Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Baby guinness shots

• 03-04-2012 5:53pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭

How do you make those little rascals. Fecking things are addictive on a night out! Would love to make them at a house party the weekend!
    Tagged:

• Registered Users Posts: 81,222 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,785 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

If you don't have a spoon handy you can clean your hands and use your finger to slow the flow of Baileys and get a good "head" on it.

Most pubs in Ireland would Tia Maria too so that's probably what you're used to.

Also it's a lot easier to do if you have oversized shot glasses as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

It's quite easy, personally I find it seems to sink less with Kahlua compared to Tia Maria

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Tiocfaidh Armani

Any of you lads know how much a bottle of Tia Maria and Baileys costs from an off license? Is there actual Guinness put in it at all?

Kahlua is far easier to use. It's quite thicker than Tia Maria. Also, you shouldn't need a spoon. Pour in the kahlua 2/3 up, making sure to pour every side of the inside of the shot glass (that's the trick). Tilt to the side and pour the Baileys in slowly. Piece of pesh after a little practice. You will need pourers on both spirits though.

Worked in bars for years. Quicker than a spoon and looks better than standing there with a spoon in your hand.

Any of you lads know how much a bottle of Tia Maria and Baileys costs from an off license? Is there actual Guinness put in it at all?

A 70cl bottle of Tia Maria costs 17.49 from Tesco, they don't seem to have Kahlua online, Drinkstore.ie charge €19.99 for Kahlua, although you may find it cheaper elsewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,381 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

tia maria is on offer for €15 in tesco until may 1. Baileys is €10 until 9th april.

Real guinness is 24 cans for €24 too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Tiocfaidh Armani

rubadub wrote: »
    tia maria is on offer for €15 in tesco until may 1. Baileys is €10 until 9th april.

Real guinness is 24 cans for €24 too.

Is actual Guinness part of the shot?

Nope, just Tia Maria/Kahlua and Baileys.

• Registered Users Posts: 865 ✭✭✭MajorMax

I prefer a B-52

Get a shot glass fill one third Kahlua then get a spoon and carefullypour in one third baileys then finally one third Grand Marnier after some practice you won't need the spoon.

There will be some slight mixing with the Baileys & Grand Marnier

If you don't have Grand Marnier then Cointreau will do at a pinch.

But the Cointreau will almost completely mix with the Baileys.

Some people use Vodka instead of Grand Marnier/Cointreau, but those people are worse than Hitler IMHO. as you lose the lovely Orange flavour of the B-52 original.

I think a third of each is too much cointreau/grand marnier. I use to (roughly) half Kahlua, quarter Baileys, quarter cointreau/gm.