Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Living alone vs the alternative

• 31-03-2012 1:37am
    Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭

Kind of an interesting piece on the increasing numbers of people who are choosing to live alone:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2012/mar/30/the-rise-of-solo-living

I've both lived with people and alone (admittedly only for a short period) and I can see the attraction and downsides of both. I enjoyed living on my own for a few months last year, but I found it lonely after a spell...I can't see myself making a habit of it anyway.

What do the lovely people of AH think? Do you live with someone, but would prefer to be alone? Does the thought of being on your own long-term cause you untold psychic distress? Or do you live alone, like your own space and would like to keep it that way? Would you like me to stop asking personal questions?

Anyway, what say you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,012 ✭✭✭uch

I'll have the alternative please

21/25

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I like living on my own unless they're family or I'm ****in them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    I like living on my own unless they're family or I'm ****in them.

You **** your family?

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

Five posts in and we're talking about incest already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Does the thought of being on your own long-term cause you untold psychic distress?

asked "Tesco Massacre"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,346 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Depends on whether you have enough money to afford prostitutes or have to make do with the wife...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,666 ✭✭✭policarp

Bachelor or Former Taoiseach. . .

Your choice. . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I'm here for the incestuous gang bang.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Bachelors or Heinz?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Five posts in and we're talking about incest already.
    "or" would be an important word in that statement. But lol anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,012 ✭✭✭uch

Beans or up the Gicker? mmm......
    I'll take a portion of beans please

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Here's the real fact of living on your own.

You need your own privacy at times(yes) but having that day in day out without any friends or family visiting can damage you long term. Think of it like an elderly person whose only visit is home help once a week or talking to the cat or dog on a regular basis, you'd crack up.

Humans need each other company now and then, its human nature ;):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

I'd only be worried about living alone when pushing 50.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 174 ✭✭troposphere

Lived alone before and hated it. Any of the older people I know who live alone like to hit the bottle probably from the boredom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Its said we do things we wish others would do. I live alone and if i do live with someone else i really dont want to do so because i need a 'crutch'. (or at least not to any great extent) i dont necessarily pride myself on that fact but what's very important to me is that whoever i might live with doesnt treat me as a crutch to any great extent.. And hence get trapped in a relationship thats more fear based than anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

If you can afford it, living alone is awesome, I cant anymore so am moving in with friends, but when I can I'll do it again, its great having your own space

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Nobody likes living with strangers, there's nothing worse than sharing a gaff with a couple of weird beards who don't talk and get drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Sandwlch

Nobody likes living with strangers, there's nothing worse than sharing a gaff with a couple of weird beards who don't talk and get drunk.
    So you do like to live with wierd beards that you know, who talk, and do get drunk ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Good article.

I've yet to experience living alone yet although I really want to. I'm leaving uni in a couple of months and have experienced the living with friends thing. I really want to find a job, get my own place and make my own way in the world.

I've had good housemates and I've enjoyed it but I'm not sure I want to do it again. I feel limited living with other people. I think if you're happy with your housemates, you're less likely to socialise outside of your group, less likely to go out because your friends are already at home. I find it sometimes quite isolating if your friends are in the living room and if you don't want to join them you feel trapped in your own house which I don't really like because if you leave the house you end up feeling obliged to say where you're going and inviting them along.

I feel I'm done living with friends. I've enjoyed it but when I have a full time job I think I'll enjoy it less so. I know someone who's 29 and still doing the same thing I'm doing. Living in a house of 4/5 people and still living like students. The things he complains about, like someone leaving the heating one etc., is something I don't really want to be complaining about in 7 years time. The next time I'd like to live with someone is hopefully going to be my future wife.

I think living on your own arguably makes you socialise more because you have to make more of an effort. (Alternatively you could become a hermit but I'd want to avoid that if I can!) I have a relation who has a flat in London and just comes and goes as she pleases and say she's barely in. She's out at work then always off socialising in the evening. That's the life I'd like to experience for a bit. I can get a place. Make the place my own. Decorate, furnish it however I like. Being fully independent so to speak. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Depends on the type of person you are. I've lived with people and alone. Living with a good friend can be epic, especially if ye have the same interests and sense of humour. On the flip side, living with someone who's a bore/completely different would clash and cause problems.

Living with a partner will give you a true understanding of your relationship and will either solidify or end the relationship.

I prefer living alone, but only barely. And i do alot of online gaming with friends so it's technically not alone at times.

Love being able to walk around in the nip when i want, without having to worry about another restraining order. :pac:

Also, you never really know someone until you live with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Bachelors or Heinz?

Beanz meanz Heinz. Although I am partial to Bachelors also.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭chrismon

Cooking for one is boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I live alone and love it. I've shared with some complete weirdos and would never rent a room out for fear I'd get another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

If I could afford it I would live on my own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 517 ✭✭✭batm!ke

I lived with 5 people before, I would have been someone who enjoyed my own space but you get used to it. I knew them all so it helped. After 2 years myself and the lad who got on the best went and got our own place for 3 years and then I met the missus and living with her now. Now THAT takes getting used to! A lot different from living with a mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Born to Die

I have lived alone for nearly 20 years now, I love it.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 Jacster

Living abroad and dont really know many people. Girlfirend and I moved in together but it didnt work out. Splitting up and shes moving out in a few weeks leaving me living alone in the gaff.
    First of all paying double rent will be an absolute slayer.
    Secondly and certaintly worse, living alone in a foreign place will be rough.
    Think ill take a hit, break the contract and move bank into shared accomodation.
    Its better to whinge about housemates and have something to talk about than staring at four walls wondering how the hell youd ended up here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Mr.Biscuits

Nelson Mandela lived alone for years and was only when he started living with his mrs again that he cracked up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Meh. I live alone and I find it ok. I'm not sure I could go back to rows with flatmates about whose turn it is to buy toilet paper.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

I feel like I live alone! I have one housemate but we hardly see much of each other (although I do hear him constantly hacking up phlegm, I'm worried he's going to drop dead and then I'll have to pay the full rent). Basically we have completely different schedules and I work at home so I'm alone most of the time.

Friend of mine's moving to Dusseldorf soon though, and she's leaving me her apartment. Dirt cheap studio flat with a balcony. Ironically I'll probably be seeing people more because one of my other good friends lives in the same building, but it will be nice to have my own place and if I don't want anyone to bother me I can just pretend I'm not home.

I really miss living with friends. Spent two years in Dublin doing it and when I first came to Germany I crashed with another guy I knew for a few weeks. I never want to live with strangers again though. Either friends or on my own.

I can't wait until I can walk around the place naked though...

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

I think living on your own arguably makes you socialise more because you have to make more of an effort. (Alternatively you could become a hermit but I'd want to avoid that if I can!) I have a relation who has a flat in London and just comes and goes as she pleases and say she's barely in. She's out at work then always off socialising in the evening. That's the life I'd like to experience for a bit. I can get a place. Make the place my own. Decorate, furnish it however I like. Being fully independent so to speak. :cool:

That's a good point actually.

You do have to put yourself out a bit more if you're on your own and don't have friends close by. But it's a good thing in many ways.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

I seem to need a certain amount of contact with people and i wonder why ? An emptiness ...that's in all humanity .A man said years ago that he did'nt mind being alone as long as he had a good book to read......that's not truly being 'alone' i think .Simulated presences .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

chin_grin wrote: »
    You **** your family?

Typical crude AH response. :mad:

We make love. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

There is a big difference between been alone and been lonely and while I don't live alone and haven't done so for many years ,I also like having time and space to myself ,as opposed to having somebody around 24/7 and can easy shut myself off for a few days ( if the mood takes) but with family and friends ,one is never alone so it's all about getting the balance right for me .

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,817 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

When I can Afford to move,I'll definitely be living on my own

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

One other person, who's independent, is the ideal IMO. I wouldn't like there to be nobody there at all ever, but I like it a lot of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,532 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

My housemates all cleared out one year for the Easter holidays (Student town).
    I had no reason to leave the house as I had work to catch up on and there was nobody left in town. Didn't like it one bit.
    Even when all our annoying habits clash, I still prefer having people in the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Kiera wrote: »
    I live alone and love it. I've shared with some complete weirdos and would never rent a room out for fear I'd get another.

Are you sure they didn't think you were the mad one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭boomtown123

I would prefer to live alone! My housemates are horrible :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Its alright I have my 24 cats and 10 dogs to keep me company.

By the wai...decomposed bodies don't count as company :pac:

/retch... opens window for some fresh air

Latchy wrote: »

I have a feeling you are not joking.

/calls Gardaí

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Latchy wrote: »

How about my friend that are handcuffed and locked in the basement.

gurramok wrote: »
    Here's the real fact of living on your own.

You need your own privacy at times(yes) but having that day in day out without any friends or family visiting can damage you long term. Think of it like an elderly person whose only visit is home help once a week or talking to the cat or dog on a regular basis, you'd crack up.
    That's not "the real fact of living on your own" - it's only the case if you can't leave your home and nobody visits you. What about those who are living alone and head off to meet people/have people visit them in the evenings/at weekends?
    amacachi wrote: »
    I'd only be worried about living alone when pushing 50.
    Why that age?
    Jacster wrote: »
    Living abroad and dont really know many people. Girlfirend and I moved in together but it didnt work out. Splitting up and shes moving out in a few weeks leaving me living alone in the gaff.
    First of all paying double rent will be an absolute slayer.
    Secondly and certaintly worse, living alone in a foreign place will be rough.
    Think ill take a hit, break the contract and move bank into shared accomodation.
    Its better to whinge about housemates and have something to talk about than staring at four walls wondering how the hell youd ended up here.
    Aw that sucks - certainly crappy circumstances can affect your perspective on something like living arrangements. Yeah, go for it - find a house-share. Good luck!

44leto wrote: »

Fcuk all these calls

/ emails thread link to Garda HQ

I have a feeling you are not joking.

/calls Gardaí
    Well if they are looking for an old woman who died ... er ..peacfully in her sleep , they won't find her here .

/sprays last of arosol can around room
    If they are smokers then sorry ... No

The one you make rub in the lotion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I live with housemates but we're not really friends and we never hang out together and all just stay to ourselves so its kinda like living alone except when they are loud or hogging the bathroom/kitchen/washing machine. Def the cheapest option though!

Would prefer to live alone or with housemates I was friends with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Elvis_Presley

They say a picture says a thousand words. I'll let you guess what my answer to this question is.

Third one says it all. I cleaned everywhere about 4 days ago.