Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Good Friday Drink related megathread thing.

• 05-04-2012 5:52pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

Well, late-bars and nightclubs I mean.

Or do they kick you out at 12am with a "Happy Easter" and a slap on the arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

All bars/clubs should be shut by 12 except hotel bars i think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

AAARRRGGHHH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

stovelid wrote: »
    AAARRRGGHHH

Yeah. Its back again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Just drink in the field, jeesus, Irish people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

there should be a page added to citizens information about all this sort of thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Annnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnd they're off !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Can the Irish not live without Alcohol for one bloody day.

Faith+1 wrote: »

Well now, how would Irish people function if that were to happen, there'd be chaos...

in fairness really though, all the supermarkets are doing crap loads of deals on alcohol, and loads of people are off tomorrow, with some places closed, and when the thing to do with your time in Ireland is go to the pub, who could blame people for being in a bit of a tizzy over it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I got a modest stockpile of 10 bottles of Grolsch which should see me through the barren times of tomorrow.

that's good to know, good work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

FFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Well of course the mod of zombie survival knows about stockpiles and being prepared :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

was going to head out tonight but only remembered this today about the closing early thing, going to make it a mad one hopefully saturday instead so :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Crackity Jones

Wow. Grolsch is still on sale here. Mad ted.

i rarely drink at home, but even i considered getting a bottle or two, just to have in. what the fudge is wrong with me. I think it's the whole not being able to do something that makes me more aware of it, and makes me think it's the one time i want to do it.

like needing to pee before getting on a bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I've got a banana or two in the fridge.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Well, I'll be in a bar, having lovely icey cold pints...

But then I'm not in Ireland :p

• Registered Users Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

I hit the offie at lunchtime.
    Big queue out the door.
    We are all fcuking mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

24 Tins of Heineken for €24 in Tesco

Dont think i have enough :eek:

Loopy wrote: »
    Big queue out the door.
    We are all fcuking mad.

Are ya serious?

That's just fecking madness!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

few cans.

• Registered Users Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Gingervitis

I'll be at a Passover dinner in Korea! Don't know what's wrong with me...ah well, free wine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Stocked up and ready to go, the 4 day weekend has landed! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭SteoL

Got 22 cans of Prazsky in for tonight and tomorrow. Love that beer, definitely a favourite of mine.

Loopy wrote: »
    Big queue out the door.
    We are all fcuking mad.

Beautiful poem, any more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

can the irish not go one day, just one day without drink???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

you mean really care that one friday a year you can't have a drink....

Sorry but thats just sad......

who cares about not being able to drink ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

fryup wrote: »

No.

Posted using iCan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

No, why should we?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭HUNK

few naggins, be grand.

DarkJager wrote: »
    No, why should we?

Well well, if it isn't the three Jager bombs, ****ing mad thing!

I don't think that's really the point though...

Archaic licensing law put in the place by old Catholic Ireland, I might not want to go for a pint on Good Friday, but DAMMIT I'm entitled to the option...

That's more it than anything else!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I have no booze. fúck good friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,923 ✭✭✭SeanW

1. Why should anyone "have" to eschew something they consider a recreational activity?
    2. Why this particular day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

F**k y'all, Im going to the pub and staying til Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,822 ✭✭✭stimpson

Sure didn't the lord himself pause on the cross for a pint of stout before giving himself up for the world?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,682 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

I'm so glad I'm not working to night. We always get several panic-striken people who arrive at the till after 10pm with a trolley full of beer and start throwing abuse at us when we tell them we can't sell alcohol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

SteoL wrote: »
    Got 22 cans of Prazsky in for tonight and tomorrow. Love that beer, definitely a favourite of mine.

got 4 of them for tonight! 6 tuborg for the boat saturday morning... wooo.. I'll be buzzing before 10 in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

I have no booze. fúck good friday

Its ok i will send you over some mashed up eucalyptus leaves:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I didn't drink Sunday - Thursday, bought 20 bottles for a party tomorrow, I went 5 days with no drink, will that do??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I haven't had a drink since last saturday ( true story bro) .Does that count ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Let me read to you an appreciation letter to thine Holy Thursday.

Dear Holy Thursday,
    How are you? Good (Friday) to hear. But enough about you. As is tradition I strolled along to ye olde local offy. T'was a sight to see. Queues as far as recently laser surgery enhanced eyes can gaze upon. Every race, every gender, every orientation and every fake-ID handling youngster gathered upon this magical Supervalu til. You might think:"ARGGH!! **** THIS RELIGIOUS ****E!! BACK TO JESUS WITH YE AUL FOGIES" or something exceedingly dramatic in the same vein.

For me it's a chance to have awkward conversations with pals of friends I knew in school. An opportunity to pretend I have something more important to do than wait in a line. When you reach the counter a sense of achievement that only us as an alcoholic nation can understand. I hope you never leave us Good Friday sale of alcohol outside of airports and greyhound tracks ban.

Until next year Holy Thursday.

Regards,
    Your typical Irish stereotype.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

12 Tuborg and 7 bottles of Heineken leftover from last weekend.

Job done!

PS: Up your's Ratzinger!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

I can do without it, that's why I'm asking. If they close at midnight I'll leave it. Was told that it was normal closing hours tonight though, same deal as when the clocks change.

Sounds like one or two of the above could do with a drink :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 770 ✭✭✭sgb

8 cans of Guiness chilling in the fridge

Bottle of Jack Daniels in the press

Roll on Good Friday

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 232 ✭✭LilyCricket

Crackbird & Bear open tomorrow and have stated its BYOB day

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭colincork

Prepare yourselfs,

THE DROUGHT IS COMING