Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Barney McKenna (The Dubliners) RIP

• 05-04-2012 1:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭

Hearing reports that Barney died this morning.

Fantastic musician. Not much of the Dubliners Left now:(

Brummytom will be devastated.

R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Ah jaysus, Banjo Barney RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

Another legend gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,123 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

According to RTE Twitter page, Barney McKenna , The last surviing member of the Dubliners has died.
    Cant find any links at the moment but i'll post one as soon as I can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

This makes me so so sad, here's a sample of his unique talents

RIP you legend! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭Uriel.

ryanf1 wrote: »
    According to RTE Twitter page, Barney McKenna , The last surviing member of the Dubliners has died.
    Cant find any links at the moment but i'll post one as soon as I can

When did John Sheahan die?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

When you have a link to a source other than twitter, report this post with link to reopen thread again.

It's on the front page of http://www.rte.ie/news/, thread reopened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Poor old Banjo Barney from Donnycarney

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a h-anam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,123 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Uriel. wrote: »
    When did John Sheahan die?
    He is still alive but he was not part of the original 1962 group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

Its being discussed on liveline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

He used to drink with me Da in the Royal in Howth, RIP Barney

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

RIP legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Uriel. wrote: »
    Brummytom will be devastated.

Like you wouldn't believe.

My first experience of the Dubliners was before I was even born. My parents went to watch them at Birmingham Town Hall when my mom was 8 months pregnant. She recalls me kicking and jumping around in the womb to the sound of The Dubliners. Somehow, I don't think that's an exaggeration, either.

The Dubliners were my first foray into traditional irish music. As I tried to fumble my way through their jigs and reels, I realised a passion like I'd never felt before.

For the last three St Patrick's Days, I've seen the Dubliners live. The first year, I thought Barney seemed quite bad, the second year the same. But I saw him just two and a half weeks ago, and he seemed better than ever. I was sitting directly at his feet, and felt in the presence of a very special man. Even when someone started mouthing off at Barney for his renowned rambling, the whole crowd was behind him, shouting down the heckle. Hearing this now, I'm genuinely shocked, and very upset.

RIP Barney. You were a true legend, and will never be forgotten. I'll have a good few tunes and drinks tonight in your memory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Very saddened. Another one gone.

RIP Barney.

http://i41.tinypic.com/34nkz2e.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Dublin Forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

RIP the legend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

The Dubliners stayed at my grandfather's house back in the mid-60s. Nice lads apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭Uriel.

ryanf1 wrote: »
    He is still alive but he was not part of the original 1962 group.

Oh so you meant to say the "last surviving original member" in your previous post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

RIP Barney.

Only got to see him once at a benefit gig for a good friend of his Gerry Lawes, he had a great little ramble about being the best banjo player of all time.

Legend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

As a Wexford man, I am genuinely saddened by the death of Barney. The Dubliners have featured in my musical tastes for pretty much my whole life, and I still get goosebumps when I hear some of their songs being performed live by other musicians.

RIP Barney. There must be some trad session going on up in heaven now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Ahh feck it .

Seems to be suddenly as well .

I only seen him sing this a couple of weeks ago .
    The voice has years and years of mileage on it but just magic .

Jezz some season tonight up there in heaven .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

A friend of my old man is from donnycarney, he reckoned he had the first recording Barney made of his banjo playing on an old reel to reel or something that his family had, long since lost of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

RIP.

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭_GOD_

RIP Barney.

I never would have picked up the banjo if it wasnt for him. I'll also be raising a glass and raising a reel tonight for the godfather of Irish tenor banjo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Jacksquat

:( So sad. I love their music and this just feels weird. I was privilaged enough to see him play on his own in a pub a few years ago. RIP Legend.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭Paz-CCFC

Shocking news. RIP Barney.

Here he is at his best:

RIP Barney

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I was only 8 years of age when I met the Dubliners aka ,Luke Kelly , Ronnie Drew ,Barney Mckenna and the others ,in Kilmainham Jail when they turned up for an album photo session and I remember Luke Kelly coming over to chat to me .Anybody who was around on the night got a free autographed album (long since lost from our original family home)

I like the witty quip about Barney about how the time they were flying abroad to a gig and he not been a lover of flying was told by one of the other Dubs

'' Ah stop worrying Barney ,when your times up ...it's up''

to which Barney replied ''

''it's not when my times up I'm worried about , it's when the time's up for the pilot of this plane '' ...lol

Legend RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭mobby

RIP BARNEY last of the legends. there be some session in heaven tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Xenophile

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭1966

Ahh so sad - RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,678 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭policarp

Dublin Forum?

International Forum. . .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

not only a banjo man, but a singer too, this song is one of my favourites, and this is my favourite rendition.

RIP Barney,
    I'll see you someday on Fiddlers Green.

• Registered Users Posts: 35 midg23

Not many of them left now, RIP Barney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

RIP. Only saw them in Croker the weekend before last and they seemed in good form.

midg23 wrote: »

They were the good old days.
    O'Donoghues,
    Fleadh ceoils,
    The Dubliners.

midg23 wrote: »

Just one.

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭AMHRASACH

........Sonny Brogan, Barney's Uncle, his favourite greeting -"me ould son of Erin", gave Barney great encouragement in his early days. Sonny played box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

This is very sad news. He looked very poorly at Christmas on 'for one night only', with Gay Byrne. I'm not surprised but I am saddened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

The man was Legend is his own time, and no doubt will continue to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 BrianMcGee

AMHRASACH wrote: »
    ........Sonny Brogan, Barney's Uncle, his favourite greeting -"me ould son of Erin", gave Barney great encouragement in his early days. Sonny played box.

I don't think Sonny Brogan was Barney's uncle? He did teach Barney in his early years but.... uncle? Correct me if I'm wrong though !

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭AMHRASACH

......If he wasn't his Uncle, he was as good as a Father. Was there an Uncle, Jim, played mandolin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Great story told by John Sheehan on the Late Late tonight...

Barney McKenna arrives in Australia for the first time in 1968 and is met at the airport by a friend of his from Donnycarney. "Jaysus, it's hot here" says Barney. "Wait until tomorrow, it's going to be 100 degrees in the shade" says the pal. "100 degrees in the shade?" replied Barney... "I'll be staying out of the shade so"