Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Good Friday Drink related megathread thing.

1235»

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

anyone know if there is any pubs/clubs open after 12 tonight in galway? I can get my hands on booze beforehand, no probs there,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

So proud of my 17 year old son. He had bacon and sausages washed down with a bottle of beer for his brunch there.

He's such a good kid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Just been to my butchers, it was empty. weird for that place on a friday. hmmm.

GastroBoy wrote: »
    As for the whole church and government thing, well we do have a few bank holidays because of religious days.
    So would the same people saying "to hell with the church telling us what to do" be happy to give those up as well, me thinks not!!

Ah yes because the real reason for Good Friday is to celebrate the day of the crucifiction of Jesus Christ. Which just so happens to be on a different day every year.

The Friday before the first Sunday after the first full moon after the spring equinox.

Yup that definitely doesn't sound like a pagan spring fertility festival that we would all probably be celebrating ayway if Christianity had never been invented.

We have plenty of bank holidays/public holidays without mythological reasons behind them. If people wish to treat Good Friday as such they should be free to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Ah yes because the real reason for Good Friday is to celebrate the day of the crucifiction of Jesus Christ. Which just so happens to be on a different day every year.

The Friday before the first Sunday after the first full moon after the spring equinox.

Yup that definitely doesn't sound like a pagan spring fertility festival that we would all probably be celebrating ayway if Christianity had never been invented.

We have plenty of bank holidays/public holidays without mythological reasons behind them. If people wish to treat Good Friday as such they should be free to do so.

No, I'm sorry but this whole "Easter and Christmas were pagan festivals originally" gets on my nerves a bit. Christmas and Easter as we know them in their current form are religious festivals. Why would Catholic Ireland in the past have celebrated pagan festivals in the way they did (not so much now)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Good Friday isn't even a public holiday with all the goodness of the entitlements which they bring!

No, I'm sorry but this whole "Easter and Christmas were pagan festivals originally" gets on my nerves a bit. Christmas and Easter as we know them in their current form are religious festivals. Why would Catholic Ireland in the past have celebrated pagan festivals in the way they did (not so much now)?

...and Jesus came out of the temple and said: "Thou shalt mark my birth by celebrating the coming of a fat man in a red suit in a magic flying sled and giving presents to each other. Thou shalt also drink too much at the work christmas night out and make a tit of yourself. Thou shalt also eat drink and be merry and endeavour to become more like the one true saviour, Santa Claus."

...when Jesus emerged from the tomb he said to his disciples:" Thou shalt celebrate my magical resurection by buying each other big chocolate eggs and telling children that some sort of magic giant rabbit hid them in the garden. Furthermore, thou shalt definitely not have a pissup on Good Friday. Furthermore I shall use my magical powers to change the date of Good Friday every year, and it will totally **** up your plans. Thou shalt not whinge about it, because I had nails driven into my hands and legs and had a thoroughly unenjoyable time. The prophet that will be named Mel Gibson shall reveal these facts unto the world."

I'm sorry but if you think that for non religous people Easter and Christmas have much to do with God impregnanting a virgin, so she could give birth to him, so that he could sacrifice himself to himself to atone for a sin that was implanted in mankind because a rib woman was convinced by a talking snake to eat a magical fruit from a forbidden tree, and the subsequent resurecction of himself so he could ascend to heaven and join himself with the other third part of himself who didn't get such a major starring role in the bilbe, you are somewhat mistaken.

Yes, the meaning has got lost along the way but the reason Easter and Christmas are celebreted the way the are in this country stems from religion. It would be wrong to claim otherwise. I'm off work today and it seems the majority here are too. Is that to celebrate some pagan festival?

put it this way... how many people are going to go to mass today or sunday, whichever is the done thing? versus how many people are buying/going to get easter eggs?

I completely agree. I won't be going to mass myself and will stuff my face with Easter eggs on sunday but you cannot deny Easter is a religious festival.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

The nearest I'll be to a church on Sunday is the republican plot in Glasnevin Cemetery.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

I'll tell ye one thing; the blasphemy makes the drink all the tastier.

Yes, the meaning has got lost along the way but the reason Easter and Christmas are celebreted the way the are in this country stems from religion. It would be wrong to claim otherwise. I'm off work today and it seems the majority here are too. Is that to celebrate some pagan festival?

No no no no. Easter and Christmas most definitely do NOT stem from religion. They were co-opted by Christianity from other mythological traditions that far pre date it. For the majority of society the religous connotations have faded into obscurity, and have about as much to do with Christmas and Easter as Thor does with Thursday. Next Christmas take a look at all the ads on t.v.. Which mythological character features more heavily, Jesus Christ or Santa Claus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Back on topic..... Where can i get drink? Its half four and i'm sober. This is unnerving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

cursai wrote: »
    Back on topic..... Where can i get drink? Its half four and i'm sober. This is unnerving.

I'm off the gargle and there's a case of Bud out my back garden... Will I?... Just for the craic :p

:mad:........hang on. I'll collect. i can drive now cause im sober again!

Next Christmas take a look at all the ads on t.v.. Which mythological character features more heavily, Jesus Christ or Santa Claus?

Santa obviously, because commericialism hijacked Christmas. Not that I'm complaning, I love Santa.

But go back about 50 years in this country. Christmas and Easter were celebrated for religious reasons.

I completely agree. I won't be going to mass myself and will stuff my face with Easter eggs on sunday but you cannot deny Easter is a religious festival.

am yes I can deny it.

You just single handedly killed this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

Santa obviously, because commericialism hijacked Christmas. Not that I'm complaning, I love Santa.

But go back about 50 years in this country. Christmas and Easter were celebrated for religious reasons.
    In the same way that commercialism hijacked Christmas, christianity hijacked the traditional pagan festivals that were celebrated around the time of the soltices and equinox.

lividduck wrote: »
    In the same way that commercialism hijacked Christmas, christianity hijacked the traditional pagan festivals that were celebrated around the time of the soltices and equinox.

Quite possibly. However, in modern times Easter, in this country, has been celebrated because of religion. Why are most of us off work today? Why are the pubs closed?

I am working today cos its not a public holiday. I thought xmas and Easter were made up by the confectionary and card companies.
    I wonder do the taste testers for the brewery companies get today off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

I hate the fact that stupid laws like offo's are to close at 10pm instead of 11pm are in... and even tho its poxy and serves no real purpose to anything, no-one in government has the sack to undo it.

I'm fcuking sick of the do-gooders in this country!

I seriously fear for future generations

True..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I will be celebrating the pagan holiday by buying Easter eggs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,376 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

And go back 2000 years and they were celebrated for religious reasons also. Just different religions

Christmas especially has always been a time of feasting historically. So binging on alcohol and food (and easter eggs) is just continuing that tradition :P

Quite possibly. However, in modern times Easter, in this country, has been celebrated because of religion. Why are most of us off work today? Why are the pubs closed?
    Because of bigotry

• Registered Users Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

There's nothing like a good spite binge, thank god for dutch gold

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 784 ✭✭✭LaFuton

Witchie wrote: »
    So proud of my 17 year old son. He had bacon and sausages washed down with a bottle of beer for his brunch there.

17 year old lads shouldnt be havin brunch. thats just wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Water doesn't count.

• Registered Users Posts: 786 ✭✭✭qrrgprgua

Goes to show how many alcoholics are in Ireland.... One day without alcohol and its our yearly debate.. Why why why...

FGS,,, Give your liver a rest ONE day of the year.. But given the panic buying yesterday i suspect many drink more today than any other day.

qrrgprgua wrote: »
    Goes to show how many alcoholics are in Ireland.... One day without alcohol and its our yearly debate.. Why why why...

FGS,,, Give your liver a rest ONE day of the year.. But given the panic buying yesterday i suspect many drink more today than any other day.

I'm perfectly capable of giving my liver a rest for one day, but I would prefer it to be a day of my choosing. Not one the state has forced upon me because of the superstitions of a minority of the population.

It's the prinicple of the thing. In practical terms it's just a case of stocking up the night before. I'm having dinner with my girlfriend tonight to celebrate her birthday. Because of this ridiculous outdated law, if we went out to a restaraunt we would be unable to have a drink with dinner. Unlike the magic zombie Jesus holiday, her birthday is on the same day every year, perhaps you will suggest she should move it to allow for the customs of a religion neither of us believe in?

I'm perfectly capable of giving my liver a rest for one day, but I would prefer it to be a day of my choosing. Not one the state has forced upon me because of the superstitions of a minority of the population.

It's the prinicple of the thing. In practical terms it's just a case of stocking up the night before. I'm having dinner with my girlfriend tonight to celebrate her birthday. Because of this ridiculous outdated law, if we went out to a restaraunt we would be unable to have a drink with dinner. Unlike the magic zombie Jesus holiday, her birthday is on the same day every year, perhaps you will suggest she should move it to allow for the customs of a religion neither of us believe in?

Ah your dead right so ya are. As long as its one day though wha! I'm up for trying anything once.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

Witchie wrote: »
    He's such a good kid.

And what were you doing while your underage son was necking beers illegally at lunchtime?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

qrrgprgua wrote: »

Yes, because everyone's just incessantly drinking for the other 364 days of the year, and the only conceivable problem anyone could have is due to the fact we're all raging alcoholics who can't physically survive a day without alcohol.
    Are you being this obtuse on purpose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

what do you reckon.....someone somewhere in the country will be found dead tommorow morning after a house party gone wrong

I wonder is anybody actually drinking tonight

Jess16 wrote: »
    And what were you doing while your underage son was necking beers illegally at lunchtime?
    Drinking alcohol is NOT illegal, selling it is, duh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,923 ✭✭✭SeanW

Had a long train journey today. Normally I wouldn't have bothered with the alcoholic beverages (or bevvies, if you will) but today I made a point of it.

(In case you didn't know, there's an exemption to the alcohol ban on Good Friday on Intercity trains and in railway station bars for passengers with tickets authorising them to travel more than thirty miles.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 305 ✭✭mackmuffin

SeanW wrote: »
    Had a long train journey today. Normally I wouldn't have bothered with the alcoholic beverages (or bevvies, if you will) but today I made a point of it.

(In case you didn't know, there's an exemption to the alcohol ban on Good Friday on Intercity trains and in railway station bars for passengers with tickets authorising them to travel more than thirty miles.)

bet it wasnt cold though;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

Duh indeed but I don't know many parents who sit by and watch their 17 year olds quaffing beer at lunchtime, legal or otherwise. There are adults on here who have been accused of being alcoholics for less

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,923 ✭✭✭SeanW

It was de-****ing-licious. Just the right temperature for me, lovely texture, and tasted all that much sweeter for the circumstances. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

I've loads of drink left:D:D

Happy Days:p

Fapping? What else:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Mypologies for the previous post i made, i was not clear that Good Friday was not a public holiday, i jsut always had it off in previous jobs so i assumed!

But yeah, stupid law is stupid.

y, i jsut always had it off in previous jobs

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Duh indeed but I don't know many parents who sit by and watch their 17 year olds quaffing beer at lunchtime, legal or otherwise. There are adults on here who have been accused of being alcoholics for less

He rarely drinks and was doing the teenage rebel thing which I don't have a problem with.