Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Household Charge Mega-Thread [Part 2] *Poll Reset*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

gerryo777 wrote: »
    He doesn't pay any, he only drives classics..

I know. Motor tax is not very equitable anyway, one person driving half a km to the shop once a week pays the same motor tax as a 1000 km a week driver, so id be surprised he would pay it anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭gerryo777

robbie7730 wrote: »
    I know. Motor tax is not very equitable anyway, so id be surprised he would pay it anyway.

Do you think this sounds like someone trying to avoid taxes?

alastair

Adverts | Friends
    Newly imported small van - DOE/NCT loophole
    I've just brought in a Nissan S-Cargo from the UK and will be VRT'ing it once the V5 arrives from Swansea.

It's a category B commercial as far as the VRT are concerned, below the 2 cubic metres cutoff for category C, but factory built without rear seatbelt posts, and, in this case rear porthole windows. 1500 engine.

Now, I'm curious about where to proceed from there. There's an advantage to taxing it privately, thus avoiding DOE testing, and because it's a van, it doesn't need to do the NCT either. I've read that previous S-Cargo imports fell into this loophole (along with a few small car-derived vans), and obviously the facility to avoid NCT tests would be a welcome one.

Can anyone who's been through these hoops let me know how they went about ensuring they fell between the two camps?

cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

alastair

Adverts | Friends

Do you really think its appropriate to be posting someones commercial business for use as some possible smear?

alastair

Adverts | Friends
    Newly imported small van - DOE/NCT loophole
    I've just brought in a Nissan S-Cargo from the UK and will be VRT'ing it once the V5 arrives from Swansea.

It's a category B commercial as far as the VRT are concerned, below the 2 cubic metres cutoff for category C, but factory built without rear seatbelt posts, and, in this case rear porthole windows. 1500 engine.

Now, I'm curious about where to proceed from there. There's an advantage to taxing it privately, thus avoiding DOE testing, and because it's a van, it doesn't need to do the NCT either. I've read that previous S-Cargo imports fell into this loophole (along with a few small car-derived vans), and obviously the facility to avoid NCT tests would be a welcome one.

Can anyone who's been through these hoops let me know how they went about ensuring they fell between the two camps?

cheers.

Some buachaill alright.

dvpower wrote: »
    Do you really think its appropriate to be posting someones commercial business from an other website for use as some possible smear?

Its not from another website.

Do you really think its appropriate to be posting someones commercial business from an other website for use as some possible smear?

From this website.
    Just pointing out the hypocrisy!

Its not from another website.
    Do you think its appropriate to be trying to smear an individual like this?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

Do you really think its appropriate to be posting someones commercial business for use as some possible smear?

If its to show the two faces of the poster then its valid!
    Has all the right makings of a politician...

Do you think it's appropriate for him to call us tax evaders when he does the same thing himself?

Go on dv, report me to dr.bolloko.
    I could do with a break.

Do you think it's appropriate for him to call us tax evaders when he does the same thing himself?
    If you haven't paid the HHC and you are liable then you are a tax evader. That is a simple fact that can stand on its own.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭Vizzy

Did he (alistair) or did he not post the question?

Even if he did tax avoidance is not illegal.
    Tax evasion is illegal.

Fair play to him,he probably thinks that the NCT or DOE tests are unfair and hence shouldn't be paid.

If you haven't paid the HHC and you are liable then you are a tax evader. That is a simple fact that can stand on its own.

Do you not want to answer the question I asked you? Post 2410

In actual fact, i wouldnt try to smear him, or like to see him banned etc. But i think he is fair game for posts he has previously posted on this site, to do with avoiding taxes. If he did nothing wrong, which he probably didnt in legal terms, where is the smearing?

I could do with a break.
    Not my style gerry.
    It takes a special kind of individual to trawl through 3 years of posts to try and find any little kernel to use to try and smear someone. Well done you.

In actual fact, i wouldnt try to smear him, or like to see him banned etc. But i think he is fair game for posts he has previously posted on this site, to do with avoiding taxes. If he did nothing wrong, which he probably didnt in legal terms, where is the smearing?

If it's a smear then he did it himself.
    I only re-posted something he put out there.

Not my style gerry.
    It takes a special kind of individual to trawl through 3 years of posts to try and find any little kernel to use to try and smear someone. Well done you.

I don't know, that little kernel and his record on the poll tax says a lot about the chap.

If he did nothing wrong, which he probably didnt in legal terms, where is the smearing?

You clearly don't understand what the term 'smear' means.

If it's a smear then he did it himself.
    I only re-posted something he put out there.

I know, thats why i say its fair game. I think we all have to accept stuff we post is fair game to be brought up.

I don't know, that little kernel and his record on the poll tax says a lot about the chap.
    Attack the poster, not the post. That's how you work it.

Calling people tax evaders on a public forum is fairly bad too. No?

Are you a tax evader?

Now now, dont start to sound like him as well now with that rubbish.

Are you a tax evader?

Is alastair?

How is that relevant? You complained at me labeling people who are evading the HHC as tax evaders, and I'm asking if you are currently are a tax evader. What does some other poster have to do with that?

I could do with a break.

Maybe alastair will. Alastair is an anagram of rat alias:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Wild Bill

Billy's gone a good few posts now without mentioning the Nazis.

He deserves all our support as he closes in on double figures.

We're all rooting for you Bill, you can do it!

Apologies.

The contention by supporters of the current Regime is that because the current Regime was "democratically elected" that therefore it's edicts have democratic legitimacy.

I cite the Nazis as proof that such an argument is manifestly wrong.

Witless insults won't change that reality :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Wild Bill

Attack the poster, not the post. That's how you work it.

Attempting irony DV?

Don't - If you don't get it, it can't be explained. :rolleyes:

How is that relevant? You complained at me labeling people who are evading the HHC as tax evaders, and I'm asking if you are currently are a tax evader. What does some other poster have to do with that?

I see myself as a protester, not a tax evader.

I pay every other tax I'm due to pay in this country except this one.

Do you not think calling someone on here a tax evader is a smear?

An answer would do, it's a simple question. Don't come back with 3 more questions. A straight answer will suffice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

Unbelievable that this thread is still going strong same people arguing all the time. Are ye on here 24/7 talking about the household charge surely you got better things to be doing especially over the long weekend!