nowhere else.

Out of curiosity, how many potential "marks" are there when you're looking at your results on the Student Web Services site? I got ~720 last year and ~550 this year, I'd hazard a guess that it's out of 1,000.

• Registered Users Posts: 41 Ravanelli

Had a bit of a disaster of a final year, one question though (if anyone could please give me a hand), I did a double-hons, my history worked out at 60%-62%-63% and for the final one I only got 12% because I didn't get most of the C.A in.

Now I know about the 15 credits I can use for an honours award but I'd really be hoping to keep them for my other subject.

So if I repeat that history module in Autumn without honours what will the mark be capped at? 40%-50%? I read that 30% of the 2nd year mark can be used if your result falls below the 2nd year mark.

So say I have 60-62-63-40 (if that's the cap) it averages off at 56%. I averaged 62% in history last year, so how would 30% of that come into play regarding the 56%? :(