Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Was I Misleading or Just not intrested ?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

knowit12 wrote: »
    he followed...

You invited him...?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

BRING YOUR FRIENDS

You hadn't been playing tonsil tennis with his friends.
    In fairness to you, the guy took a gamble not keeping enough money to get home as its a well documented fact that 'bitches be crazy yo'.
    In fairness to the guy, an invite back to an afterparty from someone who has been kissing you is at the very least a gaurentee of more kissing and a cuddle, instead of that he was publicly rejected and then the unwilling object of whispered giggles and you hiding in a bathroom and probably more girly dramatic bull****. Fair play to him for being a gentleman even after your bs.

Infact even theoretically putting myself in his position I'm annoyed at you on his behalf.

You spoon!

Good day madam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭knowit12

IPAM wrote: »
    He wasn't stalking you, you asked him to follow!

Who said anything about stalking ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Wo said anything about stalking ?

You invited a lad back to a party and then make him sound like a weirdo for taking you up on the invite

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I was out with my friends going back to a friends for a session.. That was all !!!
    If I wanted to Fcuk him I would have left on my OWN with him - I left with my friends and not him for a reason - he followed...

But he didn't exactly follow you. You invited him and his friends back to the house: just because the friends didn't come, that doesn't mean he was uninvited. He probably shouldn't have come back with you: it would've been very awkward to be on his own among you and your friends. If he were interested, he should've left but asked for your number to meet you for a coffee sometime.
    That would've been the more sensible thing to do, but at the same time you can't really blame him for coming back when he'd been invited.
    And since you'd kissed him, he was thinking there may have been more involved than a session. How was he to know you weren't interested in more?

Look, kissing him then inviting him and his friends back was misleading, though you do have every right to kiss a man and not want to do anything further. But you have to understand that the guy might expect more, though that doesn't give him any right to feel entitled to more.

I think you should chalk this one up to experience: your actions were unintentionally misleading, he made one too many assumptions and was a bit creepy, but there was no major harm done and the situation could've ended a lot worse.

I agree with king of moo.
    You were kissing him, you invited him back, he expected more to happen. I don't think either of you were wrong in the situation. Crossed wires at worst, but you'll be more aware of it next time. If you kiss someone and invite them back after the club is finished, they are likely to think they're on a promise.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

hop into a taxi about 20 mins after and there he is walking all by himself down this long road

I creased up when I read that. Classic! I wonder if he was singing All By Myself on the long walk home.
    AH needs a big sign in big neon letters at the top of every page that says, "GOT A PROBLEM? PERSONAL ISSUES FORUM IS THAT WAY ---->"

But the best threads on After Hours are when someone divulges their personal lives to us. Particularly when it's about relationships. Like the young lad who met yer wan in a sandwich shop which was actually in a old couple's house and yer man who thought his teacher fancied him.
    Fart wrote: »
    "Bring your friends" means "Bring some protection/condoms".

That's why his human friends didn't come along. He probably thought he was getting the royid. Choose your words wisely next time.

What do you mean by this human friends? Did he bring his dog along to the nightclub and the party afterwards or something? :confused:

IPAM wrote: »
    You invited a lad back to a party and then make him sound like a weirdo for taking you up on the invite

salking , weirdo ?? I don't see either of them words on any of my posts. see ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

But...

you only kissed him, not the other friends. Now it is weirder that he came back with you on his own if you invited them all, but it was the kiss that was making him expect some action.

Not that he was entitled to expect that, or you were wrong to kiss him, but that's why he assumed you were interested in him.

I was out with my friends going back to a friends for a session.. That was all !!!
    If I wanted to Fcuk him I would have left on my OWN with him - I left with my friends and not him for a reason - he followed...

you're taking this far too seriously OP and thinking about it WAY too much, i guarantee you he's not still thinking about it, you're not at fault at all, he assumed certain expectations, he was wrong, he'll have got over it by now and honestly- so should you!

what age are you OP that you would feel any kind of guilt for not putting out for this guy? so what like if you had a bit of fun in the club, you're entitled to enjoy yourself and under no obligation to live up to his expectations, sounds like you're well rid tbh, and dont let this one silly incident put you off enjoying yourself and having a bit of craic when you go out, there's plenty of lads out there that wont assume they're gonna get laid the minute they kiss a girl, let alone like this guy acting like a total weirdo! if he'd even tried to socialise at the party with the rest of your friends, he may not have come across as half as creepy!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Make it clear next time that sex is not on the cards. Seems to me that you just wanted to know you could have him, once this was clear you lost interest.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

What do you mean by this human friends? Did he bring his dog along to the nightclub and the party afterwards or something? :confused:

I was expecting this sort of reply. I was trying to distinguish between condoms and his mates.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

A nightclub kissing session + invite back to a house = A Ride. It's in the male psyche I'm afraid. It's not our fault, it's built into us from our hunter/gatherer days. Fellas are not great at reading signs especially when out drinking. To him, regardless of asking his friend to go back to the houseparty as well, the invite led him to believe he was going to get banged like a shed door in a hurricane.

Let this be a lesson OP next time don't be afraid to be, well not blunt, but articulate. If you extend an invite again you need to say "Would you like to come back to our party - oh just to be clear, I'm a dude"..... or something similar to imply that Benjamin and the twins stay in his pants.

I don't see how he was at fault.

She shifted the face of him. She invited him back to a friend's. I think the roide is a reasonable expectation here.

That's not to say OP is at fault, either. Perhaps a bit naive in the signals she was sending out and how they would be interpreted, but didn't do anything wrong.

Men are from Mars, Women from Venus and all that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭stripysocks85

Eh, OP, what age are you? :/

• Registered Users Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Unintentionally misleading.

Anyway, who cares. No means no, no-matter what he thought or expected.

My money is on 17/18 - First year college.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Seachmall wrote: »
    My money is on 17/18 - First year college.

Nah comfortably late 40s I'd say :cool:

what has age got to do with it :/ ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

what has age got to do with it :/ ?

Without prying to much, was the long term relationship you just got out of your first relationship?

smash wrote: »
    Without prying to much, was the long term relationship you just got out of your first relationship?

Seems obvious. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭stripysocks85

Course it has something to do with it. Someone a bit older would probably have more common sense. If you shift a guy and invite him back with you, chances are he's thinking he's gonna get lucky. If I shifted a guy, and he invited me back and I got nothing outta it, I would NOT be happy. It's OBVIOUS that he thought eh was gonna get some, and to be fair, he seemed a pretty decent guy. You led him on, as a prick tease, and then drove at speed past him whilst he was stuck an hour from home, alone!

Nice one OP. Nice one.

smash wrote: »

yeah first serious relationship anyway - 6 years .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

yeah first serious relationship anyway - 6 years .
    Ok. Well as an adult, inviting someone back to a party after kissing him in a club is pretty much a sign of offering a ride unless you say otherwise. It's not like leaving wesley and deciding to go to a free gaf to drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 wasislos

Kissing and cuddling on the couch like a pair of teens. Then locking urself in a bathroom like a little child. I dont know which is worse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

That opening post is an excellent example of female logic.

You would need Mel Gibsons psychic ability from "what women want" to figure out what the OP wanted,

• Registered Users Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

He spent his taxi money on a bottle of wine? That's a lad who thinks he's guaranteed a ride.

Funglegunk wrote: »
    He spent his taxi money on a bottle of wine? That's a lad who thinks he's guaranteed a ride.

Indeed, at least he's guaranteed a ride in a taxi.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

You definitely led him on unless you are incredibly naive which I find hard to reconcile when you are 24 and have had a long term relationship. 6 years and you're not heartbroken btw?

Anyway I would say the same if it was the girl who had expected sex and it was the guy who was surprised and didn't see what he was getting into after having kissed a girl and then followed her home to a party.

--LOS-- wrote: »
    unless you are incredibly naive which I find hard to reconcile when you are 24 and have had a long term relationship.

I think being naive in this situation is understandable because of the long term relationship.

Thanks for the replys :)

I was bitch and I admited that.

As I said only out of a relationship so not use to the hole "one night stand" thing or wjat the do's and don't are.

I'm use to always going back to sessions on nights out with male and female freinds - so when I ask someone back i'm generally just been freindly, to go back and have a laugh and a few drinks.. not for a sex session.

Kissing someone isn't and invite into a person knickers and anyone that thinks it is are either hanging out with sluts or have major ego issues.

Thanks and good bye :)