Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Whoops! NI Priest shows Gay Porn to Parents

• 02-04-2012 9:27pm
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭

A priest in County Tyrone is under investigation following an incident where he was about to start a PowerPoint presentation to the parents of children due to shortly take their First Communion.

However, when he inserted his USB stick into the computer, a series of hardcore gay pornographic images was shown to the group amongst whom was an 8 year old child.

Mortifying!:eek::(

Article here:
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-17582542

Have any boardsies accidentally emailed or shown porn that they had stored on their USB sticks/computers to to others? And if so...what happened?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

I did. It wasnt accidental though. It wasnt gay porn either

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

JupiterKid wrote: »
    a series of hardcore gay pornographic images was shown to the group which also included an 8 year old child.
    It was funny right up until this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

A priest in County Tyrone is under investigation following an incident where he was about to start a PowerPoint presentation to the parents of children due to shortly take their First Communion.

However, when he inserted his USB stick into the computer, a series of hardcore gay pornographic images was shown to the group which also included an 8 year old child.

Mortifying!:eek::(

Article here:
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-17582542

Have any boardsies accidentally emailed or shown porn that they had stored on their USB sticks/computers to to others? And if so...what happened?

Yes a female friend saw my teenage porn collection on my pc :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Gay porn is not the issue here. It's the child pornography.

Bring back enclosed orders.

*edit* looks only like regular old embarrassing gay porn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Twenty minutes later he returned, he continued with the meeting and wrapped up by saying that the children get lots of money for their Holy Communion and should consider giving some of it to the church.

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i wonder what his excuse will be??

"those photos were just resting in my stick"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

lol

Well, subscription sites cost money.

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    also included an 8 year old child.

Who else read this as the porn was of an eight year old child? I think the op means the group who saw the porn included an eight year old!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,232 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Who keeps porn on a usb?

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

^^^^^^^^^^^^

a priest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭Paulie Gualtieri

had some bird in the raw as my desktop background , the girlfriend wasnt too impressed when she saw it .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭seantorious

Parents said 16 indecent images of men were displayed.

Seems like an oddly specific detail to remember.

"They were 4x4 naked men on the screen".

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Just to clarify - the group of parents that the priest inadventently showed the hardcore gay porn images to included the child - NOT that the porn images contained one of a child.

Lesson - always label and use a separate USB data stick for your porn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

What an eejit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

he probably showed them those picture of the poor garda getting mounted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Happened me with a few lads I didnt know very well looking over my shoulder in work. Thing is the memory stick wasn't mine and I was totally unaware of the pics but of course nobody believed that, even though I showed them the other guy had his CV and stuff on it too.

Pics were tame enough, thank fcuk. No goatse pics or anything like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,883 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

I always keep my porn on a usb stick. Makes it much easier to watch it in the library.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭MetalDog

fryup wrote: »
    i wonder what his excuse will be??

"those photos were just resting in my stick"

The USB stick in question has been transferred to another Parish . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,139 ✭✭✭flanzer

Shocking.... A gay priest??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

flanzer wrote: »
    Shocking.... A gay priest??

That would be an ecumenical matter.

after showing the porn the priest broke into song....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

Funny I was just thinking earlier if the majority of priests would prefer to be married. It must be a terribly emotionally lonely life

They really should be allowed to marry. I cant think of one good reason why they shouldnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

He should have a potato shoved up his bum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

People forcing them to be priests?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

steddyeddy wrote: »
    They really should be allowed to marry. I cant think of one good reason why they shouldnt.

Because the church don't want the wimmin gaining access to church properties in the event of a divorce.
    And they say that the priest would not be as dedicated to his parishioners if he had a wife and family - if the other church leader can do it I don't see why the Catholic priests can't.

I for one would have a lot more respect and would feel more able to discuss family problems with a married priest, given that they would have similar experiences.

After all, you don't get an plumber to fix an electrical fault

• Registered Users Posts: 788 ✭✭✭marty1985

I feel really sorry for him. Is it true he had to go into hiding to avoid people protesting at him? I think this is an embarrassing non story to be honest, which is only being dragged into the media to humiliate him. On a human level, I hope he's ok and people give him a break. I don't think the 8 year old will need therapy. As long as it wasn't the good stuff too hardcore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭chimmy chonga

Funny I was just thinking earlier if the majority of priests would prefer to be married....
    - Well if they love each other! Why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

Lesson - always label and use a separate USB data stick for your porn.

I'm not studying for the priesthood, but if I were I'd create two seperate partitions on the drive and encrypt the second using TrueCrypt. I could then carry around my gay porn on the same drive as my other stuff and nobody would be any the wiser. I could even carry around the TrueCrypt application itself on the first partition so I could mount the second partition whenever I wanted to.

• Registered Users Posts: 458 ✭✭milehip1

44leto wrote: »
    he probably showed them those picture of the poor garda getting mounted.

the who getting what?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Twenty minutes later he returned, he continued with the meeting and wrapped up by saying that the children get lots of money for their Holy Communion and should consider giving some of it to the church.
    Neck like a jockey's bollocks on that fella.

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    Neck like a jockey's bollocks on that fella.

Bit harsh. He probably just wants to fund a mission to Mykonos or somewhere....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

steddyeddy wrote: »

Money

They earn very little, there may be free accomadation and a car but you wouldn't send children to college, get the wife a car, family holiday and more.

A diocese is expected to fund themselves and some are struggling like Dublin.

Pay them a real salary so but are the parishioners ready to donate even more in the weekly collections?

I'm going to get quoted and what about the billions in Rome, the diocese funds itself and doesn't get that money

And that was a good point above, is a divorced wife going to take the house that belongs to the area?

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Money

They earn very little, there may be free accomadation and a car but you wouldn't send children to college, get the wife a car, family holiday and more.

Pay them a real salary so but are the parishioners ready to donate even more in the weekly collections?

I'm going to get quoted and what about the billions in Rome, the diocese funds itself and doesn't get that money

And that was a good point above, is a divorced wife going to take the house that belongs to the area?

Well the Orthodox and the protestants manage. As do Jews. And the muslims.

Nodin wrote: »
    Bit harsh. He probably just wants to fund a mission to Mykonos or somewhere....

or las vegas

To be fair, it is a discipline for priests to remain celibate. No one is forced to take a vow of celibacy. Those who do, do so voluntarily. I honestly have never met a man who was forced to become a priest against his will, but there could be some out there, I don't know. Maybe it helps prevent people from choosing the priesthood as a career instead of a vocation? (And by the by, a lot of Irish priests of the 20th century would in this day and age be in politics.)

Interestingly though, some married men can become priests with special dispensation, which we've seen happening with former Anglican priests joining the Roman Catholic Church.

Anyway, it is their own ruling, which priests accept when they take their vows of their own accord. It seems though that a lot of people want the Catholic Church to be more liberal in many areas and to "change with the times" - in effect, to become similar to the Church of England. Which, oddly, is losing clergy and members to the Catholic Church for being too liberal.

I admire anyone who could choose a celibate life. I couldn't, but some can, and fair play to them. If they resort to porn, against the rulez as it may be, I wouldn't humiliate them for it. Who hasn't hidden porn at some point in their life and felt that moment of panic when you think you might have been busted? Well imagine how this guy feels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Why is this news?

Was it really necessary to humiliate this man internationally?

Well, we could have a headline like "Priest Exposed As Human Being".

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭trollin trollin trollin

He should look on the bright-side,atleast now he'll have everyone's attention when he speaks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭up for anything

She can't take something that isn't theirs I would imagine. The Protestant clergy seem to manage marriage and divorce and living in houses that belong to the church without too much bother.

Where did I go wrong that I got the four children but didn't get the house. :confused::pac:

• Administrators Posts: 54,128 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Money

And that was a good point above, is a divorced wife going to take the house that belongs to the area
    ?

Well, the house isn't hers to take. Nor is it his.

Anyway, back to the original post, public opinion of the catholic church must be at rock bottom. And rightly so.

marty1985 wrote: »
    To be fair, it is a discipline for priests to remain celibate. No one is forced to take a vow of celibacy. Those who do, do so voluntarily. I honestly have never met a man who was forced to become a priest against his will, but there could be some out there, I don't know. Maybe it helps prevent people from choosing the priesthood as a career instead of a vocation? (And by the by, a lot of Irish priests of the 20th century would in this day and age be in politics.)

Interestingly though, some married men can become priests with special dispensation, which we've seen happening with former Anglican priests joining the Roman Catholic Church.

Anyway, it is their own ruling, which priests accept when they take their vows of their own accord. It seems though that a lot of people want the Catholic Church to be more liberal in many areas and to "change with the times" - in effect, to become similar to the Church of England. Which, oddly, is losing clergy and members to the Catholic Church for being too liberal.

I admire anyone who could choose a celibate life. I couldn't, but some can, and fair play to them. If they resort to porn, against the rulez as it may be, I wouldn't humiliate them for it. Who hasn't hidden porn at some point in their life and felt that moment of panic when you think you might have been busted? Well imagine how this guy feels.

If you were giving a presentation to customers and ended up showing them 16 porno images, how much longer do you think you'd be in the job for?

You want him removed from his role as a priest?

Give him a break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

Well kinda reaping what he's sowing there. You make a living taking money from people for telling them about invisible cloud people and telapathic zombies... then expect them to be reasonable when presented with the notion that a celibate man might need the odd hanshandy.

I do feel sorry for him as an individual but he knew his organisations archaic stance on plenty of issues including homosexuality (which I assume is what the big fuss is about). By belonging to and promoting the business he has endorsed its policies, he can hardly complain when its homophobic views bite him in the arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭up for anything

I can't understand why the parents just sat there and let the meeting go on down to him coming back in and finishing it. I would have had to leave in order to find somewhere private to roll around on the floor laughing. This is the first time in ages I have laughed so much. I keep imagining the faces on the two religion teachers that my kids have had over the years if such a thing had happened at the similar meetings I've been to in my time. :D:D

marty1985 wrote: »
    You want him removed from his role as a priest?

Give him a break.
    How can he even remain as a priest in a church that is anti-gay after he has shown gay porn whilst on church business?

I expect in true catholic church style they'll find a way to spin, dodge and lie their way out of the issue though. They've got pretty good at that by now. Anything to ensure the collection baskets are brimming on a Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

A series of images? Why didn't he just turn it off when the first one came up?

At least they know he's not a paedo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

At least they know he's not a paedo.

Hahahahahaha, if I could 'thank' more than once I would :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Why is this news?

Was it really necessary to humiliate this man internationally?

No, and I feel sorry for him. It must be excruciating to be subject to the kind of sniggering belittlement hes getting/going to get.

BUT...

Nobody should claim the authority to give moral guidance unless they live by the rules they preach.

So I'm glad hypocrisy was exposed, and on that level it most definitely IS news.