Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I can haz general discussion? 2!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭degausserxo

Just accepted my place in Maynooth in September, yeow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

WELCOME, we would like to apologise in advance for your future corruption

• Registered Users Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭aaabbbb

Welcome to HELL Paradise ;) !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Doctor Strange

Enjoy your stay degausserxo (you can never leave)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

One of us...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭upinthesky

ok posted this in another thread but since most of you have probably been through this process you might be able to help.

On the cao offer notice it has my score of 888 anyone know what this means?

I should add its for level 8 general science in nuim

lisar816 wrote: »
    ok posted this in another thread but since most of you have probably been through this process you might be able to help.

On the cao offer notice it has my score of 888 anyone know what this means?

I should add its for level 8 general science in nuim

I think the high scores just mean you fulfill all requirements.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

Me, being a complete moron, thought it meant she did about three times better than me in the Leaving :o

• Registered Users Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

Lovely weather out in Maynooth, had a nice peaceful walk around the South Campus.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,989 ✭✭✭PictureFrame

Rearing to get back into NUI Maynooth and 2nd Psychology. Bored off my brains at home with nothing to do except reading articles on Psychology. Clearly I need to be inoculated.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Lads. It's too hot. I'm just not able.

banquo wrote: »
    Lads. It's too hot. I'm just not able.

Imagine the reading room this weather.. CHRIST

9th circle of Hell springs to mind

• Registered Users Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

Ah here. I for one refuse to forget or forgive the MONTHS of cold from November to May. I hope this heat and blue sky goodness continue for a looooooooooooooooooong time. I was able to have breakfast outside in the sun, wearing only a t-shirt and shorts! Not a scarf, gloves and jacket, plus hoodie and jumper underneath. THIS IS GREAT!

Also... There are 11 wonderful weeks ahead of us with no classes and no assignments. Far as I'm concerned, if you're bored, you're doing it wrong.

mickstupp wrote: »
    Also... There are 11 wonderful weeks ahead of us with no classes and no assignments. Far as I'm concerned, if you're bored, you're doing it wrong.

I live in a village with no public transport, people my age around and i'm a 40 minute drive to the nearest town. PLUS I can't drive or get work so I have no money to do anything OR even pay a train into a town/city.

:(

It's not easy being a culchie

• Registered Users Posts: 587 ✭✭✭Planemo

For anyone repeating MT101S or MT102S I put up the 2012 repeat papers:
    MT101S
    MT102S Q1 and Q2
    MT102S Q3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

Kiwi_knock wrote: »
    Lovely weather out in Maynooth, had a nice peaceful walk around the South Campus.
    South Campus is always a beautiful place to walk in weather like this

• Registered Users Posts: 10,776 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Thwip! wrote: »
    South Campus is always a beautiful place to walk in weather like this

A snowy south campus is majestic.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Ms. Koi

It's too hot cos I'm stuck inside writing my thesis!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

kellief wrote: »
    It's too hot cos I'm stuck inside writing my thesis!

Nah, it's too hot cos it's half past midnight. Sweltering during the day is grand, sweltering in bed while trying to sleep is not so great. I'm out from under the covers and it's still keeping me awake!

Any one any info on first year science maths, maybe a first semester exam paper I could have a look at? Its the subject I struggle most with and would like to make a start on some study....

lisar816 wrote: »
    Any one any info on first year science maths, maybe a first semester exam paper I could have a look at? Its the subject I struggle most with and would like to make a start on some study....

Go here

And enter MT101S, MT111S, MT102S and MT122S in the module code area (separate searches for each module obviously) :)

EDIT: As for the course itself, it can be tough, but if you ordinary level leaving cert maths, you should be okay.

Go here

And enter MT101S, MT111S, MT102S and MT122S in the module code area (separate searches for each module obviously) :)

EDIT: As for the course itself, it can be tough, but if you ordinary level leaving cert maths, you should be okay.
    That is a huge help thank you so much....

• Registered Users Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    A snowy south campus is majestic.

Even the North Campus was amazing during the big snowfall back in 2010....however trying to walk up the hill by Manor Mills when it was covered in ice was not so amazing.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Or the short steep hill from the Train Station car park up on to Bond Bridge...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭How so Joe

banquo wrote: »
    Or the short steep hill from the Train Station car park up on to Bond Bridge...

Or the bridge between the north and south campus.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

How so Joe wrote: »
    Or the bridge between the north and south campus.

Can only speak for that one year but the bridge was always well gritted.

Turtyturd wrote: »

I'm always so mystified when I hear people talking about this bridge, wish I had seen it, I can't picture it at all! Might go google it now actually! :P

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

Tell that to the number of people I know who suffered from broken bones and other injuries from that Bridge! I was always petrified walking over it. It was the only time I'd ever slow down from my usual fast walk (and normally extra fast because I was probably late! )

• Registered Users Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭How so Joe

The bridge was gritted, but the metal strips were lethal.It necessitated looking very carefully where you put your feet!