Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What happened to Breakfast Rolls?

• 30-03-2012 11:33pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭

Srsly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,555 ✭✭✭Sar_Bear

Nothing!

They are still the worlds greatest food item when hungover or after a particularly tough night shift :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

ah helllllllooooooooooo, recession much? We can't be affording such fancy frivolities :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

What about them?

I always get a savage one in Twomeys Supervalue, Deansgrange, Dublin.

Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

I never see people eating them anymore. They are like those Fat Frog ice cream bars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Rolli

Augmerson wrote: »
    Srsly?

Jambons were introduced?

Rolli wrote: »
    Jambons were introduced?

Jambons suck ass and will never measure up to the greatness of the jumbo breakfast roll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭0mega

Builders had too many breakfast roll induced heart attacks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Jambons were introduced?

Sounds French.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Ever since deli's start using the crap cheap type of sausages and rashers they went down the drain! Ya can't beat a good freshly made brekkie roll with a lovely gooey egg on top of it. Cafe Solo in Killiney is great for them can't think of many others though. Heart clogging bliss:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Statoil in Bohermore, Galway

Anything you want, all cooked fresh

One roll would feed two good men

mr.jingle wrote: »
    Ever since deli's start using the crap cheap type of sausages and rashers they went down the drain! Ya can't beat a good freshly made brekkie roll with a lovely gooey egg on top of it. Cafe Solo in Killiney is great for them can't think of many others though. Heart clogging bliss:D

Give me that. Right.Now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Night_Prowler

the construction industry collasped and ye ole supply and demand rules kicked in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

well with the lack of builders the breakfast role died it was an item that was built on the keltic kitten :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Kurz

She always asks if you want butter or brown sauce. I always her I want both, then she looks at me as if I'm chancing my arm.

I don't get it, brown sauce isn't an alternative to butter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

All those jelly belly builders have no money to buy them anymore so they just spend there time in the mornings jogging now to try and work off the years of excess. It's probably saving the health service a fortune.

Sar_Bear wrote: »
    Jambons suck ass and will never measure up to the greatness of the jumbo breakfast roll

I beg to differ, good sir

Well then, we shall agree to disagree.

But I'm right.

• Registered Users Posts: 660 ✭✭✭jupiterjack

i didnt think anything had happened to them, i had one this morning..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Kurz wrote: »
    She always asks if you want butter or brown sauce.

Durty.

• Registered Users Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Ms. Pingui

People have to eat their breakfast at home these days cos they're poor! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Jambons were introduced?
    A breakfast roll and a jambon = heaven, when you're hungover:)

Podge2k7 wrote: »
    A breakfast roll and a jambon 4 jambons = heaven, when you're hungover:)

FYP :)

This is only half the solution

Add two good bottles of lucozade and now you're in heaven

• Registered Users Posts: 406 ✭✭The Big Fella

The lunch of a working builder, guess the recession has a knock on effect.:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭ShaneMc2012

This song happened... Put me off 'em for life

• Registered Users Posts: 770 ✭✭✭sgb

Brown sauce or red sauce that's the main ingredient

Brown sauce is the work of the devil

Instead you need Colemans English mustard, proper old skool mustard :cool:
    None of piss weak American mustard I tell ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,454 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

On the day of the Wales match, my brother had one and I had two!! Didn't make it to Lansdowne as I had to divert to the cardiac care unit with him; guess that's the end of the breakfast rolls.

(just in case he's reading this, have posted in AH spirit; there was no connection between his diet and cardiac issues.)

FYP :)
    I'd love 4 jambons with my brekkie roll, but considering they're at least 2 quid each, thats one expensive cunt of a breakfast :)
    mikemac1 wrote: »
    This is only half the solution

Add two good bottles of lucozade and now you're in heaven

Aye, the lucozade is essential, its like a golden fountain spilling in your mouth when you have a hangover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭tvercetti

Brown sauce is the work of the devil

Instead you need Colemans English mustard, proper old skool mustard :cool:
    None of piss weak American mustard I tell ya

Why destroy something Iconicly Irish with that english filth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

Snowie wrote: »
    the breakfast role died it was an item that was built on the keltic kitten :)
    Load of balls, i was killing myself on these long before any boom or bust..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Pah, commoner... reminds me, must get a jambon when I'm picking up my Latte tomorrow, pleasant start to the day

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Must remember this, i was stuck walking all over Galway city one morning and none of them had all the ingredients of a breakfast roll, most had no pudding.

Jambons suck ass
    Treason!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Supermax do them in Heuston Station along with a coffee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

Jambons were introduced?
    Oh just yummmmmmm....anyone know where I can get one now in Cork:o

Or heart attack:eek:

booboo88 wrote: »
    Or heart attack:eek:
    Any sort of attack is worth it bud :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Jammy Donut

This song happened... Put me off 'em for life

Price of petrol at .27 :eek:

But yeah, Can't beat a lovely buttery soft bready roll stuffed with essentially a full breakfest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Squ wrote: »
    Load of balls, i was killing myself on these long before any boom or bust..

i never said there went around i would say they hit there peek when ;lads went to the local spar got, 10ies of a breakie role a hotel of coke packet of crisps and the sun... :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 33 Heather21

Oh, I'd love one right now. 2 Rashers, Sausages and brown sauce. Yum!!!

Heather21 wrote: »

Brown sauce, you crazy?

Gorgeous. Chef Brown Sauce. Give it a try next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Arnold Layne

Thats not a breakfast roll, its a nightime snack.

Where's the 2 eggs and the black and white puddings?

Gorgeous. Chef Brown Sauce. Give it a try next time.

No, I'd rather lick the pavement.

Nah. A bit much for me. Not gone on the eggs in it. Lashings of butter on the roll and lashings of Chef Brown Sauce. Feck ye. I'm starving now. Going out to root in the fridge. Might have to settle for toast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

What would David McWilliams say???

Something he would later contradict and deny saying no doubt...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 279 ✭✭thomur

The standard of breakfast rolls has gone down badly. On many occasions I have considered ringing Joe Duffy. Cant get a decent egg on them anymore. Stuff them full of hash browns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Haven't had one in a while now i think about it..

• Registered Users Posts: 635 ✭✭✭SEANoftheDEAD

There's a Statoil in Galway?

Is it not a Topaz? Or is Galway really that fair behind the rest of the country ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 75 ✭✭Toothpaste89

Two sausages, two rashers a hash brown and runny egg yummmmmmmmmmm and a can of diet coke :P